(2011/06) June 2011

Raynsky, oh dear it must be very painful for you n still have to wait another 2 wk... tk care & be strong... dont think so much k, the next bb will be normal. Normally you wont get to see it cos u b knock out. guess u & hb are minor? i'm a minor too but hb is not so now my son is a minor too, i'm qt worry for him when he have a family.. I realise alot ppl are minor.

Hmmm not sure will i b knock out, cos apparently I need to so-called 'give birth' to the fetus. Worried about tt.

Yup tink so too, realise a lot of ppl are minor.

Raynsky, I heard of the process, pls b strong. Tell ur hub knows that u will need lots of support following that. Rest well & do the confinement after that. Take care.

Uziela,

minor as in thalassemia minor. Cos all our genes are in pairs, one from the mummy, one from the daddy. So if the mummy and daddy are both thalassemia minor, means tt they have one thalassemia gene in that pair of genes tt controls haemoglobin production. So when a child conceived, there is 25% chance tt the child will be w/o the thalassemia gene at all, 50% chance tt the child will also be a minor, and 25% chance tt the child will b a major, which is unfortunately my case. This theory works for all genes, including genes tt control ur blood type, ur height, and everything else.

leenmummy,

thanks! hubby jus shared with me abt a fren's situation. bb apparently cleared the first trimester screening, but at 7th month, realised something in wrong wif the bb and have to abort. They actually got to see the bb, which i'm afriad of. I shd b able to tell them tt we dun wan to see right?

raynsky> take care

Ladies> I have 2 over size maternity pants my mum bought in China. I am a size M and she buy size L and XL (my god think she did not notice it)

I am letting go cheaply as I dun want it to be wasteful at home anyone keen? its a long pants one is in jeans material.

Dear raynsky, I'm sorry to hear for what happen. Pls take care and be strong. Lots of hugs from me.

Dear ann01jan, no worries about scaring me. Now i on the antibotic given by my gynae. I also think its better to treat it than to leave it growing more and more and may affect the baby. Now just pray for my baby to be well with the medication although gynae told me this medication will not affect baby. The rest..i really can't control now.....Just pray for best.

Raynsky, Express your concerns to ur gynea & ask hubby to inform the hospital staff again on that day. U'll b asked to take a 1-bedded & it will happen inside instead of the delivery suite. Get someone to stay with u for the first couple of days.

raynsky,

sorry to hear about your situation. maybe before trying for #2, better to do tests and consult doc? my hb also thal minor and we did tests before our marriage just to confirm i'm not one as well. not sure if my #1 is a minor...will prob check when he's much older.

raynsky, sorry to hear about the results, if u have questions about the procedures, do ask your gynae and clarify everything so u and hubby can set your heart at rest, eg, before and after procedure... must have been a roller coaster ride for you, rest well this period to recuperate and stay positive !

Vic, good that u are on antibiotics, i think our baby now still not 100% on our diet yet, so the medicine probably will not pass to them... even infants have antibiotics, so should be fine...

mummies, i am eating lesser and lesser and appetite not getting better, anyone facing same situation as me ? now depending a lot of liquids... quite pathetic...

Hi ann01jan, ya, i really hope so leh. Just keep praying and stay positive now.

My appetite is not very good especially in the evening too. Day time still ok...but it really depends on the day itself. Today i feel very bloated and alot of stomach gases...and feeling unwell..so didn't eat as much as before too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Anyone mummies wearing maternity already?

I think my tummy is growing bigger and bigger...jeans and pants can't fit liao leh.sob. Now i need to leave my jeans and botton's buttons open.I Haven't get any maternity wear yet...trying to order online for pants.

For tops still can make do with baby doll and loose tops.

ann01jan,

same here. I am already 15 weeks plus but I still vomit and no appetite. After losing 7 kg due to bad ms, until now I have not put on any weight.

Just went for check up last Saturday and dr told me 90% its a boy. ALthough i wish for a girl since I already have a son. But i guess we can´t have control over these and I will love him no matter what.

vic, i started wearing since 10 weeks, now 14 weeks liao... mainly because of bloatedness in the evening, maternity pants got more allowance lor... ya tops, i am still wearing whatever i have especially the longer tops...

matahari, me feeling terrible over this, even now durian also dun really interest me, once this is over, i think i will be very happy...

for the gender, me too lor, if girl will be happy cos hubby prefer girl and i already have a boy... but if boy, then take it that they can wear the same thing and take picture also look very cute mah... as long as healthy and our own flesh and blood, sure will love them one lah... i got 1 friend just confirm her third baby is girl, she already has 2 daughters, aiyoh, she also disappointed....

ann01jan,

yeah, the ms is really terrible. Every night i hope that the ms will be over when I woke up the next morning, but it never happens.

Since I do not intend to have a third baby, so I do feel disappointed when I heard its boy again. I grown up with 3 brothers and I have always envy with my friends who have sister and I have always wanted daughter even before I got married.

But as I said before, its beyond our control and we can only give our unconditional love to our baby.

victoria,

i'm wearing part maternity clothes part normal clothes. most of my pants i can't wear the normal ones alr. dresses still not so bad. i'm having probs with shoes coz' i'm having blisters even though i'm wearing flats. *xian*

victoria, im starting to wear some maternity pants liao.. cos if i wear regular ones, i have to unbutton the top button and also unzip a bit.. very uncomfortable.. on some days im still wearing some of my looser work skirts but they have graduated from being worn at the hip area to being worn at the waist lol.. so now my skirts look like they're getting shorter and shorter haha

victoria: i am wearing maternity jeans, as jeans are my staple wear everyday. If not, i will wear the jeans with no button, but using a hair tie to loop around the button hole. Wearing slightly longer tops or babydolls.

ann: my appetite is slowly coming back. But in the 1st place, i hardly had any MS (keep fingers crossed). Food starting to taste abit better.

matahari, i am directly opposite, i have 2 sisters and there are things that only sisters can share with each other, so i am more for same sex siblings, since i have a boy, i dun mind having another boy. if one boy one girl, things are very different when they grow up, u know what i mean ?

i went to read the Mar mummies thread and got real emotional, suddenly recall the 'suffering' TBF days... sobzz sobzz... hormones again...

im going for my wk 16 scan next week.. can anyone pls advise wat to expect? is there any specify scans or tests to be done at wk 16? or is it going to be a routine scan and check?

alatariel,

haha, ditto for the skirts. i've put them in cold storage after wearing them one last time last week. dun like wearing my skirts at tummy area :p

krex: no amount of test before conceiving can gaurantee an okay bb. We jus have to try, then test the chromosomes again.

Thanks to all the mummies here, jus feel blessed tt I have a healthy #1. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Vic,

me oso have been wearing maternity clothes since ard 10wks. Cos of the bloatness tummy quite big like 4-5mths. I have quite bad ms b4 during 1st tri. But now better oredi.

Ann & matahari

I oso hope for a gal cos my #1 is a boy. Yes I always quite disappointed when my gynae said that this bb is a boy again but after that I think mayb is good oso and most impt the bb is healthy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Altariel, GD stands for )Gestational Diabetes. U will fast overnight n go clinic the next day to drink a very sweet syrup n clinic will do a blood test.

Sorry to interrupt. Any mummies here looking for stylish trendy nursing wear this festive season?

Brand New MOTHERS EN VOGUE nursing maternity wear sale 60% off

More than 20 currently still in store designs available. XS-L sizes!!

Email [email protected] or PM me for details now til 16 Dec (Thur)!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Altariel, cannot recall exactly but I think this blood test pricks yr finger to measure blood sugar, I dun like this pricking thing..

Me can't sleep again, and hungry n thirsty...

Morning mummies! I went for my 16wks check-up yesterday, bb's legs are closed, can't see the gender. Gotta wait till 20wk detailed scan to know. Had been moody since, dunno if it's cos bb not cooperative. Stupid hormones...

Ann01jan> Are you all talking about the Glcouse Test?? To test the level of suger in your blood?

If so, I have done it before I am preggy.. thats many many years ago. My last gyne want to test the level of suger in my body.

Yes got to fast the night before the test and next day I go to the hospital and drank a bottle of extra sweet orange like fanta drink. I cannot take it that I puke out a little and when ready for the test I told the nurse I puke out a little.. she told me like that I cannot do the test have to come back again.... so better to tahan...

They need to draw 2 tube of blood... and you have to be there for abt 2 hours.

NT Scan & Papp-A (Blood Test)> Did the scan and bb is fine now wait for blood test result. I saw bb kept rising his/her hands up and jumping a little and turning away fm the scan.... the gyne have to press my tummy a few times to make it turn again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] cute.

morning all!

take care raynsky, not easy for you but got to be strong, [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I hate the GD test esp tat yucky orange drink! Christy, first time i was drawn 2 tube of blood when preg with #1, then 2nd preg, i was only drawn 1 tube of blood, ie after i drink that yucky drink 2 hrs before that, so don have to wait that long.2nd time was bttr cos gynae pass me tat bottle of yucky drink to bring home to drink before going to her clinic to draw the blood. She even told me i can put the drink in the fridge first then drink hahha! I don think i will be able to siam this round!

ann01jan,

Let us know when you can confirm whether your baby is boy or girl.

JuniorRain,

Yeah, the disappointment is only on the day when the dr told us the gender. After that I sort of accepted it and its better to know earlier so that I can stop looking at baby girl dress and hair pin.

Can I join you gals?

My due date is 26 June. I am with Dr Christopher Chong at Gleneagles and this is my 3rd child.

Both my my elder girl and my 2nd girl are coming to 5 years old and 3 years old respectively next week. When I think of starting the whole process all over again, I will feel a little sian. haha!! total breastfeeding for 6 months and pumping in the office for 1 over year....puree and mashing all the food, bringing diapers and prams...

But every child is a blessing and I am really looking forward to the new baby.

I already have 2 girls but I really don't mind a 3rd one as well though both of them want a Didi.

I wish I can know the baby gender early. Dying to find out. Are you gals scheduled to find out also only during the FA scan(mine will be during 10th jan)? I am kind of worried that my tummy doesnt seem to be growing much in size despite I am like into my week 16 starting this week. I hope my baby is growing well. the 101 worries =(

Good Morning! all mummies,

just finish my exam!

now realised that i didn't login for quite long times... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] , and the thread is moving fast.

Welcome Mongs, another mummy of 3rd bb...

will be visit my gynae tonight, hopefully can know the bb gender soon...

ann, christy & JJ> thanks for explaining abt the GD test! think when i got for wk 16 scan next wk i'll ask the doc whether can give me the yucky drink in advance before the 20wk scan then i dun have to wait 2 hrs @ the clinic..

eleen, christy> great that ur scans went well.. too bad couldnt see the gender.. wait for the 20wks scan ba..

welcome mongs and welcome back cy! wow muz hav been really stressful to be going thru exam and 1st trimester at the same time! hope ur scan goes well tonight..

christine> wat is FA scan? is that the same as the 20wks detailed scan?

life is nv fair hor.. so many of u want girls then get boy then i want boy but likely to be getting girl.. haha so far is there any one of us who actually is expecting the desired gender bb?

JJ> Hahah time change even the process cut shoter now for GD LOL..

Altariel> :p I am fine if cannot tell bb gender yet... I not in a hurry yet :p I have a feeling that my bb is a girl la from the food I eat and of coz feeling... hahaha I call her Spice Girl LOL.

Hahah.... Like spicy food... no oily food... like fruits... (this one like on diet) so only girls like to be on diet... no chocolate....

Thats how I think it to be a girl girl lor...

Altariel, I keep telling ppl that I dun mind either gender... But maybe deep down, I'm hoping for a boy, thats y so moody after check-up... Hubby got no preference. However, mil started baby shopping & everything that she got is blue... :S

Welcome mongs!

christy, ya lor, bttr la, i'll die of hunger if got to wait for another 2 hrs.

christy, bb like spicy food? I took a lot of spicy food (must be as chili hot as possible) when preg with my boy, but i dislike chili when preg with my gal, then this one, not sure, cos today like spicy food, tmr don like, then another time can just eat wanton noodles continously for few days non stop, dono what this bb want.

JJ> hahaha i think lots of pple complaint so the GD test change their process of the test.

Well hard to say still lor... thats only what I feel only... who knows is a boy LOL. But I can tell you I really love potato and pasta a lot... just like what I like before preggie... dun know is it me like or bb like.. mwahahah

Hi Altariel, FA scan is the fetal anomaly scan to see the details of the baby features eg any anomaly to the lips etc (which i m scheduled to do it at week 20). it also allows confirmation for the gender as we can now see the features more clearly. I am suppose to go down to TMC for the FA scan and after the scan I am suppose to go back to the clinic to see the gynae who will read and explain to me the report etc.

However, the gynae did not mentioned about any GD test at week 20. Is this part of the compulsory testings that we are suppose to take? They took 2 tubes of my blood sample during week 12 but i was not required for any fasting etc.

welcome mongs [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

moody day for me

woke up earlier than usual and cant get back to sleep. now feeling so sleepy

then walked to wardrobe and stared at it......alamak i tink i need new clothes.