(2011/06) June 2011

JJ, sorry for confusing you... I am working in Vietnam and will be delivering in a new TMC managed hospital here in Vietnam... So what I mean is I do not trust the Vietnam manufactured FM here... I rather have my mum buy and bring over from Singapore. So Friso FM is good yah!

Tsukushi, the ultrasonic mosquito repeller is those electronic sort whereby the the mosquito get zapped once they fly near it? less than $30 sounds like a good deal! definitely gonna get my dad to help me check it out at Best! Thanks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

eleen, i am going for appt this sat so mayb will be 3 weeks for next appt [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

E'leen, yah I heard of allergies too.. so it will be tough for me to stock up a big can. Hmm.. now I am toying the idea of stocking up at least 2 different brands of small FM cans!!

Seldom visit the thread, FB thread easier to follow via email :p

Re: wetbags

Got one from the bp for #1 swim stuff in school. So far no leakages,but left limited fabrics choice. Intend to bf so no need to get one for bottles, will prob stick with ziplock for soiled clothing coz have more to wash if use wetbag.

Re: online websites for rompers

Got mine from gap, old navy, for girls gymboree.

Re: BP

I buy from bps pretty often, usu to get a better price on stuff i'm already using, those with very good reviews or handmade stuff. For clothes and bags, I'm more wary of those with substantial difference in price coz there are a lot of fakes out there.

Ting,

I've tried the durian roll. It's nice!

Evvie, you can also invest in a mosquito net for your cot?

i'm not planning to get any FM yet, will try to make BF work even if it kills me. haha. but yeah, i don't want to have the temptation around, esp from mil and cl or what not.

my check ups have always been 4 weeks apart. by my next appt i will be in week 30. wondering if there will be an increase in frequency by this time?

hehe, eevie, i forgot u r in vietnam! So far Friso works well on my 2 older kids, easy on their stomach bah. Not sure if didi ok with friso or not, since will start him on BF first.

Fen, gain iq is for 1 yo and above wor..

posted previously by createjoy, let me repost since talking abt FM

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Mummies had this list 2 yr ago nt sure hw useful it is nw can try

friso : http://www.friso.com.sg/

alternatively, you can fond them on FB also can req sample

enfa : https://sg.meadjohnsonasia.com/main.cfm/country/Singapore

(you can sign up FOC as a member and choose which sample you want them to send to you.)

dumex : http://www.dumex.com.sg/

(you can sign up FOC as a member and choose which sample you want them to send to you.)

smilac : http://www.abbott.com.sg/family/freesamples/freesamples.asp

s-26 / promil : no website to get free samples from but you need to call them at Phone 65-6733-7666

and request for a free sample.

Nestle : website doesnt have option to request a free sample online so you need to call them at 6836 7000 and request.

Heinz : no website so need to call them at 63471700 for a free sample.

huggies : http://www.huggies.com.sg/

Goon : http://www.diapers.com.sg/help.php?section=freesample

(sign up as a member and they will send you a sample of your choice FOC)

Mamy Poko : http://www.mamypokoclub.com/frmMemberLogin.aspx?page_from=memdefaut

(sign up as a member and they will send you a sample of your choice FOC)

alternatively, you can call 6265 1648 for a sample.

fitti / petpet : 6861 9155

Drypantz / DrypersDiaper : 1800 466 3002

for pet pet/fitti => pls email to [email protected] to request

for hein rice cereal => pls email to Leanne @ [email protected] (very nice lady)

wyeth =. jennifer @ 6830 2876 (very nice lady)

I hope this list helps the mummies out there!!

I have the following pre-loved items to let go at attractive prices. Condition 9/10 as seldom used.

1. Peg Perego Pilko Switch (Red, 2010) at $600 (retail ~$1,000) (full recline and reversible)

2. Baby Bjorn Synergy in Blue (Air Mesh material) at $160 (retail $280)

3. My Breast Friend Nursing Pillow at $35 (retail $80)

4. Ameda Lactaline Dual Electric Pump at $160 (retail $329)

Pls PM me if interested

Dear mummies no milk sample other than hosp giv for infant. The one I posted previously fm sample only for 6 mth up.

Fen, if I'm nt wrg similar n gain is the same but gain is for stage 3 onward. So far enfa is most nutrition n ex, similar I heard rather heaty, I'm also using Friso for my son since birth. It only becm sweeter w vanilla flavor fm stage 3 n many other fm also like that w vanilla. Oh as for nan I used initially but pop v smelly sour sour one :p

Hi mummies regarding milk ah..my hub sis gave her bb drank a japan brand call SNOW..dont knw mediya got sell bo..drink until her cheeks are rosy..then also very fair..

if nt i was considering Goats milk?? any advises?? i saw in BP selling..said goat milk very near to human milk...

createjoy, who say enfa is the most ex? Similac price is on pile. hahahaha

littletosdelights, drink more water, milo, red dates tea, and most impt, don be too stress and also rest more.

ya, create joy, now similac is the #1 most ex fm then followed by enfa and friso. mamil gold and s26 pricings also catching up.

Suzie, go for 100% bfg!! I support u [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re: milk powder

I remember getting one tin of Friso for NB as sample. The pd used to give out. Also during baby fair. But this was some years back. Can try calling Friso to see if they still do that. They delivered to my doorstep some more.

shymz, don think so, cos nowadays most fm companies don't give out step 1 FM, they are not encouraged to do so, so they only give out the samples from step 2 onwards once your bb reaching 6mths.

Littletotsdelight, you can also try black bean with pork soup. Avoid cabbage coz it reduces milk supply. Most imptly drink a lot of water like what JJ mentioned.

JJ, ic. It was 4 years back so prob they changed it. I remember Friso rep calling me every few months to see if my bb had started FM but too bad for her I stuck with bfg.

Evvie

Not those type. The ultrasonic ones will emit a very high freq sound that you can't hear, but mosquitoes will stay away from it. Those that zap the mosquitoes, my hubby says are very noisy and disgusting..haha I've never seen one in action though. Just ask the shop people for assistance, cos it's not easy to find it.

Another way is to paste the mosquito patch directly onto the back of your baby's clothes, but a bit costly cos you need to change everyday.

Suzie, the playpen with bassinet which I bought already comes with a mosquito net. But not enough cos I dun think baby will be so goody goody to stay in the playpen all the time. Furthermore with mosquitoes flying around, we dun open our windows at all, so the whole house is aircon whenever we are at home. Hehe..I guess getting full sleepsuits is my excuse to buy more baby clothes and at the same time is nice to keep baby warm and prevents bites from as much surface area as possible.

Btw, I found a local site which sells lotsa baby clothings which are not too pricy.. any mummies ever bought from this site?

https://picasaweb.google.com/113949775307972373688

Thanks mummies.. I will go for breastfeed, just worry my milk supply comes late then gotta feed bb..

I saw from bp selling 64 pieces of drypers at $12.80 and went Ntuc the price $13.60

Any mummies know of cheaper option let me know ;)

ya lor, shymz, mine oso 3-4yrs back, friso used to give stage 1 fm, now no more liao, anyway am sticking to bfing, so hope can prolong as long as possible, [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

fen, u're referring to luvbabies' bp? u can order direct from them thru http://luvbabies.weebly.com. Spend $200 get free delivery otherwise there is a delivery charge imposed if less than $200. I always ordered from them for some groceries and my kids' FMs.

Tsukushi, thanks for your recommendation! this ultrasonic one sounds great! Gosh, my purchases for my parents or in laws to bring over just keep increasing! heehee :p

The mosquito patch too pricy to use/change for daily which I agree.

Evvie > how long have you been working in vietnam? i wonder if things are cheaper in Viet? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Life is beautiful, I am here for 2 years plus liao.. boring place.. things not cheap here man.. only local labour here is cheap.. everything else is pricy or at least about the same price as in Spore.. anything that is imported is very pricy due to high import duties here. Whats more, I can't access FB now.. think they ban it again.. sianz

Ting, agree with Altariel, you better not consider Japan milk liao.. the old batch should be fine but the newly manufactured batches could be scary..

littletotsdelight, i most prob will be choosing parkway east and 2 bedder. The price difference btw 2 and 4 bedder is not much and someone mentioned imagine all 4 mummies breast feeding together. How messy it is going to get.

I hope i can bf as long as my #1 too. but hor my supply took 1 week to kick in so for the 1st week #1 night feed is on fm. Will be good if can get some supply fr hospital for dat 1 week. #1 started of with drinking 90ml every 3hrs which i cant meet....

to improve supply can try the fengureek (dunno the correct spelling)

sigh... i always miss out on so much during the day! :p

thanks for all the advice on fm for our babies mummies!

I think i don't mind bf the baby, but just worried there isn't enough supply.. and plus.. i'm not sure if i know how to use the breastpump... haha

and plus, if csect, i dun think i got the strenght to latch on the baaby... aiyoo.. so much considerations!

Have all you mummies packed your emergency bag already? I have yet to pack mine..

evvie > so u be there for long term or returning to singapore soon... cos what happens when ur kid goes to school... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hmmmm I haven't pack my bag. I haven't even set up my playpen, haven't wash bb clothes etc

I'm also clueless on pumping of milk etc but my fren says TMC got teach the mothers how to bf, pump milk and bath your bb after you gave birth so wait for these practical lessOns ;)

i think tmc has great lactation support. so no worries. think i will just bring my pump along n ask them how to use and sterilise etc.

the emergency bag dun need to pack so early one. think wk 36 then pack. cos must throw in nursing wear. think the boops size still not fixed, can only buy closer to date

fen, where u stay, i'm placing order with them next week.

RE: emergency bag

Best to pack from wk 32 or 34 onwards, u nvr know if you going to due early or not. I already half packed mine, just need to dump in the sanitary pads and disposable panties and i'm going to throw into my dh's car boot.

Ratatouille (gan_chiong_spider), i m intending to bf too. But just in case my breast milk does not come in time, do i have to buy FM to stand by? Or i can request from the hospital?

Thks piano jazzy.sounds like 2 bedder is the right option...

I have half packed my emergency bag too. I got 2 frens who had babies as early as 30-32 weeks. I have thrown in a breastpump, my stuff, bb essentials and now left sanitary pads, nursing pads. I heard in Parkway East no lactation consultant, so if i have any probs, I will hv to consult a private one. think there is breastfeeding society and also a professional called Doris Fok.

emergency bag - just prepare the bag first & start to throw in things as you remember... preggy are forgetful, difficult to pack 1 shot LOL

When i go for the hospital tour, the customer service says they have a lactation nurse and a room for class where the nurses will invite u to attend.

st3ph, usually if we tell hospital we wan to tbf they will onli give a botlle or 2 for u to bring hm which is juz 2 feed. I m not going to standby any fm. Coz touch wood if reali need to then go grad is easily available at any supermarket. So juz need to decide on the brand u wan now so by then juz tell hubby to go grab lor.

Thanks JJ.. I m staying at Whampoa.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mummies.. I also dun intend to get FM since its easily available. pray hard that I have milk from day 0...

Fen, yes coffee here is good but I find them too strong and gets my heart racing! I seek comfort in coffee bean and tea leaf's latte once in a while still. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Life is beautiful, I guess we will be here for quite a while! No plans to return back home yet due to job opportunity. As for schooling, it will be quite a few more years so dun want to think so far yet and things do change all the time.. now we take a step at a time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Emergency bag... I have not pack mine too.. have been so lazy but I better start packing next week.. I guess will start to wash baby clothes and beddings in late April and set up baby bed in May. Can't do it too early otherwise it will get dusty.

Littletotsdelight,

I believe u can still seek help from LC at Mt A etc even if u don't deliver there. I attended the mumsfairy BF workshop and Sister Kang from Mt A actually gives out her hp number to us. I'm not delivering at Mt A but I intend to look for her if I need help.