(2011/05) May 2011

hi all!

i have not been updating myself for so long. The thread are too long to keep myself updated already.

My new maid is here and i'm having a big headache. she is fresh Indo, but experienced in INdo doing hsewk n cooking. But i have problems with her hygiene and English! i m losing my patience cos she cannot understand what I say. she digs nose and roll into a ball when i brought her to relative hse n pple saw!

her mouth has a weird smell everyday. ask her drink more water but she just smiled. teach her to count bb's timing for milk, and when to cook cereal n prepare bb's puree when i'm off to work. she cannot count!

pple say i expect too much. oh dear, i miss my old maid despite her attitudes! I m trying to find other agents cos mine sucks. He told me off that cannot return to him the maid like that. Have to train her for 1-2 mths, cannot then change.

I check with other agencies. she told me if want no off day maid, must find fresh Indo or fresh Filipino. But some pple say Filipino after a while will start asking for off day cos their govt backing v strong. then fresh indo i don't want liao. scary! then ex sin indo they say will start asking for off day after awhile too as they are experienced and will compare.

some ask me give this maid a chance but i really cannot stand that she cannot understand my english n i cannot understand her. why did i choose her in the first plc? No foresight. I'm beginning to doubt my ability to judge.

anyone can share with me waht i shld do?

guess u have to tahan her for another mth then change her away... Bunnymum...

mummies.. my bb is having constipation.. today is 3rd day liao.. help!!

Hayashi, at least it never go 5 days . Maybe the fm or solid food u give is heaty. Give more water. Rub ru yi oil on tummy to make yr bb feel better.

bunnymum: I understand how it is to not being able to communicate with ur maid. Sometimes when I go to my grandpa in-law's house whatever the maid say I also dun understand. Luckily is not my maid. I think communication is very impt. If ur agent say must train first then hwo abt telling him u cun communicate and want one who can speak eng?

Hayashi: I gave my baby cereal with prune and he poos ALOT!!! I had to stop the cereal for a couple of days. He previously also had constipation, have poo but extremely hard type, now is sticky type.

Mimosa: Clearing leaves for the year? Its so quiet here recently. Normally the forum will be busy from Tue but today so little posts too.

Bunnymum - ARe you able to talk to your agency to talk to your maid ? Cos you cannot communicate to her in her language. Talk to your agency and establish your standards. If really cannot then you really have to change one. But personally, I feel it is like striking toto to get a good helper.

They will never be able to care of the bb like we do. So for we, they are 70 t0 80% good, I am happy already.

Hi mummies,been very busy taking care of my kids.no tine to log in at all.#1 is sick.coughing n heavy flu for past 2 days.having been keeping him at home.mei mei just went for jab yesterday n is having slight fever.sigh...I need more hands..

Ladies,I may have to miss thur gathering.cuz no one to take care of #1 if he is at home. Mimosa,I may have to pass u baby aiden's gift another day.so sorry.will update again.

After 3 days of no internet, finally able to go online!

constipation: sometimes my son doesn't poo or 3 days, and when he does, he give me 2 set of world record poo in a day...

Hellooo mummies..back to bao-dao here. Now, trying to catch up with the posts..

Mimosa: Lol-ing复复得正! Everywhere i go, people get amused by my #1's cheeky antics. They also flash me empathetic smiles like saying 'u so poor mummy, how u tahan this 'xiao gin na'....

Mickey, Jenny: ^5, same here, my hb “will say I'm dreaming or I'm the one snoring”.

Novi: how do u train urself to stand hb's snoring? Kick him to another room? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hayashi/Deon: u both so cute – record ur hb’s snoring…LOL. So funny esp “then he was like.. Wat's tat me? 5 seconds later.. he fall asleep again... while i am trying to zzz..”

WT: Is ur bb teething? Can try put some teething gel on his gums? Mine will get less cranky after that.

Jmummy: sorry to reply your post now. I got individual chocolates (small boxes type) for his class teachers. Here’s where I saw the FB rompers… http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/6111485.html

Hope ur #1 recovers soon and don’t let him go near his meimei. U take care urself too..

Mimosa: Besides 2ww, we got company for shopping.. Deon and Jenny also shopping queens. Hahaha.

Vicki: welcome back! u have fun ? Hope ur bb recovers soon.

Val: wow, long time didn’t see u login already.. How’s things ?

Jenny: can sell HT cereal off at forum if bb really rejects it….

Jmummy - Hope your bbs recover soon. Anyone to help you out ? in-laws, parents or siblings...

It is very tiring to handle 2 unwell children at the same time..

Take care ya.

Welcome back LittleFly !

I love shopping especially for my bao bei ! LOL

Bunnymum: i disagree with ur agent. It is not our responsibility to train the maid 1-2 mths, cannot use, then return. If things don't work out between u and the maid, then it gets frustrating for both u and her. Agents are paid so much ($3000+) for getting the papers/procedure as well as basic training. Your maid may do better in another family whom she can communicate with.

Ask yourself what is your utmost key priority? Care for bb, housework or cooking? While some super maids can do all three equally well, most can do may 1 or 2. If she cannot meet the most basic requirement (like hygiene standards) and do not improve as time progresses, then its better to change. Just like what Deon says, if she can meet 70-80% then good enough ok.

LittleFly - Gethering at AMK hub is today or tomorrow ?? Just saw the event notice and is states today !!

If it is today, I cannot make it.. My girl is still sleeping at home and I made plans to go elsewhere already. So sorry

Little Fly: Glad to know I'm not alone. So I think all guys will say the same thing. I tried selling but no reply. I'm thinking whether my boy will take it if I give him abt 2 tablespoons instead of a full feed.

LOL. U"re so funny too. I dun think they are giving u empathetic smiles. I think they are amazed how u take care of ur boy.

Haiz. Not a good day for me. Yest from 8.30-9.30pm baby kept screaming and crying like how he behaved a couple of mths ago. Nothing can stop him from crying. I gave him pacifier and he sucked for abt 1 min then pull out to cry again! Worse thing is my husband have to camp in for reservist yest!

This morning after his feed he refused to slp. Changed his diapers and still need to pat him for very long, took abt 1.5 hour to get him back to slp then I faster go back to slp too but a while later he woke up again!!! I told him I'm not going to pick him up till 12pm then I just leave the room, luckily he fall asleep by himself.

Deon: i put 22 dec thu in FB leh. Is it a reminder notice?

Jenny: it's really hard work on your part but I think u cope v well. Is bb startled by loud sound or things like that? Can give a bit jingfengshan. Or he is teething?

Little Fly: No leh. He woke up from his nap yest at 8.30pm and keep frowning and cry. Dunno what's wrong with him. Nowadays he knows when I scold him. When I scold him he will frown and cry. He keeps rubbing his ears, isit teething? His gums is very smooth though, doesn't seem to have teeth coming out soon.

Btw mummies, my boy currently wearing 18m shirts, if one size up isit 2T?

Jenny: his stomach got wind? Nose block ? Got poo recently? Feet n forehead cold n clammy? Bb J is very intuitive. He knows when u scold him already?

Little Fly: No wind, got block nose but many days le, esp when he woke up in the morning but it doesn't seem to be giving him any prob and he pooed a lot recently. Haha. Last time when I scold him he can still smile at me. Now he knows I'm scolding him, but if I nv raise my voice he wun cry, at most frown only. If I scold and raise my voice at him then he will frown and cry.

Jenny: today forum got only u and me. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] v quiet day. Bb just want your attention ?

My bb is indifferent when I scold or raise my voice at him. Continues do what he wants to do.

Little Fly: Yah, the forum is extremely quiet these few days. Holidays already. My baby wants to chat with u, he's pressing on the keyboard while I'm typing. LOL.

I just gave him two slaps for crying nonstop yest. He knows he's not going to get my attentino for crying nonstop. Ur baby is so cute. I think he dunno u're scolding him. U scold him when he eats e xmas tree? LOL

Hello bb Joben! Auntie lil fly here! Pat pat n hug hug. Lol.

Yes. He just ignored me completely! Even I raise my voice. He at most take one look at me n return to munch his Xmas tree!

Little Fly: I sent him to bed le. Later will tell him u pat and hug him. Haha.

LOL. Ur baby is as funny as u. U shld take a video of him eating the xmas tree. Its so funny and cute. If there's a funniest home video in sg I'm sure ur baby will win.

Hello mummies! I am using my pumping time to bao dao here [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Argghh! My boss so irritating! Know it is my last day at office today, then keep asking me do this do that, e more report n email I sent out, e more he ask to add in this n that -.- think he wanna keep me longer in office so that he can see me longer.. Yee err... BTH [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Lil Fly: u really funny n gao Xiao loh! LOL on almost everything u said, haha...

Oh yeah! More shopping queens will make less guilty! So more the better!! Haha...

Jenny: today my bb also more cranky than usual, keep making noise -.- and I heard this morning he dun wanna drink milk, my mil got to feed him with spoon! But check his gum also no sign of teething...

Viman: oh I forgot to tell u, I let my bb try e earth's best cereal and he likes it!!! Thank u so much for giving me e sample!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Altho he only eats 2-3 teaspoon but at least he opens his mouth when e spoon is near :D so happy! When I scretly change to other cereal, he immediately cough n vomit it out! Lol... Nowadays e kids r too smart to cheat them, haha...

Hello Mummies - I am back

Went to NEX but no shopping... NOthing for me to spree..

LittleFly - Oops sorry I saw the wrong date.. But hor, bad news tomorrow is dong chi so I need to bai bai. By the time I dunno if I can still make it. But I will do my best to go over.

Jenny - Ai yo u slapped so boy.. So painful.. Sometimes bb wil be cranky. My girl was also like that past few days and I thought she is going to teeth. But today, she wakes up with bright beautiful eyes and keep smiling. I guess baby have mood too. So maybe just cranky for the day only.

Mimosa- I feel more shopping queens = more shopping cos got company !!!

Earth Best Cereal is good ? I got one but have yet to try it on my girl. I got he barley one, I am still giving my girl Bellamy's.

So far she is ok with it. My girl will open her mouth big big when I feed her carrot, pears, grapes, pumpkin and she loves apple. You say äpple", she will open her mouth big big and wait for you. Too slow she will complain.

But when it comes to green beans and brocoli, her reactions will be SLOW. SOmetimes, to get her to finish I have to praise her. I must tell her good girl, you are so guai, doing a good job to finish up your vegetable. Sweat, feeding time can be a struggle too.

Mimosa: Gao Xiao? no lah, i very 'zheng jing' one. My hb and me call our #1 'xiao gin na' behind his back. LOL. Sometimes, we exchange glances and roll our eyeballs over the things he does/says.

Jenny, Mimosa, Deon: your bbs all so clever. My bb so dumb, continue to chew Xmas tree...

Mimosa: ur boss a guy right? maybe he got designs on u...betta be careful. Why him keep you for so long? never see a 辣妈 before?

I think maybe we start the meeting later like 12pm? I am on leave tmr but my boss seems to have forgotten and schedule our weekly sncy-up call tomorrow at 11plus.

just updated FB to update timing

AMK Hub gathering, 22Dec (Thur), 12-3pm.

I have not met most mummies so dunno who is who. Guess we will go by our nicks tmr ya? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mimosa: My baby also take a long time to finish milk today. But I nv feed him with spoon. Too tiring and he will spit out bit by bit. I rem my last day in office my boss also ask me to do this and that, somemore is not clearing leaves, is last day of work. Then I say ok then dilly dally and in the end nv do anything. LOL. Somemore I left the co coz he shifted to very far away, not coz I resign myself.

Deon: I nv slap very hard, but no difference in his crying. I carried him but he still continue to scream, that's why I got angry. Today he's much better too.

Little Fly: Haha, chewing xmas tree is not dumb lah. Its cute, extremely cute. If got chance I want to see ur baby chew the xmas tree too. Haha.

Jenny,

Keep calm..I also hv urge to beat my naughty son sometimes but I try to think of the hard time of giving birth to him so can bear with it. Cool down...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I got my agent to talk to maid last night that I only give her 1mth to train her n she better stop smiling n say forget forget when I ask y sthg is done wrongly. Her hygiene as well-digging nose n drink water to prevent smelly mouth! So bad of me! Tdy she suddenly seems to understand n speak more eng! So I wonder is she faking? Less than a week n like that. I think I'm gg to return her after 30 days. Told her to mk milk 150ml n 5 spoons powder. She made 105ml. So wrong combi! Imagine if i didn't check or nt at home n give instruction? Shd couldn't follow. Sigh!

We wan to try fresh filipino now but Duno gd idea or not. Anyone has new Filipino b4?

Mimosa,

Yeay! So happy to hear that baby A likes the cereal! Guess we just have to keep trying new things till we find what they like. I still haven't found anything that my baby A likes!

Hello mommies been bz lately til no time to bao dao.

Lil fly,how is ur hk trip?I juz realize I' didn't reply u tat I went alone wif hb to tw.also lucky didn't brin d kids cos rainin everyday + imagine she fall sick there I will b more stressed tho I also feel stressed I m not here for her.

Gatherin initially tot wan join cos I happen to take leave for no 1 parent meetin in d noon but ur timin now I dun think I can join le.nvm,next time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Earth best,any1 know where I can buy d 6 convenient pack ah?

Deon,my gal like earth best n I quite like it's texture.I actually taste it,nicer than Bellamy. Thinkin of buyin fr iherb n feed her as breakfast but they sell 1 full pack.

bunnymum: If she is so dirty herself how can she keep ur house clean rite?

Mimosa: When's ur baby's next ear checkup? Update us abt the result ok?

Bunnymum: Your maid sounds like she's faking it to me, cuz she sounds like the maid(s) some of friends have. Faking to seek sympathy and faking to not understand so don't have to do! I got my first maid when I gave birth to my boi. My one is ex-dubai Filipina. I chose Filipina because the English standards should be better and their pay is on par with Indos now anyway. She was able to accept no off-day, no issues with the lower-end-of-the-spectrum salary I offered (they earn more here than in Dubai), no problems with communication, great with chores and fast learner. But I think I'm just lucky. All these qualities are more person dependant than nationality. In my selection process I had also ever called up a chosen candidate for interview and she couldn't answer me on any of my questions except for "Yes mdm" and "home"! Another candidate bargained with me on her salary despite her being completely new, and I dropped her because I think it's a sign of more demands to come. So I recommend you do a telephone interview with your choice before you confirm your selection. I even went further to 'borrow' a friend's maid to help do the telephone interview because they tend to reveal more things about themselves when speaking to a fellow countryman.

Little Fly: Yes I think my boi was acting up due to the teething. He has his third one popping out. He's better after that night, but he's really getting more active and naughty! My back aches after carrying him around for one evening.

Mummies, I'm going to the AMK Hub gathering tomorrow! Just realised I've no idea what the details is! Can someone add me to the event in FB?

It's also my first time attending such a gathering, so I'm gonna be blur faced too!

Hi mummies,can only report at tis timing.

Very tiring day for me.both kids were very cranky. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

brought #1 to the doc n found out dat he's a little astmatic.got to use nebuliser. N always crying while using.bad flu also.with mucus dripping uncontrollably. I think he must b feeling terrible but I can't help.n he is always clinging onto me. Lucky #2 fever is better. Guess it's dat time of the year whn kids n elderly fell sick often. Anyway, guess wad doc say whn I brought him there?

"whoa,u haven been here for 1+ yr." -.- if given a choice I would nv want to b there lor...

thank u lil fly n Deon.so sorry,I guess I can't make it to the gathering tmr alrdy.cuz #1 is sick so keeping him at home.plus tmr is dong zhi.think nobody can help me take care le. Can only meet up next time round.

Mimosa: u there?baby aiden's gift is still with me?whn r u going penang?mayb I ask my hb to pass to u at ur hse area?

AMK hub gathering: seems getting less mummy going huh? Now only left me, lil fly, WT and one more mummy from fb?

Jmummy: I am leaving tmr nite [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] oh, where ur hb working? No gd to trouble him la, no urgent to get e gift actually, next time then get from u lo [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] thanks for take and keep for me wor!

Jenny: my bb check up is tmr morning, will update after tat k? Thanks for e concern @.@

Deon: so sad [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] can't see ur cute chubby gal Liao...

Wah, ur bb v good gal leh! Will open mouth big big! We nid to spend alot effort to coax my boy to eat loh, tirring -.- except his latest fav: avocado + papaya! He will open mouth big big n finish about 2oz!! We tried it, it taste really good! N smell nice too! Ur shld try to give it to ur bb too! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Viman gave me e whole grain rice cereal, so we bought tat one for him, nvr try e barley one, dun Noe he likes or not...

Lil fly: ya, he is a guy, but he is doing this to everybody -.- not only me...

Viman: ya, must keep trying, cos their taste keep changing :p so I will keep trying to secretly change his cereal from time to time, who knows maybe 1 day he will like it, haha...

Mummies, I do run sprees on US sites with my friends. If you all are interested, I can collate your orders when I run the next one.

Mimosa: I still don't know where to meet tmr! Can let me know the details?

viman,

bought my playard from Chong Choon (if i dun recall the name wrongly). its a shop in chinatown. i just call them and order and they deliver to my place. i bought 6panels.

little fly,

yup, super long nv login here =) recently curious so just pop in here to look see look see =) u still rem me tho. keke.

things are gd. enjoying myself as a sahm to my kids =) my gal having separating anxiety nw. if she sees me and i dun carry her/i just walk away, she will end up crying =P so sometimes if i am doing hsewk and she wakes up i will have to carry her n cont with the other hand. hehe.

also bz buying gifts and planning for our family trip next june =) how abt u and baby?

Viman,

I got my playyard from this SMH BP:

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/5360294.html

Just post your query/order, the BP owner will email you on the availability and details. You transfer funds to pay, then they will deliver the playyard to you. If you don't have a playmat, you can get the playmat as a bundle with the playyard.

It's been quite useful for me, more to contain my boi. I got the four panel due to space limitation so there isn't much space for my boi to crawl in it. When we are with him, we remove the playyard which is quite light to let him crawl around. We put him in there when we need to tend to other things and get our attention away from him.

Vicki,

You're talking about the box of sachets? I got at Parkway Parade - Four Seaons Organic market.

Val, WT,

Thanks so much! Excited about the play yard!

Viman,parkway too far for me to buy.nvm I will check out united sq later

Mimosa,yes more economical to buy 1 pack.but for traveling ard,d convenience pack is really gd.I dun have to scoop into another container to bring out.1 sachet make 1 bowl juz nice.I know sounds lazy but is really convenience lor.

morning Mummies... back to work for me today.. ytd was sick.. down with gastric pain and vomitting... and coughing. :S fall sick before i fly off to holiday tomorrow

Today is the AMK hub gathering yeah? Enjoy, mommies, and take lots of pics! Let's do a east side gathering some time soon, then Pinky and I can join! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mimosa, hope all goes well with the doc visit!

morning mummies... ^5 hayashi, i'm also back to work today... reached hm very late on tues, so took one more day to rest ytd...

hayashi, where u gg? hope u feel better today. if not, maybe just take one more day mc to rest?

ya today amk hub gathering, too bad i cant join them. ya enjoy, mummies, take photos n upload fb ya! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mickey.. i bringing my bb flying to melbourne..

still coughin quite bad.. thk the reflux burnt my throat causing it to be sensitive and coughing..

u all got gathering today? i can't join.. but mummies nevertheless have fun...

mickey.. yup free & easy.. go to visit relative there too...

msia oso overseas ma.. lol...

i now starting to worry can my bb withstand the plane taking off and touching down...

worry her hearing will be affected..