(2011/05) May 2011

mummyzen: i teach my #1 to call that his 'family jewel' so cannot anyhow let others touch it. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hello Mummies! Finally have time to sit in front of e pc to read your posts (so many!! XD) and reply!

Thanks all for your concerns! I am still not sure if my boy is ok or not... what happened is, on last sunday morning, when i was preparing to go out for e trial class at Nex, i asked my hb to help bb clean his ear, then suddenly my bb cried so loud! i quickly went carry him and everyone coax him, so he only cry for abt 1-2 mins, so we tot he was ok cos no blood and nth... so we happily went to NEX and also e xmas party... but e moment i get off e car when i rch home, i steped into e lift, i saw bloods in my bb's ear!!! OMG! i almost faint!

i quickly go carpark look for my hb, and we brought him to e clinic nearby, e doc tried to clean for him, my bb cried so badly when e doc n nurse tried keep him still n checked, he must be v scared T_T then e doc said e blood cant stop, so told us to go KK A & E! e only thg i can do was to keep singing to my bb, which i think also help myself to calm down.. when rch KK, e nurse check and said his bleeding seems stop, so we got to wait for our turn to see doc, we waited for 1.5hr to see e doc, bb cried again when e doc checking on him. but my tear cant stop dropping when e doc told me his ear drum now has a hole!! my gosh! I shld not had asked my hb to clean for him!! That is his first time doing it! it is always me who clean for him, and i only gently clean e outside, nvr ever go in to ear canel! i shld told him what to do!! even i typing now, i also feel like crying already T_T my heart so pain! he must feel v painful that time! i rather it is me who is suffering, and wat if next time he gone deaf!! how can i live with myself!! it is all my fault!!

e doc told us usually after a few weeks the ear drum will heal back, but nid to be careful not to let water get it.. n nid to let specialist to check and do hearing test...

during e trip home, my bb seems v active, and keep twist n turn, i was having hard time carrying him, there was one time, he turn until his injured ear hit on my arm, n i saw alot of fresh blood in his ear again when i got off e car =( really worry if he hurts his ear again, so we wanna go to e hospital again, but he fell asleep not long after we got in e car again, so we tot better go home, help him put ear drop n let him slp, cos guess doc also cant do much, but we called up e doc just in case, doc said damage has been done, nth he can do, can only let it heal by itself.. but really heart pain to see his ear with so much blood T_T That night i dun really slp, keep monitoring him, n bb kept crying to wake up, seems having more difficulty to get bk to slp.. so next day me n my hb all stay at home to monitor him just in case, luckily he seems like his usual self...

my hb also keep blaming himself, at first he blamed me too, but i can understand la, cos i also blame myself =( but later he apolagize to me... i felt that after this incident, everyone loves bb more now, my mil told my hb sis also cried in her room after she saw e blood in bb's ear..

mummies, sry for my long post, but i guess u ladies wont make e same stupid mistake like i did la, i really feel i so stupid, i really dun know how to take care of my bb and make him suffer T_T i asked my hb to clean for bb bcos i feel that it is always me who took care bb, cut his nails, clean his face n mounth and put him to slp every night, bath him every weekend etc.. i just want him to be more involved... i shldnt be so calculative, bcos my hb also got help, like wash e milk btls, change bb;s diaper.. it is all my fault, i too narrow hearted =(

i can nvr feel relieved until e doctor confirm that my bb's ear is totally fine, now i still keep praying his ear will recover soon!

shaking bb: my hb always shakes my bb up n down leh, and my bb loves it! will affect his brain development ah? oh no... shld i ask my hb to stop?

Mickyboy: i bought one from SGS and one from BizJ, one for my mum, one for my sis. dun buy from SGS, they took 1 month to delivery my pan!! =.=||| Biz J better, delivery only abt a week =) here is e link: http://list.gmarket.com.sg/gmkt.inc/Goods/Goods.aspx?goodscode=404162282

Last time they said passion card can get $10 disc coupon on Gmarket, dun know still have or not.. and i have a mastercard 10% off double coupon too, i can send u if u using mastercard =)

mimosa: I also clean the inside of my boy's ear. I bought this ear pick with light and sometimes I go quite near in. After reading ur story, I'm scare of cleaning my boy's ears. I hope ur boy will recover soon. When is the next checkup? We will all pray for ur baby boy!

little fly: I made up my mind to talk to my husband when he returns later, either he change or we divorce. And initially I was certain on keeping my boy but just now feed him 1 hour he only drank 2oz and refused to drink anymore. If like that I just let both of them leave me. Enough is enough le.

I did not neglect my husband. In fact, everytime I go online shopping I will still find stuff for him and keep asking what he wants. Now I really dunno what to do I just feel very terrible and unhappy. I dun think I can carry on any further unless if he changes. I am tired to quarrelling with him everyday and at nite we quarrel before slping and I ended up with little slp while he enjoyed his slp so much immediately after our quarrel.

I seldom ask him to cook in the morning anymore coz I think he might be tired so I try to steam food which I can handle even if baby is around. But he's not appreciative at all.

Mimosa,

Oh my goodness! I really feel for you. Wishing hard that the ear drum heals back soon. When is the follow-up to check if it's healed?

Shaking baby:

Vigorous shaking is not good for babies' brain, but if you just gently lift them and bring them back down, they love it. My baby chuckles happily too. Just make sure no vigorous shaking, especially the head.

Cleaning ears:

Am too scared to clean the inside with any long object so I just roll a tissue paper between my fingers to make a round, blunt end and use that to clean out the wax. Is that all right? What do other mommies do?

Jenny & Viman: thank you @.@ his appt with e specialist is on 22nd of Dec.

Oh ya, that is same day as our AMK hub gathering, so i might be late, will try to rush bk to e gathering ok?

Little Fly,

Thanks for reminding me about MEDICINE! Gosh I should pack some panadol and the fever patches just in case!

Pinky,

We are also looking at this trip as a 'practice run' for longer trips to distant places. See how she does next door first then we plan other holidays. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Viman: last time i saw there is a type of cotton bud, more fat at base then got a smaller n shorter tip at e end, specially for clean bb's ear, didnt buy it that time, tot not neccessary, i might consider getting that..

Mimosa,

I see.... As long as the part that goes inside the ear is very very soft, should be ok. What did your hb use to clean baby's ear?

Finally got time to log in again.my girl was cranky the whole afternoon cuz kor kor woke her up frm nap!!just fall asleep n kor kor went AMK hub.peace at last.lol..

Mimosa: I think tis is a phase everyone will go thru.I'm sure Aidan will b fine.I'm rem whn I was young,my caregiver when to clean my ear,n it bled non stop too.I'm fine now. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] the most impt thing is to keep the ear clean n dry.tis is to prevent any form of infection. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Viman: so sweet of u to go support ur hb.u should haf a hand carry bag withu at all times.inside the bag, ther should b sufficient diapers,nappy cream, wet wipes, a security object,a toy she prefers,jacket,n bottles n milk.o ya.and extra clothing too,in case she soil her clothes. All other things u can put in bigger luggage. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mils: u are the most difficult to get along humans in the world.lol...

Gosh mimosa.. i really feel for u.. i almost cry when i see wat you have type... god bless your boy... jus be careful dun wet his ear... when take shower... dun blame yourself or your hubby.. is nobody's fault.. its take alot courage to face the fact....

jmummy & Hayashi: Thanks.. ya, now we only use v little water to bath him, bcos sometimes he likes to splash e water ard... and we dun wash his hair, rather his hair smelly than his ear get infected =P

ya, i nvr blame my hb, i told him accident does happen, but i cant stop blaming myself tho.. =(

Cindymama: try to search for SMH May 2011 in fb, then request to join. after that send msg to Starfruit to tell her your nickname cos she is administrator [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lol so much for my planning! Turns out the team will check out on sunday morning and come back to Singapore straight from the field after the last match. Obviously I can't check out with them and spend the whole day in the sun with no space to pump or feed bb. Even if I check out later, I will have to go to the field by myself to join them on the trip back. Hb not comfy with me checking out by myself and getting a cab and going to the field. Dun want hb to have to come fetch me while the entire team wait for us... Oredi feeling like the bimbo wife of a sportsman a la Victoria Beckham Hahahahaha!

JMummy.

Thanks for the tips. Have noted down for the next trip whenever it happens! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mimosa: hope he can faster recover... so heat pain when reading ur post... me using this ear pick with light and sometimes I go quite near in. After reading ur story, I'm scare of cleaning my gal ears.

Viman: ya, i think as long as it is soft and not go inside, shld be ok... my hb used a cotton bud to clean =.=

Pinky: thanks @.@ hmm... ur post v similar to Jenny's one... hehe....

Actually I've read before that there is no need to clean the ears. The ear wax will get 'pushed' out of the ear gradually by the our jaw movements. In fact, supposedly ear swabbing only pushes the ear wax further into the ear canal and what we see on the cotton bud is only a small portion of the top layer of the ear wax buildup.

So mummies, we have to be careful not to get over zealous with cleaning. Only swab away what our eyes can see on the outside.

Mimosa, can understand how distressed you are. When my boi fell off the bed the first time, I felt myself turn cold all over with fright. Imagine if I saw blood like you...!

I will say BB's very brave and strong! I couldn't believe your story cuz I saw him at the trial class. So active and lively! So mummy have to be stronger and braver than him ok?

Mimosa, speedy recovery to baby A. Dun be too upset, it will heal. just got for hearin test and see what is the result. Anyway ear canal and nose care all self cleaning, we do not have to clean them. take care, dun be too upset ok.

Mimosa: thanks. I also nv clean inside just purely outside. I ask pd before she say clean outside can le inside ear wax will come out. Because some bb ear wax is big and hard if not careful I dun know how to handle. For my elder son my mum help me clean she got patience bb 1 time she also clean. She very slowly n gently dig out. Pei Fu my mum.

Mimosa jia you. I believe will get over the pain very fast. As every mummy bb is precious

Mimosa, sorry to hear that. But dun worry it will b fine de. I can feel for u.. U know when my bb just born, he failed the hearing test for left ear. That time I was really very worried, but can't do much... Doc said can only cfm when he's older like 3 or 4 mths later. Coz by then, sure no water inside n can do more accurate test. Everyday my mum will make bb sleep on his right, so that his left ear is facing outside. Then mum will clap hands softly n see if bb responded. She will b very happy when she see bb moving, but it's actually normal tt bb moves while sleeping rite. All these just to make ourselves feel better. Finally after 2 mths we can't wait anymore n bring bb for chk up, even if it's not accurate n will need to go after 4 mths again, it's fine too. But thank god, he passed the test this time! What a relief when we heard of this... So dun worry lar, it will be over soon, and he'll be fine too de =)

Jiayou jiayou, both mummy n bb! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yes I also read that actually cleaning is not required. I din clear my #1's ears either. As for bb, I know bbsitter will use a hankie to wipe when bathing that's all, din really clean it w cotton bud or etc. Maybe u can also cfm w doc when u see specialist in the next visit?

Btw I tot there are 2 types of ear wax rite, one type wet n one type dry? If it's dry, maybe need to clear? If it's wet, I think no need ar....

btw, mimosa, the pan that u bought is the normal red pan, or its the deeper pan? u think its really useful? haha, i m really afraid i only use it for a few times then will keep it inside the cupboard le.... coz i dun usually cook, only cook during weekends once in awhile :p

yes i do have mastercard, how can u send me the coupon ar? via email huh?

ear cleaning: Its not required? My boy has got tons of ear wax and need to clean every week. Its all accumulated inside and will come out if too much. I didn't use powder or him. Wonder what's wrong. I even once dig out an extremely big piece of ear wax and took photo of it!

Mimosa: Patz patz. Poor bb and mummy. I feel for you when reading your recount of the incident. Based on what other mummies shared, bb will be fine. Stay positive ya, don't blame yourself...

Hi mummy,

Sorry to disturb, can help me decipher this indo words again?

Ya, alloh berikanlah aku aawasan atas peryanyaan dalam hahku? Sobenarnyn apa to senarusnya terbalk untuk ku?

Sorry I think some words v hard to read the handwriting.

sorry and one more long paragraph:

ya alloh berikankah aku ketenangan hati neenghadam semua kenyataan ini aku tak tahu apakah ini cobaan ato anugrah

anuceerah kancah leepaaku rasa bersyukuy nrimo ag atu seperti hari ini maaikan ku tlaak nenglzinkenks pt. hp dan aku mau also tidak mau xxx terini itu karna tidak ada pkihan laun sungguh ternksinnt aku dg. ta kepcetrsan mankauku

sekarang uo all benahkan teeranangan husi sen inkeas menaran semuanya dan ini semua engka to maka pentntung lyisa meazadikan aku inklas

ya allan apakah ini to terbalk aku? ato nah to leech tak? tunsukankah ta aku aku sunndah terisikan da keaaaa....

i have a feeling there are many words i couldn't decipher cos it's too scribbly writing, like not to intently let pple read properly type. sorry for the trouble. could someone pls help me?

mimosa,

just read your post and was wondering what happened to you the other day. Today i'm sick and new maid coming in and so much adjustment. Sorry to say the first time i saw her i dun like her face. v chum. i m beginning to feel down n suspect if i'm the one having problems. i see my bb and just wnat to keep crying today. this new maid cnanot understand alot of thgs n look fierce. i hope we didn't mk the wrong choice. v tiring to train maid, really!

sorry sidetrack too much, back to ur post. i really feel for u and can understand waht u were gg thru. my boy failed his hearing test at the hosp n i blamed myself badly too n kept crying. It's like we caused him to be like that n we are so lousy, cannot even protect a child. I did many thgs to test if bb can hear but there's no use. Eventually we went for the re-trial and luckily all was fine. after that bb was diagnosed with eczema and bad cradle cap built up that bald his hair at the top and i too blamed myself, esp seeing him itch n scratch till it bleeds n no amt of med can seem to heal him. Now my only concentration is to treat him better n mk sure he's ok fr now onwards. pple may think i'm over protective of him but he's my only son. I just have to as i do not wish to blame myself next time. So gal, u are not alone. I'm sure you will feel sad so i won't ask u to stop feeling. But need to still stand up n tell urself have to protect him fr now onwards. if we as mother dun, who else will? ;p

oh bunnymum, i think the indo words.. need to wait for novi ar. but she seems not logging in these few days huh.

the later part is sth like "what is best for me?" or "what to do that is best for me?". the front part only know half half ar, sth like "... give me xxx on the question that i have..."

Bunnymum,

the word is not clear enough, i only can guess it.

it's about your maid prayer...

so roughly the translation is:

"Oh God, give me answer for my trouble heart? what is the best for me?"

then below is:

"Oh God, give a peaceful heart for all things, dunno this is a trial or a grace for me.

....like today that my boss doesn't allow me to use hp and no matter what, i have to accept it coz i've no other choice..."

last paragraph if i am not wrong, she pray to her God to make her a greatful person coz she feel unhappy with her situation now.

Thanks novi! i have been wanting to know if my maid's leaving is cos of hp or other reasons. I caught sight of this page she wrote in the notebook.

sigh, i then got trouble heart now. sigh

Mimosa,

*hug hug*. Hope speedy recovery for your baby.

Re: ear wax

yes, should be no need to clean it. I only clean my girl ear wax on the outer side. Coz it will come out by itself.

But for my son, now he's 2.5 yo..sometimes i clean it using the ear pick that have light. But i clean it not till inside..just cleaning what my eye can see.

Mickey,

wah you still remember ya that i know indo languange :p

novi, yah sure i rem that. =) but u oso very prompt wor, y suddenly appear ar? these few days u busy w kids? or busy travelling to hangzhou/suzhou le? din see u logging in until now that ppl calling for ur name... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

just keep ear canal dry, esp after bath, dry the outter area, other then that, no need to clean it. Same for nose hor, pls dun clean too often, will leaD to rupture of the blood vessals and will cause nose bleeding.

morning mummies.... yaya hayashi, i oso abit no mood to work, though i think might need to rush sth later today. coz today is boss last day of work, he's gg off fr tmr onwards n will only come back next yr le. so we will be boss-less fr tmr onwards.... and i'm gg on leave for next mon-tues, must dong for today, then tmr last day le, yesh! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cindymama, now tt bb learns crawling, need to be careful, they will knock their head if unbalanced. u din buy playmat for bb huh?

Mickey boy... me oso mon on leave.. lol...

bring my gal for jab.. then next fri half day oso... yes!

shiok hor no boss ard.. i still have two... hawking at us... wahahaha

cindymama.. this is where he learn pain.. next time dare not bump on flr liao..

my gal oso... i put her slightly harder on the bed.. she buaysong oso scream at me... but i getting no strength to carry her soon

Mickey : no . I let him crawl on floor on living room. Later mil come back sure non stop nag. Saw how u take care de let bb blue black on head. Is playmat good.normal I put him in hamein playyard with a mattress inside. He play and zzz there in my room.he dun like playpen.

Hayashi: bb stages of life. He cry so hard just now. He keep wanting sayang and carry and kiss on forehead. He is learning to walk by holding on sofa and his playyard. He is pretty fast than his brother. His brother 11 month start only. He 7 month start cruising and first word is papa bao bao.

Yay, one of meetings today got cancelled. Can happily yak here now..

i didn't clean my #1's ear also, think his PD told me no need. For nose, he pick up the habit to dig it himself when it got stuck with muscus. Then he will try to flung the muscus onto others or paste it on our shirts! Yucks! see lah, boys!

Jenny: Hope you had a good talk with hb? Its like what Mickey said ‘treat quarrel w hb like having a dinner like that’. I give up nagging on him to take shower too. He can go rot and stink and share the bed with my #1 but my #1 will also despise him and order him to take shower. Don’t give up on your cutie leh. Train him to 'gang up and bully hb'. LOL.

Mimosa: Forgot to add that you are definitely not narrow-hearted. Its only natural we want hbs to help out too – its also a bonding process for them as well. This is an unexpected one-off incident…

Viman: Will you be able to join us at AMK hub if not going to KL? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bunnymum: is this old or new maid text? I thought u pack the old maid back home already? Give the new maid some time to adjust. Will your MIL be around to watch over the new maid?