(2011/05) May 2011

Val - I think my girl is big for her age. Also we did not know of her acid reflux previously so we fed her a lot of milk. So now, on the heavy side.

But as long as she is healthy and not too much overweight, then I am happy. Most important she get well soon... ha ha..

Chubby.. Chubby...

Bella: Got leh, I even put my baby to sit on my lap.

VaL: I tried and told my husband then he told me internet cannot be trusted. -_-

Deon: Thanks. My husband still dun believe me and told me to continue giving him the bolster so that he would go to slp.

Today my baby is crying nonstop again. I kept carrying him but he continued screaming. Just now I reasoned with him while I'm crying. I told him I'm the only one taking care of him all these. And I even told him if he continues crying I'll hang myself in front of him. Then he quieten down for a while and kept touching my leg with his hand. But after a while he cried again. Now I got headache from all his crying. Maybe his crying is not due to colic at all!

Alamak Deon, ur PD say ur ger over weight?? Cham this means mine too cos she is so much heavier than urs?! So far my doc never say anything leh.. Hehehe i love to bao bao her cos bah bah!!

Val my ger is 4 now n she still can fit her 2T ON dresses!! She just pass 100cm only n weights maybe 15kg.. Def small lah. My T now barely 4 months can fit the RL 9 mths clothes. I just upgraded her diapers to all size M n her rompers to 6-12 mths!

Starfruit - The PD I went to for jab at Yishun, each time I bring my girl there; he will say she is overweight.

But when I brought her for review at Paragon, Kinder.. The PD told me she is of good weight. So I think the PD at Yishun maybe more conservative. ha ha.. But hor, I agree, chubby chubby then cute...

How long it took for your bb to get better ? After my review last week, PD said to continue medication for another 2 months cause too soon to stop now. Yes, I keep her head elavated when she sleeps even in the yao lan. I got her a sleep positioner and place it inside so that her head is keep elavated.

Deon she was off medication in her 2nd mth. PD asked me to cont with gripe water which i did till abt 3 weeks ago when i gradually stopped. Prior i was giving her 1 ml of gripe water direct via syringe twice a day. But thought should notet her be reliant on it so stopped gradually when she is better. Now she is perfectly ok already. I also cOntrol n just let her latch on just one breast within a 3hr interval. She is a very happy baby now, gaining tons of weight. I will bring her back to PD for another review follow up in oct.

what are the syptoms for baby acid reflux?

my baby sort of puke some milk for most of the day feeds, except for night feeds. when she is excited with her hands and legs moved about, she sure puked milk out but she did not cry. i wonder if she had acid reflux?

Starfruit, yes I stop using minyak telon directly around his stomach. I rub on my palm then rub on his chest before going on his tummy. So far no new rash outbreak. The old ones I applied Mustela nappy cream, it dried up [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bella, lucky I hv surplus on my bm, or else bang wall if I see 50ml down the sink on every feed! Haha

Anyway my boy rejected frozen ebm &@;/#%^

I just use 2 x 200ml of thaw ebm to soak my feet..argh!!

Starfruit, am thinking of stop the storage of ebm in my chest freezer! My D rejected frozen ebm [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] My excess after 48hrs maybe I just use to bath him..hehe what do u think??

Val, D is small build..don't stress when seeing the weight. Girl tends to be lighter. My G very chubby during 4th month but I flipped her health booklet I found her weight is lighter than didi.

My D heavy..so PD told me he will be slow in flipping :p now he can flip sideway but still dunno how to lift his another hand to support him.

Val: boob boob career also closer to moo moo lorz... Haa...

Oh no.. Looks like I can dun nid sleep throughout liaoz..

But mummies who are still breastfeeding, when do u all plan to stop? I am aiming for 1 year but not sure if I can tahan so long or not.

V: ya... Chubby for now good to carry and bite. Hee.. But hopefully when she grow up, it gets better. Heee

Deon: no worries la.. acid reflux is that ur baby will throw up the milk? Or like heartburn wen we were preggie?

Sunflower: what is self diet??

Apple: lol!! U use ur ebm to soak feet ah? But it's really better den seeing it go to waste.. My hubby even suggest to make ice cream out of it.. *pukes" The thought of it makes me feel disgusted.. Haha..

I don't even dare to taste my milk because I dun like milk.. Ii understand wen bb don't like frozen bm, especially if it has been kept for too long.. I had to mix with fresh de to dilute the soapy/metallic taste. Or u can mixed with fm if u r using fm too? Don't throw ah..all our sweat and hard work in there.. Throw liao super heart pain..

Bella, this is the 3rd time I use my thaw ebm to soak my feet! I tbf, no fm at home [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I tried to mix 20-80 on thaw & fresh ebm still failed..that feed took him 45min & I gotta reheat twice coz he gave me puking look. I still hv a pack of 200ml thaw ebm which am going to pour to his bath tub tmr!

Anyone interested in buying Pigeon Breastmilk Storage Bags (25pcs/box)?

Its BPA free, pre-sterilized and has double zipper seal. Am selling them at $12/box.

I have 3 boxes.

Pls email me if you're interested. Cos I don't check in here often.

Apple dun freeze lah, ur ss very good each pump more than enuff to feed D. Just keep in chiller compartment can liao! Milk will smell n taste good( i taste test it everytime before i feed) Anyway i tried n tested, i have kept fresh ebm up to 8 days n feed my T, no problem at all. My chiller compartment also full now and the max i give her is day 5-6 's milk. I throw / or wash my hands with my ebm everytime i see that it is more than 6 days old. Just this evening, i washed my hands with 130ml of ebm!!

Twinkle norm for bb to puke up some milk, if bb has reflux they throw up very often. The acid will also back flow if u lift their butt/legs during diaper changing n this causes heart burn n bb will scream in pain. Many times when they get heart burn they will curl/arch in pain. If u dun see these signs highly likely bb do not have acid reflux.

Fellow mummies whose BBs are rejecting frozen eBM, what should I do with my excess eBM?

My boy has rejected frozen eBM since he turned 10 weeks. I have been overloading the storage shelf on the fridge since last week as he sort of went on a mini feeding strike and started drinking less in the day.

At night he drinks formula because initially I didn't have enough supply. I've considered giving eBM as well for night feeds but a friend had advised to maintain the formula feed for easy weaning next time. Hence I have started building up a lot of extra supply in fridge since his feeding strike.

It's come to a point I think I need to stop adding to the fridge supply for some pumps because fridge eBM is only good for a week right? But if I freeze the eBM, he's not going to touch it. I've had a thought that if I use the frozen eBM to mix with cereal when I decide to start on solids, he may take it in? Anyone has had that experience?

Otherwise, are there any other suggestions of how I can manage the extra eBM?

Cindy, ebm can store up to 5-6 days at chiller? I usually kept only 1.5 day then I trf to freezer le. Now my chest freezer full & my fridge freezer also used up the ice cream compartment. I'll give 20pkts to my friend this Fri to free up some space.

WT, my nanny use thaw ebm to bath my boy..haha luxury milk bath he has :p but stink lo..I'll rinse him with clean water keke. My ebm quite oily & creamy

WT if ur bb rejects frozen ebm chances are that he will not go on it. Even if u add to cereal u alsorun the risk of having him reject it. So dun keep. Just pump fresh, refrigerate n give.

Oic. Thanks for the advise.

Will still freeze some for the time being because there's a friend giving birth end of the month and she's asked for a stash of my frozen eBM for backup. If her BB rejects or her supply comes in, I guess it's time to empty out my freezer compartment.

Apple: you got try to to scald your milk before you freeze? it helps to remove the metalic taste that babies hate.

starfurit: let jia you together!! Haha..it really takes alot of determination and Perseverance..

sunflower: oh.. no la, not diet la.. haha.. or is it she is just a small eater? i read in anotehr forum that some mummies brot baby to PD and they gave them a bio gaia probiotics drops. and some mummies says it works for their baby..meaning the appetite became slightly bigger.. I bought the drops too but I only give her when she has bad tummy or diahorea because all her good bacteria in her tummy all gone with the loose stools le..

morning ladies. its thurs =)

vicki,

150ml bm or fm? either one, also alot to me. lol.

Deon,

heavy now is ok coz when they are mobile, sure will lose weight or harder to gain as fast as nw.

yup, hope she will be well soon =)

U went for Dr Ooi? Dr Foo may be better but she nt v friendly type la. hahaha.

jenny,

then use the "dr says xxx" method lo..unless he dun trust the dr la...hahaha.

hmm...i think its nt healthy to keep talking abt dying coz baby nt cooperative etc le...and baby for sure wldnt understand wat u mean by dying/hanging. the reason why he kept quiet for a while is coz u are talkin to him. babies at this stage will wan interaction.

have u thot of going back to wk and let a nanny look aft? it may be better for u.

if u always think negatively, u will always be negative. and when u are negative, baby will also be negative.

starfruit,

hahha. so wld u rather ur kids follow ur side or ur hb's side? i havent upgraded D's rompers but she wearing M size for quite sometimes le.

apple,

so fast, i havent used any ebm yet. my ss now is sufficient to feed both my Ds and can still freeze 1 pack but this is coz meimei feeding is small mah. hahaha.

hahaha, ur D is slow in flipping due to weight but my D also nt flipping yet...and she nt heavy =P but yest she started grabbing her toes already =p

bella,

its ok. dun think abt whether u can slp thro or nt. if ur baby do, its a bonus. else its ok coz a mummy will always be 24x7 =)

i intend to bfeed as long as possible. i bfeed my boy for 2yrs so i wld wan to match tat for my gal as well to be fair..if can go longer than 2y even better =)

i have tried my own freshly/chilled bm, taste slightly sweet =)

scald milk as in boil them? it will kill the nutrients le.

WT,

u can add frozen bm to chilled/fresh bm. my ratio for my boy last time was 80% chilled/fresh and 20% frozen as my boy rejects frozen bm completely.

else, u can use it to bath the baby or soak ur hands n feet =)

sunflower,

dun force feed incase she rejects completely. i learn to take it easy if she dun wanna drink. if nt very stress le. hahaha.

Hi Val, Yup I go to Dr Ooi... Each time he see my girl, he will tell me she is overweight.. But I am okay with it.. Agree with you, willlose weight when she starts to crawl and walk.

Val, wah D on M!! Haha i didnt want to waste my S n kept trying to finish n the S looks like it was gonna burst on my T! Haha hb scolded me say she so poor thing n uncomfy. I better try n finish my huggies fast cos think she may outgrow soon!!

When i had my no.1, all my frens used to say tat since i am tall she will be tall too. cos my no.1 really petite n i always complain but i came to terms n it really dun follow my height! So now i think T may follow me so quite excited to see if she will be tall. But she is def chubby lor! Much more than my no.1 at the same age.

Baby D now still taking 70-80ml per feed?

Bella yes let's 加油 together![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Deon i think my ger will loose weight when i am not around. When she is on the bottle, she can stretch feeding to 4 sometimes 5 hrs!!

Deon,

i have seen Dr Ooi & Dr Foo before. Dr Ooi more friendly but i feels he always caution on the safe side.

starfruit,

i dun like Huggies green packaging for size s as dun hold well so i didnt stock up on it. Since size M starts at 4kg so i quickly switch her over to huggies ultra M once i run out of S. save me more diapers from constant changing. =P

She is taking 70-100ml per feed. I get my mum to write dwn how much she drinks per feed. SO when i m home, i latch her more often to try and catch up for the day feeds.

sunflower,

u can keep the leftover, accumulate them and end of the day wash/soak ur hands with it. hehehe.

My girl drinks abt 110-150 so I put 150 in the avert cups anyway.. Will still waste one..hahaha

Ebm I will mix with fresh expressed the day before coz I have over 200pkts of frozen ones and im still trying to clear my June stash. Planning to stop expressing soon...think the milk can last till 7-8months.

WT u can try mixing fresh and expressed lor..my portion now is 90ml fresh to 60ml ebm...but my girl will drink even if it's 100% frozen..

Val my girl haven't flip or touch her toes but shes pushing n grabbing the tissue box etc and kicking stuff...haha I also decided not to care abt the wasted milk le don't wanna force feed her either...

Bella: mine is #1.

Any babies flipped from front to back already? Mine will flip if you put her on her tummy, but can't flip the other way round yet. But smiling and singing a lot! Whenever I start to get frustrated because of her poor feeding (sometimes she stops at 20 ml!), she will grin widely or start singing and I feel instantly better. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

V,

if ur gal takes to frozen ebm u are v lucky =)

my gal has strong leg power. hehehe. ya, better dun force feed and also i rem apple's case whereby her nanny force feed and her boy reject totally.

i feel so fat in office...coz eat and sit eat n sit...unlike at home so much things to keep me on my feet and walking my boy to n forth sch. argh...

Bella, scald the milk? How?

Val, I need to rotate my frozen ebm on those that almost hit 3mths in chest freezer. That's y I bring down thaw and let him drink but he rejected! kaoz..

I seriously dunno what to do with all my hardwork frozen in the freezer. I have at least 100pkts which label between 1-2.5mths

apple,

those close to expiry u just let him have his milk bath ba. hehehe.

Mayb u try 90% chilled/fresh with 10% frozen first for a week or so then see if he can still detect the metallic taste then slowly incr? but i am sure u will still have alot left, just donate to those who need it?

i also have alot alot of packets of frozen milk and i am nt using them at all for the moment...so i think i will just use those tat have expired for milk baths for meimei and beauty treatment for my hands and feets =P

Deon: Oh my.. I myself hates the feeling lo..so that is y my baby when she throws up, she will cry so badly because the acid hurts her throat..

Hopefully your bb dont go through such toturing experiences anymore..

V: Mine too! #1 =)

Val: ya true.. mummy is really 24/7..

Apple: yes, you can scald the milk.. after you express, you can heat it up in a pot.. just heat until got bubbles at the side, swirl the pot to make sure all the milk got kena heated up, then you can let it cool to store. ya, it will destroy some heat sensitive nutrients so you only do to those you wan to store.. Just make sure you feed your baby like half frozen half fresh the whole day so that those nutrients that was destroyed is compensated. Mayb you can just try one pump of fresh milk, heat and freeze and see if your bb takes it?

Main thing is because of the lipase in the milk, when frozen, it reproduces even faster than in the fridge (maybe because they know they are going to be frozen to death). so mild heat will actually deactivate them..

Those already frozen de cannot heat liao.. because the enzymes already worked till die le..

Really envy lei you all got so much milk.. I stocked up before I go back work, now, Im already using Aug milk.. Im only expressing 4 times a day, 1 pump is about her feed. Soon I need to supplment with FM liaoz

Viman: My gal will only try to flip from back to front when she is feeling very pek chek. And when she cant flip, she will get even more pek chek and kick herself to flip. haha.. if not, i would not see her flip at all..

Bella, regarding the quote that you gave us a couple of days ago, this line struck me the most "although I had you earlier, but I got to love you longer". I was 24 when I had my #1 and now 25+ with #2; considered to be a young mummy cuz 95% of my friends are still unmarried/married but childless. I can only envy them when they go overseas/take on overseas assignment without much commitments. I left my time-intensive audit job for a job that gives me better work-life balance cuz of my kids. Now my friends are earning $1-3k more than me. Feels kinda demoralising sometimes but when my girls smile at me, or when #1 starts to say cutesy words or perform cutesy dances I'll feel that my sacrifices are worth it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Any yes, although I had them earlier but I get to love them longer [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starfruit, Sunflower and Apple: My bb drinks very little EBM too, yest was the lowest so far, 60-70ml every 1+/2h. But I think my milk is really creamy cuz when it stands in the chiller, 80% is hindmilk. But my bb looks like she's gaining weight well so I just let her be loh.

I forced my hubby to taste my frozen EBM and he said it tastes plasticky and made a puke face after that haha. But my girl seems to be ok taking frozen EBM, prob should let her finish the frozen EBM stash first.

How I wish I have more supply; I only get 150max every 3h pump at work now. At home I would get more. Can't afford much milk wastage.

Val,150ml is ebm.if I feed her, only manage to give 120ml ebm,it also take me ages cos she will keep stick her tongue out at me or try to coo to me.nanny say has to find her pattern. Still prefer to latch her.She used to has acid reflux too but after 3rd mth started getting better when I sent her to nanny. Guess nanny has a way with her. So now my supply doesn't meet her demand n I might also need to quit my moo moo job. Envy u ladies who had so much.my frozen ebm is almost gone.But still persevering cos she's been falling sick. D irony....& by right bm shldnt cause phlegm.sigh.muz watch diet.

Bella d method u mention I saw in medela website b4 but when I ask my peers,nobody does it & tell me will boil away nutrients.I also tasted my ebm b4,sweet but got a super fishy after taste.d frozen 1 even stronger.even when in contact,feel abit sticky/oily.

viman: my baby is able to flip from back to front and is so easy for him now..just like 1 moment i was looking at him, then at a turn of face, he has already flipped to the front.. at times (v seldom), he flipped back to the side from the front... is cute to c him flipped to e front..but aso dislike tat cos he will put his hands into his mouth n in the end, both hands, mouth n face will b full of his saliva/puked milk... haha

Val: yea I'm thanking god that my girl is relatively easy to handle most of the time..

Frozen ebm: I try not to keep for 3 mths lei.. That's y now trying to finish June n start on July...think by the time I finish July shd be end oct already..

Sylvia: wow u super young!!! Im still thinking when to have #2 maybe when #1 turns 4-5 bah hahaha...

Ladies any stopping bf?. How to stop? I recently drag to pumping 3 times a day want to drag to twice and slowly wean off from there... But can't drag till 2 times my boobies will explode!

V if u wanna stop dun fully empty ur breast. Apart from dragging the pump session, u need still pump some out or half empty ur breast when it becomes full. Remember dn empty breast completely cos if u empty breast will cont to produce milk. Slowly in a couple of weeks it will taper off.