(2011/05) May 2011

I have a qn which might b easy for u gals but seem difficult for me. I want to make 125ml milk, when I Put 125ml water n 4 scoop powder, the milk becomes 130ml or more. But when m CL did it the last time, it wasn't like this, it was just 125ml. M I doing it correctly? N how much cold n hot water to add? The CL ratio of 50/50 n 60/40 seems v hot to my wrist. N she said if I mk 125ml milk n want to add 20 ml breast milk, I should jus add 105ml water n then 20ml bm then powder, but my milk becomes 140ml. Isn't my bb drinking different level or Qty of milk each time?

Hi mummies, been busy with housework and taking care of bb, pumping and latching..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Meet up at west:

Shall we set a date? Maybe next Friday, 24 June? We can meet at the MOS at Lot 1 since usually not very crowded...good for small gatherings[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] if ok, I shall start the ball rolling..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gathering at west (Lot 1):

1. Xuanmin + bb

Cloudpoem, back to my original plan to hire CL as live in nanny while waiting for the new maid to come into SG. I'm taking 8wks, then follow by clear my last yr leave till end of June. Then another 1 week of ML. Balance I shall wait till my new maid reporting then I'll consume, or else no chance to train maid.

Hi split your friend is right 360 for the whole package total 4 jabs. But then my baby needs to take the hep b 2nd jab first then sign up either 5 in 1 or 6 in 1 jabs. I nw abit regret should ve go healthway instead of polyclinic cos less one jab understand fr healthway that they include hep b 2nd dose in the 4 jabs. Did u do assessment in heathway?

how to identify a growth spurt? bb seemed to grow hungry every 2hrs...he used to be able to last 3-4hrs with same amount. tried giving more but he refused...

Reading the post of 2nd time mummies whose 1st kid ga cheow the newborn is quite farny. Hehe... Quite cute actually but I think if I m in your position, I will sure pull my hair out.

Mummies- can I check if anyone still has those dark patches on tummy? Will it go away? Wondering if I can still wear my bikini.

Also, ever since the Malay wrap, my tummy area is so so so itchy. It has tiny bumps and it's reddish. Is this normal?

Quite demoralized cos I still have quite a big tummy and I still look like I need to lose quite alot of weight.

Now, headache --- duno what to wear for next weeks baby full month.

Any advice?

Xuanmin: thanks for arranging. How abt 1st July? 24th icant le...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I agreed we shd have a play dates with the older siblings as well [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Somehow I find our attn shift to bb, so they r seeking attn afterall. My gal quite sweet actually, and she has not show jealousy to didi. Everyday she comes back fr sch, after washing hands & feet, she will go and say hello to didi or hug didi..just that she talks loudly or play loudly that make me mad.

Sometimes I feel bad after scolding her coz kids are thrill when they excited, so while playing she surely will make loud noise. And furthermore she so used to have this freedom by herself all these yrs..suddenly ask her to act like a mouse, off course she needs some time to adjust.

Sry faith I mean after 6mth should heve s jab at 12mth n 18mth right? So if 18mth is included how abt the 12mth jab? I send mine to healthway at hougang mall the doc did take weight n height and go thru the chart never do other assessment on bb

Apple I agree with u. My #1 is used to playing loudly at home..so if I want her to be as quiet as a mouse, it is "mission impossible". And I've been quite harsh with her when I have to shout at her to stop..actually at e end of the day, I might be the loudest at home! Oops..

Wat I will do is bring my #1 out during sat noons, and hubby will be at hm with bb. This way, he can rest a bit after whole week of work and I can spend time with #1.

Little fly

Maybe baby is not hungry even if u give more, will refuse...try cuddling bb and see if it helps...sometimes they are fussing for attention and touch..

Evie

I am als taking the instant kind...dunno if as effective as the cook kind..

@Goofie, may I check when you started on the malay massage ? I want to start too but as I had c-sect, I am not supposed to start massage after 3 months ? Any idea if it is true ?

My bb girl just keeps crying. After feed, she will sleep for an hour and wakes up crying. I would feed her a bit more about 30 ml and she will goes back to sleep and after awhile will wake up again.

I tried to cuddle her in between but she will only settle down for awhile and crying will starts again.

The woost is night time, she refused to sleep.

She is quite cranky and I am at my wit ends cause I do not know how to stop her from crying.

(tried to give her pacifier, but she do not want).

Any advise, please....

xuanmin - I'm the cow! I can't leave my bb to hb or helper..sigh

We are on opposite arrangement - my hb will bring #1 out to her weekends classes & bring her go swimming or cinema leave me at home with bb to have the quiet moment.

Deon - U may try carrying bb upright..stroke or pat her back gently. Check room temp, stuffy & warm or too cold will make bb uncomfy too!

My boy will gets irritated & cranky it he is warm..if I feed him without using my nursing pillow, he will sweat and start to wail loudly.

Now I start to play background music in the evening in my room for him.

Jab: i think of taking frm private pd, the package is abt $1.2k plus. All include until 18mth/2yrs. Is it very X?

Deon u mean 3weeks or mth? Ive csect for all my delivery my gynae advise is 3 weeks after csect cab start but some gynae advise 6weeks ..3mth like too long might not be effective to have the massage le.

Apple: must be big headache for u...but CL much more costly ar...hopefully the new maid is good...

Bunny: it is like that...shld increase by abit since powder has wt...think your CL put powder then water that's why.

Xuanmin: ok if 1st July I cfm can! My mum off tt day can help me w bb.

Deon: once in a while my bb also like tt...but is usually cos of wet diapers or he needs to feed. Maybe cos of colic..sth I put some ruyi oil too...rub till warm and press lightly on bb tummy

Goofie: must inform the masseur...think your skin sensitive to the cream or the wrap not clean? Haa me too that time dunno wat to wear to hide the fats.

Xuanmin: i dont mind lot 1 on 1st July!

Anymore west mummies?

Goofie: u sound like a hot mummy! We took 9 months to gain wt, take it easy! If I can console myself, they'll be great!

Xuanmin/apple: agree.. We as parents may have unintentionally being too harsh. So, when we cool our heads, tell the elder sibling why were they scolded.

Attendees @ lot1 on 1st July

1) Xuanmin

2) Angie

3) cloudpoem

4) cloudpoem friend & bb

Cranky @nite

i heard frm n old granny that do not bring nb to kitchen until 4mth old. They will not be cranky at nite. I don't is it true but i find it work on my gal. Prev my #1,i bring him to the bathrm in the kitchen to bath. He is cranky at nite all the way until he is 4mth old

Deon- mine is natural so I start on day5.. My Malay lady old me if c- sect, will need 10 days later.

My bb also cranky ESP after feeds. I figured that it's wind. So need to burp frequent. Cos I m on combi bf and fm, I noticed that with bottle feed, and his crying, he gets colicky. So, I tried all methods to help relieve him.

Angie- yah, I will check with her. Its really very very itchy anf with small little bumps... And the dark patches on the tummy area, do u all get it? Very sian... Duno if will fade off

Cloudpeom- I m very ai Mei type. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] During preg, I shld have controlled my eating. Now I piled on so much and cannot fit into my clothes. Really duno what to wear during bb full month. Most likely wear maternity ones. Haha.

Re- bf and bm

Recently my pumped bm has abit more. But strange thing is when I try a few hours later, the amount is lesser. Duno if becos my production house is not quick enuf to replenish.

Anyone has this problem?

Nic, Yeah I'm interested in the playdate for the elder one also.

But can arrange after 2nd week of July? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My confinement ends on the 1st wk of July.

Hope to join the West gathering also but 1st July I'm still doing confinement. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Bunny: ur milk making formula sounds so chime. Anyway, u shld use vol of water b4 milk powder as e guide. If u want 125ml of milk, then use 125ml of water. Hope u understand

Thank you Apple, Spilt & Goofie for your advise.

Will try out your advise and hopefully it will works. Only my mum and me looking after bb, if I go back to work; worried my mum will not be able to cope.

As for the massage, 1 one my friend told me need to rest for 3 months (if went for c-sect) before starting it. Worried will have internal bleeding ?

If it is safe will start early, you are right Spilt wait for 3 months no effect liao.

Goofie, is your malay massage lady good ? Need to get rid of tummy to fit into clothes.

Deon- she's quite good- she used essential oil and clarins to massage and then bind. So, not smelly. Continuous for 7 days. At first my tummy was bigger like 4 months preg. Now, tummy still there but smaller. Think I need lotsa cardio exercises to burn.

She will massage from head to toe. Also massage breasts to help bf.

Bunnymum u need to follow the instruction of your FM with regards to water to FM ratio. If u need to top u with EBM just minus the EBM amt accordingly. E.g u want to make 130 ml milk (with 30 ml ebm) then it should be 100mlFM n 30 ml ebm. Its ok if it overshoot a bit.

So Nexx gathering is now 11? at Wang zai right? Actually if it's 11, then we should probably meet t see sons coz it's more cozy I think. If meeting earlier at 10.30 then only Wang zai is open at that time. I'm ok for both.

Preciousmum: yup. Lot 1 is at cck.. Haaaha! Any more mummies keen? Looks like west side has lesser members? :x

Tonight seems to be a better night.. After doing the steps that pd taught and fed her the colic meds, she is less cranky tonight.. Jus fuss cux she wants to be breastfed.. Sad, I got no milk cux she got angry and bang her head at my boobs again. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Cloudpeom- can share what steps pd teach UPI to handle colic babies? Also, what symptoms does your bb display for colic.

My flow of milk ss is still not good. So everytime he cry, his hands will hit my chest for milk. I understand how u feel. Me also feeling sad too. Sigh

I'm selling this Ikea changing table which was rarely used with GULLUNGE babycare mat (as shown in picture). Condition is 9.5/10

Product informations:

Length: 72 cm

Width: 53 cm

Height: 87 cm

- Converts into a convenient table/shelf unit when not used as a changing table any more.

- Solid beech material.

Selling at $40. Self collection at Depot Rd. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5615079.jpg]

Need to vent. Maid woke up 1plus as Bb crying n can't return to sleep. Then while I was feeding Bb, she started preparing soup meant for afternoon! I am so mad. How can we keep the soup to last for 12 hours ? The soup has various types of medicine n it is too wasteful to throw away.

Starflower, i think still stick w swenson since we meet at 11am. No changes except for the timing...

Little fly, calm down, actually IMO I think ok for her to prepare soup now. I thought the longer u brew herb soup the better it is.

Goofie, I also have rashes n itch after wrapping. I will put lots of "feng u" to ease the itch.

Ok bubble pearl. Yawn, up for latch....

Gathering at Nexx, 11am thursday at Nexx. Please PM me to exchange mobiles so can contact each other.

Starflower pm u Liao..

Can i ask what is consider sleeping thru? I am waiting for Gerald to wake for his milk, today is day 2 that he slept from 12am n yet wake up for milk after 4 hr interval...

hi ladies. nice weather for slpping in =)

re: RL

batch 1-3 has been shipped out of RL

batch 4 ordered =)

Re: #1 disturbing #2, playdates

Sh, actually at times i dun scold him but i will tell him nicely, yes he does listen but when i am nt paying attention to him or i leave him alone to play, he will suddenly just run into the room n shout to wake meimei up -_-'''

i 2hands n 2legs up to vote for playdates! ehehhehe. mayb we can arrange a magi gathering for the whole family, all the #1s can play tog with daddies looking aft them and mummies and #2 mingling ard tog. this way, all of us (including #1, daddies, mummies and infants) will nt be left out! hehehe.

mine #1 is may 2008 =)

little fly,

my #1 also cant sit still...i always say his butt is sharp! hahha.

apple,

aiyo..ur maid issue always a big headache to u. u found a CL already?

i actually fully agree with u that due to our shift in attention so they behaved as such...to be frank, like ur gal my boy dun show jealousy and he is quite protective of meimei, just that he likes to disturb her - all in the name of wanting attention from us due to our reaction. i also feel bad towards my boy esp when i saw him walk away chestfallen and sometimes he will try to hold his tears...really break my heart...

frm nw on, i shall try to be have more patience with him...i think, i am too bias and neglected his feelings too...bad mummy...

goofie,

the dark patched on the belly button isit? it will eventually go away.

i also had tiny bumps and reddishness on the area where i did the malay wrap so my ML advised me nt to put the jamu herbs on my tummy but i still cont with the wrap.

hahaha, u can try to wear some loose clothings??

bubble pearl,

wah. ur boy is on the way to give you gd nite slps w/o waking u up =)

Good morning mummies! cool start to the weekend.

re: massage

my bb is closed to 6 weeks old. i visited gynae on thu and he said can start the massage but to go easy at the c-section area. he asked me to hold on first for sit-ups.

mummies with c-section, have your stomach muscles went back to place? my gynae said mine has not and might not again go back fully again..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

v,

how is your session with doris? did she help you to re-latch bb?

i visited another LC but didnt manage to re-latch my bb again. bb very stubborn!!

Xuanmin: tried cuddling Bb etc but he won't stop crying until we feed him. CL used to stretch him 3-4hrs interval but now he's like 2-2.5 hrs. He also drank less per feed n always fall asleep halfway.

Bubble: I think sleep thru means Bb dont wake up for regular night feeds. 12- 4 is a good start!

Val: it's really tougher to be 2nd time mummy. We felt stretched n torn apart by having to take care of Bb n our #1. Dont be too hard on yourself, u are not a bad mummy. My boy also look v 可怜兮兮 when we don't have time for him but we can only attend to the one whi needs us most at any time. Yes, my boy also got sharp bottom or 尖屁股[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Val, re maid I hv 2 options..1 is the trf which we very keen to take her but the employer now back-out. 2 is fresh fr Phil which has some delay due to passport so we get CL to step in before her arrival. So now opt 1 seems failed, we go for opt 2. Yes, lucky I found CL..phew

Any mummy lives in condo can book the function rm for playdates?? We can cater some light snack..

Goofie: [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my pd taught me to burp & burp her.. She has to minimize her hiccups and farts. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Clean her nose every night with cotton bud. Sometimes they fuss cux nose block..

Fed her colic meds. She fuss by 1 hr lesser! Which was a good thing for me and family and neighbor! She has been a neighborhood alarm clock!! Will scream and cry.

Bubble pearl- how long is your itch and rash? Itchy or not? Are they like red patches? When I scratch they form redder bumps. I called my massage lady yesterday and she ask me to apply aloe vera gel. Today seems less itchy but the red bumps and patches are still there

Val- so the red bumps and itch is normal after wrap? I m abt to go see GP. Last night was super duper itchy... How long does it take for dark patch to fade off?

Yeah!!! Cool cool weather today... Shiok!

I have 2 boxes X 2 bottles - Avent brand 125ml/4oz. Honey coloured ones.

Selling at $23 each box of 2 bottles. If taking 2 boxes, it will be $45.

PM me if you are interested.