(2011/05) May 2011

Littlefly - that's very normal that maids will compare among their community. Best is they always tell us other's benefits but nvr tell us how bad other employers treated their maids!

split - I find filo always got this prob..they have contacts all over, be it whether they have off day or not! And they always got aunty, cousins, sisters bla bla work in SG..so to look for trf is quite easy for them. I agreed maids nvr feel greatful if employer treated them good or better than previous, but in the other hand might ask for more..sickening rite??

Split: agree with you. Maid unhappy that neighbour's maid got day off today n showing me face. I also give her a stern look whenever I hear she bangs my things while tidying.

Val - I have not tried Pupsik pouch..issit easy to use? I have MIM sling, find the loop can be loosen if bb winggle inside. I got BBjorn carrier, hb thinking of getting another BBjorn synergy coz the material seems better and the support too! Not sure I wanna get Pupsik coz now the discount quite attractive :p

Littlefly - Now I realised maid with day off can work better coz their mind is more relax..off course must see which type of maid la..if those hanky panky type then day off is a killer.

Apple the pusil pouch is better than MIM sling cos no ring so no need to adjust. Tricky part is tat u need to get correct n cannot be too large. I had a MIM sling sold it off cos prefer the pouch as its much easier to use. I have the reg bjorn n the air synergy carrier, after comparing the 2 i think i still prefer my original bjorn cos material is softer n have slight padding to cushion bb. I find the bjorn synergy material kinda

hard n not as comfy but agree tat it is much more breathable.

I stll have my becco carrier more for use when bb is heavier n older.

Now the pupsik pouch discount is good. U can seriously consider.

Starfruit, pupsik pouch really go by mum's weight?? Hmm anywhere I can try out before purchase? I wanted a pouch for bf..but my hb felt that I need bbjorn to support my back coz my boy heavy.

Apple the shop at TMC ( infront of registration desk) the patentcraft shop have samples for u to try. I think for u prob a medium can already. I am using a large. Price is cheap now forthe design on sale so u def can consider buying one.

Apple, littlefly ya they always compare n true enough they have lords relative in spore once I overheard my maid talking to a guy cuz he handphone is so loud n I'm just beside her she can tell me is her aunty call..I immediately ask her back her aunty voice so manly ah think I deaf she keep quiet..

When I first interview my maid she told me she oki without off n her ex employer also nv give her off day den 3mth after she came she went to meet "cousin" when we told her go downstair buy things she took like few hrs den we go to the shop n find her the shop owner said she left long ago, when she came home we question her den she admit she meeting a friends boyfriend.. And start to throw temper said she need freedom too..so we ask her back in first place she said she oki without off now said need freedom.. We're kind enough to let her go meet her aunty during a few sundy for lunch n she start to ask for more. So after discuss with hb we give her off day only on weekdays when my sons both in cc now she sometime will aak If we can gif her on Sunday which we will immediately reject the request.

Now we come to a conclusion I can't treat them too kind cuz they wunt feel grateful instead they'll ask for more n take advantage of u

congrats to most mummies who have finished their confinement...

my CL left last friday..haiz..my girl has a lil cough and alot of phlegm in her throat..finally brought her to PD yest...heng the phlegm did not go into her lungs..

RE bjorn carrier: i'm looking at getting the air carrier to bring my girl out alone..think it's easier than a stroller esp getting into the taxi etc..any comments on the carrier?

Re latching: i wanna re-latch my girl..thinking of either gg parentcraft or getting doris fok to come to my hse..haiz..anyone knows how to re-intro the breast to bb? she's alr pass 1 mth mark but I did have a few successful latches the past mth when she's less agitated after bottle feeding..anyone can help?

i just shifted to my mil hse without my CL and i'm feeling the lost and all the new issues popping up..haiz..on one hand feel like stopping my bf so i can look after her more..on the other i'm telling myself i need to let go and get all the help from them..it's really tough and i feel that cause i'm pumping i'm loosing alot of precious time with my baby thus i want to re-latch her. because of the stress of shifting..my milk ss also dropped..haiz..although still yielding enough for my girl but.....

V Doris do house visit. U call her n she can teach u all techniques to relatch ur get. Should not be a problem. Doris is amazing, she makes BFing so effortless n she taught me a lot too. U wanna try n latch before bottle feed cos hungry bb will know how to latch faster cos they want to get the milk. N cos hungry so suction will be harder and can stimulate ur breast more. Anyway try if bb not latching, pull out nipples immediately. Dun get flustered if she major cry best is when she screaming n opening her mouth real wide, this is a good time to shove ur breast in the open mouth to create the latch. Try. Jia you.

Sunflower, starfruit - my son always drink milk till half or ending and start crying. Then my cl continues to shove the milk down his throat till he finishes.

I wonder if he cries like that every feed is becos he's not too hungry but we still feed him? Or shld I reduce his feed, and hopefully he wakes up faster to take the next feed.

What's cluster feeding?

V the bbjorn air synergy carrier offer back support n mesh material to keep bb cool. I was readong the product info again even though it is suitable from NB but seems like better to strap them closer to 3 mths when their bones and head are firmer. u should check the WTS thread, i saw a few mummies selling it.

Goofie get CL to burp bb half way through the feed. Maybe got gas in tummy thus uncomfy. My ger always also cannot finish will leave 5-10ml very sayang cis its my ebm. mil say last bit cant finish but i think can cos i dun want waste even the last drop!

Cluster feeding is when bb wakes to feed every hr. Could be due to growth sprut or to help moms body increase milk supply. U can read more here:

http://www.kellymom.com/babyconcerns/fussy-evening.html

Hi mummies, can I know how much does Doris charge during home vistation? My left breast aerola area there is a lump there. I think its block duct. Tried to massage and clear it but to no avail [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Anyone know how can I get rid of the lump?

Nicole her fees in 2007 was $80 plus per hr for home visit. Not sure wat her prices are now.

Chrck ur nipple area and see if there are any white spot, milk blep. Could be a blep with jammed milk thus u cant clear thr duct.

Thanks starfruit re:night feed.

He latches on 15 min on the first side. Then I try to burp him and change side cos my supply always dwindles by end of 15min when I pump. He woke up 2 nights ago almost every hr and I was a zombie that morning after....it helped after I moved him to our bed on the next nite....ended up hubby is sick now cos he can't sleep well w baby on our bed....sometimes think I shd just give FM at nite now.

Someone mentioned abt using Ergo carrier earlier....any idea if can use for newborn?

Feel so angry.

Ask u ladies how often u go ur inlaw house? How often u bring the kids to visit their grandparents? I went weekly every sunday and many sat and days I'm not working but after I deliver I only go in Sunday cuz very mafan still gotta pump gotta feed milk n do many things somemore I can't sleep well at night so day time I will find time slp more when bb sleep my girl always awake from 7pm to 1am.. Of cuz I prefer to stay home more. Today I went over to my inlay house at 3pm instead of usual 10am. Den just step in hear my mil talking on the phone so loud complaining I nv go visit her this week.. Feel so frustrated alway talk bad abt me to relative n friends.. Den my hb also heard n said me " see lah tol u to come early".. Hey many of my friends only go to inlay place once a week some even once a mth I bring my kids go over so often still not enough?

Feel so angry.

Ask u ladies how often u go ur inlaw house? How often u bring the kids to visit their grandparents? I went weekly every sunday and many sat and days I'm not working but after I deliver I only go in Sunday cuz very mafan still gotta pump gotta feed milk n do many things somemore I can't sleep well at night so day time I will find time slp more when bb sleep my girl always awake from 7pm to 1am.. Of cuz I prefer to stay home more. Today I went over to my inlay house at 3pm instead of usual 10am. Den just step in hear my mil talking on the phone so loud complaining I nv go visit her this week.. Feel so frustrated alway talk bad abt me to relative n friends.. Den my hb also heard n said me " see lah tol u to come early".. Hey many of my friends only go to inlay place once a week some even once a mth I bring my kids go over so often still not enough?

Thanks pixie and starfruit! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I'm doing direct latching and try to pump 2 times a day also.

So tiring!

Do you all feel like when you are doing confinement, you just live each day like that.

I'm losing track of what day and date already.

re: Nex gathering: I can only join in if it is on 2nd week of July onwards, prior to that I'm still doing confinement.

V, try not to be too stress on bf. I know not easy.

You should be enjoying motherhood now.

Like what everyone says happy mummy = happy baby! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Arise: cOngrars!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] u must be happy to see and carry ur bb! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] a long awaited one. Heee.

Split: can ur hb try to talk to his parents? I mean, taking care nb is not as easy feat leh.. My friends, sometes also don't go up, the hb and kids can do the representation.

Oh mummies, any of u have recipe for shepherd pid and bread pudding? Ohhhh~ my hands are itchy to bake again!

Cloud no use n my hb wunt do that everytine I bring my kids to my mum place my mil will also not happy but he wunt said out just give us a face or said sarcastic things. My no1 taken care by her n she always find excuses not o let us bring home den last tine my sil not in town she will call and tell her we alway dub bring our son home but the facts is she don't allow us. Now my sil came home le she finally cab see the fact loh that day we wanna bring him home den she purposely said wanna go out den my son alway wanna go out one so dub follow us instead but in the end she nv ho out loh n my sil said her alway complain den people wanna bring back u said something to stop now she dub said much le. But I feel that I lost a son le so now I diedie also wunt allow my no2&3 to stay at her place. That day she ask to let bb Tay with her den my hb said I dun allow she question my hb ask him if I'm doing the right things den when hb came home tell me I ask him back my kids don't stay with me dEn us not right loh my no1 don't stay with me de not right loh..

Val

Ya seen doc she is better today. But got concern for #2.dunno y she vomits water.but we never feed her water le.probably acid frm stomach? However wil bring her to c PD tml.

Re:baby bjorn

I m using baby bjorn for my #2.n she is abt 9weeks now.is the one w back support. Don't rmbr watz the name.i find it convenient n easy to use.juz dat hav concern over her back bone.she is quite small abt 3++kg.so I put nappy cloth under her butt when I carry her n put another cloth behind her neck as supports. Not sure if can do it diz way.

Any comment mummies?

CloudPoem, thanks! Yah, finally get to see my baby after waiting for so long! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Split, think your hubby has to be the mediator and try to understand your situation with your mil.

Maybe you talk to him?

Jane, I personally think better to use bjorn only after the 3rd month when bb neck is stronger n more solid.

Now better to use sling or pouch. That's what I feel la.

arisz

ya.. i also feel uncomfortable despite using so many times.. tomorrow going to ask PD abt it.

V

my bb also keep wanting to suck so we introduce pacifier liao.. the result not so impressive coz she doesnt like it and will push using her tongue.. hav to tell her to suck and 'mum mum'. i cut my bb nails after 1 month. no particular reason just scare will cut her flesh so wait till she is bigger. fyi, my bb prematured.

pixie

if not mistaken, ergo can only be used on infant but got to use infant insert. you can read their website to know more.

V my ger classic case of needing to suckle to sleep i have become her pacifier! Anyway wont be giving her pacy as i did not give for no.1. Will be diff to wean off.

I also cut my gers nail. Did it after 14 days cos her nails was so long. 2nd time i cut was today. Will be cutting her nails on a weekly basis.

Today my hands nearly break! Been carrying her from 3 plus all the way till 7 plus after which MIL took over!!! Just fed her 60 ml EBM. Now she sleep ready. Hope she can cont to sleep n allow me to pump at 9;30 pm later . Sigh! Its so tiring!

happy first month to the little ones. wishing them good health and a bright future ahead. didnt have a party for the #02 this time as find it quite taxing to organise when doing confinement.

re: BF

thanks to mummies for their kind encouragement. and yes, happy mummy= happy baby! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re: re-latching,

I am trying to re-latch my girl but she doesnt like it at all. i think my flow came in too slow for her liking. every attempt is a fight and lots of wailing.

re: nail cutting,

my hubby cut my #02 nail when she was not even full month, later then we realised we can only cut bb nail in full month. use mittens to prevent bb from scratching themselves.

goofie,

my bb is half a month older, so i am sure your ss will increase soon. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ash,

what your CL said about bm supply concurred with my mum. my mum also knew of relatives with low bm ss and told me dont feel bad. she did both #01 & #02 confinement for me and commented how come i am always pumping and doing breast exercise (massaging) this time. :p

ling,

aiyoh, i very scared to eat fatty stuff. can i just take the soup without the fatty trotters. i will vomit if i eat such things.

ash,

yes, that is the one that i got. i got it from www.mumsfairy.com. i got a super shields also but found them too big for me. if u are keen, i can let go at a good price for u. I only tried it 2 times. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bubble pearl,

my mil will keep on saying my bb is not fed enough everytime she cried. i so pissed off. so i told her to feed her and let bb threw up on her pants (but luckily she didnt try)! she is insensitive enough to comment during a family gathering that she does not understand why so many young pple nowsaday cannot produce milk in the presence of a new mother who cannot do TBF!

2ww,

i agree with u. very sian to see the little milk as i pump. i also took fenugreek and take fish soup and blah blah blah. really envy mummies that flood the bottles as their pump.

i almost went mad when i got to throw away 40ml of EBM bcos i wrongly bottled it into #01 bottle who was down with throat infection and refused to take my EBM. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]( every drop is sooooooooooooo precious to me.

dollyqueencess,

wah, your bb really heavy-weight category. must be very cute and tempting to be pinched. :p

nic,

oic. that is a good idea to have two pump sets. might consider that also.. but most of the time, i only managed to wake up once.

Apple,

Not easy to find a job that you like. This is the dilema of modern working mothers who are usually expected to quit due to family needs. Personally i cannot be a SAHM, i will go crazy! Honestly, SAHM is the toughest job on earth. It is 24x7, no salary etc etc. Of course, the well-being of the child outweighs all. But to me, I need a job to keep my sanity.

Jane,

I hope your girl is ok now. I will bring my girl to NUH Children A&E if clinics are all closed.

starfruit,

how to remove milk blep?

split,

i think u are a better DIL than me. we visit our in-laws once a week also. sometimes if i cannot make it, i will make sure my hubby and #01 visit them lor. i dont intend to go over till my #02 is at least 3 months old. they now have been visiting us instead. it is easy for them to come, rather than for us to go over. anyway, she will be too busy to have time for us as she will have another grandchild coming. hehe.

Question:-

1) Can we combine new EBM with old EBM that is chilled (not frozen) into the same bottle? Very waste to keep using a new storage bag and too many bottles with little milk take up space in the fridge.

2) Mummies who pumped, do u feel that your breasts are emptied after every pump? I suspected mine not emptied fully thus causing all the block ducts.

3) I had WWIII with my #02 yesterday night. She refused to latch on, refused to drink from bottle and just keep on wailing. No sign of colic. She behaved like that the night before too. Also, her milk intake is half of her usual quantity. Anyone know what happened?

Hi all.. Long time haven log in.. Simply tired from lack of slp.. Hehe. I guess most of us are having a hard time with our cute darling ya?

Jus a update. My bb hit 6kg at 5weeks plus. Gained 2 kg plus!! Think he'll outdo his jie jie by alot.. Lol..

I've been doing feed on demand till I cannot tahan sometimes. He can latch on for 2-4hrs if he wants. I'll still pump out at least 4x a day but the milk is for his jie jie.. He seldom will need the ebm unless I need to go out without him.

But breastfeeding is really v tiring n it's pure hardwork! Kudos to all mummies, n let's work hard together ya!!

Starfruit, I went to Mothercare to try both pupsik & bbjorn synergy..pupsik is out for me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] am between M & L..so not advisable to buy. And most likely I'll get bbjorn synergy, Morhercare having promo 15% + 5% for member. Btw, the warranty is local, so buy US set no warranty..do u know how's the warranty? Am sure where & tear not cover rite?

split, before my kids arrive.. we'll visit my in-laws every week. when #1 arrive, from weekly to fortnightly.. then #2 arrive, last visit was 3-4 weeks ago... my hb understand that if we need to visit them, we have to pack for #1 & #2 as well as my pump machine.. ie to say, we need to bring a luggage there... it's really very hectic.. so my hb will explain to his mum that wait till W more stable 1st... i don't care if my MIL would to complain to her "san gu liu po" anot... most impt is we have to rest comfortably..

Apple i dunno how the warranty works cos so far no problem with both my bbjorn carrier n i have not sent in for any repair. I got my original carrier back in 2007 n so far no problem till now too. So cant help much sorry. The discount is attractive so how much isit after discount.?

Xing, I used to be sahm, really very hectic but rewarding coz we witness the kid's growing milestones..my dad expect me to quit & be sahm like I did during #1 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] but am not so willing. Firstly I like my job, 2ndly I got understanding boss, 3rdly am financially independent & enjoy my shopping spree :p

I always pray for good helper but luck just not with us after my 1st helper left a yr ago. My inlaw said bcoz of my very gd helper now we tends to compare, sigh what to do?? The new ones really not up to mark..

Starfruit, Mothercare after disc the synergy cost $241..if buying US set it is around $40-50 different. I dunno shd I get it online, or order thru Amazon & send to my hb colik in US coz he is coming to SG, or just buy locally haha..too many options also headache.

Btw your original is bbjorn active rite?? Come with back support?? I tried both, synergy had wider padding. My hb think I shd get that coz my boy quite big size.

Lin: fwah your bm super power! Bb grow so much drinking it and still got excess for jiejie! I also 100% latch and only managed to pump out twice for my #1 but I'm worried not enough left for #2 and also lazy to wash the pump.

Sigh hubby down with flu and spread to me. Damn sian, and I am with a newborn 24 hrs leh.

Xing, ur mil better than mine.. During my stay in hospital , she happen to be ard when my colleagues visit me n bb G cried. I told her I just fed 20 mins ago, n being a 2 days old nb shld not have growth sprunt ..she keep saying in front if my collegues that bb hungry need to bf, another colleague of mine also tell her cannot be, bb just want bao bao. She dun believe n ask me to bf. So I did n happen the nurse come in n help me to latch, she also say the same thing that bb is not hungry...true eluff, before i manage to latch him, he fallen asleep..she always like to act smart.

Split, I only visit my pil place once in week cos we stay quite far from them, n normally we go on sat as I told my hb I want rest on sun before working week starts. Heng, it rain ytd n I have excuse not to go..at the same time, I used engorgement as an reason not to go or stay too long..anyway, I dun think my presence or my #2 presence makes any differences as she keep saying my #2 dun look like #1, as she claim my #1 look like her n even got pple comment my #1 is her son. OMG, she is in her late 50s n plump plump one, that person who comment that must be blind..

Pixie, phew... I was so shock by that scene, I nearly tot he is not breathing n keep tick him every 10 min..

Apple, u follow the size guideline to measure the sling size.

Bubble, husk pillow can be dangerous if bb is strong & active. I had an incident during my gal 2mths old, the husk pillow cover her face & she wail loudly in shock..me & my old helper both stunt & shock too! So we decided she cannot use the pillow anymore.

Now my boy I also becareful, if nobody in the room I don't place the husk pillow on him.

Re pupsik pouch, I went to try..am not suitable coz it is in between size. The Mothercare staff told me not to buy..gonna be waste of $$

Hello mummies..

I m nw pumping for e last session of e day n after tat shld b baby feeding time b4 I can go to bed...

We hv cut baby's nails twice including today.. Cos is super long n sharp... We worried he will scratch himself...

Heehee.. Happy tat hubby took leave 2molo to b wif me n baby.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Btw, is it ok to rebondn even dye hair when we r still breastfeeding e baby? Any advise mummies? Thanks in advance! My hair thou long but in a mess wif frizzy hair.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hi mummies, just fin pumping after latch, so far I m pumping 3 times a day after she finishes latching to store, tiring but saving it as spare. Doubt #1 will gain much nutrition from my ebm since he's already 2+.

@Val: have cut her nails twice ;) now wondering whether to shave her botak at 4th month...

Gathering at Nexx:

1) starflowers

2) bubble pearl

3) goofie

4) starfruit

Pls feel free to add on [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] we can go kiddy palace check out stuff after makan also [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gathering at Nexx:

1) starflowers

2) bubble pearl

3) goofie

4) starfruit

5) split

When is the gathering? I can only make it on weekdays when my boys in cc n no wed as I got class on wed.