(2011/05) May 2011

bubblepearl, thanks... I have PM her. Btw, some of the sellers selling the receipt between $50 to $65. Do u think it's worth it?

yaer: I also only called up last week, they said will call when stock arrive but never said when...sian lah!

I normally will use up all ebm in fridge within 48hrs. If I know I am not able to use it by then will put in freezer, can store for 3mths. But once thawed must used within 24 hrs.

bunnymum: yes, u can consolidate the milk and then once reach 80ml then feed but remember the 1st batch of 20ml must be used up within 48hrs. Alt can mix 60ml fm then add in the 20ml and feed. I used to do either one for my #1 last time when my ss is low and can't meet his demand.

V - I can feel the pain n the lump still there.. No longer having fever though.. The kkh nurse help me massage made me so scared to even touch my breast now.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

i put my ebm in the fridge for max 48 hrs only. if i see too much i will put in freezer using milk bag or avent cups. the glass bottle takes close to 24 hr to defrost in the fridge..almost fainted..so hoping the cup/bag will defrost faster..

Ash press real hard around ur breast circular motion clockwise or anti around ur whole breast. If certain area pain press deeper n see if u can feel any lump some lumps are real tiny like size of peas n u need to press down hard to check n make sure no lumps. If lumps either latch bb or during pump massage the block area real hard. Sometime i use my thumb to press down its damn painful but when unblock totally no pain at all. Actually if lump is near aeroela area diff for u to clear if u pump cos the funnel will be blocking. Do u wanna latch A n get him to clear for u? Its faster n easier.

Mummies i seriously dun think i can adhere to the no bathing rule. Its a week nOw n i am starting to break out in rash! I think i wanna bath regularly leh! Gonna wash my hair again tomorrow before bringing bb to do blood test at mt A! Can i check how many of u cont to bath during cOnfinement?

I will be bringing bb to polyclinic for jabs n assessment. This was wat i did for #1.

Ash: my mastitis was similar to yours but within 5-10min after pumping the stone feeling came back and it has a stinging feeling to it...

baobaolin: must consistently massage..read below..

sunflower: it was S$80..bring your own sterilised glass bottle if you want to bring back your ebm..bring at least 2 k? do call and make an appt..they open at 930am..my session yielded 200ml of milk..

Ok. I will attempt to share what i learnt from aunty lilian (she's really a nice lady)..

1. engorgement: if it's really hard and you are scared of pain, use cabbage leafs to place only on the rock hard areas (side, top etc) before massaging. if it's really rock hard, place for 45min to an hour. mine took 1 hr. DO NOT use hot towel as that will increase milk and worsen pain.

steps to massage:

1. use ur 2nd to 4th finger, place it above your nipple.the area above that is your milk well ( ducts)use the same 3 fingers place above the area and massage in circular motions at the breasts 12o'clock, 3, 6 and 9. your thumb cupping the breasts..press hard with fingers flat and massage 10 times clockwise and 10 times anti clockwise at the 4 points.

2. cup your 5 fingers over the line of the aerola and rotate your breasts clockwise and anti clockwise 10 times.

3. 2nd finger and 3rd finger in a scissors motion, scissor on your nipple and massage.

4. pump for 5 min

5. repeat massage

6. pump for 5 min

7. repeat massage

8. pump for 5 min

Maximum pumping on each boobs shd be only 15 mins as advised to protect the nipple.

My ss did not drop in any way.

KK did it starting from the nipple.

Lilian explained to me why not to start from the nipple..because it will drip and will be very messy which was true..massage inside out towards the nipple to reduce the messiness and to get the milk flowing once the suction is on =)

hardness, lumps at the side or top - pls wear proper support nursing bra (those with hooks and adjustable straps).

reason: when the bra is not supporting, the boobs tend to be like a downhill road..milk will keep flowing to the nipple and get stuck on the top or sides as a result. so a support bra will be able to hold the boobs in horizontal/ straight road which will reduce the traffic jam on the top =) i'm wearing bras with hooks during the day and those sports bra at night to sleep..really eased the lump on the sides other than when they are full and needs to be expressed.. FYI this doesn't reduce ss either...

HTHs..FYI Aunty Lilian Pong was really a lifesaver..i cried at KKH 24hr clinic and the whole night due to the pain and frustration..I really hope this helps..anyone need clarification feel free to ask me~

starfruit: For the first 4 days I go without bathing, it's a toture to me! After that I bath everyday and wash hair alt day. I can't tahan it leh...

starfruit:my CL prepared ginger water for me..but due to my c-sect wound..for 1.5 weeks i only wipe myself with the water..never bath/shower..i did shower on the 11th day and washed my hair on the 13th day. yest was 17th day and i washed my hair again coz i perspired alot when fever..next friday i'm heading to the salon~ hehe...=) i shower in the pm maybe every other day with soap and warm water after splashing the herbal water on myself..most of the time i'm in aircon though...haven't touch cold drinks as of today..

sunflower: not for me..my ss never decrease drastically...it went up after i unblock my ducts..now i avg abt 180ml each pump session..previously was abt 140-160ml from both boobs...sometimes i latch my girl on if she's not frustrated..haha..i had engorgement on my top portion too..no way to latch bb upside down was what i told lilian..she laughed too..so bra is a pointer and massage too..since it's on top of the aerola..

V today is exactly 1 week. I already washed my hair on thurs cos brought bb to PD n i stank! Tomorrow bringing bb to do blood test again so will bath (with herbal water) n wash my hair too. I cant tahan till 2 weeks already. This weather is really terrible . My last confinement was done in early march so not so bad. I never sleep in aircon room as my ger dun like it n cant breath well in cold room. So i have been sleeping with fan on!! So hot i also dun care already n keep blowing fan n in shorts! Was thinking tat since already broken so many rules i might as well just bath! Hb ask me go bath cos he thinks it crazy not to bath in this weather.

Cuppie i also bathed for the 1st time on day 4 with herbal water. Now i am also trying the out washing hair on alternate days! Really buey tahan!

V i used to lie opp with my ger so she can help me unblock the duct on the top area! Hehe but this time round i just massage damn hard.

V try lied down n have towel placed below ur breast n when leaking, use towel to wipe, remember applied bb oil before massage else abrasion vvvv pain.

Yaer n cuppie, u all got ur reserve number for that BBQ grill?

Apple, think $50-$60 ok. Infact I think have total 30 packets of diapers n pull up at home..hehehe..haven't been gog back home to c how messy since my discharge..

bunnymum: Me and u same situation. Per pump is only about 20ml only. Therefore, i will pump it out and leave it in the fridge to consolidate. But i will bf my bb ger 1st and ebm the remaining.

V: I have been showering since the day i am back from hospital with the herbal and lemongrass. Somemore 1 day 2 times but i still feel sticky and sweaty.I c-sect too, doc say i can shower after removing the stitches. Have washed my hair every 4 days as really bue tahan the oilness as i sweat quite alot and try not to on fan during the day.

Have just placed a order for nepia diapers, find it clueless when it comes to my bb ger urine amount. Got a few times that her diaper overflow then i realise that diaper is full.. haha...

Not sure if i should buy some of the huggies diaper since the price is so attrative. But my bb ger is only 13 days old only. Dunno by when she will be in need of M size diaper.

Starfruit..I bath everyday! Only raining then I wipe. I wash hair regularly too!! Cannot stand the weather & stinko hair :p

And I went salon twice to hv thorough wash & blow dry.

Am left with one more week of jail term..hurray

Auroa, din know u wanted the playset. I bought 4 pkts of M diaper & throw away the receipt..sigh

Apple: 5kg? Seems like pretty small size. Maybe i will try to find excuse to go out with hb to buy tomorrow.

Am left with 2 weeks to being myself again.. Yeah... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

V, try ipl!!! I tried 1st session n it helps but too bad... After I sign up package I realized I am preggy n cannot go for it until I am done w bf

I'm looking forward to end confinement but not looking forWard to my CL leaving. This time round I'm very hands off w bb even at nite. CL has been updating me abt bb's habit. Seems like he is unable to sleep well at nite unless being carried! Oh no! W regular pumping, ss not increasing n uncomfortable b, feels like giving up bf. Think if I've not bot the b pump, I wld hv given up liao! Keke!!

Now I feel like going to hv fever again *sigh* After pump my b feels soft leh. Cld it b some blocked ducts tt I cldnt locate?

bubblepearl: Huh...the staff din give me any reservation number leh. Should have huh? Maybe I give them a call again tmr. They just told me they will call me when the stocks arrive...aiyo!

Ash: Dun give up...jia you! Sometimes after pumping although the b is soft, when I run my fingers around it...there are still some small hard area...especially near the side so maybe you can run your fingers around the b to find it and massage them away.

O ya.. My bb ger this few days have been have those "greenish eye shit". Issit common? Have beem helping her to wipe off but it just keep having. Esp after she "cry" for milk.

Does any mummies have any remedy?

So angry with my CL. Tomorrow her last day then juz now tell my hubby tat we hav to give her ang pow $100 and $90 for transport. She so experienced she don't know that this should hav been told to us the first day when she come meh? Aly pissed off with her attitude & work now come this!

Cuppie, get the number from them better in case they act blur

Dark armpit: my ML give me a bottle of scrub but yet to try, she say v good leh..

Ash, u got try the 3 fingers method w bb oil while lying down?? After massage, must pump out the excess milk n continue to pump out each 2 hrly . This time, I must really thanks my ML . She help me to avoid n how to prevent engorement...

bubblepearl: Will give them a call tmr.

Let us know what the name of the scrub if it good. Would like to try as I love wearing sleeveless so it's unsightly with the dark armpit :p

sunflower: Did the doc mentioned anything about it? Is it anything that i should be worry about? As i have yet to find a PD near my hse yet. Do not like the one that attend to my ger from Mt A.

apple,starfruit,dolly and LJ

finally i am done with the calculation! phew. anyway, i took exact weight of each n every item and all the items come with hanger (except for tights) to calculate the shipping.

have emailed each of u the break down and total cost. trf when u are free =)

can arrange self collection at my place, courier or if wanna meet in town got to wait till i go town liao =p

Janice n sunflower: is it like eye shit? My #1 has that, it is called block eye duct, most newborns have it as their eye ducts yet fully open n unable to drain the tears via the ducts. Try to message the nose bridge.

Cuppie, ok, will check out the name n let u know.

I am so bored at home!!! I want go jln jln..any one bf cannot eat what ah??

Bubble pearl: Yup yup. It cluster around the eyes, my ger cant even open her eyes when the eye shit around her eyes dry up. Will try to massage her nose bridge as recommended. Thanks for sharing.

Re: jabs

dread going thro the jabs phrase...got to watch out for fever etc...but i kiasu mummy will let my gal takes all the optional jabs as well.

Re: pneumoccal jab

now the new jab is prevar 13 while the old one tat my boy took is prevar 7. the pd asked me to consider letting my #1 take the boaster jab to get more coverage. any 2nd or 3rd time mummies doing tat?

yaer,

i store bm in fridge for 2days only.

so i will freeze the milk once i see the chilled milk building up in the fridge and will rely on my #1 to clear those.

re: bathing

i bathe everyday with heater water...3-4x per day...=/

in fact i am going to bathe aft posting and then pumping. =P

sunflower,

for my #1, i brought him out the day prior to him turning full mth. i let him use the stroller then. ur stroller has got full recline function?

Val, got your mail..will trf & arrange hb pick-up fr ur place.

Wah u extreme than me! Bath 3-4x a day even midnite?? I bath twice already feel guilty & my colleague even comment I shd not bath bb & keep touching water.

Bubble, I wanna know the scrub too! I got dark pigmentation this preg..previously don hv [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

My boy is having heat rash on his body..sien my hb nag @ me coz I do prepare goodies for tmr 1st mth celebration so I let him sleep in the living room rocker without aircon. He felt uncomfy keep giving me ehh ehh sound but I ignore him coz don't want to carry him. After evening wipe saw the rashes I put him back to aircon room wah he zz soundly & 4hrs then drink milk.