(2011/05) May 2011

V(buff), Angie: aiyah so many Sales starting yet cannot go…

Ash: I let my bb suck and it cleared the blocked ducts. Better than massage with warm compress or pump.

Auroa: Hope your bb jaundice level will be cleared soon…

Cloud: how to train bb to sleep? I think my bb still have his day/night mixed up.

Janice: On bb names - go with your mother’s instinct on what is best for your gal. My hb and I are at odds with bb names. We cannot agree with each other’s choices. In the end, we asked our #1 to pick one from 3 choices and he happened to pick the ‘neutral’ one.

Apple: are bbies generally more difficult at wk3 and wk6?

V - hope u get well soon.

for mommies who need massage to relieve engorgement badly - can try Mdm Rokiah. She is real good and she only do house call to clear block duct & engorgement. No longer doing post natal massage. While she cleare the block ducts & massage you b, u will see fountain of bm flying!

Jo, I have bothe Medela & Ameda..I always use Ameda when I feel sore..coz the suction is more gentle. Y u need Medela swing? It is the same as Ameda, unless u go for PISA or Freestyle for more powerful pump. I use Ameda @ work coz the motor is quiet and it works well for me during #1. Served me well for 2yrs [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

starflower, when bbs wants to drink milk, they will make this sound. U do a search on "Dunstan Baby Language" and it will tells u the different sounds tat bbs made when they are hungry, discomfort, etc. A very good video.. i got the video but it's too big (abt 89mbs) to be sent via email.

starfruit, G6PD means Glucose-6-phosphate dehydrogenase deficiency.PD said tat NBs w G6PD tends to hve high readings of jaundice and dark colored skins (my boy got fair skin.. even nurse commented tat he's the fairest of all the bbs tat they hve seen among the G6PD bbs).

cloudpoem, it's my boy who have G6PD. My girl dun hve, thus, i'quite surprised when PD tolds me abt it. Seen PD on tues and his readings is very high at 285 (when discharged, his readings is 108), so now under light therapy for at least 12hrs a day and back for review tomorrow.

Val, thanks... do let me know wat other food stuff to avoid... I think i better let NE know and to avoid all herbs intake during my BF. Actually i sort of feel guilty tat he have it as PD said tat it's normally passed down by mummy.. seeing him now got high jaundice readings also made me feel so guilty and despite he do nipple sucking (think he wants comfort), i only softly tells him off and latch him on again(unlike my no1 times, i will smack lightly on her lips and refused to feed her if she does it again).

Btw, i bought my boy for review on tues and bought him to Anderson for dessert break while my hubby went to starhub to settle his issues. My boy sleep in the bb carrier while i enjoyed my dessert. Luckily din wake up and i enjoyed it in peace. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

V, u ok? need to pump/latch regualary... thou it's hard.. sometimes i can't get up and let it be but really painful and now i'm still trying to clear the blocked ducts.. u take care.

Jo, i'm using dual pump ameda.. i find it very good. My no1 times, i used medala (think spell something like tat) and it hurts till i switched to ameda. U are using which type of ameda pump?

I have been a "silent" reader [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif].

Need your advice - I am supposed to be due today edd @40weeks. But till now, nothing happens. My doc wants me to be admitted by tmrw to be induced. But I am still hoping for bb to come out naturally.

Do u think i can still wait for a few more days, and then decide by next Mon to be induced?

Also, in the meantime, what else can i take/do to "tell" baby to come out naturally? I have been taking coconut juice, and also started on raspberry tea.

goofie, i think it's best to listen to yr gynae. I was induced at week 39 as my placenta is getting "old" liao and it's not doing good for the bb to stay inside for long and also partly due to my bb's weight too. If u have any concerns, it's best tat u clear with yr gynae as he will be the best person to clear yr doubts.

V take care. U need to massage before during n after pump. Cant jus rely on pump to clear. Pls take care.

I think my engorgement kinda clear. My ger was cluster feeding every hr the night before now hope milk supply fill up faster. She is feeding every 2 hrs! Super exhausting. The intial latch on pain is super unbearable i almost forgot how painful it can be! Was also massaging n pressing on the lumps to clear the block ducts as bb feed and now my breast is all blue black n n bruised! Think really not easy being a mom!

Nic which pd u seeing? Wah really need to avoid all herbs? Cham i was eating the herbal soup since monday.

Apple i should have ask to exclude ginseng too. Yesterday they gave ginseng soup.

I finally popped this morning. Day 5 after delivery. Pain n suspect i have slight piles.

Mummies, do you know the procedure if we were to post ads at HDB premises ? Wanted to post an ad on hiring full time nanny around my block.

Called Town council, they direct me to HDB. Called HDB, they direct me to Town council.

Jo, i also have cracked nipples (phew! its not infection which I suspected). My GP gave me Supirocin ointment to apply to help it recover. She told me not to latch bb for next few days but diligently pump to maintain supply.

Auroa my no.1did not have this G6PD condition... Sigh better go easy on the herbs. Even my red date tea i drink it diluted.

Pd appt is tomorrow i hope she is ok man.

Its day5 n i have not shower or bathed very tempted to bath n shower before i go see pd tomorrow.

Auroa: what I mean, is ur girl ok with Bb brother? Accepting well? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] saw u pics, look good!

goofie, think shd be e ultrascan bah. he checked e waterlevel n said tat ard placenta is getting alot water n ard got lochia, thus need to take bb out.

dolly, my no2 pd is Dr Kenny Ee at Kinderclinic but i plan to let him see the same PD as my girl after his jaundice level went down. My girl's PD is at Tampines and her name is Dr Ho. She's very good w my girl (she's my girl 3rd PD doc liao... the 1st 2 PDs are unable to "connect" w my girl except for this PD and we been w her for nearly 2 years).

cloudpoem, my girl settles well w her didi.. she loves him and wants to bring him to school to show off to her classmates/teachers.. actually she can't wait to show off to every1.. in hospital, she kept on telling the nurses/docs abt her didi.. i was busy before i deliver and din buy any gifts (suppose to be fr didi to her).. she seems ok (no one mentioned a word maybe tat's why the transtion is so smooth).

hehehe.. i looked good? I put on facial masks when i was hospital... think the nurses feels it's amazing.. i hve 2 nurses coming in to make my bed.. after tat, the serving breakfast auntie also came in and stayed for awhile before she went out... all wearing the same grin on their face.. then 3rd nurse came in to check on my BP and can't help smiling.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I need to rant abt my CL!

Jus now my bb crying and kicking her blankie away then I saw her tummy is red then I flip her top and saw her tummy is red wih tiny bumps all over, rashes! Then I ask my CL why bb like tat she say last night already like tat, she think bb can't take too much ruyi oil, as my bb skin a bot sensitive. CL,apply for her only nite then the day before start to allow in the morning after bath. Then the CL say I tell her to do that. Then I answer back, I only ask u the day beforeif u apply ruyi oil for bb but never tell u to also apply in the morning, then I ask when I tell u, she kept quiet.

Ya biang push the blame to me then also I question her why she never tell us, she kept quiet.

Then she used to mop the floor every 2 days then this week haaven mopped yet, prob coz I got a pt cleaner in last sun to clean up. Today raining so tomorrow if she still dun mop, I'll ask her see what excuse she hav. She is leaving this sat somi tot juz close one eye but since she so Jia lat, I'll make it mean.

Oh my hubby juz now drop by home at lunch time then ask the CL on bb's rashes, then she can say probably is heat rash. Juz now tell mi is bb sensitive skin & ruyi oil, now say it is heat rash! My hubby then say bb come home fr hospital so

Ing if heat rash shd be earlier already hav ma, only now then hav? She also speechless.

bbpooh, I find ruyi oil is quite hot for bb skin..I nvr apply ruyi oil. I'm using minyak telon from Indonesia. It is more soothing & smell nice too! If u do massage, ask the malay lady to help u buy. Or else, u can get from those malay stall. I buy from Yishun.

Aurora & apple, i was using Ameda dual pump for my #1 3 yrs ago. But now the pump is spoil.

Hee i actually went out to buy Medala Swing. Luckily Isetan got private sales today and got a 20% discount for it. So saved about $67! Just got all the parts sterlised. Will get to pumping soon.

My daughter just now regurgitate blood think should be my blood which she took while i latch her. Quite scary. Must monitor closely.

Dolly, 

The loots r at my place already, yet tat I haven't wk out the shipping charges and also waiting for cc bill to come so I can calculate the exchange rate n overall charge for each n every item.

Sometimes rl will send the items with hangers too.

Will update when I have calculated both the item cost and shipping charge.

Sunflower, Angie, 2ww,

So far I only openly go out when bringing my gal for chkup and the bday sch celebration for my boy. Other than tat, I v kuai! Heheh. Thinking to go out for taka sales le...so u gals bring baby out also when u go out mah??

Re: fussing baby

My gal also v fussy these 2days. Really have my hands full with my fussing gal and defiant boy. Haiz.

Viman,

Hahah. Doing taichi, did u video it dwn?? Next time can show her =p 

Apple,

My gal also v fussy yest evening frm 6++ till 9+. Practically I had to carry her On my left n do things single handledly.

Oh. Okok. I know dang GUI is to b avoided during preg. Didn't really notice if I bled alot when taking dang GUI but I will monitor. =)

Any herbs tat will cause the decrease of bm??

Starfruit,

Think u better chk if ur gal is g6pd deficient or g6pd present. If the former, then advisable nt to take herbs  ESP if jaundice is high. Usually it's the boys who are g6pd deficient, v seldom gals will have it but if it runs in the family, gals are usually the carrier. Red date drink can drink coz it's nt boiled with herbs.

No worries on the payment coz I also haven't calculated. I know wat u mean. The only time I can r&r is when the kids are slpping and by then either I have to do hsewk or I am too tired at nite to do on lappy le. No maid no cl so I 1 leg kick all lo.

Bbpooh,

Hmm...I ask my mum to send my boy to sch...only when my boy kicks up a fuss then I have to take over.

Re: shopping

Bingo apple! Keke. I wanna go taka to grab baby stuffs n get Burberry clothings...but have to bring my gal along since she is on latching n have to bring my boy out for a walk too...just tat I am worried crowded and baby immunity is low le...u bringing D along Mah?

Auroa,

I know abt the guilt u mentioned. Coz I myself am the carrier although I am nt g6pd deficient. I cried for days aft knowing my #1 has it. Anyway, kkh standard is g6pd deficient babies have to stay in hospital for a week, if v high jaundice reading then 2weeks. 

Ladies new battle for me... Mastitis.. Don't take emgorgememt lightly.. I'm having fever and no matter how I pump the boobs feel full and hard on the side. If u feel ur boobs getting warm pls monitor ur temp. Once u have fever go see a doc and seek help from LC to massage and clear the ducts...

@val: brought bb to novena sq so far. but i find it quite xin ku cos not using sling. arms super tired [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] cant venture far.

Val, yes I'll hv to bring D along coz he latches on demand too! I'll go on Sun afternoon hope not so crowded. My #1 also has been cropped up at home since I gv birth except going to her enrichment classes. Is time to explore out since my confinement ending soon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

What is the different btw g6pd deficient & present? Seems like this is pretty common..my friend's bb who is 3 mths old also having that..shd not be too alarming rite??

my ss seems to reduce after yday's fever [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] is it normal? i pop 2 panadols strong y'day too

v: take care n hope u recover soon.

apple: same for my #1, i think he is bored at home on wkends too.

Minyak telon? Apple, u have pic? Does it dispel air on Bb tummy too? I find my Bb grows so fast! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] and heavy too.. Hurhurr.

Mummies, I'm having a sore Throat already n taking Euphon lozenges that gynae prescribed last time when I'm pregnant. Anyone know if I can still breastfeed while taking this med? No one answered phone in clinic.

Also anyone of u let 1 week old bb sleep in air con room? Is it ok as in for his well being.?

Does anyone know of good pd for babies near simei or tamp area? Bedok also ok

Bunnymum: my Bb sleeps in air con room too.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sunflower: my Bb likes to sleep in living room, in fact, she sleeps longer in living room too.. Hmm.

Auroa, GOOD idea! TO put facial mask in hospital!

Think I am going to pack a few too! LOL [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Must look good after delivery cause now I look so swollen with the fats and water retention.

I have the following items for sale, do PM or SMS me if you're interested [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Brand New Pigeon Silent Electric Breast Pump

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5510022.html?1306315685

Brand New Safety 1st Deluxe Bath Cradle

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5510041.html?1306316030

Used Medela PISA Faceplate

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5510060.html?1306316273

Brand New Nissen and Baby Carter Rompers

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5510073.html?1306316739

Sorry to interrupt

Selling BN My First Year Infant to Toddler Bathtub at $35

Retail Price $69

Brand New but label has been cut. Never been used.

Collection at Serangoon Central. Please PM if interested.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5510169.jpg]

Thanks ladies.. Feeling much better after I saw lilian at TMC.. Cleared my blocked ducts and taught me massage techniques.. Hopefully this is the last of the engorgement.

Val i am so confused by the report. I went back to look again and It states as g6pd present. So this is ok right not deficient right?

I have not even switch on my computer since i got hm.. Super exhausting to take care of a newborn!! Just relying on my iphone to stay connected.. Hehe

Office hr called me yesterday say bb born on a sat do my ML will start on a sat. Is thus corrrect? Any idea anyone?

Apple : hi5 i also big fan of the minyak telon oil. It was intro by my massage lady. I am still using for no. 1 i get it at this shop at parkway parade which imports indo goods. Apple need to ask u whereelse i can get.

Bbpooh: my experience on the ru yi oil. During my #1 time

MIL insisted on applying ru yi oil on bb but i felt tat its too

harsh for nb n insisted no. MIL secretly applied n bb broke

out in major rash on the tummy. after tat no one in my household dare to use ru yi oil anymore. If u need may can consider the Ji3 xiang2 brand of ru yi oil instead. Not so spicy.

V : so all block ducts cleared now? No more fever?

I massage my breast till its blue black all over now. No more engorgement n find tat i dun leak so much this time too!!

Bunnymum n sunflower, i try to let bb sleep in aircon last night dunno isit too cold she kept crying every hr! End up i switch off n she slept straight for 3 hrs. I think my ger cannot sleep in aircon leh.

Auroa i was luffing as i read your face mask post!! I actually brough face mask with me too but was too tired n in pain so never use!

Arisz, baby still hanging in there right?

Sunflower,

U haven't got ur sling/pouch? How abt using pram? If nt hard to shop le =p

Apple,

Then I think I am more fan xin to bring my gal out. Keke. I am thinking of going tml coz hb is available. Keke. Just tat erp n parking kills on weekdays!

Same same, my boy also cope up with me at hm except for the occasional trips to neighbour stores to get things n to his sch. The other day he asked me to bring him to the zoo and shopping!

G6pd is an enzyme tat helps the red blood cells to function properly. So if deficient then have to take extra precautions to prevent triggers. If present then it's gd =)  It's v common among Asian boys and it's nt tat alarming if precautions are followed. Only v v serious cases then will be fatal but it's v rare. Ppp with g6pd deficiency can still lead a normal n healthy lifestyle. 

Auroa,

Btw, broad beans aka fava beans got to be avoided. antibiotics with "sulf" got to be avoided. Medicine with "Quine" got to be avoided as well. Quite a list. Did the hospital give u some card or info list?  

Starfruit,

U scare urself for nthing le. Coz g6pd present means ok. =)

Ya, I know wt u mean. When I discharged n gt hm, I also didn't on lappy. Mainly use my phone to stay connected. Keke.

Yes, ml will starts on the day u delivered, regardless of weekend or ph =)

Same here le, this time rd, I didn't leak like a tap! Wonder if it means anything abt the ss nt...

star: i hv not engage massage lady yet. can only do after 3 wks n im lazy to call ard to ask too. u got urs already?

my ss so pathetuic these few pumps. possible to sud dry up even w regular pumping? *worried*

starfruit: yea..aunty lilian helped me clear the ducts today and taught me how to massage. so far so good..not recurring..am taking anti biotics and anti swelling and panadol...at least my boobs are not as hot as before..the lady at KK says if don't treat the blocked ducts will have pus..scary..

val

you one leg kick at home? me too.. one man show.. very tiring esp at night and hb cant help in night feeding coz need to work the next day.. super exhausted. my bb is abt 7 weeks liao.. wah. .dunno how long i can tahan.. how did u manage to keep ur energy level? i feel like cant rest at all. n now down with sore throat liao [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

re:eek:il

mummies, besides ru yi oil and telon oil, you can also consider eucalyptus oil. the smell is soothing and not hot. i used it on both my kids..

re:shopping

i already brought my bb out alone heheh.. using sling.. now thinking abt the motherhood fair next week.. very very tempted to go but not sure how coz hb will take care of #1 and he cant take care both kids if i decide to go out. so if i go alone, might need to bring my nb too... now is the time i envy those with maid lo..

starfruit & val

understand y we can't use lappy while on ML. really no time.. but for me, my office will bring doc over sometimes..

Val & Vman: My bb also sleep in the surrender type. I cant swaddle her as she will eh.. eh.. den find all sorts of way to get herself out of it.

My hubby went to the uncle hse yesterday and went through the name booklet and gotten a few other characters which we can match and mix. Finally can walk away from "kill bacteria". Feeling so good, finally dun need to because of bb name have disgreement.

Does any mummies know of any affordable and good PD in hougang? My bb ger yesterday evening don't know what happen vomitted after feeding milk. Somemore she vomitted twice. The PD from Mt A consultation is so ex.

I finally change my pump to a 2mth old freestyle. Going to start using soon. Hopefully my ss will come soon.