(2011/05) May 2011

Viman- congrats on your BB homecoming. My BB prefers the right cos faster flow, but I still forced him to take the left side :p

Little Fly - re breakfast - after 1 week, my CL cooked omlette and also french toast ( the killney style) to add variety. She will also cook Ee Mee and porridge

good morning mummies!!! waiting for my boy to wake up for his bath!!!

viman: congratz!!! finally can home sweet home with ur bb!!! take care!!!

ash: me did not bring out the pump... my cousin taught me to pump before going out... den cum back pump again...

kaykay: for my #1... i didnt do anything... just pump when feel engorge... drag the pumping hours n decrease the pumping session and eventually it will stop itself... alternatively can get medicine from gynae to stop oso... heard from some mummies tat breast will shrink in size... but for those big breast will sack lah... haha... u wan to stop oredi ah??

Feel so tired... everytime when i sit on the sofa can just fall asleep like tat... yesterday choked my boy when bathing him... was washing his back n neck so turn his face facing down the water n tink my arm too low his face emerge in the water... so scary... i nearly cried with him... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

viman - congrats!!!

Janice - huh? sounds like "kill bacteria"? better dun give this name wor..sure will get laughed at when ur bb starts school. this morning saw my CL cooking the red dates drink. she put so much dried longans and red dates. no wonder so sweet la..

apple - hahaha!! i like the way you put it - grill with him!

littlefly - this new CL made me a weird breakfast. she added 1 kampong chicken egg to a glass of boiling hot red dates drink. then ask me to drink it after some time. sounds like soft boiled egg to me. taste ok to me, though. i also keep thinking abt those breakfast from McDonald's. going to order them on the day my confinement ends!!! 8 days more to go!

starflower - my bb is day 19 today and she's drinking 110ml at every feed. each feed can last her abt 3 hours, depending if she got poo or not. think she drinks too much aly.

dolly, i'm not very familiar w the football position. Last nite, my boy kept on wants to latch on (think he just wants to suck the nipple to sleep) and ended up i have blisters on the left breast now. Btw, i remember tat u mentioned tat previously u hve lumps ard the armpits.. i just noticed tat i hve it on both sides.. is it due to blocked milk ducts?

viman, wow, 2 mths in hospital? must be very heartpain to see yr little one there so long.. glad tat she's able to discharge and in yr arms now.

bunny_mum, my no1 was swaddled for abt 2 weeks and refused to be swaddled and often "kicked" the blanket away. My no2 even worse... dun want to be swaddle and even in hospital, we want to swaddled him and he always ended up with one hand outside... now back at home, he completely "kicked" off the blanket and refused to put on mittens/socks at all.. will try to take it off or cry till we take it all. Yr bb still swaddling?

apple, wow, yr boy super powerful... wants to be a footballer next time? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

confinement rules for c-section: wow, din know tat got so many rules.. anyway, i think i "break" all liao. Already took mushrooms w scrambled eggs in hospital, bath next day after delivery, drink plain water, walked ard most of the time, din put on socks, etc.

kaykay like what bbpooh said just drag longer and and dun latch evenualy will stop..anyway my bra size got smaller den pre-preg size..i give birth 3 times i think got smaller and smaller..now i so worried i stop bfing this time round will become airport le..

I just delivered a boy on 12th May =)

hving my confinement now and I think I hv been feeding too well.. putting on lotz weight.

But I must say that my milk flow hv been quite well since I hv been drinking a lot of soup.

Currently, using my gf's PIS pump and really love the 2-pharse function and now thinking to get one for myself since i need to return her in coming oct. But shld i get freestyle or PIS? Local set or US set? Anyone can advise?

Auroa, oh that lump is lymnodes infection. It's not a block duct.. Rite, football hold is not so comfortable as cradle but it's very effective to clear block ducts near your underarm.. If not you can use this technique which both of you lie down on the bed...

Ya, my boy caught the virus from my girl.. He has been coughing for a week le.. I'll bring him to yu guo for 2nd opinion..

Morning mummies...today is the first day without my CL, so all on my own now. Bathed bb early mrng, washed all the bb clothes and hubby's clothes, pumped and washed up...finally got time to rest on bed now tt bb is zzzzzz away...

Maybe I was one of the luckiest mummy ard...my CL cooks real well, takes care of my whole family like one of us, does all my hsewrk for me and does all the way till middle of the night which she does not hv to. She even takes care of bb every nite and does all the cleaning and ironing and washing... She's really like a mother to my hub and I, we are starting to miss her le..

xuanmin,

u r lucky to hav a good CL. Mine is not that fantastic. She see me iron my #1's clothes dun bother to say she iron and still can ask mi if wan take chair to sit. Then still say i did not rest enuf, keep pumping, other people she did confinement for, the mums dun wake up midnight to pump. Then i reply her other mums dun feel pain can lor, oso if they don't mind their supply drop they can do that.

Last nite she told my hubby if she can leave this sun, her official time is till tues. Actually mi & hubby already discussed couple of days ago to ask her to leave by this sat. So hubby tell her in that case, she can leave by sat. Sun is our bb shower, i dun wan her to anyhow talk to my relatives or friends. She very talkative one

Jane: Glad you find it funny cos i really cannot accept the name loh.. Its 沙浚 (Sha Jun), doesn't it sound like 'kill bacteria'. Somemore my bb is a gal leh... Taboleh tahan...

Re: Chicken

Am told to avoid taking chicken as it's consider 'du' for wound. As i dunno, have taken it on the 2nd day at hospital. Part of my meal.

Viman: Sad to hear about you and your bb. Do take care and eat well for yourself and your bb.

LittleFly: Am in a dilemma, went i pump only have like 15ml of milk from both side. Give bb is not sufficient, dun give put inside fridge have to wait for few times then will reach the amount for my bb. Btw, everytime i pump is using different bottle. Realise that my medela pump can use those FM feed bottle from the hospital. My mil requested for the bottles during our discharge when she saw it at the nursery room. Good for storing milk as one time is 100ml.

June: Thanks for the info. Will consider about it.

My bb j have colic and the PD gave us Ridwind, but when we gave it to her at night. It was a nighmare with us having shock. After giving her the medicine, we will follow up with milk. She will drink half way and suddenly cough like something stuck in her throat and her eyes open big big. This is the 2nd time that i have seen it. Then through out the night, she will make grunting sound and keep kicking her hand and legs like wanting to be carry. When you carry her, she will sometimes burp and feel better to be lift up.

Like to know how do you mummies gauge the amount of milk that your bb need and drink. Currently, my bb gal is on 60ml but she will get hungry every 2 hrs... She is only 8 days old. Seems like the hrs that the milk can last her is getting shorter. Should i increase? If so, by how much?

confinement,

i have also broken a few rules already. My feet touched cold water as i need to bath my #1 if my hubby is not available. (my CL dun volunteer one, so i oso dun bother to ask as i dun wan my #1 to get so close to her)

Last sat, went for my checkup and when going back, rain super duper heavy so my feet got wet by the rain but no choice.

Then from week 2, i hav been going out in the morning to send my #1 to cc as my hubby started work, to and back in 10mins. Actually i quite like this morning walk, really refreshes mi.

Re: stopping bfeeding

Oh so must slowly gradually slowly down milk supply..

I so blur, was thinking can stop str8 away, thinking that it might not engore..

Anw, I stopping bfeeding after confinement due to many factors. Firstly is I gg back to work & it gonna be a shift work so quite hard to pump at work & maintain milk supply, gotta rest more if nt no energy work..

Anw, A alrd gotten my best colostrum so I guess letting him used to FM soon is not a bad idea, reason being FM now quite advance except for the antibodies (in bmilk) which babies don't fall sick easily when grow up..

Sooner or later he gonna get use to drinking from btl, so gotta train him soon..

And A is too used to latching on now that I must stop, so I expressing now to btl fed him & mix fm.. Let him get used to it slowly.. He recently whine for no reason just wanna latch & suckle for milk.. Bad habit.. He don't wanna slp..

So gotta plan..

Thanks mummies for the info on stopping bfeeding.. Hope my cup wun shrink badly..=P

Aiyo, can't stand my mum.. My girl got mossie bites on her leg, she asked me if my girl has drug allergy? Omg, I asked her if she can diiferentiate mossie bites & rashes? She kept insisting that it's drug allergy.. I told her if she has drug allergy, she will have rashes from the day she has consumed the medicine le.. She thinks I don't have enough problem on my hands!

Janice:- I also using ridwind as recommended from the mummies here. Quite gd..

For info on hw much babies drink..

For day 5 onwards shld be 60ml-80ml..

Janice: oh my! I had a laugh too when I saw the name. Cannot name such names la.. They'll grow up asking u why.. I have a friend, his name is Yao Jin (demon), he doesn't want others to know his name at all~

Confinement food:

Mushroom reduce supply? Really? Jia lat, mil put in every dish! Really dunno what is good and bad.. I find my mil papaya fish soup very fishy smell.. Hard to put down. Maybe I drink till sian.

I had very very bad headache this morning, requested hubby to take leave. And Bb took fm for 1 feed in morning. Sigh. Getting a toll on me liao. This morning pumping session, yield 4 ounce only. After 4hrs. I thought of getting abOve 150ml one.

Viman: finally Bb csm be back home with u.. Jia you in ur breastfeeding! Do bond with ur Bb. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cloud,

I know mushroom may be more diff to digest and may cause wind. But reduce milk supply, I'm not sure. But usually confinement dun take mushroom

cloudpoem: That's y i am sourcing for name master as really got no heart to use the name given. Even though it's the best for her. Scare when she grow old, i can only say :" it's for your own good"

Kaykay: Think i will continue to give her but only in the day time as night time see her like that, really heart pain leh. Dunno what wrong with her and cant do much. Think i will increase to 70ml and see how long it will last.

Dollyqueencess: Mayb your mum need a specs to see more clearly. Like my mil, did not even realise that my bb gal have heat rash even thou she bathe her everyday.

janice

wow.. that name is really funny, how come they still dare to recommend to u.. oh dear!

cloud

no wonder ur friend never want ppl to know his name, really an unique name!

I have a brand new mama love sarong sling carrier w/o packaging for sales.

Selling for $25 (RSP: $60+ at kiddy palace)

can contact me at [email protected]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5498713.jpg]

Thanks starflower! Now patiently waiting for my turn~! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jane H, if you are feeling very unwell, better to see a doc and get medication and recover fast.

Try not to drag your sickness. Not good if you are doing confinement. Just my thoughts. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

arisz

thanks for your concern. will see doc if my situation gets worsen. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Dolly: Well, then too bad. U have to ask ur mum to look more closely.

Jane: It's my mil relative. Whom they claim have been helping to give name and have been gd. Dun ask me why given this name, that the best name the uncle can find. They rest all ok only.. Haii..

Mushrooms: my CL say if can avoid, just avoid taking. coz sometimes got 'poison'...i duno..but i am taking black fungus..that helps to reduce the size of the womb apparently.

CL: how come the CLs like that one? were they recommended? my CL even wash my shower room and toilet! she very auto lei I dun need to say anything one. she was rec by my ex-colleague and if i get pregnant again, i'll ask her to help me once more. i duno how to manage with her gone in 2-3 weeks time~

Janice: my hubby's one gave us alot of names..in the end we chose hui jia..ppl say sounds like go home..haha..ok la..no matter what chosen alr...u still have choice..find another one to give u names~ my girl when she was 8 days old..she averages abt 70-80ml each feeding...now about 14 days old she drinks 90ml each feeding..3 hr intervals.

C-sect confinement: yeap, a lot more rules..no chicken, eggs before 14 days (woohoo I hit 14 days today!) and no seafood for 100 days. oh well~

ok heading to pump again and take a nap..

Happy that my bb jaundice has gone down to 12.5 but it is still high. My PD is quite confident that he is over the ‘peak’ period (5-7days) and no need to return for further review. I think my PD is very cool!

Jane, thanks.

Evie, your new CL has some secret recipe for breakfast! Hang in there, only 8 days more to go for you! I have only started 8 days…arrrgh.

Auroa, your #2 is like my #1. Probably they are more active type and perspire more easily?

Split- same here. I feel it shrank first time and now too. Only tummy get 2-3 sizes bigger. Still look 4mths pregnant. My boy even say, ‘mummy, why you still got tummy?’.

Janice, do you pump like every 2 hrs? I lazy, sometimes drag 3-4hrs. heehee

Names

We got our #2 names suggestion from Master Long today. I find him quite good coz he gives us over 200 names combo for selection and he explains the bb’s character by the birth date/hour etc. His mobile is 90675008.

CL

My CL will plan my meals ahead and also quite auto one. She’s very pro-BF too. I have heard some CLs don’t prepare breakfast/supper or complain about night feeds. So I consider my CL good already so long she takes care of my bb and my wellbeing.

Janice agreed with u the name really not very nice leh plus I think look more boyish den for girl.. Maybe u have any character u like in ur mind? My kids we actually pick the character we like den bring to let people calculate if can't than they will subsitute with another character with similar pronounation. My first boy I very unhappy got alot if conflict with my inlaw so I pick the word 樂 for him and the the person calculate and give a matching word for the le infront according to the missing element from his ba zhi and his name become jiale. We do the same for the no2 given the person a rui after calculation the person give us another rui different stroke one. No3 is girl easier we give a few character to the person to match with the jia that her 2 korkor have and end up with 家萱。We give them 莹,恩,轩.. So instead of the Xian we pick they give us another one and according to the person my girl got all the element but need to balance it and actually we tot of calling her ying xuan dun want the jia but the person said if no jia next time my girl will alway go out dun wanna stay home

Mummies!

How many hours of sleep is normal for 2week old bb?

My son have been very sleepy in the day n cranky at night.. He can drink 100ml of milk every 2-3hourly n sometimes every an hour plus wake up to suckle 10-50ml of milk..

N tbf bb's poo should be odourless ist? My bb's poo n fart smells..

Pls advice! Thanks! :)

V: I am not sure. The uncle keep stressing it's the best name for her. No other name can match. My mil will be calling the uncle to try give other name cos me and hb really cant accept the name.

Little Fly: My supply pretty low leh.. Really need to pump every 2 hrs? Cos nw i pimp at 3-4 hrs interval.

Spilt: Wow, din think of choosing a character as never though it will be so boyish and nan ting. Well.. Nw can only wait for my mil to ask the uncle to try find other name.

Pumping: I am also v lazy now..pump only 3-4 hrly.. 2 hrly really v tired. Now only yield total 120 ml if pump 3-4 hrly..let it be bah..if got supply continue but if it go v low, guess I have to give up bm.

Apple: my boi just merlion after I give him ebm. Damm scary, his milk puke out of his nose other than mouth..now I v scare to feed him. Normally he drink fm if he want puke, he will end up dunno how swallow back

bubble - oh dear, my boy merlion so far fr the mouth. And touchwood he has been good since Fri nite. Pray hard the difficult phase has over! Now I'm facing another prob..coz previously he keeps wanted to latch on evening hour in the evening, so I get my hb to carry him away fr me. So now he crying to be carried. If nobody attend to him, he will wail real LOUD..sigh

xuanmin - I tried giving pacifier after my boy merlion a few times suspect due to overfeeding coz he keeps crying for milk every hr..but mission failed! He gave us vomit look when we stuff pacifier on him or he will spit out!! hur hur

Xuanmin: I am one of the mum that is giving her bb pacifier. But she does not like it, always bite a few times and puke it out. Getting it to distract her while i get FM ready.

bubble pearl: I know what you went through as my ger this morning also like wanna puke and the next thing i saw is milk coming out from her nose. So scare and i quickly wipe it away.

Apple my girl also want milk hourly and the Amt she took also increase from 65 to 80ml bm.. She also merlion my hubby keep saying I overfed her also think she going thru growth spurt..

Auora

Yeah my bb still swaddling but sometimes release his hands or legs out when weather too hot.

My bb cries when I carry him or he hears my voice. Sad... I hv been resting for my wound for past 1week n only these 2 days start to breastfeed him n carry him when I can sit on one side abit more.

But he seems to cry when hs heArs the word mummy! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] my heart pain. After gg thru so much, I wish there is some stronger bonding between us but....

My milk supply also v little. I duno is it due to my resting on bed whole day n nt able to pump at night n only pump twice day time w hubby's help that ss is so little. Only few drops. Day 9 already. Hv been drinking fish soup w papaya but cl cooked mushrooms too. Does my painkiller affect too?

wow, finally can log in again ...

me now counting down to my princess' full mth celebration tis sat ...

wow, fully on breastfeeding is tiring ... always on standby for princess' cry and wake up ...

would like to check, as bb grows, the latching on time shd b longer or shorter?

my gal now (26days old) latch for like 10-15min jus on one breast n can sleep for abt 2hr ...

cannot wake her up after she went to lala land

as i dont pump out milk, i hv to wait for her to wake up for the other breast ...

missed those days when she will latch on 2 breasts ...

Bunnymum: Take your time to build the bond with your bb. My bb will cry when she wake up for milk and anyone that carry her also cant pacify her. But when my mil take over, she will be 'give some face' and become quiet for awhile. Am sad to see that too but i am taking it more openly that at least i got the time to go get the milk ready.

For milk supply, mine is low too. Am taking Fenugreek and getting my mil to cook papaya soup for me. You might want to consider doing so too so that you can bf ur bb.

Bunnymun: who has been taking care of bb when u are resting? bb know u are mummy de, do breastfeed more often to increase supply... i remember calling breastfeeding support group when i had #1, i stop BFing for 1 month, and wanted to BF back, the support group mentiont that its possible to get the supply back, not much, but can get back.. hence, dun worry about the little amount u are getting.. continue to pump 2-3hourly, since u are recovering le. ;) bonding will come, bb has been in u for 10months, i;m sure bb will still choose mummy. cheer up. mood will affect supply too.

bubble: i'm also very tired with BF, this morning headache can kill, and succumb to FM. in fact, my bb is FM once or twice daily when i cant satisfy her.. jia you k? i keep telling myself will be over soon.

apple: hahaha. i'm sure bb D will give wierd look, since u are TBF.. Breast are soft, teats and pacifier are silicon hard plastic.. hence he might wonder... what is he getting inside the mouth.. i'm sure he frown too!!

xuanmin: i'm holding my pacifier as the red card leh.. i really dont wanna introduce to bb. my #1 had pacifier till 3yrs old.. my mil kept pushing pacifier to #1. when she cry, she push pacifier, not knowing whats the reason of crying.. and my #1 speak later, i even brought her to see speech therapist. cux i suspect her speech delay, and i blame pacifier as one cause. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] hence, i try my best not to give this one as well.. my #2 dint have pacifier as well...

split: i ate ice cream le leh.. ops.. the weather can kill, hence a little ice cream did make me happier.. ops.

motherhood fair;

any mummy going? i went to see their website, din really list what are they having..

wanna get avent warmer and mustella items... hmmm