(2011/05) May 2011

FYI fenugreek is a type of Indian spice that they use in cooking fish curry. So after drinking it, u will smell a lil like u ate fish curry and will perspire a lil more the first 1-2 weeks.

My colleague bought for her mild diabetes so she told me this. Get from mustafa if u want the clean raw seeds. Soak in hot water overnight and next am add hot water to drink warm. Add hot water to the seeds and drink again in the pm. Hopes this helps on getting raw fenugreek seeds instead of capsule for vegetarians ~

MMP

Get get from vitakids too. Google to find outlet they have outlet at forum n Usq. I prefer MMP cos it contains fenugeek so i think more power hehe

Re: pumping more milk

Actually if u can relax n think of bb will get more milk. Best if u can get 2 let down cycle then will have more milk.

Nic wat time is ur appt?

I am still having mild tummy ache n light brown discharge.. Wonder if its my mucus plug!

Shaz - thanks for the advice. I am using medela Pisa. Using personal fit shield now. Think will change to soft fit to see if it works better

RE: BF-ing

I wasn't able to directly feed my #1 coz i have short nipples and my girl was suspected to have tongue tie. i think i had post natal blues as well and this made things quite bad for me during my confinement period then. It got worse as i didn't get a confinement lady then and i was more or less the only one to deal with her at night. As i recounted back, it was not an easy period to go through and i remembered agonising about why my girl didn't latch on and my own stupidity at not learning more abt bf-ing beforehand. I think things only got better when i gave up the notion of latching and determined to still feed her my BM through the bottle. I was successful and managed to do so for almost 10 months before i stopped.

This time, i am happy that the 10 months worth of pumping paid off and my nipple are at least graspable by #2 now. She is also a good latcher so that helps as well. I like to latch her on directly as I didn't have to wash and sterilise bottles and the pump, plus I also didn't have to worry whether there's enough milk to feed her or not. I must say that it's not been easy either esp when she is clusterfeeding, i.e. latch on every hour or less for a period of 5-6 hours, but I'd still prefer latching on directly.

I think this bf-ing thing has become a sign on how much we love our kids and how good mothers we are. As i read in an article yesterday, bf-ing used to be just an activity that you do after giving birth. Some mothers do, some mothers don't, period. I guess we all have to make our own decisions as to how we want to love our kids and bf-ing is not the ONLY way to do so. With our hormones trying to get back to normal, it's difficult to keep our cool esp when people make thoughtless remarks in front of us. But i hope that all mummies here will remember that we love our kids, no matter what we do. As long as we are happy or reasonably ok, we can take care of them much better than if we are cranky and sleepy. Jiayou to all mummies!

On no mummies, i am so so tense right now. My mucus plug just came off and i am wondering when i would go into labour. And i am also having crampy feeling. Though this is my 2nd one, my 1st was induced so i really dunno how the natural process of labour would be.

My hands are like shaking now. Oh no, i hope my jitters go away soon.

Hannah, yes i totally agree with u...i've also half given up the idea to latch my girl due to the nipple issue.i'd rather pump for her to drink regularly than have her struggle and wail in my arms. maaybe after her full mth i'll try to latch once in a while but now i'm contented to feed via bottle to her..learnt to let go for her better...

Jo, y not make your way to hospital, or at least call your gynae clinic to inform your situation??

starfruit, I think your d-day approaching [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] jia you..

I'm wondering how's Auroa doing..not sure she delivered.

apple, but i not getting any other labour pain. so i thought i shld wait first. i also read that labour can also come a few days after mucus plug come off. so i think i will wait first.

Hope mummies are coping well. Jia you!

My EDD is 17, but till now no sign yet. pff... feel a bit down, already on ML but nothing to do and feel like I am wasting ML. LOL

have an appt this evening and will get an update. But getting sore breasts these few days.

Hi all mummies.. Finally have time to login..

RE:- TBF

I agreed on supplement FM initiately when milk nt enuff yet.. Slowly build up the supply by pumping.. If latching is difficult, express BM is also good as long ur baby gets all the nutrients from it.. Most impt can't be lazy..

I start of with a few drops till now 60-70ml for both breast for 40mins.. Still hanging on.. Hope to yield more.. Trying to empty breast more so that signal brain to make more milk!!

Ladies hang on!!

Hey mummies, thanks for the encouragement..

Guess was jus feeling emo.. Bb kept crying, drilling on my above unit. The drilling is causing alot of un necessary stress!! Sigh.. Will hang on.

Jo wait a while n see if u have any more signs before proceeding to hospital.

I also having tummy ache these few days.. Also waiting.

Apple i also hope soon the tummy ache feeling is uncomfy but not painful n BH also very intense. Still waiting for hb to set up changing table for bb. But at least i havd the infant car seat ready to bring her hm.

Bubble Pearl, I find NB likes to be carried. #1 time was also like that. In the end, #1 now at 15kg still get the grandma to carry. LOL. Lucky not me kenna... Not trying to laugh at grandma but can't help it.

Have to slowly train NB bah cos they used to the snug feeling of being in tum tum. Give them some time. Dun worry.

Cloud cheer up [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] it will get better

Bubble i tink ur boy wants to be near u lah.

Hannah i really like ur post.. Anyway quite worried for myself and hope i can cope with bfing when #2 is here cos i also hard such a hard time succeeding bfing during her time! Esp when i read all the problems the mums are facing here for bfing. Just thought tat its great we have such a good support group here.

Little fly were u the one asking me abt FTG its fridge to go. Its a min transportable cooler bag which can hold cold up to 12 hrs. Good to bring to work esp if u do not have a fridge to store ur ebm at work.

hi may mummies,

Im new to this forum and have jus delivered my baby girl on 6th may. hope everyone is doing well [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sunflower: yup.. Traditionally is after full month. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] NB nails are amazingly long eh...

When should Bb wear mittens till? I remember my PD says by 2 months can dont wear le.. They need to grasp. Right?

@cloud: ya man..my gal has been scratching her face all over with her fingernails! this few days she's like super aggressive. keep trying to hold de bottle as if she knows we're gonna take it away from her soon.

re: mittens

bout 6-8 wks can slowly dun wear le..

Starfruit, I m still waiting lor. Hopefully my labour don't start at night. If not must activate my parents to come over to look after #1. I wonder how long it is gg to be...

anyone hav experience bb vomiting? my gal seems to "gulp" de milk, resulting in her vomiting.. 2nd time already [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Anyone bb got v bad pimples? I dunno why since day 6 , my boi has pimples popping at his groin area n now his face...there is a big big one n looks v painful to me..haiz why like that? Last tine my #1 dun have this problem leh

Bubble norm for pimples cos too much of our hormones in them. It will clear in a few weeks.

Jo maybe not so fast. U have cramping? BH? I have been having tummy ache the last 2 days n today went toilet twice! So confused if its early labour signs.

Sunflower, bottle feeding? My boi also vomit so far twice after take 90 ml at one go, now I split into 2 sessions, 50 ml then start to burp him n if he is still awake continue to feed him the remaining 50ml but if he fall asleep then, I will keep it warm till he is awake again which is 20-30min later...

@starfruit: we tested the teat, the flow seems ok.. will try to elevate her higher now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@apple: my is using bottle wor. she drink very fast, can hear the "gulp" sound go down her throat. after the 2 vomit incident, i try to take the bottle away from her after a few sips. But the moment i do tat, her whole face turn red and immediate cry, plus her hands will grab the bottle super tight. really headache.

@bubble pearl: yes, bottle. lose hope on latching cos my gal is super duper impatient and kinda aggressive. she simply cant wait.. always end up biting my nipple. pain ttm. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

for the start, i divided into 2 timing too. but now, the moment i take the bottle away, she will scream liao den the face move left move right trying to find the bottle.

sunflower - when I fed using bottle, my boy also gulp very fast..and after awhile even I burp him, he vomitted!! So my hb ask me stop bottle feeding for now..only intro after 1 month or 6wks later.

Now, he is direct latching, still a lot of time he will straight into lala land after latching, I try to pat him upright to burp him but failed..so after 1-2hr he will vomit..sigh

1 attempt was I think overfed coz he got choke while latching on, and vomit straight..I suspect my b flow too fast, he is not fast enough to gulp down.

@apple: did u ask the pd on this? for me, i cant latch. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] so im left with bottle feeding..

Sunflower, beside elvating, maybe hold position for a while after she feed so milk settles in tummy, dun lift her up so fast.. heheh. maybe overfed little, u wanna reduce a bit of the milk?

actually if u want, can try latching again.. let her get use to the flow and timing.

@starfruit: reduce le.. pd mention now hav to take ard 90ml. i usu prepare 60ml first, if she stil wan den i prepare another bottle..

i got phobia of latching le :/ tink my flow not fast enough for her? she cant wait + pek chek, end up bite my nipple [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

sunflower, see if u wanna over come your phobia, ur flow will increase and she will get use to it.

I prefer latching cos this means i dun have to pump or bring bottles emb out, very easy to bring bb out esp when travelling!.. heheh and i also believe can train bb.. heheh but now she is used to the flow from teat, may take a longer time to train.

sunflower: You can try to compress your breast to quicken the flow. Try to look out for early signs that she's hungry instead of waiting for her to cry coz that's normally the last signal they will give and when they are hungry, they are usually more aggressive. Alternatively, can give a bit of milk first before latching her so that she doesn't bite your nipple in frustration.

I've the following items for sale. 

1. Babysafe sling (used only once) dark blue colour

2. Baby Bjorn carrier synergy (dark blue) seldom use

Selling both items for $300.

Interested can PM me.

arghh..my girl has been up all afternoon (with some catnaps here and there in my/hubby's arms) and STILL doesn't want to zz...i'm tired [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Val

I'm due foe gynae check tmr but couldn't tk it n went tdy. Luckily I went, took a stronger med but only can hv it once a day n found out my wound is stil rather bad n I'm having co stipation so makes the wound at asshole hurt more. Gynae asked me go outpatient clinic inject sthg into asshole n flush out the shit. It was terrible. I had diarrhea all the way fr clinic till Hm for 8 times till my wound really raw.

Also reAlised the nurses at tmc did nt give me any antiseptic spray. They only gave a antiseptic wipe which is meant to dry the wound. Tdy gynae gave another spray n solution for cleaning wounds. Wonder if it willreally help cos day 5 liao. I can't sit up or stand properly n cannot carry my bb, miss him so much.

Oh the combi chAir can b used nw? Cos my granny jus said thd traditional bouncer with those small ventilated holes cannot b used till bb is 2 mths old. He's too small for this.

Starfruit, the last few days I hv been clearing my bowels very frequent. Then got constant pain on off for more than an hour last night. Today also have but not regular. I will monitor till contraction is regular then go hospital.

hihi jo n starfruit, m quite new here! also waiting for baby to come out, EDD is this sat. sometimes will have cramp-like contractions in the morning but they go away after that. BH contractions also getting stronger. wondering what signs i'll have that will indicate labour! btw are you all planning to BF and have gotten your pumps?

BFing sounds quite challenging from the posts here! quite intimidated but still don't wanna succumb to FM for now..

bunnymum: ur wound sounds really bad. Last time my sil uses a pan n sit inside some solution. She says it's quite gd. Any mommies here does tt?

Sunflower, am going to bring him to PD this Sat..tmr PD off. My boy today keep wanted to latch almost every hr! And my horror, he threw up again at 9.45pm during latch [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] hb said better bring him see PD..cannot be everyday throwing up ler

Baby's hernia surgery was successful and she is now back in SCN. Was crying a lot after the surgery due to pain and hunger (no milk from 9 am till 8 pm). [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] hope she is much better tomorrow.

Question for mummies who are exclusively latching (I.e. no pump+bottle feed at all),

How long does your baby latch at each feeding? My baby falls asleep after latching for like 5 min!!! Then have to give bottle. My plan was to exclusively latch once she gets home but now not sure if can...

Ash let down is when milk come flowing / gushing out. U can actually pump n get 2 let downs. Must relax n think if A when pumping. Best if u can get distracted like watch tv while u pump.