(2011/05) May 2011

WTS

Natal Care Plus (400mg): Each box of 30 capsules at $14.00 (U.P. $16.05)

http://img831.imageshack.us/img831/8470/img1140sx.jpg

http://img821.imageshack.us/img821/5936/img1141e.jpg

All boxes with Expiry 2013.

Bought too many from Dr Adrian.

================================================

An Australian specially balanced formulation that helps fulfill DHA requirement for fetal / baby brain development, and optimizes the brain development of the fetus and infant.

The core element in NATAL CARE PLUS - Natural Fish Oil - contains DHA and EPA, which is particularly needed during pregnancy and lactation. Apart from that, NATAL CARE PLUS also contains Vitamin E, an anti-oxidant that helps to alleviate the negative impact of free radical formation, and increase normal cell function.

================================================

Cash on pick-up/delivery @ Jurong East or Raffles Place.

Kindly PM or leave SMS at 9 876 1872.

For pictures, pls indicate email address.

V - i also having the same thing as u. bb is only day 12 today. day time - no idea how much she is drinking. but for night time, she will drink abt 90ml of EBM and abt 10-20mins of suckling

CloudPoem, my ss finally slower abit these 2 days..coz I skip 1 session of pump @ nite. Now after feed, I can express the other side 120ml & the side I nursed for about 50-60ml. At least now I can combine both into 1 milk bag instead of using 2 :p

And giving my boy ebm..yes must warm up to body temp maybe around 36-38 deg.

Littlefly, congrats!! finally u cuddling your lil bud. Rest well..don't move around until the epi effect wear off.

How is epidural administered? I always tot it's an injection at spine? Then how to get 4 doses?

Viman: gd to know tt both u n bb doing well.

I also Xian mu mommies w lots of supply!

I've latched since at hosp n when home but seems too little n slow for bb. So now I kinda decide to only pump n give. But also pathetic amt unable to exceed 50ml for both b.

Ash_r,

I used to get 30-40 ml for a long time until I wanted to give up already, but luckily I didn't and supply started increasing. My lactation consultant did prescribe fenugreek tablets though, so maybe that helped too. Other than that, just lots of water and lots of rest, and pump diligently every 3 hours. Even after you have emptied the breast, pump for a few more minutes as that sends the signal to the body to increase supply.

ash_r - did u try resting more? it works for me..esp since my girl is a big drinker. must relax urself. i remember i was also like u. in the end, i have to give in to fm cuz really not enough. supply will slowly go up one..

Thanks Apple [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] so good to hold him at last!

First try to feed him Kanna bleeding nipple. Latch incorrectly. Milk supply also not in yet, I envy mummies who get to use breast pads for leaking milk.

Yes, epi is thru the spine but no pain. I am not afraid of needles but today kana quite a few pokes. Had antibiotics jab at bottom, spine and drip tube only got into the veins at 3rd try.

wow the thread moves really fast!

kaykay

re: bb sleeping

my 3 hrly schedule is to feed bb every 3 hrs and accommodate my pumping session to hers as well. i am not doing latching as my bb is too slow in sucking and ended up i will hav engorgement. mostly of the time, during daytime, she will ask for milk every 2.5 hr or 2 hr, so i will try to drag a bit, at least 2.5 hr. however, hav to depend on her last feed.

Eg: her normal feed is 100ml, if she only take abt 50ml, she will cry for milk in 1.5 hour time, so i will try to drag a bit (may b 10-15 mins), let her cry. then giv her. But if she takes 70-100ml, then for next feed i will try to stick to either 2.5 hour or 3 hour.

at night, if she takes 100ml, sometimes she will sleep for near to 4 hours.. and i wont wake her up. but if is more than 4 hours, i will wake her up for feeding.

hope the above helps!

i think ur bb might want u to carry and hug him sometimes instead of just crying for milk. try to hug him to sleep (co-sleeping)? i tried this when my bb opens her eyes wide wide and didnt want to sleep.

viman

nice to hear that ur bb is fine. hope she will be home with you soon.

mine too is pre mature @ 35 weeks and nearly came out when she was only 31 weeks.

Thanks Apple [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] so good to hold him at last!

First try to feed him Kanna bleeding nipple. Latch incorrectly. Milk supply also not in yet, I envy mummies who get to use breast pads for leaking milk.

Yes, epi is thru the spine but no pain. I am not afraid of needles but today kana quite a few pokes. Had antibiotics jab at bottom, spine and drip tube only got into the veins at 3rd try.

Littlefly:- congratez on ur lil pie!! =D

Jane:- Thks jane for sharing how to drag slp & feed timing longer,.. I will try it out during the day.. I Can't co slp la, can't let him get use to me if not I go work=cham liao!!

Re: bmilk

Today gt improvement, milk leaking lyk mad when I hot compress my breast wif hot warm towel! My breastpad got soak also. Good sign? =D

Congrats little fly!! Share ur birth story when u hv rest

2day went to c my gynae due to can't send e pain at e episotomy.. N lucky he gave me stronger painkiller so nw I sort of can't really feel e pain.. He said just abit swell n there is no infection.. Lucky..

Mummies!! Pls allow me to rant here.. My pil just came to my parent's place as I am doing confinement here.

My mil really make me mad n my hb just comment that why I answer back like this...make me really upset...yet dun dare to cry cos my mum is ard..

1)She say my #1 keep having running nose cos we use tissue paper to blow his nose n she comment she bought a pc of wipes at $2 each.. Used n throw..feel like telling my hb dun need to give her money every mth since she spend like mad..

2) She ask me if the shirt n pant that she bought for my #1 for my bil church wedding nice? I told her too small cos can only wear only..n my #1 v fussy will sure throw temper when wearing it...she say no as she say the pant 100% cotton..hello that pant no brand n cost $60... I dunno she spend money one.....I told her my #1 now will choose his own clothing n at times he will cry to insist...she say this one he will not.. My hb agree w me.. Then she shutup!

3) my pil want go back, as usual #1 cried cos he want go w them jln jln..he cried.. My mil say it is v common he cried cos he has a didi now..what the fish!! Now he is in t2 stage, of cos of lah!! I told her back straight this has nothing to do w didi ok!!!

I am soooo mad w her, I still cannot forgot that during my #1 she say he look like her 2nd son..nothing mention about me n my hb!!!

Sorry to rant so much.. But I am really boiling inside!

halo mummies!!! long time didnt log in oredi... hope all mummies are doing well!!!

congratz to all mummies who just delivered!!!

jane: how much do you store per bottle?? if ur bb can't finish the bottle do u keep it for next feed??

bubble pearl: relax!!! maybe u can just ignore watever they said or hide in the room?? tats wat my hubby do oso... hide in the room when my parent cum...

Evie, thanks...

Ash I'm eating fish oil, balance calcium tablets and multi vits left over from my pregnancy. Started yesterday.. 5 days after my c sect...

Ash u can cont with fish oil it will pass down via bm to your bb. Try n latch if u can every 3 hrs esp these first 2 weeks. Dun miss this window cos if not it will take a much longer time to establish your supply.

Bubble pearl dun get too angry i think our emotions are a little unstable nOw esp after we just give birth. Can let hb deal with IL.. U just lock urself in the room n zen.

kay

forgot to mention, the co-sleep only at night n when bb really so active dat she doesnt wan to settle. not every night, n i will put her to her playpen once she is in deep sleep.. heehee coz i also scare later she too used to my smell..

yaer

i store abt between 100-120ml per bottle. if cant finish i will throw away. unless is cluster feeding whereby she only take half then i will save it for next feeding. but if is more than one hr, i will throw too.

for my #1, i used to freeze them. now i dont.

oh yes, can i know how mummies warm up ebm? for me, i wuill adjust the temperature of warmer just right for feeding.n i will prepare next feeding once i finish feeding baby,so the ebm wil b in bottle n place in warmer so dat next feeding wont b too rush. is it ok doing this way?? will it b too long in warmer that affect its nutrients?

I am still having the tummy ache feeling. SIL told me may be onset of labour n she got it for a few days before full blown. i wanna rest for a a few days before labour starts!!!

Jane i will just put in hot water to warm. Cos dun use warmer. Milk is not frozen only stored in lower compartment of thd fridge。

starfruit, jane: my boy is 1wk 4days and he is drinking 100ml BM... but after drinking he still cry for more leh... is it too much for him??? dun know should i top up FM for him or wait...

jane: for warming up, i put it in the warmer 15 to 20mins before next feeding time... heard before prolong heating can cause loss of nutrients...

Sunflower,

I'm using the Medela Freestyle. Did a lot of research and finally picked this one. It's expensive but really effective! Was super painful in the beginning though...

Viman, yah, can understand how torturous it must have been initially! Your perserverance pays off!

Well done! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Your baby will be fine! She is getting stronger by the day with the ai xin bm!

Hope she goes home with you soon! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

starfruit, yaer

aiyo.. then i think i should change my way of heating ebm.. i always heat it after feeding..

yaer,

for my bb, initially start off with abt 50ml and after 1 week is 70ml. heard that the amount bb consumed related to their weight. not sure how true it is.. may b some mummies comment on this.

btw my bb is abt 3+ kg @ 5 weeks.. she was premature, birth weigh only 2.47kg.

sunflower

agree with Viman. i also use freestyle and admit that it is the best friend for me during my #1. i bring it around everywhere even airport for pumping heeehee.

Congrats Little Fly! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bubble pearl, coool down and relax! Like what starfruit mentioned think after childbirth, our emotions will be a bit unstable.

Don't take it too hard, not good for you to get worked up also.

Starfruit, maybe your BIG day is coming soon! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Arisz will induce by sat if bb dun come! When is ur next check up? I am due to see her on fri morning. Will see how i progress by then... Hehehe

Val, what do u meAn by dun drag my butt? Sorry dun quite umderstd. Tmc bed is really high n so hard to get on n off the bed.

I hv asked hubby buy the float but the hole in thd middle v small so still pain when I sit. There is another type like black rubber one but looks v hard material. Scared pain

Also. I just cleaned my wound n felt sthg v weird ard my buttock area! Duno if it's blister, piles or growth. Gosh, I hope I dun hv another problem. Xian!

Also tdy 2nd day le but I find myself leaking urine in pads without feeling. Is it normal? Help!

My breastfeeding milk v slow to come out too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Starfruit,

I carry the pump with me every day when I go to see my baby in the hospital. Since I stay there for very long hours, I need to pump there. What I do is use only one side of the pump per session (I.e. pump both breasts with one side of the pump) and just rinse the parts and put them in a separate box. So I can do two pumping sessions, and then go home, wash the parts in warm soapy water and put them in the sterilizer.

Arisz,

Thanks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I miss my baby soooo much I feel like taking a sleeping bag and keeping it right next to her cot and just live in the hospital! :p

Viman this is a good idea. Thks for the tip. i think will adopt your method when i go back to work. Was thinking if i need to buy the steralisation tablet n do self steralisation using a lock n lock box so i can do 2 pump session each time!

How much does PISA n freestyle cost for overseas set?

Finally my ss reach 50ml for both sides! Slight improvement n I'm happy liao. At least it motivates me to carry on

Hello! For those mummies wondering the "standard" amount of EBM bb should be drinking, this might be helpful for you.

http://www.kellymom.com/bf/pumping/milkcalc.html#calculator

bubblepearl: I agree with starfruit. Don't bother about your PIL la... Mouth is on them, they can say until the cows go home but if you don't bother about them, they got no hold over how you feel or think. No point upsetting yourself and hurting your relationship with hb over them. Also, the money once given to them, is theirs to spend. While you may be upset about how they use it, they prob wun give 2 hoots about it. it's like you make yourself angry for nothing. But then again, you can always come here and vent out your anger. ;)

Thks mummies..now my ss suddenly drop from 80-90 ml per 3 hrly to less than 50 ml... I wonder is it because of the earlier incident.. Haiz.. So demoralized now especially my hb ask me dun store ebm till the next visit to dr on fri for bb jaundice..

Bubble cheer up. Dun worry abt storing bm now. U can always start in 2nd to 3rd mth. LC recommends to bf exclusively in 1st mth. Hang in there k.

Starfruit, maybe bb wanna come out on his own! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]my apptmt is this Fri afternoon!

Dr Chua asked me to induce, but I prefer not to. heehee!

Viman, you are really v wei da leh! Still persistently pump in hospital!

Can understand the missing part on bb! But endure a while more, I'm sure bb will be able to discharge soon since full term already! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hannah/ bubble, think a bit diff to control our emotions now. Tell urself to keep cool n ignore the others who givecnegative cooments. We are highly irritable now n like wat hannah say can come in anytime here to vent !

Arisz i just let it progress naturally! Hey is this ur first bb? Just wondering if dr chua's scan machine is accurate. Really feel like passing motion but nothing.. Hehe see how it progress lor. I am setting up the bb bed n changing station tomorrow.

Starfruit, but if bb decide not to come out on her own, you will induce on sun b4 she flys off right?

This is my 3rd one already. Why did you suddenly doubt Dr Chua's scan machine?

You better get ready cause seems like yours is really ANYTIME! hee [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

anyone using the Gina Ford methods and routines?

Cloudpoem,

i read that when bb has drunk enough for the daytime from 7am-12mn, they'll be able to sleep for longer stretches at night. or at least wake about 2.30am/3am and the next wake up time abt 6am.

My bb can't seem to do that yet though. :S

Anyway, i find that my bb will sometimes be awake for a really long time like 3-4 hours and will fuss till the next milk time. She'll sleep only in our arms and when we put her down she'll wake up like a few minutes later. It's really frustrating cos I can't be carrying her for 3-4hours! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

After that she'll be so tired she'll drink & sleep, drink & sleep then the whole thing happens again.

Hi all finally have time to login today! Have been reading the posts thou..

Hannah:- thks for the resourceful info & webby u provide re bb feeds & bmilk.. It was really useful!

Bunnymum:- its norm ba cos I can't seems to control my bladder sometimes even till today.. But its getting better.. Try do some pelvic floor exercise once ur btm pain is better to have better control..

Stay positive re SS! I realise using HOT COMPRESS b4 expressing really helps!!!! Now I hv leaky breast & still pumping diligently! So hang on!

Today is a bad day..regretted that I fed my boy the room temp ebm. Not sure bcoz of that he got reflux or colic in stomach..he threw out again after bf on nxt feed. Fr 7+ till 12midnite he was fussing..refused to zz! The last latch was super lengthy until my back sore [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] but he managed to burp in between. Now he just fall asleep with a lil hiccups

Bubble, just ignore your IL's comments. No point u biting on it & make yourself angry. My FIL also full of comments but over the yrs I choose to ignore him & if he goes beyond my territory I don't give a damn..so now he also learn to zip his mouth on certain things infront of me.