(2011/05) May 2011

Cloud: me too!!! The piles and the wound makes me wanna cry...my first piles ever...my tailbone also ultra painful...dunno wat is wrong....

Val: happy for u that u managed to settle korkor bd party...he must be very happy with mummy's efforts...I used to dread my last trim...cos I can't sleep well...now is worse...can't even really sleep much...bb really feed on demand....sth every 30mins even...v,tiring...btw those bottles after sterilized need to let the water drip dry or can just use immediately? My bb also got flaky skin on some area, dunno wat is wrong....

Ling: congrats...rest well...u must be so tired after the long delivery. Haa my hb also forbid me to move ard but I can't just help not doing anything...will still try to clean and pack some stuff...'shou yang'

I am still in the midst of getting used to a new member in the house...sth miss the life of just both of us where we can do everything freely...perhaps the lack of sleep is making me cranky...

Val

i was laughing when i saw ur description on your boy's reaction when u scolded him. hahha how old is he now? so cute! where did he learn all that! nowadays, if my #1 doesnt behave, i will tell her that if u dont behave, i put meimei outside with cat cat. then she will say no no, and become good girl. guess having #2, also hav advantage in disciplining #1?

Jane: I very peifu ni...I am allowed to bathe everyday...in the morning but sth will tou tou take a quick shower at night when I feel uncomfy below...but jiayou! It is coming to an end already...

Angie

y not pump out and feed ur bb? then u can manage ur sleeping time? for my #1, i used to feed on demand and ended up kana scolded by PD. coz we were first time parents that time and really 'feed on demand' so underfed. then for this one, i feed every 3 hours and will pump out so that i can get some sleep. but this one drink very very slow... even bottle fed also need 30 minutes sometimes. guess every baby is different.

Angie

i also got tou tou wash my V part. only there, but not shower. my mum already given out instructions for the first bath after confinement.eg: how to boil herbs, wat to add etc

ya coming to the end soon, yahoo!!! guess i m going to announce loud loud when the day comes!!

I have BNIB NEW BORN SET, selling at S$15 NET

1 PILLOW

2 BOLSTERS

1 QUILT COVER

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5416713.jpg]

Collection point: Tanjong Pagar MRT/ Paya Lebar MRT

Jane: ya I also tot so but the lactation consultant in mt a said is best to intro teats only at the fifth week...cos they might reject latching on once they get used to teats...so now really feed super regularly..btw if use the breast milk bag also must put inside bottle to feed baby ya? But I think I really need to pump out soon...keep leaking on the other side while feeding. But dun really understand how to store em...

@val: cos my gal was like me when young. super loud cry like screaming out her lungs lidat.. so everyone was like "omg, gotten mummy's genes". -.-" i tried pumping, only few drops. very demoralising. nurse said to give a bit of fm via cup feed. sigh.

@winnedy: the nurse did try help but bb keep sucking the nipple, making me in pain. latch back le, den she soon fall asleep. like using it as pacifier... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] now become engorged le.

@cloudpoem: was at tmc. ya lor, try so many times le stil cant latch properly. sobz. now breast like stone, damn pain.

Angie

ya, if use breastmilk bag, u can choose to put in bottle to feed bb. lactation consultant normally will prefer us to latch on. but for me, i really cant coz my bb drink too slow and i got engorge easily. for my first week, i even got high fever (39 degree), so dare not take risk now. i only latch when i feel comfortable and when i want to hav more bonding with bb. 99% i pump out.

sunflower,

do try massage coz if it is not good engorge for too long. ask nurse to help if u r still in hospital. they will teach u the massaging technique. take care, dont let it become fever.

Cloud u very brave wanna have 4th but I was jokingly telling hubby I dun want ligation who know I strike toto maybe I wanna have 4th one gee

Now doing my hair hope can turn out nice.. My intention is to stay in sitcom rom during my confinement for as long as possible lol

Ling,

can see ur hb dotes on u alot =)

my hb ah, he just let me do watever i wan so long as i am happy coz if i am unhappy he will suffer! hahahaha.

V,

hahaha. tell me abt the dropping of hair...my hb always commented its as if we have a dog at hm - always can see strands of hair, even shortly aft he vacuum-ed =P

anyway, i nv cut my hair shorter than shoulder length so the hair dropping is even worst. =P

happymumtobe,

look on the bright side, at least it means they are street smart enuff (or cheeky enuff) to challenge us =P

preciousMum,

hw many weeks are u nw?

Jane,

nt bathing or washing hair for 1mth is already the big challenge liao lo. hehehe.

he asked me if i dun wash my hair wldnt it be v dirty? so i told him can use powder but i dun like and he was so amazed as he thot only army guys do tat during they ns days when they are out in the jungle. hahaha.

My boy turning 3yo next sat =) seriously we duno where he learnt it from le...sometimes i see him reacting like this i feel so bad and will sayang him and try to explain to him then hug him...haiz...

ur #1 dote on her sis alot =). lets see how i fare when it comes to handling my boy when meimei comes =P

angie,

ya! i am happy too tat i manage to host the party and it was a great one =) yes, my boy enjoyed himself v much and can be seen from the photos coz he is so happily posing in the pics. hahaha.

yes. last time is can afford the time to slp but cant slp...nw is wan to slp but cant slp. hahaha.

aft i sterilised, i just use without letting it drip dry.

its normal for bb to have flaky skin. some even have caddle cap aft sometimes.

for ebm in milk bags, i pour out into milk bottle then warm up using the bottle warmer.

@jane: its super uncomfortable now. i tried the massage but dun reali see much change. still cant pump. hopefully can get massage lady to help. else, feel very xin ku. i can feel my body like gonna get fever le. sianz. too new to this bfeeding thingy. sigh..

Hi mummies..I have delivered bb D [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] we both are doing well.

He is a good sucker! The sister nurse said wow hungry bb. Hahaha..am very pleased with the nurses here.

My gynae & anaesthetic Dr rocks! They both gave me a pleasant delivery. I hv no side effect of epi at all

apple,

wat is the name for baby D and his weight?

hehehe. congras once again and gd to hear that he is a gd sucker and things have gone well and are going well =)

u also try to rest as much as u can in hosp =)

sunflower,

you try to massage, squeeze and flow the milk into her mouth?

val,

same here! if i am unhappy, my hubby will suffer badly.. hahaa

Val

ya looks like my #1 really dotes on her sis. hopefully not bcoz of 'new toy' symptom. there was once when my #1 discovered one of the gifts to meimei is a soft toy and she loves the character very very much. i can see it in her eyes that she wants to hug the toy to sleep and put in her playpen. we told her the toy is mei mei's and not hers. and mummy got to wash before give it to meimei. then during sleep time, guess wat we discovered. we saw that particular toy in meimei's playpen like how my #1 placed her favourite toy in her own playpen. i was so touched by her move! recalled her expression on how much she likes the toy, but she can give it to meimei just as easy as a click!! really hope two of them can love one another [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sunflower

try massage the hard part in circular motion towards nipple. then u can see some milk flowing out. do it for all the hard parts. after that, hand press your breast, if u hav a pump that will b good, pump it out. dont let it be, or else later develop fever will be ma fan liao. the last time i had fever, i even shivered! do take care ya.

apple, congratulations! so u got to stay in bed today rite? did doc tell u when u need to take ur first step? take care!!

Winnedy - i will be visiting my gynae tmr, shld be my 37wks i think. Now, kept getting backaches coz v big tummy.

Apple - congratz! so good, no side effects of epi. I wished the same for me too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Congrats, LIng on the safe arrival of your princess. have you decided a name for her yet? and yes why hb dun let u use computer?

happymumtobe: 4.5/5 cute leh.. my ger is 4 now and i find her so cute!! starts to get a bit bossy and can articulate so much better.. hahaha

Even if you pre-book and if there is no beds at TMC, u also need to wait. why dun u try your luck and see if you upgrade later.

split, how old are your 2 boys?

Ash, can use clip but not rubber band to tie but yes not encourage to tie rebonded hair.

Apple, congrats on the safe arrivenof baby D> rest well. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jane: really? Then I think I better consider pumping out too...but how u gauge how much bb can drink each time? Leftover throwaway?

Val: hee glad he enjoyed himself...I m gg to throw a big full month party too for my bb boy...he is the 1st grandkid for both side of the family...btw for your boy during his first month did u give back those cakes to the guests? Am wondering if that is necessary...

Apple: congrats and bb is born on 3rd may! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Split, wha their age gap quite close leh.. peifu peifu.. i no courage to try when they are still so young. thats why waited till #1 is almost 4 before i started trying!

hi, I'm back fr my gynae's visit.

From CTG scan, gynae commented tat got contractions and the cervix is soft and have opened and estimated 1cm dilated. He said tat as it's no2, delivery will be very fast and he will scheduled me for induce soon. Actually i din want to go thru induce as no1 was very long labour at 32 hrs but he said tat as it's no1, dilation and the cervix will be very slow.. judging by current situation, he said delivery will be very fast and he dun want to allow labour to come fast for me and allow the V area to be torn bcos bb coming out... He wants to allow some time for me to take epi and let the delivery to come "slow" and for me to relax than to endure the pain (currently i already complaining the backache which is spreading from lower back to my kneecaps)

My gynae visit now is every 2 days now and on CTG monitoring. He also taught me some tips if i happen to deliver at home (bcos i told him i dun know wat signs to look out for leh).. for instance, i was constant contractions between 1am to 3am and it's very intense and regular and it went away after 4am... so to go hospital or not to go is very hard for me to decide.. i told my gynae tat i will only head for hospital if my water bag burst and he advised me not to.

Btw, i gained 600g and my bb din gain much weight... so it's now back to the waiting game. Gynae said tat can pack my hospital bags now and prepare to go for delivery either by this week or next week (latest). Btw, i also took the jab for maturity of the bb lungs today... just in case, if bb decides to come out within this week (i'm at 36 weeks and 4 days now).

confinement rules: I guess there are lots of confinement rules (esp aunties/mil/parents, etc) will tell u abt it when u are in confinement. The version tat i heard is tat cannot stand too long as just deliver and the cervix haven "shrink" yet.. if stand too long, it will fall out. Even drinking water, they said cannot stand and drink and must sit down to drink so tat it goes into the body otherwise it will be "flush" out fr the body (odd, right?)

Mudpie: My EDD 17 May. Handover more or less done. Just left with a few nitty gritty stuff. To me its nitty gritty, but afraid my stand in will find it complicated.

Happymumtobe: Your son is cute. How old is he? My 3yo at the stage of yakking non-stop also. Pengz. I entertain her by saying yes to what she is saying, too tired to answer otherwise. :x

Val: Can imagine your son's "poor thing look". I will meltz and just hug them and ask them to please listen next time.

Confinement Matters

I can't tahan confinement. I already bought all the "weapons". Powder, dry shampoo, lemongrass/ginger shampoo and body wash, herbal packs to boil in water. Wahahaha! So first 2 weeks I will TRY to tahan not to wash hair. But I must bath with the herbs. After 2 weeks I don't care. Very yucky in our humid weather - I can imagine the bacteria moulding out of my pores! Then I look like (and most prolly smell like) Medusa. eee.

winnedy, i'm not sure whether every1 contractions encounter is the same. Mine is tightening of the tummy and come w lower abdminoal pain and starting to spread fr lower back to knee caps resulting in aching pain. Think it's to relax the muscles and to prepare for delivery. Sometimes it comes w menses coming type of pain and tt will gets more intense and regular. Can also see the tummy going up and down when contractions comes... when it reaches the peak (tat's when the pain comes in), the tummy will goes up and then when it fades, tummy will goes down and wait for next contractions to come.

Can start timing it but i'm not sure how to tell whether it's real contractions and fake contractions as i encounter fake contractions for no1 and staying in hospital for 32 hrs for it. Even no2, i still can't tell the contractions is real and whether i'm in labour soon as my contractions will starts to go off after a few hrs (even though contractions will be very intense and regular estimated 10mins apart) but i dun hve show signs yet except getting more whitish discharge (cld be mucus plug unpluging bah).

Auroa: wa sounds scary...I have been standing a lot cos the pain is really miserable when I sit down...

Kiko: where u het the lemongrass shampoo? Haa medusa? Funny ar you...

AshR, I'm a young mummy.. I had my #1 art age 22, now 27 yrs old.. Did I shock any mummies? :b

I have been praying for a settled baby, cooperative siblings and cohesiveness in family. ;) my hubby is very helpful. As he's home now, he'll take care of #1& #2, bring them

Playground and learn spelling together.. Can see he's tired, but glad he's helping out with the kids.. My mil will cook confinement food for me while my maid helps housework and shower my #1 & #2.

Angiemummy: have u seen ur gynae for ur piles? Is urs natural birth? I went to see gynae and had medicine to minimize it.. I also don't like this feeling. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Angie, how come it's painful? Mine was natural delivery for no1 and i remember the pain was ok for me (i got very low threshold of pain)... is it piles?

Cloud: So envy you! I think the younger you are the faster the recovery from child birth. My heart wanna have #3, my mind scared liao. Scared no time, no energy by then. And I must note down the very uncomfortable last mth before birth. LOL

cloud, u never shock me with your age, in our 07 forum, we had a young mummy there too, 21 when she has the 1st kid in 07!.. hehehe

Starfruit: You've got from same organiser? Rec'd your set already? Ok, think will order from there. In meantime, me use hand/manual pump if the set needs 1 mth to reach. heehee.

Winnedy,

Hahaha! Our poor hubbies ya? In order to keep peace must give in to us =p

Jane,

So sweet of ur #1 to return the soft toy to her meimei. I think i may get her another of tat soft toy for being such a gd elder sis. I think u dun nd to worry, they will love one another alot. =)

Angie,

Like starfruit, when I bottle feed ebm, I usually give a certain amt n any left over I throw away.

My boy also 1st grandkid for both sides but sad to say, I wasn't so effort then as I am nw. Haha. I only gave cakes, red eggs and Ang ku kueh to relatives le. Fr friends, I just order red eggs n Ang ku kueh as top up to the buffet. This time rd, I am thinking to order customized cupcakes for friends as this will be my last baby shower tat I will be hosting so wanna do something more.

Auroa,

Ur time is nearing! Hahaha. Anyway, I also heard #2 delivery usually faster. Like for my mum when she delivered my younger bro, she cldnt make it in time to the delivery ward n he came out le. Heheh.

Kiko,

Ya. This expression of his really melts our hearts and at times we cldnt stop smiling when we see this expression of his. Hahha.

Cloudpoem,

Think nwadays alot of young mummies. Some married early so that they can enjoy more Er ren Shi jie before planning for a kid. I am 1 yr older than u. Hehehe.   

Starfruit ya abit messy cuz they are so young but like my mum said suffer all at one goal.. My sibling age group also very close my 2 brothers are born on same yr Jan and dec and I'm 2 yrs their junior

val, i'm not sure leh.. the contractions seems to stop now but i normally hve it in the middle of the nite and it's very irriating as it disturbs my sleep. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I heard fr the nurses tat once contractions starts, estimated dilate abt 1cm per hr but depends on individuals also. My no1 took abt 11hrs to dilate 7cm lor.. so i'm really hoping no2 will be short and sweet. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Btw, can any1 advice where to get cheap bb cot bed tat can be converted to toddler bed? At first thought of getting 2nd hand... went to view today.. 1 not very in good condition and the other is sold before i got there.. my girl is so upset (i bought her along) tat we came back empty handed and she cried tat her bb brother got no bed to sleep... haiz. Went to ikea but din really like it... thinking tomorrow need to go shopping malls to source liao as not much time left. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

@jane: i tried massaging..still v harden.. N hurts at de breast area when i lift my arm up. V painful wen i lie dwn to rest too. Did u had a hard time slpg?

Auroa, how much is ur ctg? I just got the bill for my last wed NUH ctg its $40+ after subsidy and they even charged me $0.50 for gloves. And they charge by hour. So I think next time I go over I must go up only when I cannot tahan, if not very exp.