(2011/05) May 2011

Starfruit, he starts to get cranky during the evening.. He's ok in the day... Somehow, manage to burp him but sometimes don't even hear him burp..

Val, he's vomit slight milk out..

I've headache since yesterday, don't have enough sleep...

split,

the PDs mentioned tat the contactless is nt accurate as its surface temp. assuming if surface temp is 39degree, it means internal body is of even higher temp so v dangerous.

the A/Prof PD tat my boy was seeing in KKH also told me best is to use the ear thermometer. the contactless one i can use to double check the temp but she strongly advise me to use the ear one.

kaykay,

all the best, hope u will find a solution soon.

poohlyn,

jia you =) hope u will have a smooth and fast delivery. =)

dolly,

slightly is ok. it happens to my #1 also when he was nb.

hw cum nt sufficient slp? hope u will be able to get more rest today and ur headache will go away soon.

Kaykay, thanks for sharing the list. Wow, what a long list.

1st time being mum and really quite clueless what is needed and what is don't.

Spilt: Ruyi oil. My hse got but i didn't know bb so small can start applying it. Thanks for the info.

Apple: Thanks for the information. Will drop by guardian to take a look. Went watson just now and cant find it.

Can i know where to get Sterilization tablets?

val, i see.. i usually hold it at the forehead..but so far the temp different rom ear and forehead not much different..only by abt 0.2 sometimes..since i got both type at home

kay, can you go through welfare, MCYS/HDB side to appeal for a low cost unit?

apple, do u ually cook a lot? is that why there are left overs? i try to finish all the cook so we dun need to keep overnight.

bunnymum, thanks, i also cannot remember what i replied u on.. heheh bad memories nowadays.

Val and Split i have both the forehead and ear thermometre, ear is the braun one (definitely a trsutworth brand to buy but not cheap) and the vicks one which scans the forehead, i will use both to confirm if my ger is having a fever. We alwasy keep 2 cos incase one down on us, i still have one more to spare.

janice i used the oil for both my boys since birth..and my mum also use it on all the bb she look after (she's a baby sitter) so i guess should be fine..

@split: ya man.. my hb also compared with the olden times. tats why sometimes talk liao really will blood boil. grr! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

@apple: ya exactly! newborn vs toddlers vs adults - different body systems & immunity. i wouldnt dare to take de risk and close one eye to hygiene lor. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

split,

same, i usually take the temp at the forehead but my diff for both thermometer varies le...sometimes diff of 0.xx sometimes x.xx so i usually take the reading for the ear one.

starfruit,

agree with u the braun one is gd. retail i think $100++ but if get frm overseas spree is cheaper. thinking if i sld get another one for my mum coz she is using the conventional type of thermometer n she only has 1...

the PD told me, if using the ear one, 38degrees then consider fever. If i use the thermoguard, 37.5 degree i will take as fever le.

Val:- thks val.

Janice:- me also first time mum, so has been hard working & preparing since 1st trimester..to be a mum.. Hehe..

Starfruit:- had tried going to MP for help & writing in, went HDB typ there & enquiry abt rental of flats, was all useless.. Only left 服立部 there to ask for help.. Have to find a way..

kaykay ur case quite hard cuz u haven officially divorce with ur hubby that y govt sector also cant help much..maybe u can share ur budget and location for the flat rental mummies here can help u keep a lookout?

Split:- yah loh.. Its ok.. I will find ways myself.. Sure have a solution for every prob de.. =D

Meanwhile all I have to do is keep positive & counting my days to EDD! Left less den 3weeks!! =D

hello mummies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I'm back fr my gynae's visit. Now at 35 weeks & 5 days and bb weights at 3.2kg. Gynae commented abit big now and need to monitor closely on food intake esp carbo and sugar intake and to stop taking the contractions pills by end of this week and let the contractions "begins". I passed my GD monitoring test.. phew... now need to cut down on carbo and sugar.. actually i cut down fr 3/4 bowl of rice to half bowl of rice... think i either cut it completely or reduce it to 1/4 bowl of rice and soup/vegs bah..

i think the chicken soups really very nourishing... my bb puts on 1kg within 2.5 weeks and i actually loses 2kg within that period.. maybe could be my girl sick during tat period and i need to bring her back to and fro to PD and to yu guo for massages last week tat i loses weight bah. My GD doc quite concerned tat i losing weight and asked me not to lose further and not to gain further for my bb... quite contracting, right?

So total, i gained less than 5kg for my whole pregnancy... 3.2kg goes to my bb and i think the rest goes to my placenta, waterbag, etc bah.. so i din gain any weight.. think after delivery, i will be underweight and will be question by my doc why i underweight liao. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

My gynae's visit will be weekly visit with GTG monitoring... think after i stop meds, contractions will be more intense and hope it wun drag too long... i think i shd be expecting to deliver in 2nd week of may bah.

starfruit - I normally finished all the food. It is only my maid she cooks for her own, she will cook more so she can keep some for b/fast or lunch. Lazy is the key word!! I'm quite a fussy eater, I don't usually take overnite food. And my home practice no overnite rice coz it becomes acidic.

So since she wanna keep for next day, I already reminded her no left over food outside, all must be in the fridge..if I see, even midnite I'll get her up and keep them.

Val - I agreed the ear thermometer is the best! I have both, but find the forehead reading is not that accurate. I bought for daily use coz I kiasu parent :p I get my maid to measure 4 readings a day irregardless whether my girl is sick or not and it has to be written on the printed calendar for me. Previously I let my old maid use the ear thermometer, so far so good..but this new maid hor quite brainless ler..she stuck the thermometer way in and press on my girl's ear. She complaint of pain, hb said better get the thermoguard for easy usage on daily basis.

auroa, wow very very gd weight my last visit bb only 2.68kg at 35weeks..im delivering next wed doubt my bb can reach 3kg since both her korkor also small size bb..my biggest at birth is only 2.4kg..

apple, sometime maid very rough when we are not watching better dun let her use the ear one since ur girl is complaining pain..ur maid is from which country btw?

paulyn, dun be scared.. jia you, for the sake of yr baby, u can do it. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Therometer: my PD also dun recommend the forehead type as it tends to pick up "wrong" temp (bcos of environment). Most reliable is the armpit type. I prefer to use the barun ear therometer and it's really very good so far.

dolly, how u feeling now? I been having headaches due to the strong lights (sunlight in the afternoon) tat triggers my migraine. My gynae asked me to wear sunglasses at home or outdoors so tat it wun trigger my migraine and raises up my BP. Nowadays, i draw my curtains up.. i feeling like a vampire in the house [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Btw, u try putting the ice eye gel over at yr eyes? Hope it soothe yr headache. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

split, u delivering next week (36 weeks)? Maybe can delay one or two weeks more? Try chicken soups, ice cream and durians to boast up the weight.. it helps. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

split, btw, my no1 is born at 2.5kg.. i expected no2 to be abt 3kg but now it seems too big for me and i hope not to reach 40 weeks as i afraid will hit 4kg (i'm small built and only 1.51m.. so not advisable too big bb size/weight).. my gynae said it will be a big problem but ask me not to worry abt it now.

Auroa, im delivering on 4may 36week4days, choose the earliest date i can deliver since my gynae tell me to deliver not latest den 10may as is the 3rd one plus im having mild contraction despite the medication so play safe i opt for the earliest safest date..to deliver..another reason for this was also im having exam on 12 May so need to chopchop give birth den can still rest b4 my exam..

auroa, u very small size ur bb now so big must be very xin ku leh..im 1.61 bb now at 2.68kg i also find my back like breaking liao..

split, hmm, is it a good idea to deliver before exam? I remember after delivering, i experience some "memory loss" and need some time to recollect myself back... the exam can delay further? It's better tat u rest well after delivery before u concentrate on exams (can be very stressful leh).

split, the backache still bearable.. it only hurts when i forgot to take the contactions meds. Nowadays, i only feeling aching pain near my calf areas when i climbs stairs (my floor unit not near the lift level and i need to climb one floor up) and sometimes if i walk too long, bb seems to "sit" on my V area and causing me to walk very slowly. Btw, my bb haven really engage yet but already head down... hope it will engage soon lor and prepare to come out next month.

Auroa i got no choice since my gynae advise not to drag for too long and the latest date for deliver he give me is 10may which is also b4 my exam..my exam will only be over after 16may..

actually if i know im pregnant i would not have taken up the course but only manage to found out my pregnancy after i registered and pay abt 1k plus or registration fee..hopefully i can make it thru my course

hi mums! have you all booked your postnatal massage package? i'm due in may as well and am trying to decide which package to take! any tips?

split, ic. try not to stress yrself too much... take one step at a time... concentrate on pumping weight for yr bb now and delivery after. Jia You!

aplit - My this maid is Phil. I find her with 5yrs experience just equally brainless like fresh Indon! Well, some frens told me Phil tends to "geng" more..is not they dunno. What to do..over my area got too many Indon maids, and my upstairs got 1 super hiao Indon maid which always shout & talk to my previous Indon maid and hanky panky together!

Auroa - wow..your bb very good weight at almost 36wk [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Hope mine gonna be 3.2kg this Sat too coz I'll be seeing my bunny next Tue :p

m, u getting ur package from which massage lady? im engaging back the same lady that help me with my no1 and no2

apple, actually i abit shocked to learn tat my bb now 3.2kg as 2.5 weeks ago only 2.2kg leh... i hope i will not ended up in c-section... me scared of pain after hearing fr my sis who went thru 2 times c-section [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Guess next popping is u liao... jia you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

split: where will u b taking ur exams? home based? wah! must b siong! jiayou! salute u!

i hvnt got any massage lady too. duno who to call. will it b too late to call after birth cos mine csect, will only massage after 3 wks.

Woke up from nap and saw so many updates! Split, u delivering early? Week 36 abit early?

My Bb is now 3.3kg as of today's scan but I lost 200g.. Hurrhur.

Apple: so envious, u are a slim mummy.. This morning, my hubby ask why I lOok like michelin( the spare tyre logo) hear liao, I burst into laughter.. Dun he have better illustrations?

hi split, i'm deciding between origins and traditional & holistic, both company-based. not too sure abt the masseuse who are freelance cos am quite confused with what people post in the forums - there are many impostors recommending services for themselves/their friends.. also, am the first MTB among close friends so not easy to get friends to recommend.

both origins n trad & hol offer similar packages just that trad & hol has this gift vouchers package but u have to fork out S$530 at once for 7 days (if not its S$200 deposit and the rest of S$568 after the end of 7 days), and origins offers this free 6 months baby insurance (with package of S$545). price diff of S$15 if i take the vouchers.

what are the charges for your massage lady and how do you find her services?

Preciousmum: BH with discomfort.. But bearable.. My own experience with cOntractions is with backache.. I scared. Cux my labour history is about 2-3hrs..

I need to monitor for cOnstant show or leaking water.. Hope to get into labour ward in time.

CloudPoem - I'm not a slim mummy ler..am M to L size mum! My weight gain min bcoz my gynae said I got spare weight to start with :p haha..

Auroa - Don't think u will landed in c-sec. Have faith with your lil one and gynae. Btw, your sis same gynae as u? I keep hearing u saying c-sec very painful..hmm I have very low pain tolerance and I managed quite well during my 1st c-sec. In fact, my hb bet with me if I go vbac this time, I sure regret coz it gonna be more painful than my c-sec!

Dolly - weather is real hot! It contributes to your headache..rest well & hide in aircon room for awhile until evening bah

ash_r, both the companies i called mentioned the S$200 deposit was to block out the slots for you or something like that, so maybe you can call to book soon/closer to your EDD. they actually advised booking 1 mth before EDD, my EDD is 21 May so i thought i better get something confirmed before there're no more slots =/

i haven't confirmed with either since waiting for input from other mums here but think i'll do it soon..

Sh:- I alrd did went to the MP during march when the GE news is out. They wrote to the hdb side but letter back to me is bad news cos my status unable to get a rental gov flat.. The 2nd time I went over to MP side at Tanjong pagar was last wed, when the ppl there say now whole SG now MP alrd cos '国会解散' le.. Meaning now all the MP all choosing the new areas to join for GE & etcs.. So now whole SG no one can go to for help.. =/

Apple, true. The weather is real hot.. Really can't stand the heat.. I've been hiding in the room especially after finishing a bowl of hot soup... Aaaargh... One more week to go..

Ai yoh my bb so rough. Keep pushing his way n hurting me. V so painful - stretching pain - just now sit n lie down also he keep stretching. Could feel the stretching pain like when we try to push bb out. At the rate he is going i wont need to go into labour n he can come out himself. Oh no.. So painful. Any of ur bbs doing that to u too?

Cloud, ya my gynae want me to deliver @ 37weeks cuz my previous 2 were csect this one can't delay too long but considering my exam I requested for an earlier date which the earliest he allow is 36+5 days on 4may.

Ash, my exam not home base still haven check the venue yet..

M, I got the massage lady thru the forum recommendation.. I engage her since my no1 in 2007 like her service and her massage really can help me slim.. So my no2 also get her now no3 le will still continue with her service but quite scare this time can slim down.. Anyway she's charging $35 per session if I remember correctly is 1 hr session.. But maximum she only recommend for 5 sessions cuz she said aft 5 massage can reduce anymore fats le

Auroa,

Congras on passing ur GD test.Wah!! Ur baby is of v v gd weight!! And nt to mention ur weight gain is v minimal also lo. Like wat u mentioned, minus baby weight, placenta,waterbag think u really didn't gain anything.

The armpit thermometer hard to use on active kid. Like my boy he just hate it so my mum can only use it when he is slpping. Think I better get another Braun ear thermometer for her.

Dun think too much abt csect. Tell ur baby n urself both of u can do natural =)

Split, 

Try the food tat auroa mentioned. Also can try Choc milk shake, avocado milkshake, beef etcetc.

It's nt easy taking exam so soon aft delivery le. Somemore have to take care of nb how to concentrate on preparing for ur exam? Really peifu u. Jia you n hope u pass ur exam =)

Ur massage lady charges are cheap! V hard to get $35 nw. I paid $50 per session and tat was 3yrs ago rate lo. To me, the massage didn't help me to slim dwn much, only expel some wind.

Apple,

We actually have the same Edd but so fast u be popping le =)

U dun look like m to l size frm ur pic =)

Lj,

U also slim to begin with. I am sure u will be able to go back to ur pre-preg weight =>

Dolly,

Gd to hear ur mum is back frm her vacation. Time flies! Nw both ur maid n u can be more relax with ur mum ard le.

Newtoitall,

Mayb ur baby protesting and telling u he has insufficient space to stretch. Hahaha.