(2011/05) May 2011

Good morning mummies...

Today's my 2nd wedding anniversary.

Sh, I've experience this before the last round.. It's really pain till so unbearable which I got help from a lactation consultant.. Do let me know if you need help her service..

Can understand what you are going thru.. It's heart breaking to see his/her tiny foot being pricked everyday..

Thank u for ur wishes..

Hopefully today can discharge together.stitches pain is gettin bearable.

Till now,not a single drop of mi.now feelin engorgement. Hopefully can bfeed later.

Yesterday train him to latch on..refusal is one matter. He purposely dun open his mouth n tighten it.e lc asked us to shake him.we tried rubbing his face,his mouth get tighter n higher.we looked at one another n laughed.we gave up.tried again in e afternoon.can suck but not very good.

Bunnymum u can go back to the LC at the hospital or call them for a home visit some do tat. Just get their contact no before u discharge.

Serene most NB are sleepy in their first week or so need to wake them up to feed. They will start waking up more as the day passes.

Sh... Bfing will get better just hang in there if u can wake bb up to feed every 3 hrs. This will help ur milk supply to establish n regulate.

serene,

ur boi so smart, few days old only know how to tighten his lips....hee....

bunny mummy 82,

once u deliver at pte hospital, lactation nurse will look for u and get a namecard from her. if need their svc, u can go down to their parentcraft ctr or they send someone over to ur hse (which is more exp).

tks starfruit / dolly.....trying to hang on..... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi mummies!! i'm back finally recovered from flu~ took leave and rest at home but was still working coz co laying off and alot of other issues.haha...

congrats to all mummies who have given birth!! hang in there with the engorgement/feeding issues!!! need to perservere~~

Don't worry if bb is lazy to eat the first 2 weeks they can sustain so just pump to regulate the breastmilk~ look on the bright side k~? i'm afraid of engorgement too~

my bb is 36weeks but still breech so will prob opt for c-sect. Hopefully after polling day~hehehe...can anyone share with me their master for calculating names/date/time please??

V did ur doc give u a set if exercise to do to encourage bb to turn. I was told to crawl n be in a position keeping my bump higher than my shoulders to encourage bb to turn. N she did turn after 2 weeks. U wanna try?

cloudpoem,

no, this is my #2. just dunno y will feel very lonely and kind of helpless. did talk to hubby but he also overwhelmed with my #1.sometimes i would think that guys cant take much pressure, he also now little bit will blow out. guess we gonna adjust ourselves with this new member.

Dolly, thanks for the offer. i have talked to LC and she asked me to latch on. but i hav tried and tried, no use. bb just slept after 2 suckles.

Sh..

my gal can sleep for 3 hours but is the pumping. i hav the same concern as u. now i am like pumping every 3 hours even at night. then after pumping, i hav to feed my gal coz dont want to wake my hubby up as he is working the other day. and my gal took such a long time to finish her milk (half an hour). after doing all the chores + pumping, i waste 1 hour! so only sleep for about 2 hours, the cycle repeats again.. i also doubt if i can breastfeed her for 1 year with #1 around. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Jane: have to be positive.. Can ur parents or ur in law help to take care of ur firstborn whilebu tend to ur newborn? How many yrs apart are both ur kids..

It's a blessing if u have surplus of milk that is so beneficial to ur child... Keep going, ur body will soon accustom to the new timing... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] dun fret.

Oh ya, speaking of bathing during confinement... Yes, I DO!! I can't imagine myself not washing up during this kind of weather.., for hygiene sake, yes..

I bathe on the 5th day though.. Change so many times clothes too... Lol

Cloudpoem, ya i m trying to b positive now. my parents will be having oversea trip starting today and i dont want to involve my in laws :p my #1 is 2 and half years and very active.

re: confinement practices

so u bath? any herbs u used? how u get rid of the wind? thru food?

Hi Sh, if breasts feels engorge after 3 hours, u better pump it out to save urself the pain when it becomes rock hard and lumps inside form. To unblock those blocked milk ducts w be painful and takes up precious time ( gotto put hot towel and keep massaging towards to nipple and break up the blocked milk lumps stuck inside). Our body is still adjusting to bb's needs. If u wana slow the production, then yes, drag pumping time to 4 hours, then 5 hours etc but this is risky coz it seems yours w block at 3 hours already. Alternative is to put cold cabbage, it w slow down the milk production. But bear in mind babies appetite grows, by second month, baby may take 60ml, 70ml and keep going and if u purposely slow it down now, it takes time to build up again.

I'd suggest for excess milk either give to #1 or #2 or best, store in milkbags and freeze-> can last for 6 months. So if u are sick, eg catch flu and need to take medicine, the 3-4 days of 'medicated milk' u affected pls throw away while baby drinks the warmed up stored breastmilk.

Jane

For my #1, I will not be under the shower butbsponge myself everyday and wash pte area clean cos I was bf. I only bathed twice in the month with the herbs. As long as don't shower and wash hair under the shower head should be ok. Still, it depends in the individual. I rather believe in it than have rheumatism when old.

starflower,

tks....but sometimes alone wif no1 veri hard to escape to find time to pump! sigh! one hand wish can bf bb another hand find it so difficult to continue....

jane,

i like xuanmin, for no1 confinement only bath 2 in that mth, wash hair twice only too.

trying to maintain that this round cos my body quite weak too.

i do wipe up daily with the herb water. then use boiled water to wash hand and pte areas.

really can feel u cos my boi oso 2 yo and hyper active, since meimei is out, he boycott his nap time....hope mon he goes sch le can start back his routine....he was sick as well, cough n plegm juz didnt go away.

Confinement practice:

I think I'll also be bathing since that's wat I did for my first 2 but this time I ordered confinement shower gel and shampoo le.. Tried never bath the first the first week after deliver only but really can't tahan only wiping body no bathing.. But I usevthe herb and rice wine to bath..

Jane is hard to handle a 2.5 yr old and a newborn especially after the newborn is very natural for ur older one to seek attention and become very demanding during this period so u must handle them with care jia u.. Guess ur hubby maybe too tire try to get some help from parents or inlaw

starfruit: my gynae did give me the knee-tuck exercise to try but my rib is pressing down on the womb/organs so it kinda hurts when i do it. will try some prenatal pilates position to encourage her to turn down. but it's ok i'm fine with c-sect and not really must natural~ =)

Jane: are you doing confinement by yourself? hang in there ya~it's always not easy with a #2.

dolly: your welcome~ glad you got them. she sent me some too!

Confinement: i'll be a good girl and try not to wash my hair for the first 14 days but I will wipe myself with the herb water for the first 10 days and than shower with it after 14 days. basically my first 2 weeks I'll avoid. oh, they also say avoid having the fan blowing directly at you. =) hopefully this works~

By looking at the posts, seems like I'm the only one breaking confinement rules... Ops.. Haaaha.

I'm having loose stools for the whole of today.. Hope it's a sign! :b

cloudpoem: dun worry... u r not the onli one... me too bathe on the 1st day in the hospital for my #1... c section somemore... after tat i bathe n wash my hair everyday at home oso... but wif the herb water... heehee...

Hi mummies! I'm still pregnant! Had a few scares the past 2 weeks coz I din know what were contractions and what were braxton hicks. Even went to hospital yesterday and ended up being sent home. Heh... feels so paiseh esp since this is bb #2. Oh well... =)

dolly: Now is actually your body trying to adjust to bb's needs. It will adjust itself soon when you latch bb on regularly so press on. The cabbage thing works so as to relieve engorgement. But if you keep pumping, your body will think that it needs to produce that much milk n you'll have more trouble w the engorgement. Bb's latching will clear the lumps more effectively. As a general rule, milk supply will adjust 2 days later so if your bb later increases milk intake, your body will catch up 2 days later. Hope this helps. =)

cloud hehe feel so excited for u, maybe it's a sign ;)

Hannah, u're so cute! 'i'm still pregnant made me laugh ;)

Sh, hang in there, we mummies are the strongest; no matter what ur decision is, u're a great mum, don't worry too much about bfeeding, we do more than just our 'cow duties' anyway hehee

For my confinement, for the first week I didn't bathe, after that every 3 days w the herbs in cooled boiled water. Other 2 days I w just wipe. I didnt turn on fan but had Aircon on at night. I think may-June when we do confinement w be rather hot, don't think I can go without Aircon too long hehee

Hi Hannah,

than was the false alarm being charge? since they sent u home..

i scared i kenna false alarm too.. i'm in my 3rd pregnanacy and can be clueless still. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cloudpoem, i m one naughty mommy too. Shower immediately after birth n everyday afterwards wash hair too. Then stay in aircon rm all day n refuse to take any meals cooked w ginger. LOL

btw, m having loose stools today too. Heartburn suddenly disappeared - previously sit up also heartburn thruout the day. N bb movement reduced. My #1 told my sis tt this bb #3 birthday is 24th april. Thats this sunday! LOL.. Well lets see then.

hmmm, i'm not so much of heartburn.. but i feel rather energise since this morning.. usually need my noon nap, but did forgo, still can teach my #1 spelling and did some light chores..

hahaha.. maybe maybe.

newtoitall: u delivering at Mount A too, right? i remembered we are really close together? im 37+6 today.. u??

Cloud,

I rem for my #1, i wiped my body for almost a week, then after tat bath everyday with herbal water. Hair wash 2 or 3 days once. But rem after washing hair need to blow dry, dun leave it to dry by itself.

Waken up to prepare milk for my no2 cuz I dream of my no2 crying n telling me he's hungry.. Den now can't slp back cuz keep thinking next time when meimei come out I gotta start all the sleepless nites again..

Still remember I was telling hubby ibdun wanna go thru endless pumping waking up to bf and warming of the ebm .. Now I feel so scare lol but yet bfing is the only thing inso longing for now other den

Seeing meimei so contradicting

Cloudpoem, m 37+5 w EDD 9/5 today if i m counting to ultrasound scan at 9weeks (usually scans done around 9-12weeks most accurate for dating pregnancy). But if counting LMP date then EDD is 5/5. Anyway its just 4days diff for me.

Re:breastfeeding

think better not to think too much abt how long can tahan or the timeline. Just do it one day at a time n time will fly. Before u know it, months or even yrs would have gone by n u will still feel not too bad n still able to continue.

WTS

Natal Care Plus (400mg): Each box of 30 capsules at $14.00 (U.P. $16.05)

http://img831.imageshack.us/img831/8470/img1140sx.jpg

http://img821.imageshack.us/img821/5936/img1141e.jpg

All boxes with Expiry 2013.

Bought too many from Dr Adrian.

================================================

An Australian specially balanced formulation that helps fulfill DHA requirement for fetal / baby brain development, and optimizes the brain development of the fetus and infant.

The core element in NATAL CARE PLUS - Natural Fish Oil - contains DHA and EPA, which is particularly needed during pregnancy and lactation. Apart from that, NATAL CARE PLUS also contains Vitamin E, an anti-oxidant that helps to alleviate the negative impact of free radical formation, and increase normal cell function.

================================================

Cash on pick-up/delivery @ Jurong East or Raffles Place.

Kindly PM or leave SMS at 9 876 1872.

morning ladies. hows the long weekend so far? anymore mummies popped?

was on leave on thurs and finally went for my bloom ps. =) phew. 1 thing off my mind =)

anyway, strep B test. i think its complusory at this last stage coz when i went for my gynae visit last week, the 1st time he told me when he sees me is "today we must do the strep B test.".

preciousMom,

wah! ur baby v gd weight lo. did u manage to go for natural the 1st 2 times? wats the weight of ur kids then?

i also just pack toiletries as i prefer to use my own, including shampoo and shower gel =P

CloudPoem,

i also prefer my baby to be at least 3kg. now my gal is already 2.9kg. just need some final boast and she will cross the 3kg mark. my hb commented the way i eat recently, nt only will my gal cross the 3kg mark, i will also put on alot of unwanted fats =P

dolly,

i feel la, ur evening supply may not be sufficient for ur boy...else if he latches on and drinks well for tat 30mins, sld be able to last him till 2/3hrs later for the nxt feed.

wat u can do is, pump out then cupfeed/bottlefeed, at least u can see how many oz he is drinking.

dun worry if he vomits out some milk (nt all milk) immediately aft u feed him coz it means he may nt have swallow the milk. so long as nt alot.

if he keep falling aslp, keep tickling his cheeks and area near the mouth.

xuanmin,

congras on the safe arrival of ur gal =) now u need nt worry so much le since she need nt be in NICU and she has got gd weight =)

ya, i agree being a mummy again is such a wonderful exp =)

split,

i am one of those mummies who is anti pacifier de. kekeke. i didnt even bought any pacifier as standby for #1 and this time rd =P

its v troublesome to self process the placenta. better u engage someone to do it for u.

serene,

congras again on the arrival of ur boy =) gd weight and can see he is an early bird. false alarm and actual alert both came in in the early morning. hehehe.

huh? hw cum ur gynae was watching tv while u are still in action?

my boy also has got big head. all through my pregnancy with him, gynae always commented my boy's head is v big altho my hb n mine is normal. eventually my boyd borned with high circumference of 34cm =P

SH,

when u engorged ur hb hand express for u or he tried suckling?

hws ur gal's jaundice? hope she is ok.

wah! u mean ur gal can slp thro the nite already?! tats gd!

starfruit/serene,

i didnt take epi for my #1's delivery but i was so nausea i cldnt eat too. mid wive said i had too much water during delivery -_-'''

newtoitall,

Same here le. i also kept dreaming abt me popping. i dun wan so fast!!

apple,

hows ur gynae visit on sat? have u decided to go for the bloom ps?

cloudpoem,

if miss the election, u got to have ur name reinstated in order for u to vote the next time rd. must pay $$ to have ur name reinstated too.

even if we can in hosp or actual delivery, it will only be use as an excuse to have name reinstated for the next election. so i hope i dun miss the voting too coz i am nt willing to pay the $$ to have my name reinstated!

cervix dilation: as mummies here suggested, can try sex, climbing, squatting up n down, lots of walking

heaven,

enjoy ur ML =)

i also havent start packing my hosp bag. i really really sld start this weekend le =P

Jane,

hope u are coping fine still. think u cried coz during this period we are still very emotional.

keep tickling her cheeks, the area near the mouth. hang in there. taking care of kids alone with bfeeding is really nt easy.

for my #1's time, i was also pumping 3hourly at nite so i understand hw u feel. just try to tahan as long as u can. tell urself u can do it =)

if u dun mind, u can pump when #1 in the same room, read to him or on tv for him to distract him for awhile??

i bathed on the 2nd day i delivered in the hosp. back at hm i also bathed with normal water, shampoo n shower gel =) i bathed a few times in a day. i drink cold water (orange juice, 100+ etc).

in short, i dun really practice confinement except the confinement food, less ginger, less rice wine. =)

V,

hope ur baby will turn soon =)

hannah,

nice to hear frm u again =)

Val, think so too.. Each time after bf him, he will wake up in an hour time & cry for milk... Really loss then my girl kept crying for my attention too.. I checked with LC, she encourage me to keep on latching but he kept crying for milk.. End of the day, have to warm up ebm for him... He only drink 1 oz then stop drinking le...

Hihi, thanks for all the advice on what to eat. Seeing how heavy some of your babies are while in your last trimester, makes me abit worried. I also prefer my baby to be at least 3kg at birth but I am already 36 weeeks now and he is only about 2.2-2.3kg. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Btw, do we need to bring our own breast pump to the hospital? I was told that we should start pump breast milk within the first 1-2 days though milk supply's not established yet....

just back fm checkup... am at 35wks n bb is 2.4kg..

lucky she didnt grow too big since the last visit..

my 1st reading for blood pressure was 131/90.. the nurse ask me to rest 1st...guess aft tat i was too kanchiong n became 155/95...need to take medication for a week n gynae brought forward my appt..sighz

gynae refuse to tell me wad will happen if this continue..he dont wana scare me..anyone encounter this b4?

val,

thank god..he is early bird.i cant imagine got struck in pie to tmc..

tmc service sucks.. call light nvr answer promptly. request stuff came so slow. wanted single room but fully booked.

i prefer Mt A.. my gynae asked mi to go TMC lor. somemore signed up MT A ladies card le..

today is day 3..still no milk..yesterday night squeeze my nipple says got colostrum.. i feel my breast still not very hard.. try to squeeze with hand but no milk lei..

past 2 days, he suck until my left nipple sore and a bit bleeding..applied medela pure LAN and air it. hope milk can faster come in.try massage my breast as taught by LC.. i read milk will come in 3-5 day after delivery.

sadly my boy seems to b lactose intolerant.. gave him s26 fm.. drink and ls at the same time..become very grouchy from 2am to 8.45am.. finally bought isomil soy milk..sleep very well.. will monitor his situation.. going to see pd on tues. feel that he seems a bit yellowish le..

feel tt he looks more like a girl..haha..

Hi breeze: if gynae din mention much about Bb weight, than fo not be worried.. U still have 2-3 weeks to increase weight. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re: breastpump

Hmm, I'm not bringing to hosp as the first milk is colostrum, would rather Bb drink directly from breast.. I pump when I reach home if I feel engorge.

Serene: hope breastfeeding would be easier in time to come.. Try to let Bb suckle and body will accommodate the needs accordingly.. If ur nipple bleed, means u latch on wrongly.. Bb mouth should open big big and suck the whole aerola.. Dun focus on nipple.. If Bb happen to suck blood, they can't digest and will have tummyache, even worse.. U got buy breast shells? Can apply the nipple cream, than put on shells to air circulate it. ;)

My #1 suck till bleed and I got breast infection as a result. Hence do take note.. ;)

The elders say if boy boy looks like girl, next Bb will be girl.. Lol!

By the way, my BH sudden increase in frequency.. 1hr can have 2-3 times... Waiting for signs!! Yay!

I am back fr gynae visit, 37wk+ bb weight 3051g. Gynae said seems like the boy is so much lighter compared to my gal! Haha..anyway it doesn't bother him as cross 3kg is good enough.

My amniotic fluid & placenta still looks good, no major concern..so I'll probably c-sec on 0305 as schedule [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Now he encourages me to eat more plant source of food eg. Soy, green vege, fruits for better calcium absorption to prepare for bf.

Val - my tum tum is getting low, bb still consider breech & OP position. Don't think I wanna go for PS..it might not turn out nicely! Also, my gynae commented I got water retention despite me didn't put on weight..I can see my bloated face & bumpy thighs

Good afternoon mummies!

Hannah:- its has been so long since u last post on forum, busy after being SAHM?? Hahas, love the way u report to forum saying u are still pregnant! Popping soon right? 39wks alrd?

Re:- GE

I heard from my mum that if we miss the GE we don't have to do anything, cos voting confidential, even if we don't intend to vote, its possible. Not very sure ley.. Just hope will be available to go down for voting on 7may..

Went to Expo baby fair ytd and was disappointed much.

The fair was small & crowded, not much sales going on. Almost everything was at market price so didn't get much grabs. Wanted to get my bb playpen there but all was exp & bad quality kinda, so I ended up buying my baby's playpen from Kiddy palace instead. Managed to purchase my nursing tops & baby thermal blanets & towels at the fair only.. Not much things available.

Just wake up from my afternoon nap with my sons den notice 3 roundish very very very light pink stain mark on my panties.. I'm quite sure it wasn't there b4 I sleep cuz been checking everytim time i go toilet and im wearing white so very easy to notice but it don't look like blood at all to me and is just 3 drop of stain and is so light pinkesh in color wonder what's that

Split, do monitor closely fr now on..my gynae just told me within next week if I found waterbag rupture, heavy bleeding or 6 contractions within 30min must go to delivery ward. Otherwise, relax & enjoy the final moment of peace haha..

Val actually I use to be against taking pacifier too but my mum is a bb-sitter and she advise me to introduce for my son cuz my no1 is a premmie and he fall aslp very easy and like to suck the nipple can suck for 1 hr but only drink less than 30ml of milk cuz he fall aslp le den my mum said enproperly not hungry just wanna suck something so he ask me buy pacifier which really help me alot instead of crying every 15mins after I pull out my nipple he can slp for at least 1 hr b4 the milk feeding time.

Just back fm gynae visit, bb gal only gained 100g, now only 2.7kg at 37weeks+. Much lighter than #1 who was already 3kg at this time. Oh well, nvm, maybe girls smaller or coz I lost weight also 800g from last checkup. Maybe it's my runny nose hmm...... I asked doc about the hardening feeling. He says if it's every 5 mins, then likely bb is going to come soon....

Elbarc,

I'm fm Apr mummies thread, chanced upon this thread n same thing happened to me so tot I shd tell u wat happened in my case. Edd supposed to b in mid apr but I popped end Mar. Cos of gestational hypertension too, but mine was discovered earlier at ard 28 weeks..gynae din wanna start me on med too early, so monitored me every week but sadly it din go down. So no choice haf to start med n go back for weekly visits..e med helped to control e bp not to rise any further..n gynae said tt it's best to deliver once reach 37 weeks..for mummy's n Bb's safety..I wanted to try natural birth so opted to induce, but stubborn cervix refused to dilate, so end up emer csec cos bp was high..till now 3+ weeks post partum, my bp is stil abit high..gynae says it may take up to 6 weeks to return to normal..

Hope my experience helps to prepare u in any way! Good luck! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Val,

hb hand express but do it the wrong way. he refuse to suckle this round, hahah.....

finally all can discahrge today! after the photo therapy, she look so much better.

she at nite juz wake up for fed only, then after feed slp again....

Starflower, I left Dr Chan's clinic early today..was @ paragon shopping..hehe Metro having 20% storewide.

I also lost some weight & could be more as got water retention. Dr Chan said I probably down by 1.5kg but due to that the reading shows 800g too!

I'll see him 1 last time nxt Sat then is time to pop [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lets see we will hv chance to meet during delivery. I hv requested 5th floor single room.

hi mummies....

been a long long while since i last log in....crossing my 35wks mark this coming monday and counting down to D day...

how is everyone doing?

Congrates to all mummies who have recently delivered.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I'm getting so bored playing this waiting game... ;( really wonder when is D day... Sigh.

Carrying a full weight bump is so tiring. Having 2 chipmunks at home can be super tiring as well.. Sorry mummies, gotto rant alittle.

I am back home today!!! so happy coz i has a not so nice neigbour at my stay in Mt A. I was shocked that she on her TV loud and not using the headphone. and also when she leave the toilet, she will just let it close automatically which have a loud bang sound. that startle my baby when i was BF.

so mummies here, if budget allows, for 1 room coz you will never knows who will be your neigbour.

btw, i have one question, when we use the sterlizer to sterlise bottles, we leave it inside and when use, it is wet, so do we wipe dry with a kitchen towel or just use it with the water droplets inside???

Cloud u so cute callin ur kids chipmunk understand how u feel but lucky I'm weekend mum so only have both of them together during weekend..mine is alway fighting one moment can play together happily the next u see them crying non stop rolling and kicking on the floor.. So scare next time my girl become female terrorist like her 2 korkor..

My no1 alway ask me when meimei coming out and he promise me he will not bully meimei but he said that abt his dido also and they are still fighting everytime they meet..