(2011/05) May 2011

my lower tummy area very very itchy (especially at night time n when i sleep).. tried a lot of stuff le but still itchy. i tried Rosken serum oil (for stretch mark), BB Johnson Aloe vera lotion, Clarins tonic oil, Ru yi oil, DEsitin cream, and even mopiko. but it is still very very itchy.

any other methods to offer me ??

cloudpeom, yea. i think spinach. mine's low too..but it's sufficient for bb so no need for iron pills =)

Val, oh, I was just wondering la~ =P

Heaven, congrats!

Dolly, I replied you~

cloudpoem, my gyane also commented my iron is low. i am on 2 iron tabs on alternatie days. i try to eat red meat, beef, duck, spinach is rich in iron too.. u can try.

my reading was 11.6

heaven, they can digitly remove your stretch mark lah.. hahah should go for the shoot, good keepsake lor.

V: haha you will have fun at your shoot. must share some pics for us too ok.

Ling, ok let me see if i can dig out another pic to share here.

LJ, sometimes we may leak urine too.. so may be fase alarm.

Thank you mummies who reply to my iron question. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i am on iron pills, need to pop 2 everyday.. and he prescribe me folic, victamin C to increase the iron absorption.. my gynae say it needs to be at 12? to be normal.. if not,during labour will lose more blood..

so mummies who have low iron reading, boost up ur iron level too. :D jia you jia you! i cant wait for time to quickly zoon by!

my gynae never say anything abt boosting my iron intake..no iron pills either. the multi vit tablets has iron so he says that's good enough..hehe...

cloudpoem what i mean is that i will take 1 tab of iron pill a day, but on alternate days, my doc ask me to increase to 2 tabs.. so its 1, 2,1,2.

Starfruit

Thanks for your heads up.

Re Iron

how do you know your iron level is low? i only took one blood test during first trimester and that's that.

cloudpoem, r u stil taking fish oil? my gynae ask me to stop at week 36.. i ask the mummies here why, so some mummies say fish oil will make us loss more blood during labour ... mayb u wan to consider stop taking fish oil if u hv not ...

me also no other blood test other than during first trimester ...

Hi LJ,

ur gynae will be doing a haemoglobin test to check ur red blood counts.. from the results, u should know if u are good or low range. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i'm doing my test again on wed. see if its normal, as i'm eating all the iron rich stuffs almost everyday. jus had steak for lunch. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Starfruit,

got it! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] 11.6, u need another 0.4 to be in normal range! jia you! how many weeks are u in now?

Hi Ling,

oh! really? fish oil will make us lose more blood? i din know! cux from my previous 2, i take till i go into labour ward. shall ask my gynae this wed.. aiyo.

i'm at week 37. edd should be 8th May. but growth scan alway sshows 1st May.. dunno which date should i follow. see when she wanna pop. huruhrr.

waterbag bursting: my personal feel of waterbag bursting is when it burst, no feel and tingling of water flowing down yr legs.. at first, it's water, followed shortly is light blood stain water (dun know whether it's bocs it's blood... associated w pain), shortly feel cramps ard the lower part of the tummy (like menus pain but alot painful) and need to sit down.. After nurse checked, diluated abt 3cm. That's how i felt when my waterbag bursted for no1.

Dolly, the milk bottle caps tat i had was given by my friend (she got extras) and said tat she got it fr provision shop. Maybe can try the shops at the market.

Have been running ard... to the PD and chinese sensei clinic as my girl is down w fever (up and down) and heavy coughing. Just came back fr chinese sensei clinic for her massage and later need to brew pear w chuan bei powder for her to take. Sigh.. hope she recover soon... fr the way she coughs, sounds like asthema attacks. Think i going to fall sick soon as having sore throat attack. Haiz.

I checked with my gynae on the fish oil theory but he said it's not proven lei~ so i'll continue taking bah...

LJ and Ling, there was 2 blood tests done. I think my first was for HIV etc...2nd was for blood count which was when I found out I was thalasemic..the 2nd test was done in my 2nd trimester..I think my count was also pretty low..10. something..

cloudpoem, me jus follow wat doc say .. stop fish oil at week 36 ..

as for EDD, since going for natural birth, then dont hv to bother the date lah ... bb will come when well prepare ... me now take it easy ... waiting for the contraction/blood show/waterbag burst etc ... hehe ...

my EDD is 25apr ...

val, in the end i nv go kkh cuz my boy went back to my mum's place quite late and hubby said was late if need to admit again later i not enough slp again..tot since today is monday might as well wait see if prof tee will call me back since i left him the msg on sat..check with him first b4 going down to kkh again..

called the hospital this morning leaving a msg for prof tee to call back again but no reply so far from him..val usually how long it take for the gynae to respond..?or will they even reply u?

Ling~ it's almost here! do let us know when you pop! I think if your doc says stop than stop lor..whichever you are more comfy with right~

any mummies EDD is on 1st week of May?

i'm in the loop!

Ling: yup, follow what ur doc says.. i will ask mine again this wed when i'm back... as i type, a braxton hicks just intense my tumtum again.. it hurts especially when i stand up from my sitting position. sigh.. few more weeeks! i must endure!

Jia You, May Team! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi May mummies! we're almost there [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my cousin due 1st week may has already popped ysterday so now i'm feeling nervous hehee. Hospital bag not packed, baby clothes not washed, wet wipes and clothes detergent havent buy, cot not set up yet, pillows/mattress not sun yet...hehee nvm, still 36 weeks, think still have time to enjoy the process hehee...just bought some birds nest & chicken essence...think if this thursday bby still small size, will buy some durians...

hehe, me hope bb will come late like 1st may ... then every year also holiday ... hehe ...

today is hot n humid though no big sun ... me keep drinking water ... hope will hv heavy rain tis evening so tat it will b cooling ...

Just to share.

I had checked with my gynae pertaining to taking fish oil. She told me fish oil can still be continued till birth.

cloudpoem, if u take iron pills, remember dont take wz calcium... Calcium interferes with iron absorbtion, and usually docs will recommend you take your iron (prenatal) supplement in the morning with juice, and wait at least two hours to consume any dairy or calcium supplements

V/cloudpoem

I checked with my Ob-gynae she said not necessary to go for Hb test if my RBC count is normal in first trimester.

Re Fish oil

Mums to be in US says their OB asked them to stop taking DHA at 36 weeks. But the nurses advised me not necessary to stop.

the reason why is will cause more bleeding is largely due to EPA in the DHA capsule. So to be safe try to cut down intake of DHA, & take more fish instead. But i so hate fish. Maybe Fish-O-fillet? haha

Re: fish oil

hi, found the following info ...

One such natural blood thinner is fish oil

http://www.nutralegacy.com/blog/general-healthcare/fish-oil-for-blood-thinning/

Do not take more than one a day, especially in late pregnancy. Fish oil acts as a blood thinner, and between 2 and 3 capsules a day in third trimester can lead to excess bleeding in labor and post partum.

http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20070823080825AAji22t

as long we take in moderate, not more than 2 capsules each day, shd b on safe side ...

happy mummies, happy babies ...

jiayou ...

Ling

The recipe i gave this morning is to help us prepare for good supply of breastmilk after birth. i dont know if it works but i realize i am experiencing leaky breast at night. maybe it is norm for 33 weeks?

i have discharged together with bb. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

happymumtobe

yeah.. my second c section really more painful than the first.. and my feet swollen after c section. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

apple, can PM me the pics of the cap that you bought??

Heaven, thanks!

Melody, have you tried body shop's cocoa butter?

Jane: yay~ enjoy the time with the bb!

Melody: i also keep switching until the itch went away..i tried pureen anti itch powder, snake powder, J&J oil, Nivea lotion, palmers..aiya everything!! now i'm using avojuice =P i think maybe you wanna stop first and see how or tell your gynae. mine almost wanted to prescribe lotion to me also.

Re fish oil: I think most mummies are only asked to take 1 a day. So, I think that's not excessive.

LJ: haha, I also just ate fish fillet for dinner..hahaha....

Hi mummies..after a long day of meeting, am finally home and eat my dinner!

Serene, I noticed my left foot a bit swell too..

Pray hard bb stay inside till 0305.

Jane - mine bought 5 yrs ago..I'll get my helper to dig out and sterilize soon. Together with new bottles & my breast pumps. Hehe..shall show u the pic later.

dolly, not sure whether our market got sell or not as mine as given by my friend (abt 6 caps), so i din buy additional. The caps tat i have is similiar to wat apple's pic posted here except mine is red in color and fit only pigeon and NUK bottles.

hi mummies.....

hows everyone.....anyone else pops?

seen gynae last fri n he checked and say anytime this wk i'll pop!

argh....really scare as the time comes nearer....

i scare i'm at the wrong place at the wrong time and as no1 i didnt experience wats contractions pain.....

no rushing to clear my work and handover be4 i can go n deliver in peace.....

re: caps

i bought mine 2 yrs back at mt a pharmacy....shd have it now too....

Cloudpoem, i had steak last weekend too.. hahaha wanted a plate of fried rice but hb ask me to go eat steak instead!! hahaha

have not been diligent to take my iron pills lah.. cos left my pills in the office.. will cont to take this week.

yeah 0.4 to 12 but according to my gynae, 11 is conisdered a pass as well but just that 12 is the nom. I should be 33 or 34 weeks now.

LJ/Ling, my doc asked me to do a simple prick test on my last visit. they just prick your finger and draw a small sample of blood and test on the spot. u may want to check with your doc and see if you need to test.

Re: waterbag

i was reading up, seems like if you are upright, the water wont gush down cos bb is pressing against the cervic opening.. usually it will flow out when u are lying down. and its warm water coming out.like major urine leak.

melody, hope your are not suffering from PUPP, pls check with your gynae. and use skin sensitive moisturiser now. dun use the rest.

SH, when are you starting your ML?

moomum,

my edd is 26 apr and now is wk 38, so shd b anytime le....now having contractions like crazy.....almost every hr i feel it and its super tight!......

i think its really wat gynae say " this wk!"

starfruit,

i start on 25apr for ML and take leave from 18apr. this way can save 1 day PH. haha.....

gynae did an internal check for me last fri and say the "walls" are very soft already, will dilated this wk.....

anyone did such checks? its super pain for me and gynae say super need epi in this case if this little test can hurts me so much. moreover he say its rarely this case for no2.

hahaha.....

i just recall i havent buy the chinese herb pack for bathing and also the balls for prevent jaundice for bb (to put beside bb pillow).......anyone recall the name for that jaundice balls.....

Sh....so it's an April baby again! How nice! All the best to you have a smooth delivery [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Dolly - yes, these caps fit to NUK bottles.

Sh - wow, getting excited :p must quickly do handover now. This week I gonna be very bz coz doing major handover..gosh!!

Sh... was it an VE? For my #1 I cried after nurse did VE for me because it was so painful, but turns out I can tahan labour pain better so din take epi.

moomum,

ya, another apr bb....i'm oso an apr bb....kekek.....

was thinking if this gal can tahan this sun then come out, it would be nice as well cos it will be same as korkor's bday!

apple,

guess both of us will be crazy doing handover.....mine is sway sway hit audit period and sure some things my covers cant really do for me....so may hv to still get calls in between confinement period.

my covers are nt techincally trained to do my work.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

my boss already say he knows i can go back clear shit in jul....which i ans him "i'm truly prepared for it...." bo pian....

moomum....don really know wats VE means leh....but shd be tat ba....hahah......VE is to check dialted how much rite? gynae did tat to check how soft and ready the internal walls are.....

really labour pains are better? cos my no1, i tahan labour contractions for about 6 hrs be4 i take epi cos i'm nt dilating in tat 6 hrs and 1 kind nurse suggest cos my muscles are too tense up. so after epi once i'm nt tat tense, it might open up fast.....true enuff, after 2 hrs of epi i'm fully dilated! strange rite..

in tat 6 hrs, i don feel really pain cos its like normal menses cramp tat i'm having, so its still bearable.

Waiting for my Mac delivery now. Ops.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sh... Whao! Anytime this week, and u're still working? Aren't u supposed to be on standby mode? Haaaaha. Im already standing by. My coy till noe still don't want to handover when I keep stressing that I'm anytime.. I really dislike the feeling when they keep calling when I'm at home.. Sigh!

Nowadays the durain so exp! But still end up buying. :D

Sh - Ya, really not easy as I don't get a single person to take over all my stuffs! I spread to a few regional mgrs! When I come back fr ML, sure very cham gotta consolidate back my "baby".

Today my boss see me in the evening asked me how I come to ofc this morning! Funny him..I told him I took MRT, he looks at me stone awhile and said this week u take cab, bring receipts and claim..haha

My left foot swell abit, not sure issit bcoz I'm standing all the way while taking MRT this morning! Sigh..the reserved seat was occupied by 1 ITE student and he keep peeping at me and my tum tum still continue playing his phone! If I'm not taking laptop am gonna snap his pic with the reserved seat sign and send to MOE!

apple,

so if waterbag burst for ur case, will be c-section straight away?

Sh,

did you request for VE? i am week 37 now.. so far only did Group B strep in week 34.. other than tt, no VE exam..

You ought to standby soon..think u are the next to pop..

i have a feeling my turn will be soon..

Sh, yar it's strange that epi helps some people to relax and dilate fast. VE is very sharp tearing kind of pain, labour pain is like bad menstrual cramp. For me the latter is more tahanable, maybe because I was on some pain relief also.

Agree that you should rest well to prep for labour Liao, better get your contingency plan ready in case you go into labour at work!

Serene,

Yes, any labour sign I'll report to labour ward and the hospital will arrange everything for me. I have done pre-admission.

Also, the anesthetic Dr has been pre-book too!