(2011/05) May 2011

The weather is HOT HOT HOT..quite unbreable once step out from aircon place! Hope by May the weather can cool down abit..or else I surely make my aircon work 24x7 like when I gave birth to my gal 5yrs ago in Mar!

Val - if u feel heavy down at the pelvis area shd be good news! BB heads down and soon engage. For me, my tum quite high and bb is breech still.

starfruit, hmm, seems like our bb quite active during the 3rd trimester... always thought the movement will be limited... my no1 dun even move tat much [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

nina, for me, contractions is initally like wants to LS, increasing tummy pain but cannot poos and timing becoming frequent.. maybe 1 hr feel tummy pain and closer timing (like half an hr feel pain like period coming)... lower tummy area feels pain.. when contraction is more nearer (like 1hr once), u feel pain is getting more intense and it will go away and comes back evey 1 hr (or 4 hrs.. depending how many cm u hve diluated).. the nearer it is, that means the faster diluation it gets.. accordingly to the nurse, diluation is 1cm per 1hr (estimated as a guide only). For me, it is indeed comfortable w epidural.. really can't tahan the pain w/o epidural but individual threshold of pain is different. For me, i can still bear the pain (thanks to the breathing method learnt during the pre-natal class) but when waterbag breaks, i really can't tahan anymore and can't even move.. i finally give in epidural (wanted w/o) but the pain is too intense for me liao (after so many hrs... gynae and nurses asked me to go for epidural, partly i also got high BP and it will be dangerous to me and bb if i dun give in) [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

val, hope yr gynae able to give u more MC.. think it's better to rest now as it prepares u for the upcoming delivery [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dolly, rest well at home.. must be xin ku w the contractions coming.. take good care [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Nina,

This is my #2 =) 3yrs ago when i delivered my #1, my bill was 5k++ for both myself n my boy. I stayed in the hosp for 1week tog with my boy so the bill abit higher than normal 3d2n package.

Actually, nothing much for me. I bought along my own towel n shower gel all these as I am used to those tat i am using. I bought along 1 set of clothes for discharge, for both myself n my boy then. N mittens n booties for him to change. Disposal underwear, maternity pads and the rest of the personal stuffs like hairband/rubberband, eyebrow stuffs etc =P actually KK do provide maternity pads, those loop strings type.

Yes, I specifically book my own gynae.

apple,

ya, she has been head down since my last gynae visit just tat these few days, i feel even more heavier dwn there than previously and it makes me walk funnnily! hahaha. so i am wondering if she has engaged =)

auroa,

talk abt breathing method. i asked my hb if he still remembers coz he suppose to guide me when contractions kicks in! hahaha.

ya, hope my gynae pity me and give me mc =P shall ask my hb to complain to him abt hw i need some rest =P

Thks all mummies for the advice.

I thot of induce cos I heard even if contraction starts its advise to stay at home first, instead of going to hospital str8. And my gynae is that type of don't talk much de.. Till now he nv discuss labour to me at all.. And my checkup interval he appointed was once per mth.. If after this check up this fri, den it will be the 38wks for my next visit.. Kinda worried cos hear that delay in the time sending to hospital baby might in danger..

kaykay,

if ur gynae dun proactively discuss/talk, i think u sld take the initiative to ask and discuss with him? Mayb he assumed u have no qns to ask or discuss thus he nv say much.

Val:- I tried to ask alrd, but most things he reply is like 'its common for pregnancy'.. I think I shall talk to him regarding labour asap. Probably on the next visit.

Val - it is good sign what..my colleagues just commented that I still walk like normal, fr the back can't tell I'm preg. That's not very good sign coz my tum very high, bb still breech haha..but I sort of getting ready for c-sec. My gal previously also breech.

kaykay, maybe u can do some readup 1st then jot down the questions tat u want to ask... sometimes it's not good to get too much information too.. for me, i heard lots of horrible stories abt epidural and dare not take it but when i did, i glad tat i did [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

kaykay,

ya, do talk/discuss with him during ur next gynae visit abt the labour n the signs etc. i dun think he has no reason not to talk or share with u when u as patient has concerns lo.

apple,

ya, good sign since i am all for natural =) just hope she can wait till edd or at least few days before edd. hehehe.

at least u cfm going for c-sect so position wise breech or down is ok rite?

val,

ya, looking for pull string one. but seems hard to find. still sourcing!

kaykay,

how come yr visit still once a mth? mine ald every 2 weeks from week 34

Very sorry to crash into this thread.... But I have a Medela Swing bought in Nov 2010 from Mums and Babes. Used it till March 2010.

I sent it in for servicing and was given a one-to-one BRAND NEW exchange. It is stated on the warranty card and invoices that it is a BRAND NEW motor - dated 18 March 2011.

I have stop breastfeeding and am selling the pump. As I am using the bottle for my BB, I would not be selling the bottle.

I would however sell the pump together with the following accessories (which I bought additional and not included in the orginal SWING set)

1) Additional piece of valve (brand new)

2) Membranes x 6 (brand new - still in packaging)

All the above letting go at $280.00 SGD.

I bought it at around $300 and it does not include the additional items.

Meet up at YCK, AMK, Bishan, Suntec can be arranged.

PM me for faster response.

Mod: Please remove if the post is inappropriate.

Val - yes, getting ready for c-sec [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my hb doesn't want to take the risk of wound rupture bla bla..and he finds c-sec is clean cut and no need to kan cheong over natural calls..

kaykay, contraction is not the only sign that real labour is here. YOu will also have "the show" where your mucus plug dislodge and also breaking of waterbag, so i am quite sure u will know its the real labour and the pain is damn intensive and very very regular. so dun worry, u will know cos it will not be like any pain u have had.

winnedy, aiyo, u sound worst than me. how come so many time? it only came back last week??

serene, aiyo, u also one of them puking now.. so terrible right! last tri still make us suffer!!!

winnedy,

yes i agree its nt easy to source for pull string. i called up a few party stores in sg. depending on the theme u wan they may or may nt have but some of them will have shipment in either end apr or may. mayb u wanna give them a call or if nt, may have to bring in on ur own.

apple,

gd tat u are ready for c-sect =) actually, wound rupture is a v serious case lo, so if can best to avoid the risk. think u may be 1 of the first few to pop coz urs early may. hehehe.

starfruit..

now counting down..hope to deliver in 3 weeks time..

kaykay,

visit should start to get more n more frequent..mine fr once 3rd week to once fortnightly..going to once weekly soon.. i am week 35 now.. i always prepare one list of stuff to ask him.. he always ask if i have anything to ask..

he says its common in pregnancy means good news and he dun want u to worry for nothing..

Serene, so fast, i am still week 32 leh.. i wanna hang on till full term if i can.. which is week 40. so this means 2 more months for me lah.

starfuit,

only started about 2 weeks back. damn sian! i am also week 32!

val,

where did u get the list to call?

just google party items?

Serene - Wow, 3 more weeks, seem so close [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] u r probably top in the list to pop.

Val - After gynae explaining the risk of wound rupture and so on, he also said not worth to take the risk at the last stage. My hb agreed :p I'm seeing my gynae fortnightly now.

4 more weeks for me to head for c-sec! Time flies..abit scary :p this morning when I was at Seminar forum, ppl thought I only 6 months preg!! kaoz

starfruit - I thought I wanna experience the drama of contractions, show, water bag burst for this preg..but now my dream can never come true!

apple, dun risk it, bb more important. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] u can try for #3 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

winnedy/starfruit, me also on week 32 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dolly, ya, contractions can be quite unbearable.. as long waterbag din burst, shd be ok.. bear it for the sake of bb... hang on there, a few more days/weeks to go [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

auroa, ya lor.. especially the pain linger around after the contraction... really don't feel like moving about... trying to bear with it now.. will wait what the gynae say after the check-up.. believe that the cervix must have further dilated another 1cm...

Thks all mummies for the concern.

I read a lot abt preg, labour & afterbirth, also know abt the hints of labour, just afraid that real contraction come I still endure at home.. Cos really scare its false alarm..

Winnedy:- I now gg 34weeks & my gynae see me once a mth only. Hope after this fri, my gynae can let me see him once per 2weeks..

does any of you have a pix of how the thermo bottle/flask you gals mentioned sometime ago that u brought out to 'heat' up the breastmilk if not doing latching on outside?

thanks ladies..actually during my first 2 pregnancy i nv experience any bm leaking thats y this time more concern cuz worried is due to the early contraction thats started on 24weeks..even though now taking medication still feel some irregular contraction if i delay taking the medicine..

morning dolly, how r u? my pelvic was very pain last night and had contractions. luckily it went off.. so scare!! think i cant sit too long now..

split, how to determine that bm is leaking?

kaykay

Since I was 29 weeks, my gynae has been seeing me once fortnightly. My condition is considered rather stable for now, only tt amniotic fluid on the low side. You shld request to see ur gynae every 2 weeks. Did u get the prenatal package for consultation frm ur gynae? I bought the package frm my gynae, he still sees me regularly. And he says gonna give me a good price for his surgery. This is #2 with him, #1 was by him too.

Dolly

Will you be induced this week? Jia you!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Apple/Ash

My gynae told me the same thing too. He was not against VBAC at all, and he weighed the consequences for me. Most of his patients don't take the risk at all. He said tt I can still make a choice. He's really encouraging. Just tt when I heard him say tt if the wound really rupture, the word "FATAL" really frightens me. I agreed to c-sect too, will be taking 5 May , 2 weeks b4 my due date to prevent contractions. Like you, I also miss out the chance of feeling contractions, water bag burst, baby coming out from under, but I guess tt ultimately, I want her to be safe and sound. Although now baby is all ready with head down already. A little pity tt I can't go for natural when my gal is all ready [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I will still want to try for #3 if finance allows [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

xuanmin, wow.. u r very brave! for me, i dont dare to try natural for #2. hav gone thru the contractions, water bag burst for my #1 even though ended up emergency c-sec. been traumatised for that..

jane, yesterday nite i had a bad contraction & lasted for about 6-10mins... quite irregular now...

xuanmin, i doubt i will want to go for induce. if cervix will to dilate to 3.5cm by this sat, maybe have to admit to hospital to observe till it dilate to 5cm. by then will have to stop taking the medication by this sat in order to deliver on week 37...

Good morning ladies..it is Thursday! hoo hoo..weekends coming soon! Can't wait

Dolly - how r u doing?

Jane - u r taking medication to ease the contractions rite? rest well..

I think ppl like us who gone thru c-sec for #1 usually eager to try VBAC for #2 to experience the natural birth feeling. As like u mentioned u r traumatised over long labour & end up emergency c-sec, I guess that's the main reason that puts u off rite? My hb also doesn't wish me going thru long labour, so he agreed to listen to what my gynae's advise - go for c-sec! haha..

xuanmin - I guess they r prof, they seen many successful/unsuccessful VBAC cases. That's y they try to reason out to us to have mentally and physically prepared if we really insist going thru VBAC. My initial thought I wanted 0505, but my gynae said it would be too late, regular contractions might occur at any point of time when I hit 39wks..so he said 0305 is the max I can hold on.

Wow, aiming for #3 :p I dare not even think about that..my circumstances different whereby I don't get much help from both parents & inlaws. New batches of maid has been giving lots prob when yrs go by, so I better stop @ 2. In fact, we intend to have only 1, but my girl super lonely..that's y we go for another 1.

dolly.. mine one also quite irregular now.. probably good news? oh so ur gynae said need to be admitted if dilate further? but wat if doesnt dilate to 5cm? observe at home? been admitted actually quite boring.

apple, ya still on medications... into third weeks liao... cant sleep well recently, can only slept for 2 hrs then wake up then try to sleep again.. tiring..

yeah.. the long hours of labour really made me scared. somemore that time i had severe neck pain due to not being mobile.. the kind of neck pain when u were in front of pc/laptop for long period? it came back during epidural.. so scary.. contractions pain + neck pain even epidural also cant ease.. ended up using epidural + gas = emergency c-sec.. so this time, my gynae said no point going thru all these ..

xuanmin, me too, dont think of #3. like apple, we dont hav much help from both parents n inlaws, and my #1 is in childcare since 2 mths old... #2 also, will put bb in infant care after CL. we do not hav intentions to hav maid, coz good maid is hard to get and we also prefer privacy.. it is quite tough taking care on ourselves with both of us working n my work is super hectioc. but satisfying despite the tiredness [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

apple, so far so good if the medication is taking effect... else the pain level of contraction is increasing, worst than last week now... i told my hb hopefully this sat i'm able to stay @ home instead of admitting to hospi... i remember there's a mummy mentioned that her gynae told her one mummy who was caught in the jammed while on the way to mt a when her waterbag burst...

last friday, i told my hb about this incident & was so worried coz i'm staying so far away from the town...

Apple/Jane

Keke, actually I still want to try for #3 cos both are gals, aiming to get a boy and then can close shop [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I also don't like the idea of having a maid, so will put #2 in IFC after my ML. My mum can't handle two even if my #1 has always been in chilcare since 18mths. My in-law in poor health, can't handle babies at all [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] so considered on my own. Praying hard tt everything can run smoothly after birth good enuff.

Apple

I also want to stop at #1 initially, but I love to watch her growing up, and miss having a baby in my arms, so decided to try for one more, and give her a sibling. Now she is learning to sppreciate what we give her and not take things for granted, or being too self-centred. 0305 is a good date [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] My bday is 1305, but don't want to hv same bdate as my gal. If not, mummy not special anymore :p moreover, 0505 is a thurs, my hubby can stay with me until monday when he goes back to work.

Jane

It's ok, c-sect is more clean-cut. Only part I don't like is tt I am fully awake, and I know I am gonna be cut up..

Re: Maternity leave

YEAH!! I just submitted my ML and will be taking one week of MC from gynae. So next week will be last day at work, can't wait!!

Jane - Wow..no wonder u r traumatised! I always salute mummies who gone thru long labour and count myself lucky that c-sec just took merely 20min, bb is out!

Have u selected/pre-book with the infant care? Well, my job req me to travel, otherwise I can do without maid too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] good maid really hard to get..sigh

Dolly - In case emergency, I suggest u call KKH ambulance especially peak hours. The road leading to KKH is quite pack and no joke if somewhere CTE has an accident. The jam can last for an hour!

heloo everyone....hw's everyone doing?

dolly, jia you jia you!!!!

seems like all counting dwn liao...=)

i hvn packed my hospital bag yet!! omg...hehe

hi all. morning! its Thurs!!!

I was so tired yestersday, rushing like mad woman..running here and there just to get a document to be approved. I cannot imagine that i have been walking ard so much ytd, that i have 4x attack of leg cramp last night on my both legs..

Xuanmin: wah..so fast!! good good, take time to rest is good. think i also want take 1 week MC from my gynae to rest..

morning mummies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dolly, u taking epidural? think if diulated 5cm, can't take, right? Seems like the diluation might hve speed up... do take good care of yrself [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Good morning mummies, its thursday, tml will be fri and its my gynae check! So looking forward.. So many things to ask my gynae..

Intend to buy my nursing bra tml & feast on KFC if baby weight is on the good side.. Hehe..

Btw, last time some mummies mention some places selling affordable & good nursing bra, CK, OG, BHG and where else??

jane, last time admit a&e midnite & already dilate 5cm le.. just assume that my gynae maybe wants me to admit to observe, just to mentally prepare... of coz, if can stay @ home will be good...

apple, so i need to take note of kkh ambulance no.. the other time my hb asked me if i wanna call for ambulance coz the frequency of the contraction from an hour to half an hour.. told him that i can't wait any longer, so hail for cab instead & will be longer... i'm so worried that this round if it's going to happen during peak hour...

mudpie, thanks ya! you got to start packing le... my family members already know where's my hospi bag, during emergency they can just grab & go...

auroa, definitly taking epidural.. still can take if dilated to 5cm... unless it's more than 5cm... that's what hap to me the other time, i asked for epidural immediately after admitting... can't feel the pain of the jab or drip...

bunnymummy,

i usually dun bring hot water out.

I will go mac and ask for a cup of hot water and heat the milk up instead.

lazy to bring so many items out.

places like isetan, takashimaya nursery also have hot water dispenser where u can heat the milk up as well.

kaykay, i bought my nursing bra from Ubermummy, in bulk purchase thread. Understand she is having warehouse sales this fri and sat. u may want to take a look. Her sales is located near marymount mrt