(2011/05) May 2011

Viman: Congratulations! =) Rest well too...

Julbee: So exciting...one more week to go!

V: Haa so many wierd things inside the goodie bag....

I popped by the Isetan fair during lunch...nothing much....v.crowded...clarins got 20% off though...can stock up tonic oil. Got the balmain charcoal pillow too...hope it helps relieve my constant neckache...

hi serene,

My #1 was an induced labour at exactly his EDD date. Think I just couldn't wait to get him out then. Too tired.

I would not recommand an induced labour. It is more painful with induced labour and after sometime, usually u will insist on epidural too coz you will be too tired. Then with epidural, you might not be able to push the baby depending on the dose administered and end up doc might have to use assistance eg. vacum or forceps. Is this your 1st baby? If not, when was your #1 delivered? Usually they are abt the same time or #2 will come slightly earlier.

For my induced labour, I was induced from abt 9am in the day and only delivered at 10.28pm that night. By 2-3pm I had my epidural. Then at about 8.30pm coz of long labour, I had a fever and bb's heartbeat was very fast.

My #2 labour on the other hand was different. I started labour at abt 9.30pm, reached hospital at about 1.20am and delivered at 2.15am. The pain while at home was also not very bad as I was still able to move about and go downstairs with my luggage in tow to wait for my cab. Hb was working at that time and didn't make it for the birth.

Viman, congrats on the safe arrival of your little girl. take care and rest well and don;t worry too much as your girl is in good hands.

serene, pineapple i read is bcos it contain an enyzme that will cause contraction.. which is why they dun encourage pregie woman to eat it... i dun think coconut have that effect... i remember coconut is taken so bb come out look cleaner..

of course natural delivery w/o epi is the best..

newtoitall, i hope wad u say is true.. my #1 is born at 37 wks.. hope #2 also ad the same.. then no need to wait so long.. i dun like the waiting game especially when taken the ML at home.. just to wait.. hahaha.. hope the delivery duration also same. hahaha.. cos my no 1 took less than 3hours..

Angie - wow u cheong Isetan during lunch [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I am going to pop by in awhile coz having lunch cum tea w my fren at Ion.

Oh , after 36 weeks consider full term .. ok ..

i am still doing prenatal yoga practice, hope it helps me on natural birth w/o epi , this is my first child. Most of the post emphasize on back and the hips. I think for those have backache can do some simple stretching for the back every morning or at night, hope can help on alleviate the backache.

Afternoon mummies!!!

Viman,

Congratz on the arrival of bb gal!!!

Just went to the expo bb fair during lunch.

This is wat i've got:

1) Sean Lau photography - the classic package now is $198 UP $258. Got 50% off for additional family member $17.50 UP $35.

2) Cordlife can pay full by CDA, dun need to pay upfront onli need to pay when u have open the CDA account for the NB.

Annual plan - $1050 UP $1600 (free a pair of cordlife watch)

10yrs plan - $3250 UP $3850 (Free $100 capitaland voucher)

21yrs plan - $5050 UP 5850 (Free $100 capitaland voucher)

3) NUK nipple wipes - $10 per box 30 sachets

4) Newbaby confinement food

Package 1 - $1480 nett for 4wks x 7days

Package 2 - $1140 nett for 4wks x 5 weekdays

2 dishes + 1 soup for both lunch n dinner...

V:- lolx so many weird stuffs in the goodie bags.

Serene:- I also wun encourage induce labour, my friend also discourage me when I said I want one. She experience it before, due to overdue & she say it may be slow & for her case, she need aid of epidural & vaccum for her baby to come out. If u really wanna try, why not try natural ways to bring on labour.. Ways like eating curry, walking does help, nipple simulation, and lots more.. U can get the info in babycentre.com. Some ways r just myths while u can always try, no harm anw..

yaer, the newbaby confinement food price is same as their webbie.. got any special discount? i booked it with my TMC FBI card got extra 15% discount..

Thanks, all. I can only take bb home after a few months so dun have to buy clothes and diaper, etc. yet as the NICU ppl will manage all that. My focus right now is to establish the milk supply so I can drop by the NICU and pass them bottles of EBF for bb. Does anyone know if the medela PIS has the best suction power?

Viman, i think u cna load a pump from the hospital. the hospital pumps are usually quite good. pls check with the nurse and i think u may not need to pay for it.

Maybe u cna get a baby hat/booties for your girl, at least she can wear these prepare by you.

hang in there, Jia you!

yaer, the one yr plan from cordlife is very expensive leh.. i remmebre paying only $270 plus for my yearly payment to stemcord!!

Angie - Am going to hv dinner at Imperial Treasure tonite! So co-incident [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] am done with Isetan shopping. Nothing much for me to grab for BB & toys quite limited too! Luv Robinsons member sale more..hehe

And I am buying my time at TWG Ion :p fren took her tea set n gotta leave soon to pick up her kiddo.

Apple: hee so qiao! But I love their dim sum there more...love their tea too. Btw wat is the fuss abt twg? I saw many foreigners there too jus now, I tot it is selling in supermarket too? But it look very classy and great for tea session. Ya lo isetan nothing much...lesser discounts for many stiuff too. And way too crowded...

Angie - I luv Imperial Treasure Peking duck & honey roasted pork [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] we quite regular to this place..but nvr try dim sum. Must try b4 pop!

TWG a good place to chill w fren n relax chit chat having tea. I luv their scones. Actually quite pricey but luv the environment & I can just sit here waiting for my frens to knock off n go dinner.

angie,

actually haven buy all the services yet... just went down to search for some information and discuss with hubby... cos i bought quite alot during my #1 so no need to buy so much now... somemore my neighbour gave me 2 big bag of clothes so no need to buy oso... hehe...

blurlemon,

hmm... got a $50 voucher from the leaflet they give... tink can use together ba... but i always tink tat just a few hundred more u can get a CL oredi which means another helper... so why just order the confinement food onli??

Starfruit,

Tink i misunderstood their plan... the price which i stated for all the 3 plans is the 1st time payment onli... after tat is every year $250 for the annual plan and $250 every year after 10yrs for the 10yrs plan until the bb is 21 yrs old... for the 21 yrs plan is onli the 1st time payment den after tat no need to pay liao until bb is 21yrs old...

any mummies sign up for the prudential prufirst gift?? is it necessary to buy?? cos i noe it doesn't cover the complications for VBAC... so not sure is it worth it to buy anot...

California Baby Calendula Everyday Lotion

I've got 5 brand new bottles of it.

Bought extra from Agape (online BP) previously, with the intention of using on my baby, but end up husband say the smell not nice...

Sian half...

So now i'm trying to clear stock, selling cheap... $12 per bottle, buy 4 get one free??

Anybody keen?

Can self collect at Punggol...

***Do not PM me, cos my email account with hotmail.com has been suspended...

Can email me at [email protected]

Vinman, congrats on the arrival of your gal. She us in good hand of the specialist so no need to worry. U must rest more aso. In the mantime, as what the others says is to establish milk supply.

Apple, I din buy much aso, only 2 pkt of nuk nipple wipes, 2 chunggington toys, 1 inverter lamp and 1 breast pump funnel. But I spend almost 6 hours in isetan n taka with my sis n mum. Break almost breaking!!

Yaer, I got mine confinement food after all the discount is 900 plus. Confinement lady at least 1.8k rite? And that one dun include the food/herb/ingredient for cooking rite? And with Ang pow everything. it's at least a thousand dollar difference. Haiz having baby in Singapore is all abt $$$.

Viman... Congrats !!

Btw folks.. are we give birth we can bathe rite? Kinda lost...cos we are "not" suppose to during confinement..

Yaer I was interested to sign up for prufirst gift too but drop that idea after meeting up with my advicer last week, he told me that plan was expensive and coverage not very gd plus is consider a high risk investment policy after u bb is out so quite useless

Elbarc personally I felt is important to bath especially if ure suppose to be the first contact of u bb and ure breastfeeding. Looking at other races doing confinement they got no restriction on bathing. Anyway if ur parents or inlaw dun allow u can bath using the confinement bath herb

Elbarc/Split

I tried not to shower as in the full shampoo+bathe during my first confinement, as I really did not want to have any "feng shi" problems when old. But cos I was bf, I secretly hide in the toilet and clean up my pte areas at least twice a day. Also, before I start every bf, I will wipe my breasts clean before latching baby on. Hygiene is top-most priority esp if you plan to bf... I only used the herbs twice during the "approved" shower times during the whole month..

V

I bought two nursing bras frm OG orchard point yday, quite a gd deal. Thinking of sourcing elsewhere for more. Maybe tmr going to the Babycare fair with hubby. Hope to complete my baby list by tmr...

Re: hospital

I've toured Mt Alvernia this morning with my hubby and both of us really loved the place. It's small and cosy and like what most of the mummies mentioned to me, they really don't market their best suites/rooms to us. They gave us practical tips on how to choose the rooms, and even advise us against taking up the deluxe room cos the $$ can be channeled to buying diapers. As a mummy to one now, I can truly agree to that! And the lady added that the hospital is zero-profit hospital, cos all that they earn will be channeled to the UK to build more hospitals for the needy. Hence, this is the only maternity hospital in S'pore that is not taxed by the government at all. TMC and other pte hospitals are profit-making hosps, hence some mummies may feel that they "market" their hosps in such a way. Of course when it comes to choices, it's to the individual.. But most impt, I love the quiet cosy environment. Their rooms are clean and rather spacious too. Only that they only have at most 10 single-bedded rooms, so v popular... Hubby and I decided to make Mt A our choice! =) TMC was good, but my experience with them was not so fantastic the last time.

Thanks, all. Am using hospital pump for now but will buy one for home anyway.

Medela PIS Advanced selling at KKH for $549. Original price is 700+. Should I get it?

blurlemon,

tats cheap... which company u get it from??? if $900+ i wish to get oso... cos the price is like abt 1500 for most of the company...

split,

tats wat i tink oso... if got cover wound rupture den maybe i will sign up... but it doesn't leh... so no point...

xuanmin,

did u tour the double bedded and 4 bedded room??? me oso considering Mt A cos it should be cheaper den raffles...

Any mummies use pureen detergent before for NB?? is it good??

Viman

I bought mine at $549 too. Good buy, can invest in one if ur budget allows.

Yaer

Yeap, I toured the double and 4-bedded rooms. They are quite spacious and clean. You can consider the double bedded.

Viman,

Congrats to e arrival of ur bb.

Yaer, yes there's tis grp on fb. U prob gotta wait 4 mummy to login Then add u...

My #1 born at tmc, for #2 mayb b considering mt a since heard so many comments abt tmc recently, gotta go 4 hospital tour to take a look first.

Had durian jus now... So satisfying [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I have the following items for sale, do PM or SMS me if you're interested [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pigeon Nipple Care Cream and Breast Shields

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5199564.html

Tommee Tippee Bottle Tongs

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5199785.html?1299721191

Pre-loved My Brest Friend Nursing Pillow

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5145163.html?1298474819

Used Medela PISA Faceplate

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5214044.html?1300087168

afternoon mummies!!! the thread is so quiet during weekend... hehe...

can any mummies pm me abt the FB group or send me the link?? thanks!!

Mummies : I've a weird experience last nite @ hm.. 10pm+ before I slept, heard bell tingling sound of an anklet in my room then slowly move to my headboard.. Initially ignore the sound, so fell asleep.. 2am+ was being disturbed by the bell tingling sound again.. Was in fear and start to perspire, saying my prayer in silent for an hour then the sound slowly vanish... Omg.. Then this evening, my maid asked me whether is there ghouls in spore.. Told her it's up to individual belief, she told me her experience at home taking care of my girl when we weren't around... Any advise what should I do?

dolly,

is tis the 1st time? wat my boss do can she engage some shifu to go her house and so some ritual... den the shifu will tell her wat to do loh...