(2011/05) May 2011

auroa,

ah. mayb that is why ur mum listens to her. coz to the elders, they will just try out coz they feel no harm and esp so since she feels her friend in the line and know herbs well.

mayb u just ask ur mum if u can go over to do confinement coz u wan some peace from ur inlaws and also ur hb nt ard but u dun need her to help out. tell her, at least u need the peace to handle the kids and confinements w/o having to deal with ur inlaws. let her know ur plan of may wan to engage CL and see wat she says.

vv,

my mum tells me coz #1 may be feeling jealous so keep seeking attention from us and dun wan the rest of the caregivers...sometimes my boy really drives me up the wall!!!

For baby size ho, i v kiasu...i ordered 9Mos. hahaha! so i feel when they are infant, they grow fast and can be chubby. as for toddler, as they are active, thus the growth rate nt so fast and they wldnt outgrow the clothes as fast as infants...but i cant resist the temptation to buy girlish stuffs...so i just get! hahaha.

huh!? 24mos nt short for him? How tall is ur boy? My boy is going 3yo and those 24mos he barely can wear le.

I am getting the pouch frm pupsik. do u have the link? if u dun have, i can pm u =)

Dolly

Yeap, I also worried in a way but I tried to put up a brave front la. Arbo later she thinks I cant do w/o her.

My hubby said, these maids will sure know abt the salary thingy very soon de. So now in discussion with my hubby, how much to increase. Whats yr plans?

Auroa

Wah, your hubby KNS leh. My hubby knows I cannot get along wz his mom anymore. He will never suggest this and in the 1st place, its his Mom whom refused to look after #1 for us and played us out 3 times last time during #1 when I ran out of ideas who to ask for help (I dun trust maids at that time...). Now I have no choice but to entrust maids + CCTV/Webcams. I tink I feel so much better.

My HB tu her back and said, "U want the whole world to see she is BF-ing ah in the living hall??" when she asked why have to be so secretive in the room to BF??!!! Dunno whats on her mind.

Good morning mummies!!

Vv:- yea I gt my cream alrd. Bird's nest I started during 2nd trimester le..

Oh is chicken soup enuff to 'pu' during our 3rd trimester??

Dunno whyy recently 'wei kou' become smaller? o_O shld that be norm.. =.= aren't our morning sickness coming back??

Angie:- Brew the red date, longan n dang sen? Ok. Thks!! I will ask my grandma abt it, haha thks!!

vv,

mayb ur mil nv bfeed before so she v curious to know hw u do it =P

anyway, i feel paisay if my mum is ard to watch me bfeed let alone mil!!!

kaykay,

diff ppl diff la...most will exp increase in appetite as we need alot more energy now but some may find their appetite shrinking. i am nt sure if MS is back but sometimes i feel nausea....and no appetite....but sometimes i have gd appetite...for me, i just eat when i feel like eating n if i dun feel like eating, i just try to eat later...

hi Auroa

i have also decided to engage confinment lady. by this time, the more popular and recommended ones on the internet are all booked and taken. some even tell me ppl book them as early as when they are 3mths preggy.

well, bo bian, will go for agency instead, i have called up PEM confinement agency and will be paying them deposit tonite.. maybe the plus point is thru agency, if u dun like this CL, they can replace with another one in 48hr. my cousin engage them previously and say they not bad.. depends on luck lor

actually my mum ok to do CL for me, but i have to go her hse as now she looking after my 8mths old nephew. then scared she too tired also and my dear hb dont want to go my mum hse stay (how can throw me there alone, right).. argh... then MIL offer to resign from job n help take care of bb, but i decline saying distance too far etc. actually is b'cos my MIL no easy to get along also de, she appear to be easy going but actually she is not and quite particular over little matters de.

so after confinement, i will bring bb to my mum hse everyday.. when ML over, my mum will take care of bb.

Auroa

Yes, I will have no choice if she really play me out. Now, I have to monitor her closely. I still have time. The most is I find her hanky panky, I will then send her straight back w/o warning. Then gotta train maid during confinement lor, or after... Now, see how 1st. Am a bit skeptical la towards her not informing her mom.... of cos but again I can save a lot more and she is quite trustworthy according to my hubby. So find chance, I will ask her again why no need inform her mom.

Then how? Whats yr plans now? Maybe u speak to your mom again?

Baby Pouch is like Baby Sling; without the metal thingy... I try to post a pic for u to see. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Val

My boy considered quite tall leh... But dunno why still quite long for him. Next time show u pix. Then at 1st I thought could it be the washing? But RL leh, cannot be lor.. So I think maybe the cutting for this style is the long or bigger de ba... I have some websites for other pouches de too. U wanna have it too? Quite nice leh..

val, actually we dun like her friend as we find her "sneaky" and not trustworthy type but no choice as my mum sees her as "best friend of the world"... i suspected my mum told her that i going to her place for confinement and her friend advised not to as she comes up in the daytime to my mum's place.. my elder sis and younger bro saw her before and once she saws then at home, she will "whisper" softly to my mum and my mum will "chase" my sis or bro out of the house as if they cannot let us hear wat they talking abt.. btw, i bought 6 to 12 mths clothings for no2.. hehehe.. thought bigger size is better as dun know how big the bb will comes out to be ... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

vv, quite angry w wat he said... he went off to work and left me in the house w CL althou he promised tat he will take at least 2 weeks to stay home w me for no1... after tat he said got CL, he went back to work. I told him tat his parents came unlcoking the door every morning and dun inform and he just said tat they wants to come and visit me and dun fuss abt it... even nowadays his parents comes up to our house, he will be staying inside the study rm facing his computer.. told him off tat if u dun want to entertain yr parent, dun expect us to lor.. he actually replied tat ask my girl to entertain will do.. feel like knocking his head off...

at least yr hubby will side u but my hubby "switched" off liao and he just listen and keep quiet nowadays... think he wait till i give birth and will stay to "rattle" again why i fuss/complain so much on his parents [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

u know late nite my inlaws came over to our house for dinner (i have agreement w my hubby tat if his parents are coming over for dinner, i will not cook as they always comment why so salty, so bland, etc... if their son cooked, they will comment like "tasted so good", etc) and my mil kept on playing the gu zheng music (she's learning it and keep on showing her hp recorded video for us to see despite we told her tat we r not interested... even my sil told her a few times tat she's not interested but my mil insisted tat she sees finished the whole video and insisted her grandchildren to watch too).. she played the music when we abt to hve dinner and i told her tat it's noisy.. think she got offended and replied me tat "like tat u also find it noisy" and i replied her back "do u think it's noisy" and she switched it off and kept quiet... think she's bearing w me now tat i pregnant (normal times, she sure kick a big fuss and wants the whole world to know she so ke lian tat her dil told her off)

Val/KayKay, my appetite yoyo one.. sometimes good (real good) sometimes real bad. but i think i am starting to have slight reflux and heartburn. will burp out acidic gastric juice [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Val

Best part is my mil BF all her 3 kids including my hubby lor. Maybe her time is; can let pple see boobs de lo... ^_^ KNS leh, she.

I also cannot let my mom see I BF lor, so pai seh. Siao de leh, she.

Melody_yv

Your arrangements sounds ok ah. Not bad. MIL always never good de lor to me. I find all acting like that.

vv - dentist in SG is super ex ler..not sure she will change her mind after 1 or 2 visits. Yes, we must let the maid know that we are not hard-up by their contribution. I also told my maid that I can straight away send her to agency without any word or two if she requested us to do so. And I'm fine with getting a new maid and train at any point of time. Haha..

My maid so far has buck-up after being "brush" by me. Over the weekends I scolded her again coz after we came back fr NTUC, she walked infront of me and I was talking to her, just she go ahead and walk without answering me whether she knows what am I talking. So I got so fed up and I shouted her said "hey u hear am talking to u or am just talking in the air?" Can't u answer me "yes mam, or ok?" as simple as that!

I got really fed up, so my hb told me do the same thing back to her. When she comes to me and tell me she wanna make phone call home, I'll just ignore and walk away..let see how she feels [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

auroa/vv,

PM u ladies the link for the pouch =)

vv,

mayb tt batch of RL 24mos clothes is quite big ba if nt will be short esp ur boy quite tall le. Yaya, do tempt/poison me by sending me the links! hehehe. Thanks!

auroa,

oh. okok. she doesnt sounds like a gd person...mayb u feedback to ur mum why she needs to whisper when there is someone else in the hse n sees wat she says =P

anyway, u are her daughter.try to physcho her i think she may give in?

ya, its gd to get bigger sizes le coz even if the clothes are too big initially i am sure they will outgrow in no time as they grow v fast during the 1st yr =) the RL is my first batch of clothes i got for meimei.

melody, is it yr 1st bb? if will be good to hve CL for no1 as 1st time mums, we dun know wat to expect.. that's wat happen to me... now tat i going to hve no2, i more or less expected wat to do and can do w/o CL .. only thing is tat the household like luundry to wash/dry to do lor... sigh, i dun know why, mils always seem so diffcult to get along with...

vv, i thinking maybe this sat or next sat to talk to my mum again... either look for a daytime CL to come over to my mum's place or i stay with her (including my girl as my hubby will be overseas for a week so i need to bring her with me) w/o CL... i actually very pei fu my younger sis tat she did her own confinement for her no2 althou she staying w her mil.. her mil dun dare to touch NB and leave everything to my sis.. my sis despite c-section, did all the laundry, take care of no1 and no2 (including bathing, feeding, etc).. her mil only helps to fetch her no1 to school and tat's all.. my sis also caters confinement food (she told me tat her mil insisted tat she knows how to cook confinement food and during for no1, she only got to eat mee sua with pig trotters or pork meat for 3 meals till her hubby told her mum to cook something else for her... so for no2, she decided not to depend on her cooking but to order confinement food instead).. i wished tat i can be as "tough" as my younger sis and able to cope on my own too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Morning all mummies!

I just had a big bowl of fishball noodles for breakfast, super yummy with lots of chilli! Do any mummies still drink coffee now? I was a coffee addict before pregnancy, but now cut down to half a cup a day. Tried not to drink, but if I dun drink, I cant go toilet...=(

Dolly: I am looking around for 2nd hand pumps/carriers too, but I guess it really depends on luck whether you meet an ethical seller/not.

Starfruit: I think you really have almost all different kinds of carriers...haa...thanks for the advice!

VV: Is the pouch very tedious? I saw some mums/maid carrying their babies around, but it seem strenuous on the shoulders. Is there any good baby pouch brands? I thought of getting the Pupsik beansprout pillow and the pouch too, but they seem to sell at a higher cost than others. Btw how to cook the chicken soup? Just put the whole chicken in and boil? Haa...I wan ding tai feng that kind of chicken soup...always wondering how they cook.

Val: Haa yeah I love online shopping too!!! Since now cant shop for pretty clothes, can shop for babies' one. Luckily I am not having a baby girl, if not I think I will spend much much more, girl's stuff are so much cuter. Baby boy's ones very limited, all blue & green.

Auroa: Hope your situation gets better too! Perhaps you can try ordering confinement food? Heard that natal essentials is good! I also faced alot of problems with my mum, she initially wanted to help me do confinement and take care of the baby and quit her job. But after that she said she feels more secure holding on to her job as she feels that when my kid grow up, she might have nothing else to do as she is quite young, in her early fifties. Alot of arguments and changes throughout the pregnancy....but I guess this is normal. In the end she managed to get one month unpaid leave to help me with my confinement. But I am still having big headache with the taking care of baby thereafter. I wanted to get a maid, but my mother and my in-laws dun like the idea. Hai....at a loss now....

Kaykay: Yeah! Brew red date, dried longan, dangsen tog for abt an hour. Drink twice a week, one of my colleague work in Hock Hua last time, very good for pregnant ladies.

vv : my hb and i have decided to raise her pay up between SGD20 to SGD40 as her current pay is SGD340.00. so if she's will ing to accept SGD360.00, will give her additional 13mth bonus as a selling point (anyway, we'll still save rather than paying SGD450).. if not, will pay her sgd380 instead.. will see how from there...

Auroa

My hubby sided me becos he knows very well abt his mom. I was totally put off & disgusted by her actions/gossips/unreasonable malke-up stories about me to the whole world. He knows I had been tolerating it. Actually we did argued over alot of times too even though he sides me de. He said he didnt sit down hv dinner wz her lah since I fell out wz her la. Said his mom alrdy stopped all the nonsense (stopped gossiping abt me, who believe???!!!) and asked why I rake up the past and why I cannot forget... Wah.... I got so fed up at times too. So I decided not to talk so much & complain abt his mom to him liao. I know I will not & cannot forgive & forget and thats it. She dun come disturb me & my boy @ CC. I already siam her, changed CC. See how long she wana act to be nice to my boy.

So maybe u try. Stop talking to your hubby abt your MIL liao. As long as u know u are right, just siam her and dun care abt her. U dun even need to entertain her. Its his parents, not yours. U should be hiding in the room wz yr gal, not him. Thats what I did last time.

Melody - my fren took from PEM too and the CL was quite good. I may consider getting daytime CL if my maid couldn't make it. Otherwise I can make do without CL at this moment. I keep my option open..hehe

My inlaws actually offer to help, but I rejected by giving lots of excuses :p haha..and my hb also don't buy their ideas of coming to my place when I'm doing confinement coz I'll be super stress with more ppl giving comments.

vv, my mil only bf her children for less than a mth so she might not know much abt bf.. she previously told me tat just let the NB suck abit will do and why i stayed in the rm for half an hr (actually i thought half an hr BF is fast liao leh despite she's knocking on my door and standing there talking so loudly on why so long and pp kept on waiting outside, etc... so stressful to bf when she's ard lor)

val, i thinking to tell my younger sis abt it.. my younger sis and me must join hands together then my mum will guai guai listen to us.. my younger sis super nagging (hahhaha, i also cannot tahan and i super good at tekan pp.. ops) previously my mum dun know to follow up on her medical appts, my younger sis can't persuade her and told me abt it and when comes sat, she got it fr both of us tat my mum so angry and said "ok lah, go go lor.. why so angry and talk so much" then she guai guai followed my elder sis to go for her appt...

btw, the pounch can put the NB in? some carriers must be at least 3mths then can use leh..

angie : yeah, it's really depend on luck.. fortunately, i'm lucky enough to meet up with quite a number of nice sellers.. even the pumps, the seller change most of the parts and used less than 3mths and sold me at SGD300... she also test the machine infront of me before we closed the deal... i've even bought a used avent steriliser, and used graco stroller.. and all are still working well... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

thank goodness i don't have to spend a bomb during my 1st pregnancy...

Apple

Wah, u very fierce. I like it. I thought am the only one fierce to maids. I know these maids cannot pamper de once loan finishes. Yesterday my maid got cheek to ask me if I bot rice as she forgets if she writes RICE on the "To-Buy-List". I told her no la. She didnt even write. I got fed up. I told her, I alrdy reminded her many many times RICE is very impt and dun wait till left little bit then ask me buy. So I told her, the next time she forget again, she will get instant noodles for dinner a week while we eat rice.

KNS lor, the next time u go right in front of her and talk to her, look into her eyes. These pple, ought to let them know we are the mam and not to be trifled with.

Yeap, my hubby told her do one tooth needs at least $500 each. So if she has 2 teeth to do, prepare to spend at least 1k. I told her I will bring her go check & see how. Then from there, she can decide. Else, dun waste time liao. Wat u think?

Dolly

Hee, my plan is to increase SGD20to SGD 360 also from the month she looks after my #2 in Sep. Then if she does everything well in the next 6mths probation, I may increase $10 again. See how it goes. I will have to monitor her performance. This is to make her work harder for the next 6mths after increment.

Wah, AWS ah.. We dun have la. But all her ang pow $$, we let her keep. So to me, its already sth EXTRA to her.

Angie

Its kinda tedious when comes to babies whom are 4mths & above cos they will be heavier. So have to maintain a good posture when using the pouch. Else yr back will hurt. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Chix Soup, I only put Wolfberries (Gei Qi) and Red Dates Seedless only to cook for 4-5 hours nia. So u can do the same. No need to put other herbs liao. I think ding tai feng de, they put some herbs in de. Thats why its more tasty.. Heehee [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Im also getting beansprout pillow too.

Auroa

Yeah la, thats why your Mil knows nuts abt BF. My MIL - Im skeptical lor, I think she didnt full BF them at all also. Thats why she can make those remarks. She dun even know the importance of BF or she probably forgotten all about it.

Wow, yr sister very capable and tough leh. I wish to be like her too! Haz...

Hi Auora, Apple, Vv

this is my first bb.

ya lor.. dun know y most of the MIL are not easy to get along. my one pretends to be nice n infront of everyone is nice nice de, but also say sacastic comments to me when ppl not ard or pass negative remarks.

heard a lot of negative stories abt MIL doing confinement, take care bb.. n since knowing my MIL is not someone so nice after all. i better keep my distance n maintain status quo with her . luckily after confinement, my mum can take care..

starfruit,

heartburn v xin ku de. try to take smaller meals but more often ok.

vv,

wah! ur mil bfeed her 3 kids! amazing coz tat generation i thot the gov actively promoting FM lo. HAHAA. mayb next time u try to be funi and ask ur mil if it was the norm for ppl to see her bfeeding openly n seeing her boobs =P

u reminded me abt beansprouts! i need to get my mum to do it then i go customise the cover =P

auroa,

have a gd chat with ur mum. ya, if possible, can get ur sis to be ard and try to persuade her also. jia you =)

the baby pouch, i started using it when my boy was 1mth++. just make sure to place baby flat and also use 1 arm to support as their neck is still v soft n fragile then. i think if use properly sldnt be a prob le.

angie,

i was a coffee addict before preg too but nw i cut off completely =)

hahaha! ya, for gals more things to get as more variety and sweet n cute and nice! for my boy i also got quite alot of clothes n stuffs for him liao...so i tink in future, my shopping expenses will be even higher!!

re: red dates and logan

those prepacked drinks type can or nt ah? red dates n logan quite heaty isit?

Angie, hehee, i can't drink coffee as dun hve the habit fr young.. so once drink liao, can't sleep.. think it's too powerful for me and sometimes will LS leh but i prefer to drink milk tea instead (althou i not supposed to as i'm lactose intorlerant and will LS but i will drink when coming out with friends which is once in a blue moon lah) my mum hve the same thinking as yr mum... her best friend recommended her to a school recently to work to clean up the blackbload/tables and chairs, etc and she said tat she prefers to work too... i find it good tat she got her own partime job and at least it keep her occupied for the day and some social life for her too.. i'm ok with my mum not being there for me full day as afternoon normally will nap with bb and no one in the house can sleep even better [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] oh, my mil been telling us to hire maid when no2 comes along.. actually she wants us to leave the maid in her house so tat the maid can do housework for her but i already turned her down.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] at first, i thought of ordering fr natal essentials too but now putting on hold.. maybe wait till i talk to my mum and see how 1st...

vv, wat yr mil did, she also did the same to me which really pissed me off.. really hated her bad-mouthing me.. told my hubby and he said tat he dun believe till he heard it himself.. my neigbours told me abt it (otherwise i din even know) so i told him to check w neighbours but he dun want and said tat i so sensitive and complains alot after no1 comes... so angry tat i told him tat i will take care of girl and he will take care of his "mum" and if she cross over my lines, i will not be ke qi liao as my hubby always said tat he din hear this or know tat till the extend tat i feel tat i must stand up for my own... now i heard wat my inlaws said and i'm not happy, i will rebuke liao... since u dun bother abt my feelings, i also can't be bothered too (i put up with them for more than 7yrs and never said a word and i think it's really gets to the max and to my neves liao)

vv, ya, i agree she dun know anything abt BF.. hope our confinement this time round will be "smooth" w/o them ard.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

val, will do a chat with her to find out 1st [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i hve the Mum in Minds carrier too (bought 2nd hand) but hor, i not very good at using it... always hve to adjust till i wants to give up.. is the pounch easy to use?

hey girls can check with u grls what the rate of cl now? I didnt have cl for #1 and 2 since ex-maid qas quite reliable that time and for #2 i got confinement catering..this time round im quite worried cuz my this maid alway act blur and i scare later i not aware she run out meet guys again..

my mil was tell me she can get a neighbour to help and she's willing to bare all the cost..my temper during confinement was very bad and i alway give my mil dark face if she come over without any notice..will alway lock myself in the room and i really very protective dun let people touch the baby..i will get angry especially if my mil touch them..but on the other hand if is my own mum i will welcome her..my hubby alway said i very rude to his mum..so if can i really dont wan my mil or her fren to do my confinement if not sure alot of things de

auroa,

i think first few times will need to adjust here n there but once get the hang of it is ok le. pretty easy to use. mayb u see if u can borrow any pouch from ur friends and try it out before u get it? Or mayb can contact the seller and see if she can guide u?

Hi Angie,

i am coffee addict too.. didnt touch them for 1st trimester. now ocassionally drink half a cup on alternate days.. hehe.. have to satisfy the craving for this..

hi spiit,

the PEM confinment quote me SGD 1950 + SGD 168 levy = SGD 2118 for family of 3 (me, hubby & bb). they informed that the CL will also help to laundry the clothes for husband, cook dinner for husband and twice a week mop n sweep the house but priority of care will go to mother n bb.. bad thing is u cannot choose the CL, but if really not happy w the CL sent, they can replace with another CL within 48hrs.

so i hope i m lucky to get a good CL..

charges is abt the same as freelance. for Freelance, that time when i ask around is about SGD 1900 to SGD 2100. but by this time the hot favourite and popular ones are already booked (when i enquire ard Dec 2010). and i have heard of some cases in the forum whereby the CL take on overlaping jobs then ask their friend to go n b the CL. n only on the day of then the poor mummy found out..

split, i think the rate for CL is between S$2000 to $2,500 now.. depends whether daytime/stay in or local too... same here, i also dun like my mil to touch my girl and very protective to her and very rude to my mil if she dun follow wat i said... i guess it's quite normal to behave like tat when we doing our confinment lor... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

val, ya, i think i will do tat...

hving my lunch now and rushing to pick up my girl later.. times really flies and esp chatting w u gals.. really brighten my day [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dolly: u are so lucky. Till now everything we got brand new ones. Nobody pass to us too as ours is the first baby in both families. I should start looking out for 2nd hand stroller, carrier and pump..these are the big spending items.

vv: haa ook I will try, but it is the black chicken soup that is more 'pu' right? I shall go research on yummy chicken soup now...my aim is to cook like those in ding tai feng...n my husband will be in awe. Haa....

Val: wow u are so determined, but now if I dun drink I get terrible headache. Haa yup but it is nice to dress up your kids. I can't wait for my turn. Erm I dun think the packaged drink helps, brew yourself better. That is why I ask my fren too but he said pregnant woman need to take heaty stuff now esp in the later stage of pregnancy. U go any medical hall they know too, using this 3 ingredients n brew tog. But dun drink everyday if not really too heaty.

Auroa: actually tea we also must abstain from it ar? But it is really so hard to fight the temptation at times. Ya I also thought maid is better than nanny, at least can help to do housework. But me n my hubby very used to living alone, one more extra person I think very awkward too. But my mum working full time, that is why got problem. If part time still not so bad cos my work is flexible. Now dunno who to look after that, infant care is exp and not one to one, I m worried. Nanny also I can't see the baby, same. Maid a lot of objections from both families. And they dun wan the maid to stay with em, so if we go overseas nx time, also dunno wat to do. Headache...

Auroa

I think our MILs really KNS de lor. They like to boast abt how they had went thru la, blah blah lah. Then will say we are better life now and yet dunno how to treasure la and even say we refused to listen to them la. Actually last time I had been very tolerate liao, even nice to her. But no use de until we fell out, I realised she is just a piece of SHXX. Haz.

Auroa, I think u have to think for yourself liao. Last time I always scared this and that when I had my #1. Until one of my frens reminded me, what is there to be "scared" of my MIL when the child is mine. I can decide what I want to do. Then I wake up, realised I had been giving in too much to her liao. Enough is enough. So thats the limit when I finally voice out and marks the end of our MIL-DIL r/s.

Try not to talk to your hubby abt your MIL anymore unless she is too much or doing things even in fron of your hb to you. For mine, she didnt do in front of me BUT behind our backs. And initially she already drove my hubby to the limits liao. Thats why later stage when I fell off wz her, its easier for him to undstd how I feel. U have to let your HB undstd your feelings. If needed, then speak up to him.

And best part is - my FIL's mother also dun like mil. So can see what type of person my mil is also. She dun like to go to her inlaws place every time CNY. So its the same like how I feel.

Val

Yeah la, I cant believe it also lor. She didnt tell me personally. Its my hubby who told me.

Dolly

If the maid deserves the increment, then we can give.

Melody: *five* to our similar addiction. And certain food just have to go with coffee, if not it just doesn't seem right. But I dunno hear from where, some old ppl saying drink coffee baby will be tanner. Just praying this doesn't happen.

Val/starfruit:- don't u all follow certain time table for breakfast lunch & dinner?? I follow 9am breakfast, 2pm lunch & 7pm dinner.. Cos I am afraid baby hungry.. Val, sometimes we really don't feel like eating/bloated but we might not know, most probably our baby is alrd hungry =( Starfruit, ur condition seems serious, reflux gastric acid!! I only allow myself to burp & try to keep my food down in stomach..

RE: MIL & breastfeeding

As many of u all aware of my situation, I alrd move away from my husband side & decided on the separation alrd. Cos I really can't tahan my in-laws. Now i felt relieve with my parents side as they r all supportive & I don't have to cope with the pressure of my in-laws.. Some MILs are just so hard to handle.

I even have breastfeeding issues way before with my MIL. I argued and say that I will prefer not to give my baby water during the breastfeeding period & hope that they obey to it.. They don't understand the reason behind some decision we made & claim that 'if human don't take water den will die'. =.=!! They always think that they know better den us, but in fact, everything they base is on their past experience.

Now that times have change, technology & scientifically improvements really proves to have impact on our life.

I even swear to my hb at the moment when the argue broke up, that I will verify with my gynae the next appointment, end up I won, babies can survive on just milk from breastfeeding exclusively without water fed.

Like what the gynae agree with me, feed abit is ok but infants shldnt be fed large amount of water as they have hard times digesting the salt in water and might dilute their blood..

Now that I am nt living wif my in-laws anymore, I am more ease that I can raise my kid in my own ways without worrying abt anything.

angie,

hmm...duno le..for coffee i can curb the temptation but nt for soft drinks. hahaha.

i thot last tri suppose to take abit of liang things? i lazy to brew le...probably wait for my parents to do tat during my confinement. hahaha!

vv,

okok. give her benefits of the doubts then =P

kaykay,

actually baby dun feel hungry de. they absorb watever nutrients tat we eat thus per day we only need 300extra calories.

i think one of the mummies here have asked the gynae and the gynae said the same too. i try to stick to a timing like weekday 9++10am for bday 2++ for lunch n 7++8 for dinner but at wk sometimes too bz/stress till i dun feel hungry. at hm, esp over weekends, have to jaga #1 so will settle #1 first before feeding myself...

Hi all... have started my bb shopping n almost finish buying wad is required.. hehe

Had book post natal massage with Origins Jamu too..

Anyone else interested? If sign up with frens.. will get some freebies..

Kaykay

When bb are on BF, they dun need water at all.

And when bb born; some mommies may not have BM straightaway and bb can go w/o milk for a day or two. Its normal as they already have stored 'nutrients' in their body while in our bodies. BB will also lose a bit of weight from the day they born and discharge. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Hope this info helps; in case your inlaws come and disturb u again **Touchwood**

Val

Haiya, I dun care abt her liao. She better dun disturb me especially during my confinement.

Eh, I started to feel quite sick & feverish liao. Think I got the cough & flu from my boy leh. He started to have a small ulcer on his tongue. So worried if its hfmd cos according to cc teachers; hfmd is BACK!!

angie : actually i've to checked with the seller on the condition 1st before buying it, so depends on the integrity from the seller le.. true, those items are indeed big spending items.. so it's not necessary to get 1st hand if you manage to get a used and good condition..

vv : ya lor.. so far i find that my maid is really good enough, dare not complain further.. though there are times, she can't think straight or get things wrong too.. nothing to hiam about le..

Dolly

Yeap. Just that sometimes they fail to use their common sense and like to assume. Other than that, maids are fine as long as they kuai kuai. When does your maid contract ends de actually if she finishes 2 years? Mine is on Nov this year.

elbarc,

wah! tats fast! i am waiting for robinsons/taka baby fair. anyway, mostly the small items to get.

vv,

taken ur lunch?

ya. just heck care her nw la. anyway, i think all out temper be fury during confinement. hehehe.

oh dear, do drink alot of water and try to monitor urself ah. if really nt well, see doc and take mc ah. i am feeling tired...thot of taking mc but i cant!

Haiz...HFMD...2 cases in my boy center...damn worrying...

Val

Yeah lor, I have ulcers in my mouth + tongue. I dun think mine is hfmd la on my condition. Becos hor, I experienced liao. Hahahaaa... last time kena 3 times from my boy. It will always start with fever 1st de. Just that now preggy, worried if kena then will be more troublesome. **Touchwood**

Aiyo, I must start not to share things with my boy now le... OMG!

U also, must not share with your boy. And remind your boy to always wash hands.

I will ask gynae for MC tomorrow as Im going for my visit tomorrow. Why u cannot take mc?

Vv:- yah I know that long before I am pregnant from one of my friend who was pregnant. So I argued with my in-laws when I am 3months preg saying that baby don't need water at all when we BF.. End up I also prove myself right on the next gynae visit. Now I alrd cut contact with my hb & in-laws (totally), I not scare they come 'disturb' me anymore la.. I also not intend to let them know when my boy is born & str8 appeal for my baby custody once I finish my confinement & go out to work.

I am a mother & a father & shall raise my kid at my own right ways & means. =D

母亲是伟大的!! =D

Kaykay

U will succeed de. JIA YOU!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

vv,

mayb u too heaty thus the ulcers and also the feverish..but better see doc le...

ya, agree lo. now we preg if the lit one dwn with hfmd we also at risk le...then also v xinku for them and us! Now i always check my boy's hands n feet coz i am worried...ya, once hm will bathe/wash his hands n feets at least.

i always forget nt to share with him le...esp feed him i will use my lip to test if its hot...=/ then his porridge if he cant finish i will finish =/

oh ya, ur gynae apptment tml. must be looking fwd to it. hehehe.

haiz...i 1 woman show nw le...v hard to take mc coz end of the day, i am still the one clearing the wk..=(

like today, i am v v tired actually and wanna wk frm hm but thot if anything happens i still have to go back if needed so i just come in =(

last fri i dropped my boss an email. told him i wanna take leave and ask him who will cover my wk since i am 1 woman show...then also remind him i have 12weeks or lesser to my edd...ask him to expediate in getting someone in so tat i can do proper handover n guidance in order to ensure smooth ops...

kaykay,

all the best and jia you =)

vv : her's contract ends on mid nov too.. so coincident... so when are you intend to discuss her salary for the renewal? do you intend to let her go on home leave? i'll let her go back around mid oct for two weeks then come back to renew permit.. my agent advise me not to discuss her pay now..

Hi Mummies, seeking advice from you all again. Last friday i was having fever and flu and my company doctor prescribed some medicine for me. I took but the fever did not subsided so i called up kkh tps to make an appointment to see my gynea. They said that my gynea dont work on sat and told me to eat the medicine my com doc gave me as fever may take some time to recover. If i really want i can come down to kkh labour ward. Today i have recover from fever but still having flu and coughing badly, so i called up tps again they said that my doctor is not seeing patient today ask me to see a GP will do. If not i can come down to kkh labour ward to see doc. I told the nurse that i just want to check if my baby is ok as i have been falling sick for so many days. She said that the medicine GP give is ok wont affect the baby. Im not sure if i should believe her. What will you all do will you go down to the labour ward so worry about my baby.

vv - I think fr now on I gotta be very firm and fierce towards this maid or else she "climb" on my head! I just found out she only drink approx 500ml water a day, but she drinks 4 cups of milo & tea!! I told her a tin of Milo only cost me around $13 and 100 tea bags cost $4+, and a kg of sugar merely $2 only but all these gonna kill her medical result when she hits 6 mths.

I spoke to her when I found out in the afternoon..the very nite she drank tea again before she goes to bed. I got fed up, next morning I ask her she doesn't understand my point issit? If so, I'll not replenish Milo & tea bags once the current stock finish until she pass her medical. Irritating lo..

She said when she was working in the middle east, the family will drink ceylon tea after each meal, so she already used to it. I told her yes, that's y she has the here pain there pain prob coz tea is no good especially for ladies. She shd change the habit now since nobody at home is drinking ceylon tea except her.

My colleague advise me stop buying ceylon tea, and buy her green tea instead.

And also stop buying cookies & biscuits coz she lazy to cook, take very lil rice but after that take cookies & biscuits as tea break & supper! haha..good life hor

Val

Maybe cos I ate too much chilli. Dunno why, this time pregnancy made my mouth like very numb like that leh. I can tahan very spicy foods leh... So weird. If we kena hfmd, there will be no risks to the foetus but if we had it during our delivery, it will pass to bb lor. So haz....

Eh, I also keep forgetting and thats why I kena so many times from my boy. I read; those who had got it before will NOT get immune to the hfmd de. Cos there are numerous virus/types of bacteria in hfmd. So if get before will still get again. U have to be extra careful never share food with him now. I still remembered the 1st time I kena hfmd was I sent my maid home. It was a torture. Fingers & Feet so pain but gotta do housework [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

So for this period, u just have to waste the food if he cant finish. Dun eat the remaining le.

Yeap, I have been waiting for so long for this gynae visit. Finally I can see bb again. Hope to see more weight gain on bb and not me lor.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I just finished one cone of ice cream sob sob, our boss bought one big box of magnum!

Haaa... it must be very hard on you. Try to rest in between your work. Sneak in here to TCSS la, will feel more relaxed :p My back also hurts more nowadays. Remember not to sit for too long; stand up & walk abit.

Try to remind your boss again by next week again. I was near to getting my partimer - in the end, the gal cant make it due to internship. So now, waiting for another gal's answer by end of this week.

Dolly

Wah, so coincidence! I already told her I will increase her salary but have to discuss with my hubby 1st. Now her concern is to make her teeth. I intend to increase her pay by Sep when I go back to work. She also earn liao becos her contract ends in Nov, but I increase her pay 2 mths earlier. She never asks to go back for 'holiday' la...

Eh u agree to let her go back? She asks for it de ah? Uhmmm, u must talk to your Agent leh, how to make sure she comes back to Singapore.

Val/vv:- Thks!! We will jiayou tgt so to achieve happiness for our family & child. ^^v

Faith:- If u are really concern, u can always drop by kkh 24hrs O & G clinic for ur fever & flu etc. But I guess now that we are more den 22weeks preg, they will ask u to go str8 to the delivery suite to monitor ur baby. Btw, fever & flu shld be quite common for us. If for me, if its serious enuff, I would choose to play safe den sorry, go for a check up..

Val:- yah, hard for u all FTWM. Have to work & hard to follow-by a fix meal timing sometimes.. I guess just eat the necessary nutrients daily will do..for the baby.

But I read from babycentre that when u might nt feel hungry, ur baby might be. Sometimes when I miss my meal timing, my boy will keep poke poke poke my tummy to remind me to eat. Lolx..

hi Angie,

agree, certain food just must go with coffee to get the right satisfaction.. hehehe. heng my hubby say ok , can drink some coffee, nevermind de..

Hi Val,

i can curb temptation for soft drinks but not for coffee.. :p

hi Kaylen,

jia you and take care ya..

hi Faith,

since the GP know u preggy, the medicine prescribed should be safe for pregnancy. i understand from my gynae the being pregnant our immune system weaker hence if fall sick will take longer to recover. also b'cos when pregnant GP cannot give very strong mediciation that y it takes longer to recover. i recalled that during my 1st trimester, i was coughing badly for almost 2mths and seen doc so many times. in the end, i took birdnest and guess wat my cough slowly recovered.