(2011/05) May 2011

oh btw, understand we can drink the chinese chrysanthemum drink and barley drink.. but others not advised as it may b too cooling le.

Faith

I suggest you go to KKH straight to get a quick check even if they gonna ask you to go labour ward. Yr Doc sounds very busy leh, where got dun see patient de. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Apple

Haz, these maids very greedy de, I realised!

They love to eat & drink a lot of things de leh.

Last time I also realised how come her coffee so fast finished. I questioned her, she said she drinks about 3 to 4 cups of coffee. I told her its wrong becos she will fall sick due to heatiness. I told her the coffee she has can last her a month. I only buy coffee for her once a month. If she continues to drink more each day, ended up no more coffee for the rest of the month, its her problem. Then she asks to buy cereal corn flavor de, using her own $ la. I reminded her, drink once a day only.

She has biscuits - 2 packs of biscuits a week leh. Can u imagine?! She is very skinny lor, but loves to eat/munch! So she pai seh mah, she said will use her own money to buy. So I said Ok la. Yesterday I saw London Roll got coconut cream flavour. Guess should be quite nice. So I bot for her (her $$ of cos); told her dun always eat biscuits, sometimes change a bit eat mini cakes for teatime. Haz. I decide to change abit here & there for her, not say I give in to her. I dun wan her later give me excuses tis & Tat. Cos last Friday, I took all her ang pow $ and keep for her. Only give her $2 to keep. Becos she asks to buy extra bread for herself for teatime (when she already have biscuits at home) when I asks her buy lunch for me. U see. This pple wont get satisfied de.

So I tell u, very simple.

U tell your maid, u will only supply one type of drink for her once a month - YOUR $. Either a small tin of milo OR a box of Tea Bags. She can choose. Either one. Any additional drinks she likes, she will use her own $ to buy, its her $ anyway.

The next thing is, u tell her, in the event she falls sick, u are not forking out $ for her medical expenses. She has to pay for herself. U only in charge to pay for her BI-YEARLY medical check-up nia. Give it very straight to her.

Lastly her teatime food. She wanna eat biscuits or whatever foods, u tell her she can use her own $ to buy. Buy during the time u do marketing with her. And tell her, only buy 2 packets maximum per week. And remind also, not to feed your gal her biscuits.

The last time I scolded my maid for giving her own peanut biscuits to my boy cos my boy was alrdy coughing badly.

apple : your maid very greedy lei.. wow koz, every meal must have ceylon tea.. last time, before i change to this current maid.. she's also very smart and "tham jiat" too.. if my mum's preparing "good" dinner then she'll cook more rice otherwise she'll just eat instant noodle..

as for current one, she's a small eater.. coz we gave her a tin of cookies and a packet of coffee.. we'll only replenish for her every month if she's finished hers...

vv : i agreed to. my agent has told me to let her go back while i withhold her pay and reimburse her airfare once she's back to work.. anyway, she missed her children too.. so allowed her to go home for two weeks..

Kaykay,

I am in the same situation as you - no appetite and sometimes feel nausea before/after food. I checked with my gynae few days ago. She said it is common.

I will brew some longan and red date as well. Thanks for all the tonics posted here. Really helpful advice. thanks!

hurray! I should be able to collect my new maid on Wed or Thurs. Seriously hope she will be a huge improvement to my other helpers coz this time no one will be helping me with confinement.

Angie: Do u have the contact of Mdm Ida? I used Java massage for my #2 as opposed to #1 when I used Malay massage. Found Java massage to be much more effective and lost weight very fast.

Dolly

Okie, if u hold on to all your Salary, then she will surely come back for u.. Heehee. I find that those have older children de, more mature. Am sure your maid will come back, in this case. Cos they wan earn more to support her kids.

Bunnymum

Longan Red Dates Drink is much better if u drink during your confinement. For now, u should drink more water and more water. Longan Red Dates Drink is heaty. Our bodies are very heaty le by now. Last month of the pregnancy, u must start to drink young coconut till u deliver.

Emily

Thats good news! Congrats! Which country are you getting from? And the pay?

As for Jamu Massage, thats what I heard too.

faith,

if ur co dr knows u are preg, the med prescribed is safe for preggie. so far, aft i see gp, i will see my gynae and he will verify that the med are safe. both the times i chk with him he says normally the med are safe de.

otherwise, get the nurse to take dwn the med name and have her verify with ur gynae and call u back.

vv,

hmm..for the time being, try to cut down on chilli till u get better ba. preg hormones do funi things to us. hahaha.

haiz..pray hard hfmd go far far away...

ok, thanks for reminder. actually throwing the reminding food away is simple. hahaha. just tat when i feed him, out of habit i always use my lip to touch the food to make sure its nt too hot.

1 ice cream ok la. dun worry. hehehe.

Ya. whenever i can, i will pop in here lo. if i am really tired, shall see how and try my luck by asking my boss is i can wk frm hm...at least i am still working just tat if anything, i have to rush back to office only...

yup. the reason why i emailed my boss is coz of B&W! hahaha.

Val

Yeah la, dun test the food liao. I was like you too in the past. Now I will just add a bit of lukewarm water to his rice to make sure its not too hot. Tis is becos I let the maid feed him; I disallow the maid to blow for him ma... Heee... So maybe u can try let it sit for a while first before feed.

Yeah, am getting more tired nowadays too. Now I can understand why some preggy women can take one month ML earlier than EDD to rest. I wont do that la of cos... save more for after birth.

Now I feel like vomitting. So FULL cos I drink a lot of water also.

B & W very impt now. So maybe chase again by next week. Sometimes chasers can do wonders [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

vv : well thanks to my agent whom advise me about this strategy too... otherwise.. ya she's 4 kids to raise.. the elderst one's 13 and the youngest one's 3... worst still, her hb's getting another wife and she's intend to divorice her hb.. so she needs money to support her children...

Dolly

She is like my neighbour's maid last time. Worked here for umpteen years and then after that; her husb got another women. She div him but yet continued to work hard until the kids past 18 years old. Then she retired and went back to Indo.

emily: wats the diff b/w java & malay massage? i need contacts for massage too.

how long after csect to start massage? during #1, i started only abt 2 weeks after cos gynae dun rec

kaykay, also FYI, actually NB has enuff reserve to last them a few days after birth. And you are right, we dun feed NB water as this dilutes thaier blood. but if u r feeding FM, can feed very very little bit of water on hot days (scared dehydration) our BM seperated into 2 parts fore milk and hind milk. FOremilk to to quench their thrist and hind milk is to fill their tummy. (milke texture will sure from watery to thicker) so make sure u let bb drink both fore and hind cos if they dun drink enuff hind milk, they won;t put on weight

Dolly, i wanna confess to you, haha i caved in and bought bottled hua yan from YES..hahah cos i cannot handle all the boiling every week. will alternate between the boiling and the bottle BN.

vv,

hahaha. ah, coz ur maid feed him. I usually add soup to rice or he takes porridge so i nv add water lo. hehehe. mayb i just blow slightly longer than usual la. hehehe.

Yes. nw 3rd trimester le, no more honeymoon period...will only get more clumsy and heavy and tired! hahaha. Yup, same here. I will try to tahan as much as I can before delivery and the whole 4mths aft baby arrives =)

aiyo. dun drink too much at 1 go ah. pace urself =)

ya. will cont to chase him every 2weeks in case he finds me fan! But at least i did my part to chase n remind him and let him know wat to expect if he wans smooth ops aft i go on leave! hahaha.

hi mummies to be

i have a playpen from a friend but i have bought my own.

Brand new, unopened, still in the original package.

Far east floral selling at $139, letting go at $99. self collection

Please PM me if interested

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5135050.jpg]

Val

Aiya, I only recently let go when my boy reached 3 years old last year. I always feed my boy since young de. Cos I dun trust all these maids. Even until now, when I see how my maid feed my boy, I will vomit blood. She will take that spoon of rice and chase after him like any other maids - Which I dun like, u know. Just that now am preggy, I really no strength to say so much liao. Only sometimes I will ask my boy to come over and I will feed him the very last mouth while Im having my dinner.

At times I feel that kids w/o maids could be better-managed. I rem when I was maidless for about 8 weeks plus, when I stayed @ home wz my boy alone, he very kuai de. But when maid around, he is like a mad boy like that... Maybe u use the fan to blow at the porridge awhile but DUN STIR. Just blow the surface nia.

Eh I try to drink more water la, so that tmw gynae visit wont kena high sugar urine test again. Hahahaaa... Sianz. Scared leh. Last week I do GD test, the nurses told me gynae will call within days if got concern. So far TOUCHWOOD, didnt call me lah. My hubby scares me by saying gynae dun wan call me cos since seeing me in a week's time mah. I smacked his arm lo, say he always scared me. Ughh!!!

Eh, ok la. Fortnightly not bad le. For me, one of my kind colleague had been helping to check for partimers. But if this current 2nd one also cannot make it, then I really gotta depend on my HR to find liao, means all the lousy candidates.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] CHAM!

Starfruit:- Yes, thks for the detailed info on breastfeeding!! My gynae also told me, its ok to give a lil water to rinse the baby mouth or a slip.

But starfruit, hw we know if its hind milk or fore milk??

vv : she told me that she will work till the eldest one finished high school education.. could be working for another 5 years or so...

starfruit : aiyah... so do you have much birdnest left behind?

vv & dolly - I think is my mistake coz after so many years of having maids, I don't restrict much on their diet. I make sure they have sufficient food at home. To be frank, my old maid doesn't have this habit of munching biscuits & having tea breaks or supper. So I also take thing for granted when I change to new maids. Only recently I noticed 1 tin of milo is finishing in a month's time I got big shock coz is the big tin I think 1.5kg!! And she has been with us for 3 months and I already replenished 3 big tins of biscuits & 4 tubes of digestive biscuits! Plus 200 lipton tea bags

vv - I agreed not to provide too many varieties of food & drinks. When I talk to her, I told her is not the $$ concern but more for her health. I bought lemon ask her make juice & put some honey to drink coz I see her taking biscuits I scare too heaty..my colleague laugh at me said I spoilt the maid.

And she is a smart Phil who knows medical expense is on employer and not maid and she has a set of contract with her. So I can't tell her that if she falls sick, she will have to bare her medical expense..this is against the law.

apple : aiyo... you really has spoilt her... the moment she stepped into our home, told her about our house rules and what are those she can take & ask for our permission if she's need to take other snacks.. so from day one till now, she's really well behave..

vv - I guess u gotta discipline your boy and also make known to maid that don't allow your boy to run around when it is meal time. I do not allow my girl to walk and eat other than dining table. Even drinking milk, she can either drink fr the dining table or the bumper mat if she is watching tv. Not on sofa or any other place.

Lately I think my temper getting bad..so my gal has been whack by me a lot of times when she keeps bargaining this and that unreasonable. Also, like many said bcoz they wanna seek attn due to #2 coming along..

dolly, hahah, 2 boxes.. cos one of them, type its the purer type got a lot of bird feathers.. hahaha i gave up on that box. how to really clean the feathers out. i sat down and clean like for 40mins and i can still see them. now i alternate lah, once a week the raw BN, other weeks, i take the bottled ones.. heheheh

Kaykay, fore milk is more watery than hind milk, u can tell when its squeezed or pump out.

dolly - I have set house rules off course but I never realised she is drinking tea/milo after each meals or before sleep ma..

So when I realised, I confronted her, she told me it becomes habit as she has been doing so the last 5yrs while she was in middle east. So, I told her is not $$ concern, but more like her health coz the drinks are sugar added, and since our weather here are hot and humid she needs more water rather than those sweeten drinks. After talking to her, she still can't take the instruction that's where I gonna stop providing all these and follow what vv said, buy 1 type of beverage per month that's all.

Val:Ya lo I heard last month must take coconut drink, but my friend who had 4 kids said it doesnt work all times, cos her last one she took a once or twice a week for the last month but still quite bloody.

Starfruit/kaykay: I didnt know NB cant take water! Something new to learn...ya first time i heard of the fore & hind milk too! Jiayou too Kaykay!

Emily:Sure I can pm u if u want, but the thing is she is fully booked till Aug, I cant get her for post natal too...=(

apple:: Your maid seems really spoilt, cant imagine how you juggle with all these...think if I m you...my temper will also get worse. But still, try to relax...happy mum=happy baby!

starfruit : alamak!! why did you get the one with lot of bird feathers? really waste of time... that's why when i 1st buy the bird nest, told the staff that i don't want to spend so much time in cleaning up... really time consuming.. if i were you, i will also give up too... even with my maid's help, i will not want her to spend time doing it too...

apple : at the 1st place, i already told her that biscuits/beverage will only replenish one month later le.. so if she has finish it before the timeline, that's her business...

dolly, its suppose to be very clean already, i mean those cleaner ones, min bird feathers.. but when i soak it i could see bits of it all around.. and i pick and pick and pick, its tiny tiny speaks. u r suppose to clean it until its absolutely clean right?? maybe i take a pic and show u.

i am learning from all your conversations on maid.. hahah keep all these info handy so i know when i do if eventually we go for a maid.

Apple

Wah 1 big tin of milo per month is ridiculous. Its not we wanna restrict but there is always a limit to their intake. Later they fall sick, make things worse.

For me, I already told her before she must drink lotsa water blah blah, less heaty food. Otherwise, medical expenses she pay for herself. So far, my maid OK la, touchwood. She havent fall sick badly except some fever once and I always standby fever medicine for her.

Of cos; unless sick due to really fall sick from natural circumstances, I dun mind paying cos its not exp. I give it very straight to her, she dun listen to me and do her own ways, she be responsible for her acts & pay for herself. Heeheee, but like this, she learns better. Previous maids so far, they initiated to pay for their own expenses cos 1 is her skin sensitivity; she insisted to see SKIN DOC. Smart hor.

Haz, I give up on my boy's eating habit. I tried umpteen times. With the maid around to feed, its tough. He only sits down with me when he is having his fav foods and the maid is not around.

I believe he will grow out of it but for now, I leave it. Becos I really no strength & very bad tempered like u said. I smacked my boy too. Haz.

Dolly

My maid was quite greedy. Got once she steal our house snacks and eat and then she admitted to me. Hahaaa, funny right. I told her, I had kept enough biscuits & foods for her. So she dun need to complain nothing to eat. Unless she wanna buy sth special, she can use her own money when go marketing wz me. Becos its her money.

apple: is ur maid putting on weight? One way i found useful is either i hint to her that she seem to have put on weight.. then comment on the milo. Or mayb is she falling sick easily - coz milo and biscuits can be very heaty. Or my mom will do it for me. Sometimes, it's quite useful when others tell her. "Woah, u have put on weight! Your mom must feed u very well." or "What have u been eating? You lok better when u just came." heheeh.. :p

Dolly:U dun accept pm, wanna ask yr opinion abt a 2nd hand freestyle breast pump. =)

Melody::You cant buy for baby now, can only buy when baby is born. Unless you meant the Prufirst gift. I got for myself too, if you wan can pm you the info.

Angie - yes, my colleague also told me she is spoilt by her ex-employer but come to SG, she has to follow my style. So now I told her drinking tea is their habit at middle east but not my home. So no more replenishment after this box finished till she is due for her medical checkup. As 200 tea bags by right can last 6 months with Milo as supplement..

vv - now I make her pay for her TCM tui na fr the next visit onwards coz I told her these injuries are not inflict in my home. If she needs to seek treatment in order for her to continue working, she has to bare it herself.

Emily - she doesn't put on much weight as she eat lil rice & dishes coz lazy to cook..but munch on biscuits & milo/tea. I told her insufficient nutient on food will make her weak and I don't want to hear her complain about head spinning..bla bla coz I supplement iron pills for her as well. If she doesn't want to eat proper meals not my prob.

starfruit : in fact i don't really clean except soaking the BN till it's soft to boil.. that's what the staff told me that cleaning is not necessary...

apple / vv : 1 big tin of milo is really ridiculous... me too, i also told my maid to drink lotsa of water. i even gave her a empty 2litre coke bottle for her, whether she drinks that bottle of water.. everyone in the house will know.. so she's quite obedient lor..

vv : each time we brought her out for breakfast, will asked her if she's want anything? she'll request for prata.. so we'll just buy for her.. warn her not to steal anything from home.. prefer her to speak up rather than stealing behind us.. if she did anything, will send her back..

angie : if the price is reasonable and condition is good, maybe you wanna ask the seller if she's able to change the parts for you... if the above all meet, why not?

Melody:Hi Melody, your settings dun accept pm too. =)

Apple:Aiyo, but I think you are quite nice to her already. If it is me, I dont think I will give in right from the start. You are like having to raise another big kid like that....

Yizhen:OH! u are going into labour on labour day! hee... I also dunno what does the packing list have to consist of, you are packing now already? You can refer to here, seem quite comprehensive:

http://www.babycenter.com.sg/baby/travel/packingchecklistbaby/

Melody: received ur pm, thank u...

Angie: hehe yeah my gynea say wanna make it happened :p ... thank u for the link as well...

Dolly:Ya the price seem good and the condition she says is great, but the problem is I dun understand the parts she is giving and if I should change them.

dolly - OK, she is quite daring and straight forward..that's y I told vv I cannot tell her said if she falls sick she has to pay her own medical, I tell u she will lodge a report with MOM..haha She is not a "gundu" maid, she is someone smart la and somemore with 5yrs middle east exposure.

Now I'm trying to control tight coz I don't want her to think she can climb on me. Like when I talk to her if she doesn't answer me I'll immediately stop there and shouted at her said "do u hear me talking to u?" "Can u acknowledge?"

Apple

Yes thats the way. If she got sick becos example, got from our kids and or, K, we can pay for it. But if she fall sick or whatever due to being stubborn and all, then really too bad le leh. Its not our liability anymore, make them pay so that they will learn.

And tell her; stop comparing with her ex-employer. Now she is working for u; she gotta listen to you & abide your rules lor.

Dolly

Yeah lor. I made very clear house rules to my maid on the 1st day. I got handbook for her de, I did it myself in 2 translations. 1 in english & other in Bahasa. So she cant say she dun understand. She have to.

Emily

Aiyo, talk about weight. My maid put on alot of weight since a year ago she came here. She was so skinny. Now, her butts can "zai ren" liao. Heehee

vv - This week, I'm going to do inventory on jam/peanute butter/butter/cheese/kaya..hehe

And I'm going to do like what my colleague did for her maid, seperate those she can eat with those belongs to us in the kitchen cabinet..coz normally I just get her to arrange all the same types together.

Also, will tell her if she can't change her habits, I'll let her go..best she can go back to middle east.

Oh ya, Sat we were at United Sq, she asked me "mam, can u buy the steam cake for me?" I said can but for your tmr b/fast. My hb said aiyoo 80cents cake I also restrict her..so now I told him see don't spoilt market coz she just taken lunch, 4pm asking me buy steam cake for tea break? And I myself don't even have tea break? haha

angie : if based on the specs on this webpage:

http://www.medelabreastfeedingus.com/products/breast-pumps/463/freestyle-breastpump

What’s Included

Attractive tote bag

2 replacement bra adapters - universal

2 replacement bra adapters - hook & eye

Support belt & extension

2 - 24 mm SoftFit™ breastshields (check with seller)

2 breastshield bodies; 2 membranes; 2 back caps

1 set of tubing (check with seller)

4 - 5 oz breastmilk bottles, lids & travel cap (check with seller)

Wide base slow flow nipple

Rechargeable lithium-ion battery

Power cord & charger

Contoured ice pack

Removable cooler carrier

Instructions & quick start card

Breastfeeding Information Guide

apple : one of the reason why i don't choose the maid from middle east as well as with experience... once chosen ex-sg maid, too difficult to control so change one without experience..

vv : me too.. i even made her sign on the house rules (my copy).. so she can't play any prank on me.. when she mentioned to me she wanna buy hp, i used the house rules to shut her up...

apple

Yeah la. U see, its not that we wanna do until so JUE leh. U see, even we MAM work in Offices; we go business trip, we take Eco Class or Biz Class (if discounted rate hor) the most nia right. Stayed in normal hotel nia right. Our Bosses take First Class or Premium Biz Class right? Our bosses stayed in 5 Stars Hotel right? So surely there is a difference. Like my maid, the coffee she drinks is the cheapest brand. Cos its bot wz my own money. We drink our own brands. If she thinks she wanna drink better brands, she can use her $ to buy lor. And she eats bread with butter. If she wants to have other spreads, can. She used her money to buy. But of cos only 1 can of spread. Not many types, she is here to work for me. Not for holiday lor. We already very good liao leh. We even plan things for them.

Me also dun have teabreak except becos now IM preggy. Bo bianz nia. Else, what is teabreak man?!

apple: for my maid.. since the 1st day she arrives.. we will buy food for her when we eat outside rather than letting her choose what she wants.. but when we are at home.. i notice those tibits i left open finish quite fast.. We allow her to eat what is open... Open n close one eye nia....

Actually what is the diff between Malay Massage & Java massage.. I thought its the same..haha.. I sign up Origins Jamu through my frens recommendation.. Not too sure what massage is that too..

Btw, heard from my cousin-in-law that she dont wake up n feed her kids at night.. she will feed them water initally n after a while they wont wake up.. anyone tried b4? Just now i went to my GP, he mentioned the same thing too.. her recomend me to buy "babywise". That book will teach u how to cultivate the habit in newborns...

Oh... heard from mum tat newborn dont use powder.. cos scared the powder will "fly" to thier nose..or cause "pimple" on their face. is that true?

Hi Yoyo,

thx for the advice! Young coconut is those green type or those small brown types? i love coconut but worried it might be too liang. I have spotting and threatened miscarriage during 1st trimester and abit of mild cramps at left and right side of tummy sometimes. Is it okay that I drink it? How often can i drink it?

Yesterday I attended Mrs Wong's class and heard her mentioning to someone it is okay to drink 3 times per week when I was walking out of the room. I wonder if it is okay for me.

Dolly

Smart girl. For me, I made it very clear to her in front of the agent - before I collect her. I told her NO HP & NO OFF DAYS. Every now & then, till now, I always remind her why she is here in Singapore.