(2011/05) May 2011

Hannah & starfruit:- what's a receiving blanket?? For baby what use?? I didn't know that need to bring so many things..

Always tot that deliver baby must wait till the baby wants to come out of the womb den can't get to prepare..LOL..

So it means its norm for mum to go to hospital on EDD and get ready for induce/labour?? I dunno lehx.. >< First time v blur.. Not experience like u all..

Pls guide me.. Lol..

starfruit,

wah. then u have 1 thing lesser on ur mind since already booked hosp n ward. for my gynae, he only allows me to book aft 32weeks.

ahhahaa. hows ur spring cleaning so far? ya, 2nd one is a gal. #1 is boy but i am ok with galgal wearing blue at hm la. anyway, 1st few mths will be hm bounced most of the time, nobody sees la. hehehe. BUT i will buy some pink clothes still la. hehehe. Gal also means will buy more clothes since more variety as compared to boy but wait till she is older then will get more. so far, those clothes frm my boy's time sld be sufficient.

auroa,

all the best for ur GD test too =)

kaykay,

it all depends on ur gynae whether he wanna induce u earlier than EDD or not. If c-sect will also usually be earlier than edd.

Mayb u can goggle on the things to prep n bring too. tats hw i find out when i was in my previous preg.

kaykay: Receiving blanket is for when you want to discharge and wrap bb in it. Coz bbs like to be wrapped tightly, i mean, the space is really small in our wombs. Most people would have a delivery bag prepared abt 2-4 weeks before the EDD coz bb might come out anytime during that period of time. Most times, gynae will only induce if you or the bb is in distress or if bb is still not out for a week after EDD.

hello mummies

haven login for a few days, my boy is sick over the weekend and I feel pretty tired.

Seems like baby's weight is bogging me down a bit. Last friday when to check up, my bb is almost 800g at 24 weeks.

kaykay,

usually hospital will provide bb a shirt and blanket. if u dun like, you can bring ur own to dress bb before going home.

Baby engage so early meh? Thought it will be later. Anyway my gynae oso do not tell me on this. Last check up, saw my baby gluping, so cute... my gynae say very rarely such images.

kaykay,

My boy is induced one day after edd as advised by my gynae. So usually depends on advice given by ur gynae to see what is best for u & bb

kaykay, for the receiving blanket, hospital will use it to wrap bb on discharge for u.just get a normal bb blanket and pass to nursery, they will dress bb for u and wrap in the blanket and pass to u for discharge. u can get the bb blanket everywhere, try to find soft ones and not too thick.

ya like what hannah mentioned, prep the bag about 2-4 weeks, if u are worried, can prep 2 mths ahead of edd. just put the bag in a place ready to bring with u when u need to admit into hospital. make sure ur hb know where the bag is or those who will need to send u to the hospital.

Val, yeah one less thing to check off my list. with the hospital booked, i can worry abt the rest. actually my thoughts same as urs, if my #2 is a boy, i would recycle my gers clothes too.. imagine, a boy in pink/floral rompers.. hahaha poor baby.

U will go crazy buying for your #2 ger ger.. hahah

But i think i need to buy a new romper for mei mei now.. let me go find.

I remember my #1 was so tiny, all the rompers was like so big for her!!!

Hannah, u booked your hospital too. The nurses at Dr Chua clinic was telling me its more expensive to give birth at Mt A.. but when i compared the charges, MtA seems slightly cheaper than TMC.. *puzzled*. Dr Chua commented that the team at Mt A is good. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

kaykay: bbpooh just reminded me, i think diff hospital provide differnt things.. for Mt A, we need to provide our own receiving blanket/bb blanket. i prefer to take my own, cos i can wash till soft soft before i let my baby wear it. if u r giving birth in TMC, i think they provide the blanket??

Oo.. Now I know alrd.. First time be-mummy so excited & nervous.. So it all depend on my lil one to decide to be induce(if overdue) or C-sect.. So those baby not induced they come out early can be anytime like waterbreak lo??!

Or if we feel contraction den know got to be send to hospital liao.. So many things... So nervous.. Hahas..

Hannah:- oo thanks hannah!! So much info from you.. =)

I guess I have to prepare the stuffs to bring to hospital 3weeks before EDD.. Btw how many weeks are u?? Gt GD test at ard which week?? Complusory??

starfruit,

hahaha. ok la. my boy wore pink but is plain pink no floral at all. hahaha.

anyway, i have clothes in neutral colors so i think unisex =P

i only intend to get those pinkish, cuties and sweetie clothes in 6mths or bigger sizes =P i think tats when i will start to splurge and spend alot on her..imagine all the nice nice clothes and accessories and stuffs =P for my boy, i can already spent quite a bit le, cant imagine hw many % of my salary will be spent on the kids' clothings n toys in future =P

as of now, will only get 2 new sets - 1 for discharge wear and another for baby shower =)

starfruit/kaykay,

yes. diff hosp provide diff things. for KKH, they dun provide baby clothes/receiving blankets for discharge..nt tat i recalled. however, i wore their gown during my stay in hosp. its bfeeding friendly.

for cases where its nt induced/c-sect, yes, waterbag will break then u got to go hosp liao.

dun be so kan jiong. ur gynae will tell u when u need to go hosp and how close the timing of each contraction sld be. are u attending any anenatal class? its v useful for 1st time mummy.

starfruit: I got the pre-admission letter from Mt A liao. Just that haven't sent in. Going to stay in the 2-bedder. Don't think it's necessary to have the 1-bedder.

kaykay: I'm now at 25 weeks. If you have a family history of diabetes, your gynae will probably ask you to take the test between 24-28 weeks of pregnancy.

bbpooh, i cant remember too, all my info is for 3 yrs ago, maybe now hospital provide other things. But i think the hospital pre-admission will provide info on what u need to prepare (at least for the hospital you are going to). I remeber i got that for Mt A the last time.

Hannah, i am going for 2 -bedder too. dun think i want to splurg for 1 bedder. anyway if need to i can alwasy upgrade later lah. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

can i check, strep test, isit compulsory with Dr Chua? or u have to request from her.

Ok, just checked from TMC website, they will provide the following for our new borns:

• baby vests

• disposable diapers

• toiletries

• a baby bag

• wrapping blanket

• a pair of mittens

bbpooh, actually good that TMC provides mittens for bb.. cos their nails can be sharp after birth so to prevent them from scratching themselves, i will prep the mittens. Booties cos its cold in the ward so keep them warm incase they blankets get loose. Mt A dun provide so I have to prepare myself.

oh mummies, i have a gush of blood coming out fr virginal while I was bathing earlier on... have contacted my gynae and he told me to monitor... if heavy bleeding, will need to admit in asap liao... currently bleeding hve stop... i remember tat there's one mummy who had bleeding but no pain/cramp encounter (me also dun hve it too)... no sure what happen.. only worry is tat if i admit, what will happen to my girl... gynae said tat tomorrow morning hve to go and see him and let him check.. hope everything is fine... hope bb wun come out so fast as only 22 weeks now... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Auroa : oh gosh! Hope everything will be ok! Does your hb knows about it? Why not ask your hb to take a day off and take care of your girl? Anyway, do update us after your check up.

kaykay/dolly, thanks..

dolly, hb knows abt it and will take urgent leave tomorrow... luckily his overseas trip is in march and not now.. otherwise dun know wat to do... now bleeding hve stopped... will monitor and wait for 2morrow's checkup..

Auroa, usually gush of blood near delivery is mucus plug but could be too early for it to come out now. Pls monitor if don feel well or feel any slight contraction just go hospital immediately dun wait till morning k. Worry could be low placenta n bleeding from it. Did u walk alot or do streneous activities today? Pls take care n keep us updated.

morning mummies.. so tired today and its only wednesday.

i am so addicted to this bugles snack now.. eat at this time of the day!!!

any news from auroa, hope she is ok.

i think i will go buy the bb mitten and booties this weekend + my CNY shopping!

morning mummies... mid week already

auroa, hope you are ok.

starfruit, there's robinson expo sale this weekend, so you can go and check out if you don't mind the crowd.

Morning mummies..

Morning woke up lower leg muscle cramp ~_~ stretch dao 'jin'.. Unbearable.. Hope weekend faster come =D

Auroa,

Please Take care and be strong!!

just to share, my contractions (now know its braxton hicks) hv started and i had sudden bleeding last week as well at work once and once at nite. i had already scheduled to see my gynae the following day.

he checked for dilation, infection and baby's stats... all appeared oki.. placenta was not low lying or appeared weak so all is good.

suspected piles or some freak once-off incident..

BUt be vigilant and hv your telephone numbers, family, hubby on standby.

for baby when bringing back home,

bring a set of clothes and essentials that are washed. plus a receiving blanket.

i think Mt A also gives a baby tub but that was in 2009.

Mummies, take care ya.. all of us have hung on till this far, we must jia you. totally understand how u all feel as I almost lost my bb during the 1st trimester too. Tried v hard to be careful but i guess sometimes cannot prevent. we must hang on spiritually!

my diet has not been healthy lately..any of u have any ideas of healthy snacks for home n office? tired of biscuits n bread

eh... i take cereal with milk when i'm hungry at night. I've been snacking less and i'm guessing coz of the heavy breakfast i take. Maybe can consider that?

hellooo everyone...

i m so freaking bz lately...hv to prepare stuff for handover b4 i go on ML..hai...so much load...sianz...nw not much time to log in....on off read abit..no time post..hehe

Auora, take care..do update us... =)

Pravina, u too...take care ah.. =) oh ya..i tink mt a stil provides d bb tub..hehe..i went for d tour 2wks ago..they mentioned tat they do provide..=)

bunnymum, mayb u 1 2 standby nuts,like almonds,walnuts, etc..but pls dun buy those w salt or honey. high in sodium & sugar.not gd...if can get those plain roasted or organic type.. =)

hannah, congratz ... can relax now ...

xris, me attending Mrs Wong's class on thurs ...

starfruit n mummies going for GD test, jia you .. u can pass one for the GD ...

mummies, pls take care of urself n the baby ... dnt overstress ...

kaykay, u wanna PM me ur email add? i hv a few chekclist from mummies... can email u ...