(2011/05) May 2011

dolly,

go go go. satisfy ur cravings during dinner later. hehehe.

waiting for my appetite to come back to me, then i will go for buffet! hehehe.

dolly, i bo really eat durians de leh...mayb eat like 2 3 seeds..i will like...oh...too much liao..enuff cun digest anymore.but duno y jus like durian mooncakes...hahaha..scarely i will hv durian crave coming soon.LOL

Val, durian mc i eat frozen ma.then 1st preg ma..blur blur..so duno can eat or dun eat..& 1st trim..so better dun eat such 1st lor..& cun store too long.so if he dun eat nobody eat liao...

lucky nxt yr...if mc festival come..i oredi over confinement..mus attack to cover it back..whahaha

dolly - I did [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] 1 normally dice 1 to 2 tomotoes depends on size. I peel the skin and deseed then dice, steam about 10min to let it soft and puree using saucepan. I grill cod fish or salmon then add inside the sauce together with brocolli, carrot bits & cauliflower. Lastly when serve add cheese.

U can use spagetti, pasta or macaroni.

Note: u can change the fish by adding mince beef/pork, or dice chicken cubes.

I usually buy interesting pasta - like disney char, animals or numbers [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] U can get it fr cold storage or marketplace @ paragon

Wah! durian talk and hair talk. i've not much craving leh. only sometimes mouth taste so bland i juz want to have spicy or hot & spicy food. other than tt, no special cravings.

i'm my son's stylist cos he wont let others cut his hair.

mei: i'm getting CL this time and hv already booked mine. for popular ones, pls start calling now. i called 2 last weekend, 1 already booked.

mudppie,

hahaha. hope ur durian cravings come soon =P

ah. okok. 1st preg usually more kuai =P ya, next yr must attack to cover back but cant eat too much too coz delivered liao cant afford to gain too much weight. hehehe.

apple,

wah. u v hardwking. i usually buy those bottled sauces. nw i must be more motivated to do my own sauce =)

dolly,

15mths can start her on cheese le. i gave my boy those craft cheese in slice form and he will eat on its own as bfast when he was abt tat age.

apple: i didnt know there's disney character pasta. tt's interesting! avail at all cold storage? at the dried pasta section?

val : so confirmed can they can eat huh? i dare not feed her with food with preservatives... she has been taking porridge for months... thought of changing her diets... don't know what to cook for her... so recently want to do pasta for her... so don't know what can/can't give her...

dolly - normal slice cheese or cheddar cheese. It is ok, my girl started cheese very early like 9 months old [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] buy those infant cheese..

Val - children not like adults, they don't have good taste, so we can do our own sauce. I anti bottle sauce coz lots of preservatives and they put in herbs which young toddler might not like.

Simply dice 2 tomotoes and steam then pour them into saucepan, add abit of water. I don't add salt, coz later on add cheese will have the salty taste.

dolly - to make your pasta more tasty, u can stir in the pasta mixed well with the sauce and ingredients, top with cheese then slot into oven for 5-8min. yummy!!

dolly,

yes. can eat cheese. =)

i used to cook everyday and dun feed my boy outside food till he was 2 or unless when overseas...nw, i am more relax le =)

apple,

true, bottle type alot of preservative but if nt often sld be ok ya. i choose those organise type w.o herbs de. anyway, only once. aft bottle finish i stopped le. kekeke. so whenever we go out to eat n i order pasta i just feed him =P

anyway, thanks for ur recipe, looks like i will be abit more hardwking liao. kekee.

apple : that's why i don't buy any bottle sauce for her... my mum / MIL wanted to buy those "mamite" sauce for her... told them no coz there's preservative in it...

so i just boiled & pureed the tomatoes then add in water & veg into it, is that rite? oh yah, how much pasta should i give her?

dolly,

the only bottled food i gave my boy was gerber bottled food coz we were travelling n oso the pasta sauce, other than tat, i dun give him bottled food le. i am v anti mamite coz to me its just v salty and i only ate it as a kid when i was sick and i have no appetite so i dun give my kid mamite =P

Ash - selected cold storage & marketplace will have. Otherwise, u can get it fr Da Paolo Gastronomia @ Paragon basement next to Marketplace. More varieties there on the shelf, u shd see mickey, pooh, cars, princess..etc

Dolly - u can start her on pasta with soup. If she is OK with the taste, u move on to tomatoes puree based. Stir the pasta with abit olive oil, so the texture will be better.

Lazy days, u buy Earth Best or Heinz Organic bb bottle pasta sauce then add on pasta.

Actually u can puree pumkin + potatoes and baked with cheese to serve her for a change. Add in egg and steam vege.

val : me too... i not only anti "mamite", there's another one called "bovril-beef sauce"...

apple : how to cook pasta with soup (clear/creamy)? oh there's bb bottle pasta sauce? is it available at the ntuc?

i don't have an over, so can't do any bake food for her...

dolly - depends on your gal's appetite wor. Macaroni soup or sauce my girl can take up to 60pcs, Pasta(animals or princess char) she only take around 25pcs. And she is 4 now.

U make 10-15pcs for a start to let her try..with the fish/meat + vege..shd be enough.

Today my girl has placed her order with my maid on pasta too! haha..but now she is older, she demands more, she will have tomatoes sauce with fresh button mushroom, virginia ham, brocolli + cauliflower with princess pasta. And she ask for 1 hard boil egg + slice potatoes to top with cheddar cheese and grill on oven.

dolly,

ya. mamite and bovril. both oso v salty.

apple,

u have gd recipes. do share more. hehehe.

feels so guilty nw tat i seldom cook for him nw...

wow...apple, ur gal likes pasta leh..hehe

& she will demand for it..hahah so cute.. =)

btw mummies..i heard a fren mention laughing cow cheese is wat some PD recommend for toddlers..is tat true ah? so means if start them with cheese can use this? or those adult cheese like parmesan,mozzerella,cheddar we can use for bb like dolly's gal age?

i m oso curious like when u all started to feel ur #1 bb with some home make puree & some porridge stuff?

apple: noted

my boy is typical cheena, only eat rice. cannot hv sauce on rice too and dun like other stuffs. i'm thinking of trying to cook some pasta w ketchup(cos he like ketchup), not sure if he will try at all. i know ketchup lotsa preservatives but i'm ok la, anything to make him eat

mudppie,

yes. i started my boy with laffing cow cheese 1 cube...but mayb he was younger then...he rejected milk aft laffing cow...so i changed him to craft cheese and he was ok with craft cheese. at least he dun reject milk.

puree was when he was 6mths. porridge was when he was close to 1yo.

started with fruits puree, then vege purees.

dolly,

wah. u start ur gal early on weaning.

ic....so means can start from 4mths onwards for puree?

dolly, hw u make fruit puree ah? steam d fruits with water? then blend it?

dolly - start with clear soup. Chicken broth..add in vege and pasta. Then gradually change to thick sauce.

I'm quite advance in looking for organic bb food coz my girl is HA(hypo allergenic) so I tried to avoid preservatives as long as I can. That's y I very mafan when go out with her coz I need to lug along her food up to 3YO. Ask me how I travel with her, well, that's how I started my hunt on all these organic supply..hehe

I normally shop at Great World City, Bkt Timah Plaza & near Coronation Plaza there..

Val, i remb my fren made brocolli puree posted on her blog..she says it is yucky taste..but she stuffed it to her boy's mouth & he eats it...hahaha

so so veg puree oso do d same? steam with water then blend it to bcome puree?

btw, when u all make puree hor..do u make extra to store some in freezer? or everyday u all make new ones?

val : ya lor... in fact, i've started her on nestle & eu yan sang brown rice when she's 4 mths old... since she didn't reject, we cont'd to feed her...& fruit puree as lunch...

mudpie : that's rite... you have to steam first before you start to puree/blend... you can mix apple, pear, avocado, carrot, pumpkin, papaya, banana....

mudppie,

i did broccoli puree too and my boy loves it! hehehe. i think their taste buds werent as spoilt as ours ba so ok to them. in fact i started mixing potato n broccoli to make into puree and he total love it. hehehe.

for for fruits, i will deskin and steam. as juice contain juices so no nd to add water to steam. aft steaming if u realise too sweet then just add water to dilute it.

as for vege, same method.

rem to obvious the 3days rules if introducing new food. in case allergy at least u know wat kind of food triggered it.

i make fresh puree everyday. i rem i will rush hm to make puree and dinner for him =)

dolly,

brown rice is gd. i only started him quite late like close to 1.

Val - I was sahm for close to 2yrs. So I did all the hardwork to be a cow and chef! My old maid pick up all my recipes after I returned to work.

My PD stopped me of giving laughing cow cube cheese. It has high salt contents. Laughing cow triangle type cheese spread is alright.

My girl till now is taking saltless home made soup. OK she is quite cheena too! She will need noodles + rice after few western meals. She was trained to have soup almost everyday. She will say NO NO to burger. She only eat burgers if no other choice, but sandwiches she is OK.

Val - u need more recipes? Tell me what u wan to cook..

val : well no choice, my MIL bought it for her... so have to start to feed her since we bought nestle brown rice... we have to mix both type of brown rice for her.. otherwise, she'll reject the eu yan sang brown rice... & she love the brown rice and will cry for more...

mudpie : i also make broccoli & cauliflower puree for her too...

dolly - once u added cheese(last step), the sauce will become thick. Otherwise, add 1 baby potato..it is yummy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

U also can make spinach sauce by steam a bunch of spinach, puree it then heat up saucepan with a small slab of butter add in spinach stir well, add in a bit of chicken broth if u have.

apple,

gd to be sahm coz u can really concentrate on ur kid. and at least u dun have to rush hm everyday to cook =) more time to explore other recipes. i only manage to try out new recipes over weekend. so my 3days rule actually bcame 5days rule. hehehe.

u r right. laffing cow cheese taste is actually stronger than craft cheese, so once he starts to reject milk aft that 1 try i stopped le. some of my friends kids were ok tho, they didnt reject milk.

Actually i feel la, no nd to add salt to soup. Using pork ribs already v tasty le. so far, all the dishes i cooked for him, i dun add salt. Unless go out to eat he request for soups (coz he is like me loves to drink soups) then no choice...i just make him drink more water.

hehehe. tell u all, my boy only started taking fries 2mths ago...before tat he dun eat fries de...he will reject when ppl offer him...and till date, he dun eat sweets =P my friends say my boy is v ke lian =P

thanks! i will try out the pasta sauce first then i let u know. hehehe. coz nw i cook with a mask on so i am nt so hardwking =P

icic...thanks for d info ah...hehe nxt time i will come & ask u all more qns along d way..kekeke

wah..rush home make puree for them for dinner..hmm...moms alwas very wei da hor... =)

i will freeze the purees i made last time. my boy will eat all these last time but as he grew older, he became selective. i really wonderdid we do anything wrong to make him picky on food?

he also love to drink soup last time, but now, dun like unless its fishball soup.

apple: ur ger really healthy leh, 4yo still saltless soup. u really trained her well

ash,

actually dun nd to add salt to the soup it can be v tasty oso. coz kids taste buds still v light so they dun need to eat too heavy taste.

ash : i personally think that's the way to make them eat healthily... even my mum wants to cook red bean soup/ barley... told em not to add sugar in it... so her food has to be cook before hand / separately... there's one occassion, my aunt accidentally give her a barley with sugar... guess what? my maid boiled barley without sugar, she refused... then i've to remind my aunt/mum/MIL if they need to cook/boil anything for her.. i'll use this as an example for them.. then they will remember not to add sugar for her...

dolly -

step 1, dice & steam tomatoes + potatoes if u wanna use them together to have thicker sauce. Also steam brocolli + carrot bits

step 2, heat up saucepan with 1 teaspoon of olive oil add in dice tomatoes & potatoes, puree them together.

step 3, add in mince beef/pork or grilled fish cubes also vege u steam. Stir well

step 4, stir in boiled pasta, finally add cheese stir and serve.

val/dolly: i think diff to un-do already. will hv to try again for #2. then again, wont it end up w them unable to accept taste of outside food?

Oh yes, my girl is taking saltless soup and sugarless bailey/ nan xin bei xin water [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I don't introduce salt & sugar till she turns 4. That's when I started her on table food, but she will reject restaurant soup coz too salty to her.

If travel, I'll add hot water to the soup for her. Otherwise she will eat noodles without the soup. So normally I'll bring yogurt drink/tetra pek milo or fresh milk when we dine out. If not I'll order ribena or hot choco for her.

dolly - yes, butter/olive oil can intro after 1YO. Pls buy good quality olive oil, it comes with small bottle don worry..I forgotten the brand, it cost around $8-9/bottle. The reason is the low grade olive oil has a type of "green" smell after cook.

ash,

my boy used to be on home cooked food only. only time he tried outside food was when travelling. only aft he is 2 then i give him more of outside food. ppl oso tell me i will have prob of my boy nt bring able to accept outside food...so far i think still ok. initially he may reject abit but tats normal coz nt used to it mah, aft sometimes he is ok le. nw he is ok with hm cooked or outside food.

Ash - whether they can adapt to outside food, it is the matter of time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my gal now has no prob with chix rice, roasted pork rice, yong tau foo noodles soup, ramen, western grills, italian pasta. I noticed she grew to love pasta with olive oil + white wine. Mummy's taste :p we shared the clams pasta with olive oil white wine sauce when we dine at Pasta Brava lately.

And I don't allow her to take candies/sweets/chocolate. I only intro dark chocolate and organic candies..she is allergies to certain types of coloring. She knows well..coz my hb pity her by giving her a chance to taste giant lollipops when we were in OZ, and there goes her face near mouth area immediately showing red patches after a few licks!! She herself got scared. No M&M or smarties for her too!!

My bro & hb said she is kinda high maintenance coz I only buy organic candies fr Vitakids, buy Organic yogurt puffs and Godiva/Royce 80% dark choco for her. Spent a lot..but she is healthy that way and she doesn't anyhow eat too.

apple,

its gd to teach the kids nt to snack actually. at least u know her intake are healthy and ppl cant bribe her with sweets n choco. so i am glad my boy is the same =)

once a while tho, i will give him ice cream and the monthly cake on his birth date =)