(2011/05) May 2011

Dolly: yup yup.. She had the temper like a OX too.. Haha. V fierce too. Haiz... Nowadays children grew v fast. It seems to me she was jus a bb few mths back n now she can run all over my house..

dolly, hve to start from young... once she gets into the "habit", it will be very diffcult to break liao... my girl is in the infant care centre from 14th mths onwards (previously 4th to 9th mths in another infant care centre but terrible experience so took her out and look after her on my own)...but hor teachers ask her to keep toys, she will do it but at home she won't do it unless u do it with her but halfway she will "disappear"...

Lin, my girl is 2 yrs old (31th mths)

Lin : she's only had temper & as stubborn as a Ox too... exactly remember 15 mths ago, she's so fragile... now.. running & climbing here & there... haiz...

bbpooh: one of the reason I am shy about it is that my previous stretchmark is still visible. However, I think I'll give it a try like what other mommies suggested.

Hannah: thanks for helping me to update the table. My details is as follow -

SAHM

Dr Loh

KKH

Sengkang

muddpie: ya, for boy is easier to see the gender. I am able to know it is a boy for my #1 during my 13th wk gyn apptm

bubble_pearl, think better restrain from bowling.... got different weight and u need to swing to throw the ball out.... dun strain yr waist... u know those old folks said dun carry heavy stuff during preg... i dun believe and still carry grocery and i strain my right waist hand area... from 5th mth pregnancy till my girl born was still hurting me... really took me very long to recover from it...

Any1 sourcing for Christmas presents? Interested, please PM me.

PS: No obligation. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

thanks for the warm welcome. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wanted to ask if anyone went for prenatal lessons? thinking of going.. but dont know where have

cuppie, me also dun dare to try binkini too... if 1st preg, i might hve done it but i got terrible stretch marks from 1st preg and still can see ... abit pah seh... i wear those 2 pieces that can cover my tummy (now abit diffcult as tummy is more obivous now) at least cannot see all my stretch marks.... hehehee... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

oh ya... btw, anyone know if it is better to deliver at Mount Alvernia or Thomson Medical? my gynae can deliver at either one.. currently thinking of Thomson cos my cousin deliver there.. any comments .. :p

melody: welcome [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I went for the prenatal class for my #1. I find the massage lesson and bathing the baby lesson very useful to me. It really depend on individual coz some of my frenz told me is not useful at all but I would recommend for first-time parents if you are taking care of the baby yourself. Furthermore, it a good way to involve the hb too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Melody, for my 1st preg, i took it at TMC under Mrs Wong (quite famous lady)... she gives very useful tips on caring, taking care of bbs and exercise during preg... u might want to consider to take it up esp for 1st preg.. but hor, her class very popular and take up very fast, u might want to call up and check for available schedule now...

auroa: the 2 pc swimsuit you get is not maternity type rite? Last time I saw those maternity one superb ex. But if really no choice, might go for bikini...haha. Really wanted to bring my boy to swimming coz last time I went, I din go into the pool with my boy...missed all the fun!

Melody: I delivered at TMC for my last baby. The stay itself was ok but I had a bad experience when it came to breastfeeding. I gave birth at 7plus in the evening. I woke up and asked for my bb at 10plus at night. The nurse refused coz she said they were changing shift and need to account for the bbs. At 2-3am, I asked for bb again. The nurse gave me the same reason and also coz i was in a 2-bedder ward. But there was no one at the other bed and i had to beg her several times before she let me have my girl for a while. I tried feeding her but I had difficulty latching her as my nipples were short. She was wheeled back to the nursery again shortly and I thought i'll try again in the morning. 7am, i asked for bb again, they said they're preparing for breakfast and again need to account for bbs in the nursery. This happened many times during my stay there. What was worse was that when I asked for help with the breastfeeding, the lactation consultant was very rough with me and appeared to be in a hurry. The nurses were also not very helpful. All in all, although the other services were ok, this experience has made me decide to deliver at Mt Alvernia the next time. I saw how they allowed for bb to be with mummies most of the time.

Yep, sorry for the long post...

melody: I went to KKH prenatal class. But do prepare coz some lesson might be boring for you especially if you read up a lot. Another very famous prenatal class is what auroa mention. Heard Mrs Wong is a very funny lady and she do give lots of useful tips. You might want to consider that. Do register early. I start my class when I am ard 22 wks and finished ard 34 wks. Just nice so that the tips and technique taught is still fresh in my mind when I delivered.

Dear Hannah,

sad to hear your encounter.. will keep that as a point. thanks ya

Dear Cuppie & Auroa,

thanks for the advise, will check out TMC classes.

melody,

went for prenatal class with KKH. nt bad and i find it useful and informative. i still keep the materials and will take them out to read frm time to time to refresh.

U can go to KKH website to check it out. I think TMC has such classes too.

Melody, i delivered my 1st in Mt A and i love the place, yes, it maybe more ulu compare w TMC but the place is great, the nurses were great, i was taking 2bedded and the nurse help me to book the new wing and near window as she was explain how good was the room..haha, v motherly feeling.

best of all, the foods were great!!

ling: thanks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

personally i feel not to take the class too early juz in case we forget what we learnt...preggy brain...hahha but do register early coz prenatal class do filled up early.

On the train, I'm standing infront a row of ppl... A man seated on priority seat, busy reading then act sleepy.. Beside him, young gal, act busy playing with phone then sleep.. Beside her, worst still... Saw me, didn't bother to offer me her seat... Rest of the row, all were sleeping... These are singaporeans behaving! So sad...

Melody,I delivered at tmc last dec n overall was gd especially the delivery ward nurses. I spent 18hrs there n they were attentive n caring. Best of all, I had 3 nurses n a doc to help me deliver. They helped to press my tummy to push baby out. Without them I would have to do c section. But I was not too happy with the lactation consultants, scolded me for allowing nurses to bottlefeed my child since my supply not in yet n after I brought baby home n when I called them for advice, they told me nonsense of limiting supplementary feed to my boy to 30ml. My poor boy end up dehydrated n juandice n pd said my boy is big so should drink more. When he was hospitalized, he was drinking 90ml! Lesson learnt is even if u plan to total bf, must standby formula milk n make sure baby is not starving or dehydrated.

Forgot to mention that even if u go for 2 bedded room, they won't chase yr hub away but he won't have bed to rest so this time I plan to have single room instead so hub dun have to suffer.

Dolly, which stop u at? I also on west to east train. Managed to get seat when I got on. If I no seat, I thinking of asking for seat. Don't be shy!

Hannah: ur story at tmc reminds me of a similar case my fren experienced. Tmc never bring bb to her regularly even though she indicated tbf. I gave birth at mt A for my no. 1 love the nurses there very good exp esp for first time mummies who r inexperience in bfing tot now #2 can consider tmc as eunice chua is there. Maybe now i consider switching back to mtA. *sigh*

Wow..starfruit - salute u!! rest well tonite, might have sore muscle tmr.

Now I can feel my muscle pain on my hand and wrist due to yesterday accident force [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Apple thks ya thigh muscle a bit throbbing nw think tomorrow muscle will ache!

Celest, sounds like u had a goox experience at TMC.

Hiya all,

I am new here, just discovered this amazing forum. =) Kindly add me with details as follows:

Nickname: Maiss

SAHM / FTWM: PTWM

EDD: 02 May 2010

Gynae: Dr KT Tan

Hospital: KKH

BB#: 1

Many thanks. =)

dolly: Good morning!! =)

Celeste: I made sure at my post-delivery check to ask her if she delivers anywhere else. I told her about my experience at TMC and she was quite sympathetic abt what happened too. So this time when she saw me, she immediately recalled, "Oh! Ok, deliver at Mt A this time right?" Also, with regards to breastfeeding and jaundice, must look at this article: http://www.breastfeedingbasics.com/html/jaundice.shtml

starfruit: I also agree that for first time mums who really wanna do breastfeeding, you have to consider which hospital is really friendly and makes sure you learn it properly before going back. Anyway, how are you today? Any after-effects of the walk?

morning mummies...

just got into office and it started to pour. how i wish i'm still sleeping at home.

my MS changed to ES (evening sickness) already. vomitting less (touch wood) and slowly seeing my weight going up by 100 grams, so very happy.

realised there's a gathering next week. won't be able to join you all, cuz next week is a crazy week, only day in office is tuesday, so will prob be clearing work. join another time.

apple: if u sprain your wrist, better go see a doc, actually for sprain i think tui na still the best.

Dolly: ur LS ok already?

Hannah: my thighs are aching man.. hahah other than that i cam super ok. i really enjoyed the walk, think when my MS subside need to go for walks regularly already.

Dolly: i am also very scared when i get food poisioning during preggy, i rememebered i had a very bad LS during my 1st pregnancy, was in such tremendous pain i just kept crying in the toilet cos i scared it will trigger early contraction, but lucky it was a false alarm. Good that you are ok already.

Hannah: now i am seriously thinking if i wanna go to TMC this round. dilemma now. my worry is that Eunice Chua may be more familiar with the team at TMC (delivery team i mean) but i know the midwives at Mt A was fantastic as well.. hmm.. need to think a bit more.

Joycep: i also realised that my MS is worst in the evening. just wondering isit cos i am sitting not moving at my desk for too long thus the queasy feeling is worst at that time of the day.

starfruit: Haha... I can imagine. Well, just rest as much as possible for the next few days ba... =)

You know, my #1 was induced coz she was past her due date, so i had a long wait before active labor. She was around for like all of 45 mins, including 2 checks in the day and the last part, when stitching me up. So i guess as long as the midwives do their job, that's ok to me... =)

starfruit, try not to sit too long. i try to move as much as i can, walk to my colleagues cubi or walk to the pantry. just to get a bit of blood circulation.