(2011/05) May 2011

dear auroa, thanks alot for ur advice, i did read up on GD, that's why so scared and dun dare to eat. looking at the portions that you are taking in that time, it is really quite tough.

let me share what i would eat for breakfast. i would take the old man's quaker oats for breakfast at ard 7.50, by 10am, i would be hungry and i would eat prob 1-2 slices of wheat bread. bread these days are very airy. by 12.30 or so, i would eat lunch, may vary from rice to noodles such as lor mee or wan tan mee. think i got to watch out for these items soon, cos they have alot of sauces. by 4 or 4.30, i would be hungry again and would have to either eat bread or some biscuits. but they really do not last long at all. and i would get hungry really easily. if i dun eat, my stomach would get bloated and i would feel like puking. this gets worse when i take the train or the car, and all the motion will lead to puking / retching.

heehee, seems like we lost some weight here... from 2nd trimester onwards, i got to watch out for my diet bcos of GD previously in my 1st preg. Of course, sometimes i will reward myself with some yummy stuff... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cheerful, your diet are ok for breakfast. For lunch, if possible avoid yellow noodles, can take mee fen or guo tiao will be better and take soup based instead of dry base. U might want to cut down on biscuits (unless u r eating digestive biscuits) and substitiute with fruits or milk (only from 2nd trimester onwards)instead. Bananas are best bcos they gives u energy and also keep u full till the next meal. Dun keep a empty stomach as it might cause MS. Maybe u take the train, u can pop yrself a sweet. Sweets is ok as long u din take in bulk. I used to take the ribbit milk sweets in my bag when taking public transport. Duv give yourself too much stress and do enjoy the pregnancy... u will miss it after yr bb comes out... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hannah

Still brave to me.

Cheerful

Should avoid lor mee cos starchy. Hope u will feel better as time pass by.

Auroa

Hows yr girl's fever?

lin - thats what my gynae told me..if really need to take cough medicine, muz take those that kids take. u might want to check with ur gynae..

Dolly

I will buy fried hokkien mee today for lunch...This pregnancy I dun fancy soupy things eh. I dun mind drink soups by itself.

morning mummies.. i am feeling so miserable again, dunno isit cos morning tummy tend to be empty, so MS is worst. I ate some glutinous rice for breakfast but still not helping.

Cheerful: if normal tooth paste makes u puke, can try the darlie lime one. My 2007 thread mummies swore by it the last time.

Aurora: i also resorted to bringing bananas and snacking on them throughout the day. not suppose to eat the regular big type (del monte) so i bought the small bananas (the dole senorita is delicious).

vv: i love soya bean but avoiding now cos tummy is so bloated and full of gas, dun want it to contribute to more gas. i have became so desperate that i been trying to take some carbonated drinks to make me burp. mummies, just note that we r not suppose to take diet drinks now, the artificial sugar may cause defects to bb.

Hannah: Did Dr Chua prescribe u any med to get rid of tummy gas?

Finally in my 12th week tday, I wonder when will my ms be ending. Just had pandan cake and cranberry cheese bread for breakfast. Don't think I can stomach anything for lunch later.

vv, me too. I don't fancy soupy stuff for now. But I like bee hoon soup or fried bee hoon.

starfruit, I think it's good to eat food that are easy to digest. Glutinous rice is hard to digest and will make us feel worse. U can try eating plain biscuits in the morning. It helps to relieve the ms a bit.

dolly, I hv signed up the pre natal course conducted in Shichida but waiting for the confirmed date.

Good morning..1 day to Friday [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I had fried bee hoon with cabbage for b/fast.

Gonna have nasi padang for lunch.

dolly - so early u wanna start tai jiao? I tot that suppose to be somewhere mid of 2nd trim?

starfruit - glutinous rice is very difficult to digest..try to avoid especially ur tummy is bloated. And I think the small banana must buy fr market those from Malaysia. Del monte and Dole is the same, cooling we can't take.

Starfruit

Yeah, I stopped for awhile on soya and now return it back once in a blue moon. Haz, flavour sth sweet eh but dun wan drink too much fruit juice, scared GD..

Jerejoy

Hee, I felt very hot leh whenever I think of soupy stuffs... But I like fried foods & spicy foods.. Jia latz.

Dolly

Tai Jiao ah, maybe some time later in 2nd trimester. Wat do u intend to tai jiao?

Dolly, haven start yet... u started?

vv, my girl fever went down but her temp still ard 37 to 37.5. Now left cough and running nose and also she passed her flu to me too... sigh...

Feel like eating mee sian for lunch... maybe later will go out to eat... my girl said she wants to eat noodle but i scared after one bite and she dun want and i either throw or i got to eat... arrugh...

Apple

Issit u just had nasi padang earlier this week? I read someone having it...

RE: Fruits

I will eat papaya and dragon fruits sometimes after meals. Anyone know if we can eat those GREEN PEARS?

Auroa

Glad to hear that. Must monitor yeah. Try to sponger her on and off...U also take good care yeah, u taking any flu med?

starfruit: Nope. I complained about it the last visit and she just told me to tahan for now.

Jerejoy: I think the symptoms should get more manageable. My MS was better last week, as in i only vomitted consistently in the morning and then once or twice in the day. This week was no vomitting in the morning and occasionally in the day (esp if it's food bb dun like). I've stepped into my 13th week btw. =)

hmm.. i have not started tai jiao... but i do talk to my bb once a while. things like " how do you like the ramen / chicken rice / wan tan mee / lor mee that mummy had just now?" my hubby will say things like " HELLO!!! how are you?? are you a boy or a girl? don't make mummy puke ok?"

vv - no eh I never take nasi padang for this week but I took nasi briyani on Mon evening..haha

green pear shd be ok to consume..or u eat half la, share half with ur boy or maid.

hi good morn mummies!

yeah is jus 1 day more to Fri.. haha had cheese with hotdog bread for breakfast this morn.. wonder wat to hav for lunch later.. what r u all having?

went for my gynae checkup with another gynae yest.. oh n i think i like her better.. haha we heard bb's heartbeat (is beating so fast!) and saw bb moving inside, so interesting..

vv,

yeah same as u, i seem to like fried food more these days.. though i thot is not really healthy hee so try to cut down lo..

auroa, vv, apple,

I'm starting to listen to symphony 92.4fm... I've did the same to my #1 too... my gal loves to play musical instrument toy...

do you think that's considering "tai jiao"?

jerejoy,

what do the pre natal course do?

Thanks Hannah, I am looking at it now. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I always feel very sleepy ard 10 am and 2.30 pm.. so sickening, nowadays I am sleeping very early already.

oh ya abt tai jiao, haven really started on it.. but i heard must start early rite..

haha but jus wondering what do u all normally do for ur tai jiao? eg. listening to music, reading books? this is my 1st bb, so not really sure wat to do..

Happy

Another gynae? Which gynae u visited initially and now? Yeah loh, I prefer fried + spicy.. cham.

Dolly

Hee, so cute eh. Correct ah, like this is tai jiao loh. Uhmmm... I used to read alot of books and done weekly tutoring on my nephew during my #1 pregnancy. Now #1 loves to read somehow... I am not sure if this is tai jiao, but should help abit or influence abit bah.

vv,

oh actually i made appt with the gynae (Joycelyn Wong) yest like 1 mth ago, but they got no earlier slots for me at all.. so 2 weeks ago i jus went for a 1st checkup with WK Tan so i tot shld do it early jus to ensure that everything is ok.. den hubby says mayb shld jus go see J Wong, see which one we prefer lo.. haha n i prefer J Wong, cos feel more comfy with her.. she's very nice and assuring n friendly.. tot WK Tan is a bit stern type haha..

Cheerful: Your hb very farnie leh!

apple: I have been craving for nasi bryani for a few weeks liao. Even though it makes me feel seriously bloated, I still take. Haha.

melody110: Haha... I know. I've been surfing the net like nobody's business at the expense of my work. Haiz... Hopefully now it gets better. =)

Happy: I think i just talk to bb lor... But i did hear that listening to classical music is good coz it stimulates the brain. I think my firstborn grew up on sappy pop music (both mandarin and english). Hopefully the rhythms did make some difference to her brain development. Hee...

my hubby told me to not listen to 98.7 FM anymore, he say later bb rock too much inside my body, listen to classical music so that bb will sway gently. haha. he will make it a point to talk to the bb la. he will also say, " daddy work very hard, very xin ku, to buy things for you ok."

aiyo, the glutinous rice is the culprit lah..

re: the regular type of banana

old wives tale, i was told it caused fits in your baby so to avoid, but them, seems like only asian are avoiding bananas during preggy, the foreigners esp caucasian still cont to eat them.

i totally have no craving for food, most of the time, no appetite but i know need to fill tummy with food if not sure feel damn bad one.

vv: green pears should be ok lah. my gynae told me actually all fruits are ok, we just need to take in moderation. and maybe i should allow myself to take some soya bean every now and then. so miss the taste of soya bean milk.

jerejoy: i am total opp from u, i crave for soupy stuff all the time. hb say my diet is so healthy now.!

Melody110/Hannah

I always feel sleepy @ work and really detest to go work now.. So sian... I felt I had changed. But dunno why, just no mood for work. U all also?

Cheerful

My hb always play those heavy beat music in the car last time. So now #1 loves to dance with the music... Hahahaaa... sometimes can be quite hard but cute lah. Yr hubby very responsive and very cute leh. My hubby abit boring type. Hee

Happy

Initially I also wanted to see J Wong but her appts are too full liao. My SIL then recommended me to my current gynae now.

Starfruit

Yeah loh. Soya bean once in a while ok la. Initially I also take milk. Then cos too bloated, I stopped but my wisdom tooth starts to feel pain.. Jia latz. Green pears hoh, I intend to put them in juice extractor.. Dunno why leh, I dun fancy "eating" the fruits but prefer to DRINK the juice.. Hahahaa.. too thirsty most of the time leh. I "quitted" orange juice for some time cos guess too sour, my Mom/Hubby scolded me.

vv, haven see doc yet.. got sore throat and running nose... see how 1st bcos no one to look after her in the daytime. If see doc, either bring her along or wait for hubby evening come back to see doc.

Auroa

Oh okay. Yeah no choice de. Mayb should wait for hubby come hm in evening 1st. Cos not good to bring your gal to clinic. I always feel that clinic got alot of "flying germs" cos of sick pple even though they have installed those ventilation system.

vv: I think one reason why i'm wanting to quit my job is this. No energy to do anything. Good thing my workplace is only 1 bus stop away from my mum's place. Have resorted to going anywhere further than 1 bus ride by cab. Super siong on my pocket. Sigh... Good thing i no mood to go shopping or else sure die.

vv, I am also feeling very sian nowadays, can't concentrate on my work because I am feeling tired most of the time. haiz..

Hannah, me too also surfing net every now and then, jialat loh

Hannah

Yes, same here. But I wont quit for now. Will look for better offer instead of ML. Cos really very sian. In fact, I didnt feel that way before preggy. But now preggy, seems to see thru alot of things @ work and get so sick & tired of them.

No la, now no strength to walk or shop loh.. Maybe in 2nd trimester may have the strength to buy some bb stuffs.

Melody110

Yes, all I want is just sleep & lie down every day. Become very lum nua now. Sianz..I also surf net most of the time. I dun care even some colleagues walk over and talk to me. I very sian liao.

vv, I wan to luan but need to submit a few report by this week and boss will be back from his one week leave next Monday. somemore my confirmation review is on monday.

vv: Think pregnancy puts many things in its proper perspective. Could be the hormones at work too. haha.

melody110: High 5! =)

dolly: ARGH!!!! i better stay away from the expo... No money liao... =(

Melody110

Oh.. then now bo bian eh, have to finish the report so that everything will turn out to be fine on your confirmation review. Very sian, I can understand.

Dolly

Dunno gender yet, Im like bo si mi mood buy anything eh, u?

Hannah

Yap! Actually the pregnancy hormones are driving us crazy.

MOrning mummies,

wow...took me awhile to catch up on the fast moving thread.

i had too much for brekkie..egg sandwich,ckn mushroom puff & milk tea..kekeke

wanted to buy california sushi,but tot..d crab roe duno is raw or cooked.then tat counter lady told me not ready..==" yest i bought she made for me on d spot..so went to buy subway instead for lunch...LOL

Yest i read something on helping stomach bloatness & ms..to boil a few slices of ginger then add little honey stir & drink..mayb some of u can try..i told mum to make when she free.cos thou i dun hv much ms only when i get too hungry will feel like puking popping a sweet seems better. but i do get bloated once inawhile..

so no harm trying..

wow u all on 'tai jiao' so early..i tink my mom oso hinting me abt this. when i watch tv in d room.she will come & say..dun sit too near to tv..& dun watch whole nite.u mus listen to music, read books..LOL if i lie on bed watch tv..she will nag at me again..say u mus not lie on ur tummy...try to lie sideways...whahahah

i read some1 mention drinking too much fruit juice will cause GD? i m still planning to drink like every morning 1 cup wor...or is certain fruits contain high sugar so we r not suppose to take too much?

jus asking, can u all sleep well at nite? i realised lately, even if i sleep earlier, i will wake up like 2 3 times everynite,mayb go toilet once. nv sleep thru d whole nite de.& not only tat.alwas dreaming.sometimes like bad dreams...i dun tink b4 preggie i alwas hv bad dreams or dream every nite leh..& i seldom wake up in d nite too...hai...

vv,

yeah agree wif u.. haha think the hormones r driving us crazy... haha for me is like sometimes super no mood to work, then sometimes super on for work.. den sometimes very tired n sometimes awake until dun wanna sleep.. n sometimes jus dun feel like doing anything, jus slack @ home..like today is very sianz n no mood to work leh..

Hannah - I craved for strong flavour, spicy and sour food. So nasi briyani, nasi padang, thai food, western food all on my list..haha..very unhealthy but no choice! Or else I have no mood to eat my dinner, just drink soup sometimes.

I also surf net most of the time in ofc..but sometimes bz no chance to do that

mudpie,

cant really sleep well lately cos keep waking up 2-3 times at nite.. haha b4 preggie i seldom wake up in the middle of the nite too.. dreams seems like is common leh for preggies, i had weird dreams too n tot how come like tat but haha previously read some threads here on mummies having funny dreams too.. so guess is normal ba.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mudpie - I also waking up 2-3 times a nite! Very sickening coz this will cause me tired the next morning [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] sometimes morning I take chicken essence before going to work..or else very xin ku.

Last nite, I felt very bad with sore neck and shoulder..remembered GP said cannot use the muscle rub so I use medicated oil instead! Or else I can't sleep at all..sigh

Dolly

Yeah, should be cheaper. I used to stock up clothes & toys/books at Baby Fair. For diapers/Formula, I still buy from Chinese Med Hall. Cheaper.

Mudpie

Wow, yr brekkie looks delicious! Where did u get yr egg s/w from? Chix/Mroom puff ah. Nice hoh. I already felt a bit hungry now loh... cos lunch time coming soon!!!

Happy

I am 100% slack in my work. So Pek Chek.

Mudpie/Happy/Apple

Same here. Cant sleep well. Sometimes waist pain, here pain there pain like that.. Always have some weird dreams like that.

Dolly

Yeah, for #2, will be more. I need to go dig my old bible last time. Wat are the things to be prepared.. Hahahaa.. Last time, #1, I was like a gan cheong spyder, everything also list down, take notes... Now I forgot almost everything liao. Must refresh memory esp how to bathe newborn.

Weird dreams seem to be the norm ya? I think i wake up but not for the reasons stated so far, but coz my #1 still sleeps in sarong at night and she will want to come down in the middle of the night so have to carry her down.

Maybe I'll ask if hb want to go down expo over the weekend. haha... Then he can pay for stuff. =)

Wah... dolly, your hb very talented leh!

I've been drinking juice like nobody's business past few weeks coz water tasted icky then. Now water is more acceptable so I think i'll try to cut down on juice. Was buying it by the litres lor.. haha.