(2011/05) May 2011

Hi starfruit!

I'm seeing Dr Chua too!!! My EDD has actually shifted upwards to 28 April but I'm staying here. =)

I can understand the effects of MS, think quite a few of us can. Hee hee. I also agree that it's kinda more difficult this time, but i was attributing it to all to the extra weight I have to carry and the unhealthy state of my body. =)

Hope to see more of you in this thread!

melody110: I also have the same problem with veg and fruit. They all come out without fail. Was telling my gynae about my worry and she said that it's ok, we'll take it as it goes lor. She never really said too much about the lack of those foods right now so I guess I'll just accept this is the current phase. Maybe later will be better? *keeps fingers crossed*

Hannah/Melody110

Same here. I dun fancy alot of fruits too. Now I am trying to eat those exotic fruits like dragon fruit. Cos my hot fav fruits are too cooling. :-(

Starfruit

Welcome! Yr name is also one of my favourite fruits! :)

My #1 also 3 yrs old. How u handle yr #1? Is #1 more sticky than before? Mine, #1 become more sticky, naughtier... :-( Sometimes make me so angry till my left abdomen got a bit pain..

Rach

I just finished my teatime. What u gonna have?

i gained only 8.6kg for my no1... mainly due to bcos i got GD ard 8mths and control diet .... maybe due's why i din gain much weight... for the 1st & 2nd trimester, i did ate alot but dun know why din put on much... i BF for 17th mths and i was underweight but once i stopped BF, my weight shot up and doc said that i need to watch my weight and not exceed 56kg...

starfruit, ya I ate alot that time during BF and still continue when I stop BF. haha.. I hv to control already for #2 if not it will be hard to lose weight esp when i am over 30. :p

Rach,

no wor...doc say bb not fully grown yet...but i saw head...so cute..hehe

when is ur edd? mine is 23 may.

wah...seem like stopping BF most mommies gain wgt ah...i tot suppose to make us lose wgt...hw come gain back...omg....

Hannah: thats nice, same gynae. My first time with Dr Chua cos changed gynae as my last one is little far and inconvenient for me to schedule my visit.I was so mesmerise with her during my 1st appt, cos she look sso good for a woman her age. Heard her kids are quite old already? BTW, can i check did she give u any vitamins/supplements to take?

VV: i am lucky, i get hb to help, my ger is quite sticky to me but every night when i am back hm, i just want to lie in bed and do nothing, so we will chat together on the bed/sofa, when i too tired, i get my hb to continue.. she chatter none stop..hehe. She is physically not too active so its still ok for me. your #1 is a boy or ger? must stay calm, abdomen pain sounds scary. maybe cos they know u r having a baby so slight bahaviour changes.

melody: ya maybe cos I am old liao so metabolic rate also slows now, thinks time, i am already quite heavy so think will try and watch my weight.

Hannah: can i check, have u done your oscar with Dr Chua yet? I need to let Dr Chua know if i want to do Oscar, kinda not keen to do the test. now in a dilemma.

starfruit: Yeah! I saw her on Monday and she told me that the patient earlier was her niece and her little girl calls her "lao yi"! I just couldn't believe it! =) I saw her eldest daughter when i went for my checks for my 1st baby 1.5 years ago and I think she finished JC already by then. Yeah, she gave me folic acid and obimin to take. Did she give you?

mudppie, i think bcos BF burn at least 500 calories (for full time BF), so will tends to eat more. It's believe that carbo & proteins foods are good for intake as it will increase milk supply and is good for bbs. So i normally eat a full plate of rice with mixture of vegs & meats and also a plate of fruits too. So what u eat will be transmit by BM and burn off thru BF. After stopped BF and not much exercise, fats tends to build up ard the waist, buttocks and arms area liao.

Starfruit

Mine boy, too active. Always want me to take this and that for him. So usually, now I asked maid to take over. And putting him to sleep, my hb will take over at times. And I will just be like u, lie down and do nth. Yah, abdominal pain then I will tell myself to relax and breath in slowly and out. Then surprisingly, no more pain. So, I believe cos I too angry liao, so over-exerted. :-(

starfruit: I didn't do. Coz she asked me what i was gonna do if i checked and found that bb has down's syndrome, what would i do. I told her i'll keep anyway and so she said then no need to do. But I just kpo hor, what's your worry about whether to take or not?

Auroa, mudpie, luan, vv...

Thanks.. Vv, my next appt is on 13 nov... By then, will be 15 wks & 6 days...

Ferris, BT : blood test? It was done on 2 weeks ago...

subway peanut butter cookie...yum yum...hahaha...

same for me i lost all the weight gain during preggy within 2mths coz bf and was even 4kg lighter...but after 1yr of bf once i stop the weight start pilling back up again.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] sighz...hopefully tis 2nd time round will not be the same...

sorry to disturb, i'm from sep thread.

would like to sell drypers S 64 pc & pigeon breastpad 60 pc @ $23. self collect at clementi central. pls PM me if you're interested. thanks.

Hannah: nah, she didn;t give me any supplements cos i told her i was alrady taking folic acid and obmin.. so i guess its the same thats why she never prescribe any to me. But hor the obmin is making me puke leh, so i have kinda stopped.. hehe will resume soon.. when i feel better :p

I am actually 35 this yr, so according to her chart, chances of a DS baby higher so she encouraged me to take, i read a thread on OScar seems like the chances of getting a false result is very high and i am really not keen to go for the amioncentis if result is no good. so Dr Chua say if i won;t go for amnio, can just forget it.

I did not do oscar for my 1st one, my last gynae just did the triple blood test and NT scan. So now that u r also not doing oscar, will she be doing the normal NT scan for u?

VV: ya lying down doing nothing is the best.. hahah at least for us for now. i am really drained at the end of the day, no more energy left. i think u over exerted lah, must stay calm a bit.. heheh not good to always have this cramping at your tum area.

Auroa: bingo, i think that was what happend to me, all of a sudden no need to produce BM anymore, so bb can;t process the excess calories and it all turn to fat lor! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Wow. All seem to gain not much weight for no.1. My son I gain 23kg leh. Look super bloated. But lucky with massage and bfeeding I manage to lost all within 3 mtbs. Hope this one will have better control of diet. I dun wan gain 23 kg again.

Oh... ya lor, same stuff. I was already about 12+ weeks pregnant when I saw her on Monday and my next appt is middle of next month so I guess the NT scan is out too. She'll prob send me for the mid pregnancy detailed scan only.

I can understand your concerns coz i was reading about the amniocentesis test and the risks involved in it. I think it really boils down to how prepared you are to accept the baby no matter how he/she is and also whether you need extra preparations (mental and emotional) to do so. My personal thoughts only tho.

vv,

yeah, its nice.. but i cannot even finish 1. only able to finish half only.

mudpie,

my edd is 22 may.. however, dr wong said the edd will be more accurate during next visit.

wah.. since like stop BF will put on weight!

elly - i'm 26 and i went to take OSCAR test yesterday. i think it's a matter of preference if your gynae didn't insist.

lin - my friend also had cough but she couldn't take the cough medicine as it will cause "cleved" lips..so, she took bird nest once every 3 days and it helped to soothe it. u might wanna have a think about it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i am constantly eating.. eat eat eat non stop. but i dunoe what to eat, cos i am scared that i eat the wrong things, put on too much weight and later kenna gestation diabetes. sigh...

Rach

Half? The sausage must be quite BIG..Yum Yum

Dolly

Today u very quiet eh... Moody also? Im quite moody today. Dunno why.

Starfruit

Yeap. Have to relax lor... Thats why sometimes so sian.

Luan

Yes, u like peanut butter cookie also?

Cheerful

Eat moderately and try to have smaller meals? Then maybe will hv a better control. I was like this during #1 during 2nd Trimester hoh. Kept eating...

Hi starfruit n hannah, I am seeing eunice too. Great to have some buddies sharing same doc. This is 12th week then will do Oscar this sat. I opt to do cos I want to know if baby is ok. Did it for #1 previously cos I think I can't accept ds child but now that I m a mum, I wonder if I would have the heart to abort if this one is high risk. Anyway, dun wanna be kept in the dark so I chose to do again. Personal preference so u better discuss with hubby ok starfruit? Stay in touch!

i just went to the toilet to cry. it was horrible. scare to eat cos scare to get GD, dun eat, i feel terrible, i keep taking biscuits to eat cos there is nothing else that i can eat here. i dun want bread cos too full , dun want cakes cos too rich and unhealthy. it is depressing...

i am at week 9 3 days today. still long way to go.

Blurlemon: I gained a little more then u.. 25kg n only managed to shed 24kg after 15mths of hard work then have to start all over again.. Haha.. Hopefully this one won't pass 20kg...

Cheerful

Cheer up. Dun cry... Dun worry, maybe u want consult gynae to ask wat to eat to prevent GD... Dun pressurize yrself okie.. We went thru the same. I am also scared if I eat too sweet. And recently I ate too sour, my Mom & Hubby scolded me say maybe I ate too sour. Haz.. So now everything moderate. Cool down yeah. Must slowly relax.

Hi Celeste! Thanks for sharing your experience. Think that might present a different side for starfruit to consider.

Cheerful: At this present moment, just take it one step at a time ba. Coz i know how it feels to want to eat but feel scared to eat. Do you have a family history of diabetes? I got sent for diabetes test coz of my family history and narrowly passed the test. Gynae had to ask me to restrict my diet from starchy and sweet stuff but she never restrain me and say die die cannot eat. Your responsibility now is to just relax and take in as much as you need. Maybe can surf the net to see what are healthier snacks to munch on?

Celest: thanks for this other view pt. i know what you are talking about and i think i am slo someone who may have difficulty in accepting a DS child. but the thought that Oscar is so unreliable, i am just thinking of forgoing it. I still have about 2 more weeks before i see Dr Chua, hope i can come to a decision soon. To me, its seem slike the NT scan is more reliable than Oscar at this moment.

going home now, will come in if i have the time later. Rest well everyone.

Evie: cough medicine will cause 'cleved' lip meh? I took it cos my doc asked me to.. I told him I'm pregnant so he prescribed medicine tats safe for me.. Hmm... Will ask my gynae next Tuesday..

Cheerful: dun stress urself over wat to eat. Just eat in moderation n be happy. Tats wat my gynae told me. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cheerful, I understand how u feel. I ganna GD during my 1st preg (when i was in 3rd trimester)... it's like lightening stucks me. Btw, my family history got diabetes, so i got higher chances. The thought of pricking my fingers for every meals that i eat really makes me sad and i need to jot down what i eat and test level. When i got high test results, i get very frightened as it hve impact on bb. Doc at first very nice and advice me which food to avoid but later scolded me when i hve a few high readings.. my doc quite strict with me and can be very fierce at times (also for my own good and bb sake) that makes me cry (i guess also the hormone effect that makes me cry easily).. i shared it with my gynae and he did a overall suger blood test readings and average readings, i passed. Shared with u the below food that can eat and will not rise much of the sugar level, but remember to eat moderate.... btw, my gyane said that 1st trimester is ok to eat everything (including sweet) and need to be careful from 12th weeks onwards.. so for the time being, eat all u can first... hope the below infor helps. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Morning

Wholemeal bread with no jam- 1 piece (dun really like but no choice) with half glass of HL margold milk

1 vitasoy soya bean milk (after 2 hrs after bread/milk in order for food to break down) OR

1 fruit (i normally choose banana as easily to bring to office to eat)

There's a time that i'm into eating cherry. I will pack abt 6 pcs to munch (max as it contains sugar)

Lunch

Half plate of rice with vegs & meat (abt palm size, small portion). Strictly no sauce as it will rise up the levels.

Niang To Fu. Choose mee fen or guo tiao. Yellow noodles is the worst as it will rise up yr level to high level. Can take a bit of sauce (really abit) and at most 2 sips of the soup (it will really rise up the levels)

Fruits (abt 1 to 2 hrs later in order for food to digest and breakdown) OR

Fruit Juice (i really love avocada juice and there's a stall that sell this but got add malaca sugar in it... i take it as snack but i drink very slowly and not to take it all in one go as it's very sweet.. normally i buy after lunch and by the time i finish the whole cup, it's nearly knock off work time.. so u agar agar know how long i took to finish 1 sweet fruit juice)

Dinner

Half plate of rice with vegs & meat (abt palm size, small portion). Strictly no sauce as it will rise up the levels. (try to eat before 8pm as system will slows down after that)

Fruits (after 1 or 2 hrs after lunch)

1 ovalatine with no sugar and milk before i sleep. (i normally sleep ard 9.30pm)

i find that eating niang tu fu is the best. Can choose lots of vegs, eggs and tofu (good for bb and also got proteins and nutrients) and will not rise up my levels. Eating rice w vegs/meats, the readings vary as sometimes the vegs/meats got a bit of sauce and got different levels of sugar level.

Just went to weight myself... i'm losing weight.. dun know whether shd be happy or sad.

When i was at 4 weeks, i weighted 47.8kg.

When i was at 6 weeks, i weighted 52 kg.

And now at at 9 weeks, i weighed 48.9kg.

Last week got LS/vomit and now this week my girl sick... too busy and not enough sleep. Been cooking/eating soup based food (bcos of my girl), i guess my weight went down. No wonder i find that my tummy seems smaller and face looks shaper too.

Aurora: u r indeed very discipline. I think I will be at a lost if I down with GD. Almost had a scare in my 1st peg cos weight shot up too fast n doc worried it was GD n made me do the test but lucky results normal. I think it was cos my ms was so bad in 1st two trimester tat when my ms finally go away in 3rd trimester I ended up eating with a vengeance thus the sudden weight gain.

Evie: there are cough med safe for preggy check with ur doc.

starfruit, actually not very discipline during that period.... i got scolded by my doc countless times as there are a few items that cannot eat too much like fish & chips (eat w/o skin and half of the french fries) that i ate at botak jon.. how to resist... i also hve late dinner due to OT and ate whatever is left at the food stalls and so results in high readings...my doc got so mad that continue like that, sooneer or later, i will need insulin (i have abt 3 to 5 high readings in a week chart) that time so stressed that i got pre-emclasspia (also due to stress at work), my gynae is very nice and did a blood sugar test for me to see my average readings and assured me that i'm still in the "safety zone" and need no insulin...i would not have made it if not for my gynae. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] btw, my readings was abt 11 when i took the gulcose test... quite high.

just had one tub of Chef Ron Sweet n Spicy Ikan Bilis. Did everyone bought from him? I just collected from him today. It tastes so good. Can't eat my dinner so ended up eating ikan bilis for supper. But feel so nauseous now after eating too much. Haiz!

Auroa, Don't worry. I also lost weight and my gynae told me not to worry. Will put on during the 2nd trimester. I also lost weight during my 1st pregnancy and only started to put on weight on my 4th month. Hope yr girl will hv a speedy recovery. It's very hard on the parents when our little ones fall sick. Take care ya.

Morning Mummies!

Dolly

Breakfast? I had "Peng-Kuay" and Peanut Brown Pancake. Finished 3/4 of each only. Scared bloated later. Now drinking soya bean.

Celeste: Yep, my first was with Dr Chua too. My girl didn't want to come out so labor was induced after 3 days past my EDD. Did the epidural right from the start and she was delivered naturally. I think the midwife thought me and my husband very funny coz we were making jokes the whole time during the pushing. This time Dr Chua asked me want to do fully natural without epidural or not, but i still half past six. I don't know if i can take the pain or not. Heh. Something to think about. =)

Hannah

I always admire mothers whom can go without epidural. My #1 was induced too; due to didnt want to come out too and my blood pressure was unstable; the amniotic fluid was decreasing; so induce 1 day before EDD. Same like you; epidural right from the beginning.

This time, I will still take epidural. Heeee.... scared pain eh. Threshold of pain very low...

good morning mummies...

auroa, i am also monitoring my weight. it dropped from 48.7kg to 44.5kg, and i'm in 12 weeks. hoping it will go up after 1st tri, since my vomitting got worse since last sat.

vv, fried beehoon... you going for your check-up tomorrow, rite? btw, i didn't put on weight at all despite i'm eating every two hours... maybe it's the quatity... then my bb is 6.4cm long...

vv: I think i will try no epidural once me and hb can agree on whether this one is the last we'll have or not. Don't want to have to do pain all over again if this time it turns out to be really jialat coz i get the full brunt of it. Haha...

Dolly

Yeah, tomorrow 2pm. Getting excited cos will be doing NT & Blood Test. I lost 1 kg I think cos maybe cos of the vomitting. But I guess very fast will put on weight liao.

So any idea on lunch later?

Hannah

Wow, u very brave loh. I cannot eh. I will still opt the same. Cos I rem even though on epidural, intitially can still feel very slight contractions.