(2011/05) May 2011

dolly, i did the blood test and ultra sound, then shd be the normal test ... keke

anyone know what other tests we need to do?

anyone seeing gynae at KKH? any gyne to recommend?

starfruit and dolly,

thanks for the advice and url.

I no need to do amino test yet as below 35. maybe will discuss with hubby again whether i shld do the scan or not. Think i need to decide when i go see my gynae this sat.

Starfruit, I am actually also look at ameda as it is a cheaper option and i dun think i will have baby no.3. so kind of wasted if i buy freestyle. Anyway will wait till nearer to delivery date then decide.

hello all! my internet was down for the whole morning! argh!

welcome the new mummies!

vv, hope everything be fine for u!

mummies, have u alll start applying anti stretch mark cream? when is the appropriate timing to apply?

hi rach,

i think i will have to buy stretch mark cream this weekend, my tummy already very big, looks like 5 months...so pai say to go office everyday.

I still have the stretchmark from the previous pregnany so i think i have to start already else will be worse later on.

hi starfruit,

just to share...

was just speaking to a mommy friend yesterday and her feedback was the medela PISA (pump in style) is better than the freestyle (even though the PISA is cheaper). her reason was that the freestyle is less efficient and less powerful than the PISA.

there are a few local online stores that sell US import sets of medela breastpump...my friend bought a set for less than 400 sing $. but downside is no warranty and then must buy converter....

for my 1st pregnancy, i got the mini medela which was noisy and inefficient! this time, i'll go for the medela PISA. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dolly:

wow! u are fast. okok.. i bought liao but hvnt start using.. will start using tonight..

apply once a day on the tummy can liao hor?

happymumtobe, u can consider getting your medela breastpump from US. paid US$247 for Pump In Style Advanced Metro. can't remember how much i paid for the int'l shipping but my guess is about S$50-60. but note. no local warranty. but if there are any issues, can always revert to the US merchant and they will try to help. warranty valid in US. no issues with my unit.

babyheng's rite. need an adapter for PISA, unlike freestyle.

bought direct from merchant cos spree organiser will charge a less favourable exchange rate. anyway, think the savings (from sharing the shipping cost) is minimal.

shaz, thanks for the feedback.. yeah i also heard that the PIS has a very power motor.. which is why its the best recommended one. i am eyeing the freestle cos its much lighter and compact and easier to transport around lah. Mini medela is no good, u can dump it.. hehe

Wayne: for my #1, i was using the ameda. but i wanna get a new one where i can leave at the office ( so no need to lug it around). see already planning my Bfing journey now! crazy rigth. I BF my #1 for 26mths so feel that i need to BF at least 6mths to 1 yr for #2. if not so unfair right!.. stress man.

Re: stretch mark cream

I was told to apply as early as u can even when u know about the pregnancy.. but i have been so lazy and this MS is driving me mad until i dun even feel like doing anything. so far only applied twice i think. i better be more diligent!

rach: apply on thighs as well.

christine,

So far, I heard PISA is good. 1 colleague is using and she says she like that. Another colleague is using Ameda, say not bad also...so still deciding.

You mean go to Medela.com to buy? But i dun have US credit card and shipping address..can buy??

starfruit..wah.. you best leh..so you have a lot of supply. i stop at 4 month cause that time my boy hospitalize at 2 months old and my supply drop tremendously..already not much milk still drop so much...only tong until 4 months and then stop.

I hope I can do better this time round with dual pump.

As for stretchmark cream, i still thot maybe bigger then apply..i think i better apply now..as my tummy is already very big liao.

Dolly, i heard Clarins is good...dunno if i should stick to mustela or try Clarins..very fickleminded mummy...keke..

I bought mine from www.AddALittleLove.com after doing a comparison on the prices. Another merchant would be www.mybreastpump.com. Didn't have a US credit card as well. you can apply for a vpost account or Comgateway account at no charge.

You can email them to ask for quotes and u can make a comparison.

If u want to go thru a spree organiser, i know TanLengLeng has an ongoing spree for brestpumps. she is pretty reliable. ordered a couple of things from her previously.

I have PISA & Freestyle. Prefer PISA cos i think the suction power is stronger. Freestyle is good cos it's portable esp when u do not have no access to a power supply. PISA also has a battery pack but uses too many batteries and power runs lower v fast. $$ spent on batteries very shiong

tnks mummies for the advice! wow, i didnt even know theres so many brands for stretch mark cream & always only thought that apply on tummy only!

actually i dont really like the cocoa smell.. feel like puking.. clarins' got smell?

Hello everyone!

I just had power nap cos really too sleepy after lunch just now. Just finished tea - ham & cheese burger home-made. Now sipping Milo.

Dolly and all

I hadnt apply any stretch mark cream yet. I didnt do it during #1 as I had quite bad dry skin problems during #1 on my tummy. I consulted skin doc and apply medicated cream instead of stretchmark cream.. :-(

This time round, I think I may go without stretchmark cos my skin too sensitive le.. afraid cannot accept this creams... :-(

Dolly

Whats the meaning of private suite?

christine, when did u buy the pump and what was the price at that time? i am keen to buy from the US too, will reference your website.

PIS really too bulky lah, i think i will still go for the free style. but is the suction power reall much lower?

rach : there's two type for clarins - body huile tonic oil - aromatic smells = like going to spa... stretchmark control : fragrance free...

vv : kkh got gov sector & private for MTB.. so their private sector is calle Private Suite lor...

Ling, Cassandra, Wayne's mummy: Welcome... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

As i just hit the age 35, so need to do OSCAR test and will be on 8 Nov... quite a no of mummies already did the OSCAR test. For me, i will recommend Amenda dual breast pump (recommended by my company BF buddies)... it's very good, silent and gentle on the breast. I bought mine in 2009 and abt $200++... hubby ordered from US wesbite and sent to spore ... same thing here, no warranty and adapter need to change as different in USA.... hubby settle the adapter for me...

Rach, it's recommended to start applying the stretch mark cream once u know u are pregnant as different body develops differently... recommended areas to apply are the waist area, thighs, breast (ard the area) and buttocks area where the skin will stretch... 1st pregnancy using clarins till 16th weeks which i hve rashes and gynae asked me to stop (not sure whether due to it or food) and switched to a tube of cream in green color.. can't remember the name and used it till delivery. Both creams are good and not sticky after applying.

dolly, how much is the clarin cream?

Made me feel like buying PISA leh.

Christine, went to see LengLeng's spree, i think price wise, still consider reasonable, maybe can buy through her.

clarins got 2 types? hehehe, i only know that i went to the clarins counter and the lady recommended for me and told me that taiwan famous Xiao S is using it for her 2 pregnancy... so i bought it... hehehhee...

bought in Dec 2009. not sure abt the prices now. shdn't fluctuate too much.

Addalittlelove quoted me the following (in US$) previously

Freestyle #67060--- $287

Pump In Style Advanced (either backpack #57062 or shoulder bag #57027 model) --- $217

Pump In Style Advanced Metro #57036 --- $247

adapter (for PISA) - $20.50

Freestyle power is pretty sufficient. some slight difference. but medela claims both to have the same power. If u plan to bring the pump out, freestyle would be a better choice.

Wayne : it's SGD80 each.

Mudpie : yeah lor... when i was @ my ex company.. one of the colleague used both type for both of her girl... she don't have any stretchmark after delivery... so learnt from her...

vv : you seen her before?

Auroa : yeah there are two types...

i haven start using stretch marks creams for this preg...1st preg stretch marks still here.. not sure whether to apply for 2nd preg.. till now, skin hve not start to itch...

happymumtobe, if u opt for spree organiser, go for Leng Leng. Can't go wrong.

Previously I placed an order thru another organiser. apparently the organiser not very honest, didn't get the pumps for the intended merchant stated on her thread. refuse to tell where the goods r from (maybe refurbished units). some got their units didn't receive a complete set. One mummy didn't have the motor unit. how to get the pump to work wo the motor. claim it's the mummies fault cos she didn't check upon collection.

End of the day, moderator stepped in. luckily we got our refunds back. from then, decided to order on my own. anyway, i frequently order stuff from US.

Eh... I saw the thread moving so quickly!!!

Stretchmark cream: I've heard many people complain about palmer's cocoa butter. A colleague of mine had rashes after using and she didn't even know it's because of the cream! So just make sure you test on a small patch before using it on your tummy.

Breastpump: I borrowed a PIS before i got my freestyle. In terms of power, i believe the PIS is stronger. But, it was so painful to use coz the suction was really strong and I think i could only use it with almost minimal suction power. It was also super bulky and I had to lug it around everywhere I went. Imagine stroller, baby bag and PIS. Super siong. As my girl couldn't latch on properly, I had to pump all the time so i decided to invest in a freestyle. It was such a relief! Granted that it was less powerful, i realised that i was already quite comfortable with just the medium suction power, so that wasn't an issue. It also sucked (metaphorically) whenever the battery loosened when i dropped it or when the cover accidentally opened up in my bag. But I wouldn't use any other pump for my next one. =)

Hope that helps.

Dolly, ok, thanks. Roughly know how much it is before I go to the counter.

Auroa, I also have stretch from my #1, but mine is silver kind. I think still have to apply even though the old ones are still there.

My skin already stretching a lot. My boy call me fatty bom bom yty..sob..sob..

dolly: i also heard lots of good feedback on the clain series, have just bought one of the creme to try. i cant really take the palmer's series as the cocoa butter is making me puke.

christine, thanks for the price comparision, i think maybe for ease sake will join lengleng's spree. so the adaptor is the one for our socket?

mudpie : i'll apply the stretchmark control in the daytime & body huile tonic oil @ nite after shower... it's best to apply after shower coz your pores open up for better absorption..

i used the clarins treatment oil during my 1st pregnancy also no stretchmark at all..but tis time round super duper lazy to apply ha ha...

I luv medela PIS advance....they r really the best in the market n efficient....i usually only spend abt 15mins pumping n settle everything...so for 1st time mummies who are considering having #2 in future, its really worth the investment..... get from online stores it's so much cheaper than Singapore [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dolly, okie, think i better source ard for stretch marks cream now...

Wayne's mummy, hahhaha, u are not alone... my girl saw it and said: "Mummy, shame shame"... sigh...

starfruit, the adapter can get it locally... think sim lin square will sell it...

icic...thanks dolly...

if i free go buy tonite...whahaha

at 1st i tot wanna get palmer de...seem like not recommended...lol

mudppie, me also dun recommend palmer cocoa... once i went to the store, open and smell... it really sucks and it's really sticky.. my sister used it for her 1st preg and told me not to buy this brand as after application, her body so itchy and sticky and worse still the smell...

aiyoh, i already bought the palmer ones lor.. i smell it, already feel like puking.. shit.. waste my money.

dolly & auroa, thanks so much for ur advice... u all made me really want to go get the clarins asap! anyone know if isetan got clarins counter?

halo mummies,

ya i heard from my fren that many ppl hav rashes or allegry after using the palmer so think not recommended.. ya n the smell is puky! haha..

i saw this mustela before but read online like no effect leh, is it effective?

i heard that clarins oil is good.. my fren also recommended me this earth mama angel baby from US.. not sure if you all heard abt it? is supposed to be organic n she says not bad.. i saw @ suntec level 3 b4 and it's so ex, $60 for a small bottle.. but my fren bot in bulk n ship from US direct only cost me $20 so tot was a good buy..

haha but then many again many ppl say is the genes lo, some ppl apply alot also no use .. some nv apply also dun hav stretch marks..