(2011/05) May 2011

Cassandra

Welcome! A wooden cot will be better cos playpen is lower and u need to bend to place bb on the playpen which may cause backaches to you during your confinement or even after. Baby cot, u can adjust to 3 levels. Upmost level is during newborn period, easy for u to change diapers & all. Middle level is when bb is older, bb already can flip which is dangerous, so middle level is best.

And babycot, nowadays alot of freebies tat comes along like bedsheet full set with bumpers which is very worthwhile.. Can start to shop & look around 1st...

Dolly

So when u went to Europe, u were about 8weeks plus already? Okie, I understand what u meant. So for now, I think I gotta relax and adopt the "bo-chup" attitude to feel less stressful..

Hopefully will be fine, will check with her tomorrow and see what she says.

Yeap DOLLY

Am now indulging in my FilletO'Fish, trying to put the worries off behind me..

what will u be having today?

hi all, me new here. 1st preg, 14weeks liao.

pls advise what food/medicin we need to take as last checkup, doc didnt mention any.

have anyone start preparing stuff for baby? not so sure how to go about.

tks

hi mummies... didn't come in yesterday cuz was resting at home from nose bleed. donno why woke up yesterday having nose bleed, maybe too heaty. had a strange dream last night. dreamt that baby came out from the tummy to play. we were dressing the baby up as transformers, then after playtime, tried to push the baby back into the tummy but cannot. not sure if i should consider that a nightmare.

lin, hope your daughter is better by now.

it's almost lunch. enjoy!

Dolly

Yeah, just finished. I was too hungry just now, so I ordered earlier. Wow, chicken rice was on one of my decision list earlier. But thought didnt want to walk over, so just order thru phone

Ling

Welcome & Congrats!

Wat did your gynae prescribe to you earlier?

yea yoyo....

dun stress, rest well, eat well, sleep well...

tat goes for all mommies... =) hehe

so wats for lunch everyone?

Ling welcome here

I don't recall much advise fm my gynaecologist too but generally careful w Chinese herbs & cooling 'liang' foods at this stage, eg grass jelly. No raw like sashimi, some even include mayo/tartar, & no alcohol , soft drinks & reduced caffeine.

As for traveling, I cancelled 3 trips to Syd/Pen/Jkt, cost me $1200+ but no choice, MS was so bad I can hardly move, not to mention get out of the house. I think at 22wks shud be stable, I flew back fm LA at wk 7, it's 14hour flight & lucky all ok.

#1 having phlegmy cough, poor kiddo can't sleep, feel so stressed for him.

ling and cassandra welcome.....

ling i tot will be too early to start ordering anything from drugstore...you can look at that when you are ard 20wks...coz most items there are for daily use like desitin cream and CB stuff so dun need to buy so early [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

vv for me gynea nv say anything just gave me the jab to stabalise the pregnancy and told me to rest over the weekend n no more gym exercise for me ha ha ha...ya was 12wks liow tt time i still go gym 2x a wk for light workout...but tis round i not so hardworking....onli wan to sit n nua ha haha...

vv i go tokyo when i was 20wks during my first pregnancy and totally enjoy it coz tt time can walk n eat and dun feel so tired..but poor hubby got to carry all the luggage lor ha ha ha...

fish filet...yummy....i may go get laksa lata ha ha ha

vv - wow u had early lunch! I wanna eat instant noodles..haha myojo chix onion flavor or cintan curry still undecided :p

I have run out of idea what to eat for lunch..lazy to walk out to pack too! wanna go to fetch my girl back soon.

Ling

Different gynae give different med but hoh, more or less the same de. Im taking multivits from my gynae. I am contemplating if to take fish oil.

Best to avoid cooling foods for now till 2nd of 2nd trimester. 3rd trimester start, can take a little cooling stuffs liao.

Chinese herbs, for me - I will avoid until during confinement. I always have the feeling like Ang Mo med & Chinese herbs will clash. Hee...

Mudpie

Yeah loh. Bo CHUP attitude coming up... Have to really relax loh. This mor just kena agitated by #1.. Haz. Then I quickly sat down on sofa to relax.

Starflower

Wow, 7weeks travel so far and long hours, must be very tiring right? Yeah la, cancel better cos u also wont enjoy it since not feeling good.

Luan

Tokyo sounds nice! Alot of walking but 2nd trimester is great! Hey, I heard Yoga better during pregnancy, but no gym la. Cut gym temporary okie.

Apple

Yeah loh, so hungry just now. Curry Cintan better leh.

vv ya no gym tis time round ha ha ha...i'll be joing yoga classes after 12wks...coz just happens got one outside my ger's kindermusik class and timing is the same... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

just had yung tau foo laksa yum yum....

vv, me too, heard that we need to take fish oil, but not sure when is good to start.

me just back from cambodia when at week 12 ... next trip to hanoi will be at week 17 ... hope everything will be fine...

dolly, u mentioned that u hv bb checklist, can email me [email protected] - tks

to all mummies, take great care ...

Just had guavas for lunch. V pathetic hor. no appetite. Had an aweful wanton mee in the morning.

Travelling. I love to travel too. Hope I can go to tokyo or Aust early nx yr. Hv to be a kid friendly environment cos I'm bringing my boy along.

Anyone suffering from vaginal infection? I keep having vaginal infection every few days. Itch so badly. Hv to apply the neoderm cream everytime. Tot I hv spotting tday but turns out to be due to the scratching so nv inform my gynae. =(

vv: pls take care. the spotting may be a scare, dun worry so much. good tostay positive too.

22 weeks still considered 2nd trimester right? should be still ok to travel just make sure ur gynae gives u a letter to show the airline.

If u really wanna go ahead, pls check out all available medical help near your hotel for emergency purposes lah.

I was in europe when i was 7 weeks preggy this round, was lucky nothing happened cos i walked a lot too.

And for #1 pregnany, i toured switzerland with hubby when i was 6 week preggy, also lucky nothing happened. we take it real slow and i only hike downhill when we were there. But MS hit me and i had to have chinese food all the time. somemore chinese food so expensive and so not delicious and i made hb buy me Euro12 fried rice and fried noodle all the time!! :p

dolly: i have 2 other colleague preggy in my dept too.. was joking that this yr my dept very productive.l One due in March and one 2 weeks after me in early june.

Aurora: i read that 2nd time mummies are more sensitive and may feel movement much earlier. I tot i also felt some fluttering, dunno if its my imagination or not.

Cassandra: welcome [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my take, if u have the budget go for a proper baby cot, otherwise, playpen also can lah.

Ling: welcome [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Have u all heard about Obimin Pluz.. my SIL recommended me to take, its a new obimin with DHA, but sad thing is its not available in SG now. wonder when it would come in.

I just had a not fantastic box of packet mix veggie rice.. have to work and eat cos rushing for stuff.

Never cook my instant noodles..pick up my girl and went to McD drive thru..got myself the spicy drumlet meal and my girl took the apple pie too!

maybe tomorrow I'll cook the curry cintan..hehe

I think it is quite safe to travel in 2nd trim, but when your body tells u need rest, must fine a place to sit down and relax, don't force yourself to go beyond.

dolly and all mummies with good appetite: really envy u all leh.. i cant stomach food much now.. and everytime after i eat, 80% i will throw up. sigh> think this round the MS is even worst than my #1. can;t wait for it to be over soon. Hope by the time my trip comes next mth, i will be free from this MS torture.

apple: i used to love the spicy mc wings but now i have almost become a vegetarian.. cos the smell of meat is putting me off.

dolly: do u throw up at night? hb a bit concern at the rate i am throwing up cos i throw up practically after each meal. i remmebered i was like this too during my #1. wondering if same MS syntoms equal to same gender..hehehe

starfruit : i will try to "ren" lor... then my mum will ask me to eat her self-made dessert (1st time making & wants me to be guinea pig)... i reject her & told her off if i throw up how? but my #1 did throw up but was less than 5 times...

dolly: wha your list is hot.. heheh.. this MS is making me feel so bad that I dun even feel like doing anything now. i think when i feel better will ask the list from u .. cos already forgotten what i need to prep for a new baby. Thanks again. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

starfruit : should say for it's quite handy to have a checklist so that can keep a lookout on the items whether its a good bargain & it's quite comprehensive too... sad to say that it's my hb help me to google for this checklist during my #1 so he has kept this checklist since then... sure, drop me your email address then will forward the checklist to you..

starfruit: Hang in there! It's not easy to have MS and then also having to take care of a kid and go to work too! In fact, my MS this time is also worse than the last. But it does get better... Thank God! and i think it's also gotta do with the amt of sleep i have at night. The more and better i slept, the better i felt in the day. I wonder if this might help for you too. =) Take care and rest plenty!

dolly, got it..thanks ya...

anyone got remedy to cure bland mouth?duno y these couple of days like feel quite tasteless....hai...

yest pop sweets..but like quite numb to it...

I am new to this thread. Am currently 10 weeks pregnant, edd 26 May 2011, 2nd baby.

May I know if all of you went for the Oscar test already?

I did not test for my #1 and am still thinking whether I should do it for this baby...

mudpie : you are welcome... my colleague has the same situation with you... she's throughout her pregnancy... she actually went to her tcm & the sinseh actually prescribe medication for her to improve her appetite but till now she has no craving at all... & she's going to due on 05 Dec 2010...

Wayne : Welcome to this family... i only did the normal down syndrome test..

dolly, what is the difference between the normal down syndrome test, Oscar and NT scan, I am a bit confuse.

Also ladies, I am still thinking which brand of breast pump should I get.

I have sold my avent single electric pump long time ago and I think I want to get a dual pump this time round.

Hope your can share with me whether ameda, medela or avent dual pump, which one is better.

wayne: welcome ...

dolly, what is the diff between oscar and normal down syndrome test?

me did mine, not sure if oscar or normal test ... doc say is low risk ... me very blur one ... doc say do tests, i just do ...

dolly: thanks.. i think will give u my email, pls send me the list now..think better to prepare early. my memory very bad lately, hope i won;t make u send it to me again. :p pls email to starfru1ty at yahoo dot com. thanks.

wayne's mummy: welcome. i didn;t do oscar for my #1, now deciding if i wanna do for my #2.

mudppie, i am also popping sweets, taking the hudson's lime candy. someone was recommending the fox fruit candy?

Ling / Wayne : i'm at KKH, so i'm not so sure what's OSCAR or NT scan... so i've done the 90% down syndrome scan, which is the blood test & the ultra sound done by the sonographer.. as for the amniotic fluid test is unless the test is lower than the normal range then you will be require to do the test. Alternatively, if you are above 35. Understand from the doctor that if you still don't feel comfortable with the result. You can still go ahead with amniotic test but there will be risk of miscarriage.

Ling: if yours low risk, dun need to do oscar lah. save some money.

Oscar is a new test. we used to only have the NT scan and triple blood test. but seems like oscar can detect for abnormalities much earlier as they usually require us to do it before week 12/13.

wayne: fr breast pump, if budget is not a concern, go for the medela they have a new model the freestyle, i still feel that medela is the best in the market. Otherwise, u can opt for the ameda brand. i had this, its cheaper than the medela (Which cost close to $800). For manual pump, i think the best is the avent one. anyway, no need to buy so early, wait for promo its more worth it. some ppl actually advise to only buy after bb comes out cos some woman actually give up or cant BF. so no need to buy so early cos its expensive.

Hannah: Thanks.. i am trying to sleep as much as i can. everyday by the time the clock hits 9:30pm, i will say its my bed already.. heheh. hey when is your next appt with Dr Chua? i am seeing her on 6 Nov.

Hi dolly,

starfruit, same, i am also thinking. Hubby say no need to do cause no matter wat happen we cannot abort because of religion. But then i still hope to have a peace of mind...

Hi ling, thanks for the welcome

dolly: yes yes.. hahah, didn;t type it full here cos usually will get spam from the ppl looking for email address here. thanks again for the list really appreciate it. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]