(2011/05) May 2011

Re: Nail clipping

Wonder how you mummies trim ur babies' nails - using nail clipper or scissors? I think it's qte challenging to trim nails using clipper but scissors doesn't give me the neat defined lines that I like.

Re: yaolan

Deon, are u still rocking your baby to sleep in the automatic yaolan? My baby suddenly behave very well today and slept in the yaolan but I am very worried that she'll be used to the rocking motion. She sleeps on my bed at night and can slp well, only waking up for feeds but during the day she doesn't really like the bed. Mummies what do u suggest? Shld I wean my baby off the yaolan and make her slp on the bed instead? My concern is that my mil is looking after my kids and she finds it easier to make babies slp with the yaolan, so I'm afraid that she will have difficulty making the bb sleep on the bed when I return to work.

starfruit, OMG the employer just cancel & repatriate her now. They worried she lodge a complain to MOM!! Gosh..

My agent spoke to her, now she is at the airport. We will apply for her to return to work for me, hopefully she will be back in mid or end Aug..

abt tmrw gathering..Evie: I can't make it..i have an appt at 2pm so it might be a lil rush for me..haiz..still have to give it a miss..sorry~

slyvia: use scissors to cut coz it's very soft =)

yaolan: my mil suggests using it but i'm putting it off till later..my girl sleeps well on the bed so i suggest to let her fall asleep on the bed and than put her in..we both feel that if she's tired she will sleep anyway but the yaolan will be good for shaping the head and supporting the neck..it's up to individual la..but I am putting it off till she hits 4-5 mo...

Deon,

ur bb is guai leh..dun chew on mittens.mine wil chew till wet. today i didnt let her wear mittens so alwas eat drumstick...lol

Slyvia,

i oso use scissors to cut thou i hv nail clipper.my aunt taught me to use scissors she say young nw use scissors is easier. when bb slightly older can use nail clipper & i do agree, after using scissors stil abit on the sharp & doesnt hv d nice curve. so i will try to trim as curvy as poss to prevent her from scratching herself. use wat u mommies find it best for urself ba =)

Re: yaolan,

my mil oso suggest me to let bb slp in sarong during d day & on bed in d nite. she said in this way bb wont get used to jus sarong alone or bed. sarong in d day cos we dun on aircon & sarong with fan can b quite airy not hot. but on bed even if u on fan blowing directly can b quite hot for bb & sometimes bb might not b used to it. i will normally wait till bb is almost sleepy then i put her in sarong so when i rock abit,she will go into lalaland within 5-10mins.then i wil stop rocking her. i didnt get those electric de, mil advise is electric so bb wil get very used to d rocking.but if u jus rock her to slp & once asleep u stop she wil not b so used to it. i duno hw true, but i jus follow cos she has been a bb sitter for many yrs...

Re: Gathering tmr at vivo

gals, is on, if u can make it, jus pop by ba =)

mayb later i wil call to make reservations..i hope they wont turn me dwn cos we hv so many mommies & bb & strollers...whahahha

starfruit, take care & rest well ya =)

Apple, tts so bad of d maid's ex employer. making maid pay dbl loan & lengthen ur waiting time when u nid her!!

Tml gathering is 11am at vivo swensen? I will pop by if I can make it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sylvia: we use small nail clipper.. But always is trim by my hb.. Not me.. Hehe

vivo gathering: can I check if mummies r bringing pram or just sling? I feel like bringing both but worried no place to 'park' it there..

Mudpie: r u able to reserve it? Haha

Sylvia - I am facing the problem now, she only want to sleep in yao lan. But I decided to cut off the rocking, went cold turkey on her yesterday and half of today. You will face a lot of crying, have to endure.. I am still doing it, not giving up.. I have to win this one, not her !!

Mudppie - Thanks huh, say my bb "guai" She got a fiery temper that is out of control !! Gosh, I tried to get her to sink into a routine. Wake, feed and sleep.. She will wake and feed and refuse to sleep. Yesterday went quite well, we tried to force her to take naps she relented (maybe because my mum was not around). Today I cannot get her to do it at all. Once put her in yao lan, she scream and kick her legs refusing to sleep. She cried from 3 plus till now and the reason she stops is because it is her feeding time.. I have to fight the battler with her again later.

She has a temper I never seen before in an adult and she is only at the start 0f 8 weeks. She can listen well and is taking on the challenge, let's see who win you or me ? I have to say she won today but not giving up and going to keep trying.

Mittens - Have to keep a lookout and pull out her drumstick when she starts sucking. If not, will become a habit and difficult to kick. Also if keep sucking drumstick, fingers all become white and wrinky..

Mudppie & deon, mine also chew so hard on her mittens. I think its ok i will let her chew cos i dun give her pacy lah.

Now MIL trying to feed her the bottle n i am staying far far away so she dun smell or hear me. So far dun look good. She still dun want the bottle! Headache today day 3 already.

Deon: I can't bear to let baby cry. He always cry till he cough or even lose his voice if we dun attend to him in time or if we carry but he continues crying. My baby's temper is also very bad and he's super impatient. Can't wait for milk. Once he wakes up, he must get the milk immediately if not he'll cry until like we abuse him.

Sylvia: I used nail clipper. My friend's sis taught me to clip halfway then just use our finger to peel off since baby's nails are very soft and I successfully did it today all by myself.

Sucking mittens.. My girl started 2 weeks ago.. Last week i decided to intro paci coz fingers difficult to wean and some BB fingers 'deform' and can't kick the habit..her face alot of rashes coz of the wet mitten rubbing her face.. Now better already.. Either way it's a decision to be made la

moomum, try to come ba...lol

preciousmom, dun worry, bring both.i made reservation le & spoke to d mgr to give us a corner space to our own & lots of empty space cos i duno hw many prams we hv..whahaha...she say 11am stil early..thou she allocate but let us choose to see if we like d space..lol

starfruit, u mean bb can smell us? i didnt noe they can smell us to latch if we carry them...i oso trying v hard not to give pacy & latch her only at nite whenever she cry..kekeke...but i like to see her finding her way to latch once in d position..lol..so mean of me rite...lol

dp u think can try to cup feed her or using syringe when bb reject bottle?

Apple: there are 2 side of the story I guess. If my this maid got probs, I would send her back as well. Don't want others to suffer. See again 930 say wanna sleep Liao. Her life really good. Now I realize she keep saying yes understand which infact don't understand at all. I still got to take pepper all these for her at restaurant man. And plain lazy. I will endure the min 30 days usage and see any new maids for me to choose or not. But with new maid we still got to pay $400+ of philippines embassy fee. Headache.

Mudppie of cos they can smell us cos we smell of milk and its their primary food source!!! Hehe she is always rooting when i bao bao her. I kept very quite n stayed away when mil fed her the bottle just now. Too tedious to cup feed or syringe feed so i still wanna try the bottle.

Anyway slight victory just now, she finally managed to suck on her milk bottle after a latch on session n finished 30ml. So its a small victory for me. Will cont to try tomorrow.

seems like our bbs pretty fussy lately... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my bb on n off took 30 mins nap today n rather fussy today... finally at 9pm knocked off n sleep... till now still sleeping... since sat, nite she' been sleeping 3 or 4 hrs then wake up n drink abit n sleep... arrugh...

now up for pumping... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I gonna miss the gathering again. My elder boy having fever. Sian, finally the gathering is at town area but i cannot make it.

You all take more photos and post at fb, ok?

Kristle, I spoke to the maid ex-employer agent..the rich Indians really difficult to serve! Infact, agent wanted her to lodge a case to MOM against the employer. This maid quite timid, she just want to earn a living, in case MOM took months to resolve..she'll go without job coz I won't be able to wait for her. Well, my household is totally different fr the ex-employer, so I told her she has to follow my instructions no matter what..if she can't perform I'll also send her back.

As for your maid, u gotta set your expectation right fr the beginning. Fresh maid usually takes awhile to adapt to our lifestyle. Like my previous maid, eventhough she has experience & pain beautiful stories..when we brought her for holiday & taking buffet bfast @ the hotel, she just simply grab bread!! faint

I suggest u go thru the routine with her, be firm and tell her do and don't..also warn her if work not done, she is not suppose to sleep. When she wanna go to bed, musr inform u or hb.

starfruit: my baby always turn his head sideways and suck on my breast when I'm wearing shirt and wet my whole shirt. LOL. Sometimes he even suck on my shoulder and hand when I'm carrying him and he only does that to me, he dun do it to my husband. But on the day of his discharge from hospital, we have to feed him first and my husband was carrying him at first and he turn and wanted to suck my husband's breast. Very funny.

Yest nite baby automatically cried at 10.15pm again but after half an hour managed to let him sleep in yao lan. After feed at 2.30am he also went to sleep, very guai. But nightmare came at 7am feed. When burping he's sleeping so 5 min I faster put him down but once I put him down his eyes open very big and started to cry. Spent a lot of time to let him sleep but he woke up and cried again once I put him at his bed. Then I ignored him and went to wash the milk bottle. When I came back and rock his bed he stopped crying but after one minute, he started crying again! In the end after one whole hour then he finally went to sleep. Really felt like giving him two tight slaps, have to control myself.

Jenny, my boy same pattern as yr bb now.. carry, sleep.. put him down, open eyes and refuse to sleep... now i give him pacifier and slowly he suckle himself to sleep.. can't offer my breast as he sucks and drink then later he push in/out the nipple and playing... so frustrating [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Auroa: My baby also likes to suckle himself to sleep. But pacifier sometimes cannot do the trick. He wants my breast but if he suck I cun sleep and also scare cover his nose later he got no air.

Some pple can sleep when sitting. Then they can sling baby and sleep. But I cun, must lie down then can sleep. If I lie down n carry baby he dun like it. He wants me to stand or sit when carrying him. Headache. But luckily now day time he's better. Now playing with himself, hopefully later I can eat my lunch.

Jenny, can't cultivate the habit of sucking the nipple to sleep... once they hve this habit, it will be diffcult to kick... at least packifer can take away [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Just now i leave my bb in his cot bed and he plays w the musical cot mobile while i eat... shortly he's crying liao. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Mummies at Vivo gathering: Have fun and enjoy yourselves!

Sylvia: Thank you. I worry can’t find nanny and if I do, he may get ill-treated by nanny if he continues to be fussy. I wish he’ll get over this period soon and start smiling.

Don't worry, i think your MIL say say only right? How would she bear to let a stranger handle her grandchild?

For nails, I use scissors now and trim a bit only. Tried using nail clipper and cut his skin by accident with blood came out and he went hysterical.

Mudpie, Deon, Starfruit: So cute…yours will eat drumstick.

Starfruit: congrats on your victory of bottle-feeding [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Kristle: Either your maid a good actress so you end up taking pepper, etc for her or she really got problem with English. Good that you have decided to change her if she cannot help you.

Apple: The transfer maid if she’s telling the truth, then she very poor thing to restart a fresh loan. Did you get a chance to speak with her ex-employers to get both sides of the story?

Auroa: I managed to eat my lunch just now. So happy. He cried when I was going to finish for his milk. I fed him and after that he cried coz he's tired. Have been sleeping from 1pm but woke up just now and I rocked him back to sleep. At least I'm done with my lunch and shower. Hopefully at night also can take my dinner.

I use Pigeon liquid cleanser to clean pump parts and bottles before sterilising. Sometimes out of stock in the shops. Any other recommendations? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi, I would like to give away my Glenn Doman English and Chinese flash cards. These are white cards with big red words.

I have done it with my boy a year plus ago and it is very effective. He seems to learn things very easily now. So I highly recommend it to anyone with kids under 3. It is very easy to do at home. just 5 seconds each time 2 or 3 times a day.

Anybody interested or have more queries, please contact me directly at [email protected].

Maid getting better at eating snakes. Clothes not dry also don't know to bring out to sun. Whole afternoon only prepare dinner. If not take hours to fold clothes in her own room. I am the one seriously sleep deprived yet still have to monitor her what's not done.

Heloo....gathering was great huh...kekeke

nice meeting alot of new mummies...

dolly, great minds think alike...lol..i jus posted on fb asking if we shld organise another gathering nxt week...i dun mind gg to vivo again..but not swensens...whahahah

i mus definately go out more gatherings...lol...my intention to lv earlier was to shop..but then..i only manage to go to 1 shoe shop & q for gong cha...& im so dead beat...

hahahaha

nice mgting all the mummies and babies @ vivo earlier =)

dolly,

duno how u looked like before but u sure look gd today =)

re: gathering

vivo v far for me le aft today experience. keke. how abt orchard? =P

mudppie,

i also manage to go to toyrus only and aft tt i surrender =P

Thank you Starfruit for your encouragement.

Today is a tough battle too. Refused to sleep even though I put her in yao lan. Drink milk already also do not want to sleep. In the end, I told her you can cry your heart out. I left her crying in the yao lan and check on her every 5 minutes to tell her she has to stop crying in order for me to carry her. After several times, she got it and stop. Then I carry her and pat her to sleep. She was sleeping soundly and I placed her in yao lan, less than an hour the crying starts again.

I not sure if I am not feeding enough.. She is at her 8 weeks and I have increased the milk intake from 90 ml to 100 ml. Is it normal for 8 weeks baby ? Can mummies advise me ? I am bit worried of feeding her too much, when I brought her for her assessment on her 6 weeks, she weighs 4.75 kg. Doc said she is slightly heavier than average already !!

I wish to attend gathering but I got no confidence to bring my bb out alone. I cannot handle her temper... Even my mum is almost at the verge of giving up.. I am worried about my new maid, scared bb will scare her off.

city sq, i think abit far for alot of west mummies...

oc = orchard central?

or suntec? more spacious? will it b convenient for North side mommies?

Little fly, my agent spoke to her ex employer..they feel that it is her responsibility to complete 2 yrs contract & not finding new employer as she wish after working for 9 mths. The rich thinks that since they choose to be a maid they hv to serve the employer no matter what..crazy rite?? My agent gave up talking to them & think they r not human being! The maid begging them to let her work for others but they just don't want to entertain. After my agent left, within 2hrs they ask her to pack & send her off to airport.

Deon, dun worry, ter's alwas a 1st time...

many mommies oso 1st time bring bb out oso succeed...

if not u bring ur new maid along...=) many exp mommies will b ter to help....