(2011/05) May 2011

Auroa,

Wah. So nice of the hospital to provide food for hb who will be staying over. Kkh dun have so my hb got to go n pack food for himself n my boy. The sofa bed in kkh think more for 1 person   So I think my boy can't share with my hb coz my boy tends to flip n turn alt when slpping also.

Ah, so do u hope ur baby will pop tml? I just finish bwax and I am wondering if it will trigger labour pain. Hahaha!!

Split,

When baby suckle, it will trigger contraction of the womb. This is normal as it helps the womb to shrink back to normal size.

Yah.. Thks jenny n kay. I'll monitor. Seems like bb only started kicking when his gorgors in the house making noise (between 8-9pm). Now all asleep so quiet. Even bb in tummy quiet.

Aurora, i think u shd just keep quiet n sneak her in. After tt they have no choice. If they make noise then at least ur gal will know its those auntie nurses who dun allow n not u. :p

Val - Must be feeling good after u done the bwax ya!

split - I also never bring breast pump..now milk kicks in, feel heavy! hope no engorgement. My notty bb, after sucking for 10min on 1 side, he will go to lala land!! sigh..nurse ask me to take off the swaddle blanket and rub his chest to wake him up again.

Today I also felt the uterus contractions while feeding. My c-sec wound so far so good, I stop taking painkiller. My gynae did a clean up, so my mense also min..if I knew it earlier, I do not need thick and long pad :p

newtoitall, hospital they r using huggies. I find the material very rough! I bought 2 packs of pampers newborn, so go home I'll switch to that. After that I'll go for Nepia or Mammypoko.

val,

nvr tried bwax be4 in my life...kekek....pain?

newtoitall,

i've tried:

huggies - no gd, can hold a few pee but will feel wet....

pampers - very gd n expensive. but too thin to hold multiple pees....

mamy poko - expensive but really gd, even multiple pees, diaper still feel dry....thumbs up for this! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i've yet to try nepia. tempted to buy....

heard its good but sample tat i've recd previously seems that its too thin, mayb cant hold much? mummies used it be4 can feedback?

Sh - My gal was on Nepia for long time fr S to XL to Pull-up pants. I luv Nepia. The cottony materials are soft and comfy, unlike Huggies, very rough. I saw GEH nursery nurse put a cotton padding on my boy's tum to avoid the diaper contact with the umbilical cord.

Usually I started with Pampers then switch to Nepia. As Pampers has this u-cut on the umbilical cord area to avoid friction.

Apple,

I juz used finish 1 pack pampers Nb but don hv the u cut now. 2 yrs back I use still hv de....

Mamy poko I now using hv the u cut thou.

For nepia, Izz quite thin? My Boi has been using mamy poko from s to l now...

Sh, huh..pampers no longer having u cut? Sad..I bought 2 packs! Nepia not thin but cottony material instead of mesh. So it is softer..good for bb with sensitive skin.

Halo mummies!!!

Me just give birth yesterday @ 3pm... Bb weight is 3.3kg...

Now struggling with my moo moo career... So far bb been quite a good sucker... Hope I can persevere on...

Diapers,

I bought dryers for daily use n mamy poko for nite use... Agree mamy poko really good... Can hold urine very well...

Apple, u're still in hospital? When are u discharging? My csect so far so gd I wasn't on any painkiller too and the menses discharge was very little too the nurses were quite worries ytd keep checking me cuz my bp was low also..

Service at tmc: ytd when doing admission was quite disappointed with the service I got from the nurse manager.. First impression of the centre really nit very gd.. Cuz hub and my intention was to stay at 2 bedded so if there is no upgrade from 4 bedded as mention by my gynae there is den we'll ask for 2 bedded so during the admission we just wanna clarify with her.. But her tone wasn't friendly and keep repeating telling is if we want 4 bedded den said 4 bedded if wan 2 den said 2 so I tried to explain to her my gynae instruction was to clearly tell them 4 bedded N they will u

Auto upgrade for us.. Den again she repeated telling us in a not so nice tone just said want 2 or 4.. Hubby at this point wasn't happy le so he ask again in a nit so friendly tone (we're quite friendly at first) so now we tell u 4 bedded we re going to which type of rm.. Den she reply not very nice tone 2 bedded but is a smaller room..den she ask my hubby if he is driving my hubby said yes den she said wll give him 2 card to park as $3 per day, den my hubby just said my stay was for 3days how the 3rd day is it normal rate.. Her reply was like " I'll only gif u 2 card here the car park also very demanding one u know"... The tone was again like we owe her money...

Den she tell us I admit ytd so count 3 days should discharge on Friday noon.. But today check with my gynae he was saying 3 days should be on sat so now quite confuse and hubby keep telling me he need to plan also when discharge cuz if sat I might need him to get me my pump and sanitary pad.. Den just now I check with another nurse she said 3 days should be sat also so I dunnu how that nurse manager count as Friday.. But other than the counter nurse manager the service here so far so gd.. Oh just that the lc here is not as friendly and approachable as compared to mt a.. Food wise also not bad..

Yaer, Congrats

Check with u gals how to differentiate contractions fr Tummyache? Might sound stupid sorry but I feel so uncomfy. There's this nagging pain n mild crampy but more painful than usual 1hr ago. Drank some cereal n felt tummy v tight. Now sitting up on bed feel better but breathless like that n want to shit like that but go toilet nthg.

I can't even time the contractions cos I can't even sense it stopping or coming.. Jus this crampy feel...oh no I think I v jiat lat. Can't even tell n time

Split, I'll discharge today. Over at GEH, service has improved compared to 5yrs ago. Food wise still cannot make it especially post natal meals. So far, I hv great help fr the friendly nurses by checking whether I need painkiller, they will bring bb to me when I needed. No need me to go to nursery to collect [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] thumbs up! The sisters are all friendly.

Hopefully today bb allows to go home with us! PD will order blood test later for jaundice check together with metabolic screening we opt for.

Parking @ GEH is horrible!! Expensive yet not enough parking lot..my hb came around 9am & gotta wait for carpark lot yesterday.

Oh ok Thnks. I'm supp to Hv gynae chk later 3 hrs time n afternoon she's gg on leave Liao... But my gynae always say wait n see n it's nt the real contractions yet. Must wait till 7 mins per contraction but Duno how to time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hubby wants to bring me eat coffeebean breakfast b4 c gynae.. Duno can enjoy or not, sigh

Split

The pain shld be uterine contraction. No worries, if ur c-sec wound is painful, just ask for more painkillers. I stopped the painkillers when at hm. The uterine contraction pain will continue for a few days if u continue to latch bb all the time. No worries, it will go away soon. Jiayou!

Xuanmin they did hive me painkiller but I find my csect wound bareable and I'm already able to walk around and sit up so not taking it since I bf jus that tummyache when bf quite uncomfortabe

Split, you are one of the few mummies who said the csect wound is bearable.

Very strong mummy! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Usually my friend all complained how painful is theirs!

Good morning ladies!

Imma going to my gynae check up soon. Hope everything will be answered.. Crossed my fingers..

Bunnymum:- I also have the same feeling, it has been a week or more.. Finally today check up can clarify wif my gynae & ask for a VE check for sure.. u seeing ur gynae soon?

Val, Mount E got charge at a cost (think it's abt $90 for bunking in and food)... my hubby dun want to travel up and down and trouble w food, so he rather stay lor.

Btw, my girl in the middle of early this morning sudddenly shivered in her sleep.. she's having running nose and blowed out yellowish mucus. Think she caught a cold in the clinic yesterday. My hubby told me tat yesterday he was so cold in the clinic and i asked him whether he let her wear sweather or drink warm water during the 2hrs wait, he said no. *faint* Now i hoping tat bb stays inside while i nurse my girl's health.. better dun come out this few days.. keeping my fingers cross. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

newtoitall, i thinking of tat too. My hubby said tat shd ask my girl to act out "Ke Lian"'s face to the nurses so tat they allow her to stay. But now, got to be on hold now as my girl is sick... dun think they will allow her to sick if they sees her running nose. Haiz.

yaer, congrats!

morning,

auroa, i dun think they will shoo u out if its single room lah.. heheh cos as long as door close, its quite private.

Any mummies have any idea what is the diff between the rates for a single room and double at Mt A?

Sunflower: how much are u feeding for FM? actually for FM, can stretch till 4 hrs. cos FM more filling but u need to pump/latch every 3 hrs on the dot to stimulate your ss.

Re: Diapers,

I like MP and Nepia too.. for NB, i bought huggies, papmers and sealers.. cos NB goes through diaper damn fast, so can go for cheaper ones.. bought huggies cos it seems like onloy huggies have the urine indicator.

MP us very good to last through the night, i will switch to MP when bb needs S or M and can sleep at longer hrs for each stretch, cos it does not leak and diaper can hold damn well. For NB, too heartpain to keep throwing every hr.

Nepia is very good and soft but cant last through the night, but it very good to use in the day.

good morning mummies,

hello! I have been reading the thread but too busy to post. Hope to join in the discussion as apprehension is setting in to cope with a newborn. My #1 boy is coming to 4 yo next month. =)

Congratulations to all mummies who have popped! =)

Hi Val,

Can kindly update my details? Thanks!

Nick: Nic (giftfromgod)

Gynae: Dr Eunice Chua

BB #: 2

BB Gender: Boy

EDD: 28 May 2011

Hospital: TMC

FTWM

Hi preciousmom,

Thanks for the welcome. =)

My BH contractions are getting more intense recently. What about you? Are you prepared for bb's arrival?

Nic, welcome to our thread, i am seeing Dr Chua as well.. my edd 2 days earlier than u. Will be going down to her clinic later to see her.. now she put me on weekly visits!!!.. my #1 just turned 4 this yr too.

Hi Ash,

That's great to know. How's your #1 reacting to yr pregnancy so far? My boy is all excited! Since the start of May, the first thing he asks when he wakes up is "Is it didi's birthday today?" ;P

But my boy is very sticky to me. I hope he will adapt well to baby...

Hi starfruit,

Thanks for the welcome. =) Ohh..wow we have so much in common. =)

My next appt is next week. My weekly visits starts next week. ;) Looks like we might have a chance to bump into each other at her clinic! We might even end up delivering on the same day...kekeke .....well, let's just hope not at the same timing! ;P u are delivering at Mt A? Not TMC?

Did Dr Chua deliver yr #1 too? =)

star: ya next wed. csect scheduled for morning. hope no changes *fingers & legs crossed*

nic: so far #1 is reacting well too. v excited and always ask how come bb not out yet?

Nic: icic.. I aso hv bh tightness but not at interval yet.. So still waiting.. N yes.. I m prepared for e arrival as I m nw already starting my maternity leave.. Hehe.. Hw abt u?

Nic, yeah i am going to Mt A, delievred my #1 there and i like it so go back the there again. My #1 was not with her, my gynae at GEH now, too far for me, so decided to change another doc. She came highly recommended by a few of my frens. So far so good, i like her and she is soo pretty!.. hehehe but i usually see her on sat.. suppose to see her this sat but cos of election, appt brought forward by 1 day. how about u? at TMC< natural delivery?

split, i think your pain tolerence level quite high leh!.. hehe

Ash, wow you will be holding yr bb next week! *exciting* yeah I guess our #1s are at the stage of asking plenty of qns!

preciousmom: how old are your #1 and #2? i guess you are enjoying the time with them now before #3 arrives? I am on outpatient sick leave now as I only intend to start my maternity leave when I deliver so that I can stay home to breastfeed bb....will be very tedious to pump milk @ work. ;)

starfruit: Yeah I heard plenty of rave reviews abt Mt A and that TMC standards have dropped, so good choice! Yes, Dr Chua is soo pretty for her age...do you know she has 5 kids? And now her daughter is helping her out at the clinic. Yup, me at TMC and I hope natural delivery like my #1. My boy was 4.2kg at birth.....and I hope #2 is as big as well....easier to handle. =)

Nic: my #1 is going 6 yrs n my #2 is 3 yrs.. They r nw at childcare centre.. I alone at home.. Hehe.. Cannot imagine I can rest with them ard at home.. Morning my #2 still demands me 2 bring them go 2 sch.. Hehe..

Nic, her daughter helping her, no wonder, that must be her daughter i saw, quite young and soft spoken!! she has taken over the reg nurses helping her.

Yeah i heard about her children, is that he oldest one? your no.1 is huge!hahahah but maybe boys, so tend to be bigger.

My office dun recognise MC/outpatient sick leave related to pregancy just before ML, all these will be conisdered as ML.

preciousMum, wow all your kids are 3 yrs apart!! nice. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jerejoy,

congras and gd thing she came out before edd then no nd to induce =)

dolly,

hope u will recover soon frm ur flu

starfruit,

who knows, this time rd u can do it natural w.o epi =)

keep us updated aft ur gynae visit today ya.

heaven,

congras too =)

xuanmin,

gd ss u have and ur hard wk paid off! =) Well done!

apple,

how are u feeling today? hope D will be discharing with u later =)

ya, feel clean but abit sore ard the area this morning still....

csect will have lesser lochia?

lucky i havent bought huggies diapers le...thot of doing so coz of the urine indicator le...

sh,

yes! it is indeed painful lo but at least i didnt scream or shout la. hahahaha.

yaer,

congras! determination helps a long way in ur bfeeding. jia you! =)

auroa,

think KKH nt so bad coz at least there is a foodcourt, mcd and delifrance here so hb can just go dwn to grab the food rather than driving out. the sofa bed if i am nt wrong comes in foc with A1 ward. unless wan another foldable bed then i think nd to pay $2/nite.

oh dear. watch out for fever too. hope she will be fine soon. have u given her flu med? ya, tell ur baby to be gd and wait as jiejie is nt well. v tough for u? to handle both if she is sick and u deliver nw...

anyway, i think the nurses sld b ok to let her stay if she has flu too ba. just get ur gal to wear mask n tell nurses no one helping to take care of her at hm?

Nic,

welcome and updated ur details to the table =)

mayb u wanna get some presents for ur #1, esp when he comes to hosp to visit, give him a present stating its frm #2...i also prepared other smaller presents (things tat i know he will like) so tat when he shows signs of jealousy or when he sees meimei has alot of toys n hampers I will give 1 to him also.

Val, what did u get for gor gor as present? i have not bought anything.. hmm.. now thinking what to get, dunno if i should get a toy or maybe a book on "being a big sister"!

My temp finally came in, so far so good but i do can;t really pass anything to him as his email is not up!! argh... so fustrating!

preciousmom: 3 years gap...lovely! =) u r right...if they r home, u won't be able to rest! my boy is in school now and I can have some peace....kekeke so next year yr #1 will be in p1....u know which school to enrol him/her to?

starfruit: ya, I think that's her eldest child. yeah I know some companies don't allow mc before maternity...i am a civil servant...teacher =P

Val: Thanks for updating my details! I've just sent you a PM to request to add in FB. =) Great suggestion on getting the gifts. I brought my #1 to shop for a gift for baby and he picked a musical mobile toy. I will take up yr suggestion and pick smaller toys to give to #1. =)

Val - I'm feeling good [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] the PD said he thought I can discharge yesterday coz I looks good and doesn't look like c-sec mum :p Thumbs up to my gynae again, but when I see the bill later I gonna faintz. Oh yes, if c-sec gynae will usually flash out those lochia, so we only have min bleeding.

I'll be going home with D coz PD doesn't want to hold me here, he said if there is a need he can send the light to my home for phototheraphy or see him back in Mt A.

If u haven't buy huggies, don't buy! The material so rough. Go for MP or Pampers.

Haha..KKH sofa bed comes foc on A1 ward? GEH gotta pay, but comes with meals..same like Mt E.

I agreed KKH is convenient, got foodcourt, McD, Delifrance, Mr Bean even toast cafe if not mistaken. Or else just take the shuttle bus go Novena [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Welcome Nic [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]