(2011/05) May 2011

dolly - noted. when she get in to the class, I will ask u again which shop to get..hehe

my girl super horrible type la..she seems like having fun with enrichment classes despite lots of homework after the lessons. Previously she actually wanted to learn drum, but min age is 6, then she said she wanna learn violin. Well, I can play piano but she is not keen..so I just let her be.

hannah,

yup. esp if in the morning session! anyway, nwadays alot of top students nt only come frm branded/gd schs. alot are frm neighbour schs as well. its nt only the sch, the hm environment oso got to be conductive lo. parents have to do a part and nt rely on the sch alone.

wayne_mummy,

i am looking at music wonderland =)

dolly,

yes. depends on individual parent n kid as well...if a kid cant perform in a gd/branded sch and cant take the stress then wat will happen? this is wat worries me most. i dun wan this to affect my kid and cause him/her to have low morale when it comes to studying n learning lo coz its a lifelong thing, nt just confine to academic sch days.

apple,

my boy says he wans to learn violin aft we attended the babies prom. hahaha. Hey, can u share more info on NAFA with me?

blurlemon,

hehee. i am opp frm u, i like thick type esp natural birth coz can provide some cushion below. haahha. i v worry stitches will split lo =X

apple,

violin is nice le. i hope my boy can learn to play saxophone coz i like! hahaha.

Dolly, the nearest at my place is Yahama..I just let him try for fun.

Actually I prefer to groom him in sports cause he is an active boy but he dun like swimming. That time he is interesting in soccer but the school is too far. I like kindergolf but hubby says is an expensive enrichment so cannot.

We not driving so location always a problem if we enrol too many enrichment..now his phonics class at Jurong already took up the whole of our sat morning liao.

Shall slowly see where is his interest then decide.

apple / val : understand from my HB that violin is quite tough to learn. violin is diff from piano, piano has chord while violin don't have chord and has to "explore" the tune by ownself..

wayne_mummy,

ya...my hb oso thot of kindergolf so 3 of us can go play golf in future tog. hahaha. aiya, alot of things we hope to enrol my boy in...like my hb always wanted to enrol him in SYFC...everything is say and see how it goes coz its wat we wanted and we have yet to see if my boy has the interest.

dolly,

yes. violin is nt easy to learn. at the moment, my intention of letting him take music is to learn the basic, learn hw to appreicate n see if he has the interest. eventually, which instrument he wanna play will be decided by him liao.

val : true lor... heard from my MIL that my HB don't like to learn violin coz always got punish due to wrong posture.. now turns up that my HB has full passion for violin till now.. except my SIL, bought piano for her.. she's stopped playing after getting grade 8... but occassionally she'll teached..

Val, my hubby suggest fencing instead of kindergolf..he say can train my boy to be focus.

But I still prefer swimming first..I ask my boy he say dun want..got sharks..lol..will slowly convince him when we go to the chalet pool this sunday.

wayne_mummy,

wah..fencing. its a unique sports here.

ahahah. why does he says got sharks? so far, my boy likes swimming but my hb can teach la. so save on this =P

dolly: OOOOooooohhhhh.... You got a super talented hb!

apple: yep! I think i know where it is! maybe just see how ba... I might change my mind later also... hahahaha....

Val..dunno leh, he will ask whether there is shark or crcodile...think because i told him if we going on a yacht, will be out to sea..and to him, there is shark and he associate sea to swimming pool.

One more sports I like is Wushu..

Val - U can visit NAFA website for more info, or call the centre. For us, we make enquiries sometimes back, then they tell us a date we went to Q for placement..very cham la

So now we shall wait for them to call us if they have a place for my girl. OK, I'm not keen to start her with Yamaha or those commercial music sch..I find them not very pro..haha

dolly - I got dip. in piano but seriously I have no passion for it. It was like a force learning..that's y I don't get my girl in music when she was much younger. She has passion on dancing, she progressing quite well in ballet. Now if she is taking violin, to me perfect already.

hannah / apple : haiz.. both my HB & SIL were forced by MIL, told them if one day they were out of jobs. they have a skill to back them up... rite now, my SIL's piano has moved to my house liao...

my HB also have a dip when he's doing his O.. luckily my HB still has passion in his violin.. he so treasured his musical instrument...

dolly: It's good that he enjoys his instrument. I always wanted my child to learn one but it seems like she's more inclined towards the physical stuff... Well, maybe when she grows older.... I named her 美旋coz i wanted her to make beautiful melodies for God. Turns out she makes beautiful spins too. Hahahahahaha.... Backfired.

wayne_mummy,

oh. okok. then i think u have to slowly "tune" him on the diff between open sea and swimming pool.

hehehe. wushu, so he can protect gals ah? hehehe. j kidding ah.

apple,

ok. thanks. let me go find out more then compare =)

dolly,

actually ur MIL is quite diff le..coz normally in those olden days, parents wldnt really wan the kids to learn musical instruments de.

hannah - aiya beautiful spins can learn ballet or gymnastic wat..also good physical buildup ma. In fact, I pref my girl to excel in physical talent than musical..coz I'm life example, after I gotta my dip. in piano is like I'm out of hell..so happy that my mum will not nag and watch me on my daily practice anymore. To be frank, I don't have passion, so I never think this is my backup skill eventhough I'm out of job one day.

val : ya lor... MIL & FIL fights over these too.. coz FIL don't allow the kids to learn, so MIL fought reall hard to let the kids take up music lesson.. and those days, music lessons are not cheap... my MIL manage to get private tutors to teach them individually...

apple,

there are alot of examples of wat the parents wan the kids to learn, to take up but in the end, its nt the passion/interest of the kid...v sad lo...the best is let the kids decide wat they wanna learn and they tell u, at least they will really put in their best to learn and u know the learning wldnt be wasted.

dolly,

i think in those days, there arent much music schools ard to send the kids to as demand isnt as high as nwadays lo. nowadays, so many learning centres to choose frm - music, gyms, arts, etc etc. so i think private tutors sld be the norm then ba.

apple: Ya lor... So i'm thinking that maybe i'll sign her up for those free-style dance classes... Don't think she's suitable for ballet. She's too free spirited... =)

Melody, i think i bought kotex but i know mothercare has its own brandof mat pads as well.

Same as Val, i like to use the mat pad during the 1st week cos the normal pad is too thin, cannot cushion the stitches so i remembered it was painful and i had to use mat pad instead. Maybe u can get just 1 more pack and get ur hb to buy more if u need. cos hospital will provide 1pack. I changed a lot cos was bleeing a lot and i used up i think a total of 2.5 packs (1 pack from hospital and 1.5 on my own). cheaper to buy on your own than to get from hospital./

hannah, u should come to jitterbugs.. my ger dancing there for more than 1 year already. she loves it.

TGIF Mommies!

We remains open till 9pm today and mommies who have yet to collect their free bibs may take this opportunity to pick them up, as the redemption expires tomorrow.

Daddies accompanying mommies, fret not, we have interesting neighbors dealing with sports car, car detailing and even indoor golf just one level below us. So daddies can take this opportunity to look at 'men's stuff' while the mommies spending a cozy moment at JLC : )

starfruit: Oooohhh... sounds good... will wait till she's abt 4 before i start her on these classes coz mei mei will then be 2 y.o. then and easier to manage all the schedules. =)

Hannah, no need to wait till 4 yrs old. the babes class is for 2 yrs and above cos by 4, they need them to choose a specializatio (jaxx, tap or ballet) i am keen to let her specialize yet cos she loves this "freeform" dancing now and they try a bit of everything, ballet, tap, prancing and boucing around etc.

oh! wow... hmmm... will consider. Esp since i'm stopping my work soon and finances will be tight. Can KIV for now. Thanks for the info starfruit! =)

Hannah - if u keen to build her physical movement shd start early like what starfruit recommended. By age 4, their bone structure are firmer, certain posture abit tough to reach [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] need more practice and patient by then

I took teowchew porridge for lunch..dunno can tong till evening or not [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Long time never eat teowchew porridge so colleageus said since Fri and weather quite cooling..lets go..haha

some mummies are going for gathering tonite ya..enjoy yourself.

we have group function tonite too!

apple: aiya... for me, these classes are mostly for fun only. Not intending to groom her into world class dancer unless she wants to do so. =)

hannah, opps typo in my post, its Jazz and what i meant, i am not keen for my ger to specialize yet. actually u can really consider and go for 1 trial class and see how she likes it.

my ger loves to dance..she is dancing everyday at home her, her own dancing style etc.

apple, i think u better get a snack at 3pm, sure will get hungry lah.

I am looking around for art classess too, anyone has any recommendations?

hey apple, i went to read up on the NAFA violin course wha its damn strict cos they seem to be grooming talents hor. have u already started your girl on violin courses?

I want to send my girl for violin too, but i think we won;t go nafa cos i am not sure if she is commited enuff and if this is her area of interest. I will prob start her outside actually i want to learn with her. Its always been my dream for the 2 of us to learn together. If at these outside courses and i see that she has the potential, i think i will conisder NAFA. their instruct from SSO.. impressive leh!!!

hi mummies, finally it's the weekend. Been so busy and the thread is moving so fast.

sounds like all 2nd time mummies already..alot of things you all can discuss on 1st kid..so nice..

i would like to check there are few types of bath mats or changing mats that I see in the mkt. Those blue/pink rubbery type from Kiddy Palace, those thin, white types with a few cartoons on top from Kiddy Palace too and there is another type on top cotton, bottom plastic which cost more. Which is better for laying on bb cot after bb bath and come out for a wipe and change?

Also, is it necessary to put the mattress protector to prevent the soiling of the mattress tat you gals mentioned earlier? i worry may be too hot for bb to sleep on..

by the way, have you gals seen those bath tub anti slip mats that can change colour if temp gets too hot type? i last saw it long ago but tot later on then buy. Now i cannot find it anywhere & simply cannot rem where I last seen it. There's some cartoons on it too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

starfruit - I have consulted many friends before decided by NAFA. I have not started her violin as we r still on waitlist [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I do not want to expose her to non-pro teaching as this kill interest. I find NAFA are pro and the program is more structured. My fren's kid at Madeville, she often complain that teacher absent due to own performance or on leave, then they always get relief teacher. I hate all these..

If the teacher is not committed, how to train a new talent rite?

I started my girl in babe ballet, and the teacher always go on stage performance, absent fr classes, get relief teacher to step in..the progress sux. I pull out my girl immediately after the teacher absent for 3 times in 2 months time. And now I'm pleased with her progress coz I want committed teacher.

I'll most likely switch her to SBA when we moved to TPY.

apple, oh u mean NAFA takes in kids w/o prior experience in violin? then how do they select which kid they want?

wow u r also very serious about ur ger's ballet hor.where is she attendig class now? the ballet class i mean.

bunnymum: I like the thin white types. THe blue rubbery ones are very smelly...

mattress protector is good coz if there are any accidents, it won't be so tiring to have to take the mattress out to sun. Keep a lookout for those that makes sure that it wun be too hot for bb to sleep on ba...

Sorry, haven't seen those bath mats before... but there are those temperature strips that can work as well... Anyway, it doesn't need to be an exact temperature for bb to bathe in. Just make sure that it's not too hot, can liao...

Hi MTBs

I am Jan 2011 mother. Due to medical condition, I am not able to breastfeed or give breast milk to my baby so I would like to sell these items :

1. Medela Freestyle (US model) – used less than 5 times – selling at $420 with universal travel adapter

2. My Brest Friend Pillow – selling at $70 – the cover design is jaipur paisley http://www.mybrestfriend.com/products/slipcovers

If interested, please PM me.

Just came back fr routine check up..baby weight 759g..quite active..but shy..cover e face with his hand n back faces us.still have a lot of space..like to cuddle together..

Only gain 600g for past 3.5weeks.dr ask mi to eat more during cny..

Good moirning mummies...

17 days to CNY... yipeee....

hope blue blue monday can pass quickly...

JIa you...

starflower u so cute.. sob at your 7kg and wan to eat more.. hahahhaa.. dun worry so much abt your weight gain.. as long bb is healthy... enjoy all your CNY goodie..)