(2011/05) May 2011

Yaosiew, very full & bloated after anmum milk, soupy kuay tiao & fishballs and now 1glass of fybolgel the doc gave for constipation.. +water.. Faints.. So many things to eat.. How u all cope.. G__G

vv:- I also somehow v use to sleeping flat on my back these few months.. Knowing that slp on left is good but ended up slp flat again.. Heard its not good.. Now having bad backache when awake too.. Later of the pregnancy can't slp flat le how.. G__G

Winnedy

Mine is last nite de... So I prepare for today's lunch lo... Haz. Oh so hows yr detailed scan?

Kaykay

No choice le.. Once awake, and realised yrself on lie-flat position, faster change to left or right, whichever is comfortable. U try to portion your food, dun over-eat yeah. Milk can drink in the nite, not neccesary in the morning de. Else, very full de eh. Me now, started on soya milk. Initially didnt drink soya cos feel very bloated after that..

Later in the preg, u will not lie flat liao, cos after a while, back very pain...

thanks mummies for your advice on CCs. Seems all cc the same... haha. Now i feel more at ease.

CC food, of course not as good as home cooked. What to do, gotta accept tat. Just try to homecook better food for out little tots at weekends or for dinner.

Calcium pills,

yeah taking too much calcium will get constipation. I try to take one pill like every 2-3 days. Anyway got take cheese, milk, multi-vits, shd be good. Just tat i feel tat i breastfeed my #1 so the reserves left in my body not as much so i try to take some calcium pills to supplement.

But hor, for this #2, i more relaxed and food wise i anyhow eat. Oso tend to crave for sweeter and cold stuff. Know that it is not good but cannot resist...

bbPooh

Same lor, I also feel more laxed like tat leh. Haz... Trying hard not to drink a lot of cold drinks too but hard lo. Been on Ice Honey Drink nowadays.. ShiOk man!

Re: sleeping position

I Woke up found out that slping on my back and shift or turn to left loh.. But backside pain backbone also ache.. Lying on side seems to strain a lot on the waist due to all the weight.. How to slp when belly gets bigger??!

Re: Constipation

I guess taking too much calcium & food that is heaty can add on to the constipation.. Shall watch my diet closely..

Off-topic:- I now walking ard in the house in circular motion seems retarded LOL!! Walk fore & back, hope better for pass motion.. ><!

Good morning mummies..

I have lots to catch up on the thread.

All talking about cc and the food served.

Well, till now I bring milk powder to sch for my girl. Everyday we will pack 1 portion if 1/2 day sch and 2 portion if she attending full day cc. Teacher will give her her own milk instead of milo, horlick or etc they served.

Also, b/fast I gave her petite yogurt. She has to take the yogurt before any sch b/fast provided. This is how u can work-out with cc principle. My girl is rather fussy on b/fast as she doesn't like pandan cake, kaya bread, oatmeal..etc That's how we resulted in getting her petite yogurt & I always store a pack of cheese in sch fridge just in case she needs more.

Come to lunch, she takes most of the food in sch except dessert like green bean soup/red bean soup. Then she will drink the jap yakult after meal. This is kinda routine for her over the years till now.

I believe it is the communication between parents and teacher/principle. We cannot expect they serve high quality of food. If u want to give better food, u can always discuss with the sch and bring your own supply when u send your kid in the morning.

vv - I get the teacher to filter goodies bag before they hand to my girl. I do not allow sweets & chocolate with colouring, or jelly. So normally they will just give her biscuits or stationary to bring home.

I guess when I'm going to switch my girl next yr to another sch after moving house, I forsee headache as I gotta start the arrangement and relationship with the sch teacher and principle all over!

Apple

Talk about green/red bean soup. My boi also dun like and I dun understand why CC will serve these kind? I tot these are more like dessert?

Yes, not high quality foods but nutritious foods. For my boi, he will pack his own biscuits to sch. Hahahaa and bring his own yoghurt or yakult to school too.

Oh, thats a good idea leh! Haz, but too late le lah. My boi will ask to look for the sweets de cos CC already exposed to him all these. But I will try out and see what happen. Ok, for this, I will note for #2... No choice le. Haz.

Kaykay

Dun stress out. U will soon pass motion de.... JUst sip water on and off as well. Lunch time soon! Relax yeah!

vv - So far my girl's cc serving quite nutritious food. They get soup on lunch most of the time. And according to menu, I do not see nugget/sausages/ham unless sch party. Sometimes she is asking for 2nd serving..hehe so must be delicious.

In sch she seems like taking most of the food incl leafy vege, at home she is rather picky! sigh

Peer pressure and she told me teacher said cannot waste food :p so good training ground for her.

At home she only eat certain leafy vege like spinach & xiao bai cai.

vv,

i am oso guilty of wetting my rice with gravy! hahaha. dun like to eat dry dry plain rice =P

oh. okok. i seldom toast my bread with cheese le...i like my bread with peanut butter or nutella. hehehe. anyway, i oso seldom eat cheese fries coz v heaty like u mention and i dun wan to pile on too much weight. hahaha.

lying flat on the back when u slp is nt gd for the placenta rite? sometimes i oso slp lie but unconsciously but nt for long as i feel uncomfortable in tt position. even tho my tum tum is really small this preg but i have difficulties shifting frm side to side when i slp lo.

u v hardwking lo. still pack ur own lunch. i only packed my own bfast this morning. bread with nutella. hehehe. later then go tabao lunch.

dolly,

i tear when i saw my boy crying and today when i left for wk lo...

winnedy,

hahaha. clearing leave ma. sparkletots is under PCF isit? i think sparkletots sld also be cheaper.

kaykay,

i only had bread + milo for bfast frm morning till nw and inbetween drink water...i still dun feel hungry lo...

i have a bolster at my back when i slp on my side. it helps for me.

apple,

my boy dun eat much of bfast in sch. he commented nt nice and also too early for him as usually at hm he has his bfast at 9am...so morning i just give him more milk and if he is willing to eat bread i am happy liao. hehehe. tats why i will tend to give him more lunch n dinner to make up for it.

which sch u will be changing ur gal to? i am thinking to change my boy too but nt so early...

Re: pineapple tarts

oh ya ladies. the bakery tat my friend and I have always ordered from is Ikada at Depot Heights.

hi all~ im a may mummy too and this is my 3rd pregnancy..feeling very moody today, how i wish i can quit my job =\

Val, do you have the address for the bakery shop?? I bought 1 bottle from supermarket, seeing the outlooks seems nice but hor, taste liao is not nice lor...so dissapointed.

split,

how old are ur #1 and #2? hw come moody - monday blues???

hahaha. i oso wanna quit my job le. hehehe.

wayne_mummy,

this is the addr i got frm goggle:

Blk 108 Depot Road #01-09,

Depot Heights Shopping Centre

hmmm...frm supermkt de sure nt so nice de...

Today I lunch-in coz raining outside [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] office aunty helps to tar pao..so I make do with chix rice. Later 3.30pm we will have our monthly snack at pantry..

Val - I think if u give your boy more milk to make up on b/fast shd be OK. Somestimes sch b/fast really limited choice. That's y my girl is taking petite yogurt or cheese slice.

I still dunno which sch to go coz by then she will be K2. Worst come to worst I'll put her on MindChamps at HDB Hub. That's the neareast that I can take into consideration. My friend suggested Marymount Convent kindy but I still prefer cc.

Val, my #1 is 3yr and #2 is 18mths~both in childcare too..i think my moodswing quite bad for this one..many told me cuz is girl that y moodswing ..plus today monday blue and every monday got meeting make my mood worst

Apple

That good, at least your girl cultivates good eating habits in school. Maybe u slowly train your girl to be the same @ home and school. Im also starting to do the same. Its tough though but at least your girl still eats some veggie. Its a good start still.

Wow, been quite some time I ate chicken rice. I always bypass this Chix Rice stall but dunno if can ta bao a not cos looks like not ready as early as 7am plus although he already hang all the roasted chix there...

Val

Yeah lo.. Too dry like hard to swallow leh.. EH u try to toast cheese with bread, not bad de lo.. No la, I pack in the nite ma. So not very troublesome. Else, today raining, also inconvenient for me to go over canteen to pack. Tomorrow I will pack cheese with Small Croissant & 1 Slice of Butterscotch bread for bfast...

Heyo! Me and hb no work today. Going on the first step to employ a maid: Go to maid agency. Good thing is that the maid i'm getting is my colleague's cousin's maid who used to look after his mum and now his mum passed away so need to transfer out. Thank God that she can speak English. Just need to clarify some expectations and settle some other things with her...

val : oh no... i just told my HB that i might have separation anxiety...

just now went to buy my girl's school bag le... my HB very kiasu, wanted to buy a bigger bag with trolley behind.. so she can use it till K1... told him "siao" ah... by next year, will buy another new bag liao...

hannah : remember to brief your maid on your house rules ie "Dos & Dont's"...

vv,

yeah, i been carving for bubble tea... need to hav it...

my boy appeptite seems to have reduced after attending cc... prob he still trying to adjust... he already lost much weight as he was sick quite often for the past few mths.

vv - yes, I'm very pleased with her food exploration in sch. As for home, she is rather pampered, so normally we do not force her on certain food she said no no..haha

Hmm..from young I'm quite strict with her food intake especially sweet & salty stuffs. So she is doing fine with plain soup with rice and steam fish/chix or minced pork with egg.

I don't really put gravy on her rice unless is home cook black sauce chix or stewed pork.

So when we dine out, eg. koay teow soup, she will just take the koay teow with the ingredients without the soup. Then I'll supplement her with yogurt drink/ribena/fresh milk.

bbpooh

Now, Im very sleepy....So now I hope to drink BIG GULP!!

Dolly

Hahahaa, yr hb so cute.

Hannah

Good luck! And update us yeah.

Hannah - looking after old folks & children has a big gap. U really must brief her in front of agency and remind her that she is looking after children + housechores. No more old folk she used to look after.

My maid she was ex-UAE for 5yrs, look after 3 children with bigger house, I still find she has a gap towards my household despite with us for 2 months. Sigh..

Apple

Wah wow, stewed pork!!! Yesterday I cooked stewed pork mee hoon, he eat until very very shiok lo.

Your girl very disciplined, which is very good. Sometimes I wonder, maybe girls are better tamed and easier to teach than bois... Heeheee.... So nice & sweet.

apple,

i just came back frm tabao. hahaha.

ya. CC's bfast really limited choice..and my boy hates cereal...so i either let him take bread at hm if he is ok to eat or just make do with the milk feed at 7++am.

think i can also stock up cheese at my mum place so he can take cheese.

I actually prefers church sch lo coz i feel their program is more focus...=P

split,

ur #1 born in 2008?

mine is #2 and is a gal and i think my temper is nt as gd as compared to #1 (boy). hehehe.

hahaha. cheer up! half the day is gone. can go hm in a few hrs time le =)

vv,

ya. going to try toasting bread with cheese le..coz i think i will need more varieties and ideas as i intend to pack my own bfast rather than buying bread everyday frm bakery =P

oh. u pack the nite before ah. i thot in the morning. hehehe. i usually pack in the morning lo so i lazy. hahaha. later going to buy meat for cooking dinner and also grab some peanut butter jam and cheese =P u gd le, even tot of tml bfast le...think i will go for peanut butter bread =P

dolly,

its normally for u as a mummy to have separation anxiety. i did and i am still having it. i call my mum this morning to check on my boy and aft she picked him up and when she reached hm. i oso emailed the teacher to ask her for feedbacks on my boy today =P

frankly, if u dun see her crying u still wldnt feel so bad lo. when i see my boy cry and i cldnt rush to him i teared...and my boy bcame even more clingy to me aft he attended sch...everything only mummy can help him...the rest of the family members he dun wan...even slp he oso wans me to hug and pat him to slp which nv happens before...

u have to be mentally prepared...

actually if she is going to cc, gd to have a bigger bag coz she will need to bring quite alot of things le. spare clothes, diapers, jackets, milk feed etc etc... u see my fb pic for my boy's thomas bag...only enuff for 1 set of spare clothes, 1 diaper, biscults and 1 milk feed (i bring incase) and cant stuff jacket in lo....

bbpooh,

when our kids lose weight, we damn heart pain de...this is why i let him have lunch part 2 at hm and incr his milk portion =P and factoring in tat they tend to fall sick more easily aft going to sch, must take the chance to fatten him up as reserve if possible. hahaha!

vv - Hehe..stewed pork is really yummy! My gal luv it too. She is my buddy system on stewed pork coz she will take the fatty part and I take the lean part.

Hmm..girl is easier to manage, I guess yes and no. To me it is more like up bringing coz we don't really let her explore table food until she is 3+ so she pref home cooked meals.

My dad said I'm very mafan coz so big liow go out still lug along thermos, but I rather lug along thermos than expose her to MSG soup ler

Let see my #2 next time can be like jie-jie or not..keke

apple,

agree with u on the gravy - unless hm cooked. if outside and he wans rice, i will order yang chou fried rice instead and let him go with plain water.

and i love to steam minced pork with egg for my boy and i will add chopped broccoli in. hehehe. normally hw long do u steam? i find mine abit dry. hw to improve it ah?

vv,

i have been craving for big gulp since last sun! hahahah.

wayne_mummy,

let me know hw it is aft u tried their tarts ya =)

val : oooh heng lor... initially we chose a smaller bag, then 2nd thoughts.. we should pick a bigger bag for bathtowel, spare clothes, 3 diapers, toothbrush & mug, sipping cup, milk feed...

really don't know what will happen if she don't see her parents and caregivers around her...

dolly,

ya, u will be glad u got the bigger size...my hb was still commenting the size my boy has is just nice....till we went to the sch and saw how much bigger the sizes were the other kids were dragging. hahaha. anyway, currently the bag suits my boy fine coz he only goes there for few hours.

worst case, expect her to cry and be clingy...esp if she is slow to warm up or never attend any pg or enrichment program...give her reassurance, talk to her abt the sch and hw much fun she will be having. she will adapt slowly. my boy is still adapting and i still worry for him...

wat i did was, i told him wat time i will be back to pick him up and make sure i am on time...and i told him if he is scare or he wans to look for me, go to his teacher as the teacher can help to pacify him and assure him i will be back lo.

Val

Yeah lo. Becos I bot mini croissant from Sheng Shiong last weekend. Then I bot the Bonjour Butterscotch Bread which I thought should be good. Then all these are my this week's breakfast. Cos really very sian to eat the same food everyday for bfast lo...

Yeah, I mixed all the types of drinks together, Grape, Ice Lemon Tea, Coke, 100Plus, etc. My mom commented taste very nice.

Apple

Good ma, ma fan abit nvm lo. Impt is the kids stay healthy. Im sure #2 will cultivate the same habit as #1. Wah, yr girl love to eat the 'fats'... For me, my boy loves the gravy and for the meat, I gotta smashed it very very soft cos he doesnt like to eat those meat - that are hard to "melt" in his mouth. Haz... Troublesome boi.

Dolly

Ok la, yr HB just tot further for the future ma. For me, I also upgraded him to a bigger bag for now. But not with the trolley cos I want him to feel the weight and carry it on his back for awhile... Cos he sees other kids carry, he also wan carry.

val : well, i was thinking so young have to carry such a big school bag le... then my HB reminded me that anyway it's the mummy/granny carry...

last few days, i kept telling my girl that she's going to school le. can't throw temper/whinning around le... she'll look @ me blankly don't know what's going on then she went back to play... wondering what is she thinking about..

vv : he very kiasu one lor...

Dolly

I beliv your girl understds what u meant. My boi until now, also likes to stare blankly at me when I asked him this n that or tells him certain things. Then I asked him at the end of it, "Understand?" Then he nodded, Understand.. Hahahaa, I do wonder if he really does but I guess should be la.

Ok la, KS a bit is ok.

vv,

ya, v sian to have same thing for bfast everyday. just tat at times i really lazy to wake up early to prep in the morning. hehehe. think this week or for the next week will prep bfast in the morning in case my boy fuss and i am late for wk i still have bfast in my bag =P

dolly,

its true la...will end up mummy/granny/maid carry. so far my boy still carrying his own bag la...coz his is small mah. hahaha and also i wan him to carry on his own. dun wan to spoilt him.

i think she understands la but only reality havent hit...anyway, my boy learns to throw tantrum frm his classmates...faint...

vv / val : really hope that she learns to understand... pray hard!

i told my HB if i'm doing confinement, he got to carry her bag when he brings her to school... he said no choice lor...

during the weekend, brought her to ikea.. there's a lil' boy, looks younger than her... she walked forward and snatched the lil' boy's ball then walked away... told her off and asked her to return and refused... faint man.. ends up have to buy the ball for her...

dolly,

give her time ba =) when she is in sch le, she will slowly learn and understand.

as for sharing or snatching of toys, she will also learn in sch the concept of sharing and nt snatching =)

Val

Yeah lo. For me, cos I want to have a sumptuous breakfast ma so I rather prepare myself. Once a week, I will crave for OCK curry puff... So sian lo... I am dragging my feet to work everyday. Getting more and more sian each day.

Ok de la. Eventually they will want to carry their own bags as they grow up. Usually my boy wants to carry by himself. But my heart aches, so I take over to carry for him lo.

Dolly

Will de la. Just tat sometimes they also like to act blur lo...

vv - my girl also, lean pork she will not take, she said hard, not nice. So I need to cook meat with fats! And she luv pig trotter..slurp like daddy..faint

Wohhh!! My colleague just handed me a box of Bah Kwa and asked me to eat. I ate a few pieces liao, cannot control. Cham liao... Haz. I already target this year what to buy leh for CNY Goodies...

vv,

ur version of big gulp v yummy. hehehe. i feel like getting it frm 7-11 later but cant coz i am dwn with sore throat n flu. imagine 1st day back at wk and i am sick and my colleague tendered. wat a way to start my wking life this yr.

I like the crust of OCK curry puff =P i am craving for durian puffs too =P

i oso sian to wk...i wanna be sahm =P but with expenses going up, i really worry if i can tahan being a sahm depending on my hb for $$...

Ok la. my boy is a person lazy to carry bag de. usually he will carry for awhile nia then ask us to carry.. so nw i try to make him carry on his own lo. His bag nt heavy oso so i nt so heart ache. hahahaha.

apple,

gd ur gal loves fats nw. she needs the fats to grow too =) she take the fats u take the lean, win win for both. hahaha.

vv,

hehehe. i am looking fwd to feast on bak kwa too - lim chee quan!! yum yum!

so far, i ordered pineapple tarts, cookies and other stuffs le...think will have to get them these 2 weekends liao if nt no time!

Val - faint!! She is chubby and gotta cut down fats :p I tell u she got hard time on her ballet lessons if she continue to slurp the fats and crispy pork belly..haha

She is now approx 23kg..no joke!

Hmm..good to be SAHM when going thru the infant phase, but really the expenses are damn high. I was SAHM for 18mths during #1, don't think I can be SAHM for #2. My #1 sch fee + enrichment classes can be as high as 1 person income for some family.

apple,

hehehe. she dun look like she weights 23kg frm pic. thot her size still looks ok to me =P anyway, she dun snack on tibits so ok la. she needs the fats to develop. mayb make her exercise abit more to burn off more fats =P

ya, i agree now tat edu fee is really alot...we spent 1k per mth on his sch n enrichment at the moment...and i am still thinking to put him at ICR and arts class....think have to take step by step..and nt to mention enrichment program for #2 when she is 1...

Val

Ya lo... big gulp shiok right. No la, for me definitely cannot be SAHM de cos expenses too high le. Its ok la, u will recover soon B4 CNY to indulge in all the CNY goodies de loh!!

I will get the goodies this weekend liao. Hhahaaaa....

Apple

These are the babyfats. Will disappear after some time especially when she is so active, will burn off the fats de. I also wonder why these toddlers dun like lean meat leh... Haz....

vv,

yes, its damn shiok coz of all the taste and the brain freeze. hahaha!

For me, my hb ok with me to be sahm but really have to cut dwn on expenses la...nw with dual income is v comfortable. with 1 person income then really have to give up alot of things...tats why i am looking for part time job or best a job tat allows me to wk frm hm 100% =P

these 2 weekends i will go shop for cny deco and stuffs..then bak kwa buy the last weekend! altho more ex but can last longer thro the cny =P i oso havent finish spring cleaning le..cham!