(2011/05) May 2011

vv,

yes. the thing abt own parents is, we can be honest and tell them things but of coz PILs are diff...if they are open-minded n can take us telling them its ok if nt more headache...but for me, i will just tell my PILs as well...whether they like it or nt i dun care but of coz in a nicer tone lo.

dolly....yeah dun been too upset lah...must stay happy for ur bb okies [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sometimes its difficult to get help from grandparents to discipline our child....just dunno why.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

mudpie : ya lor.. MIL always the causes the problem...

mudpie / Luann : feelin better after pouring out here... at least you (mummies) are all here to listen to me... rather i'm bottling it to myself...

Dolly

Yes thats the spirit! And dun let it bother you.

Luan

Agree, in fact sometimes I also dun feel that good to ask my mom to look after my boy. Haz... Although I know she is alright to look after and my sis is a good helper too. Dunno la, but just feel pai seh lor.

Val/Dolly

Yes, PILs always create problems. For me, I will never forget the "problems" they give me and how they had treated me in the past. I cannot forget (not to say even forgive).

dolly,

yes...nv keep to urself...is best to let it out here...& i feel somehw we all similar generation..so we understand each other better & dun hv generation gap like some mil...& we alwas want best for ur own kids ma..& if dun discipline since young...wait until when....i think if i were ur case...i will oso tell my mum....look...last time...when i was young u too discipline me this way...so nw i m disciplining my kid...so i hope u follow my method..not hv dbl std...is oso for ur grandchildren's benefit...LOL

dolly - don't be so upset la..since u cannot convince your mum on the right posture while watching tv for your girl. Y not u get your maid to follow your instruction since she will be at your mum's place when u put your girl there rite? That's how my colleague did..everytime mum do 1, she wanted 2..so she gave up, hire a maid, put her mum's place then instruct the maid to follow and correct whatever the mum is doing..haha

vv - yea, the admin girl quite nice she told me they gonna have the carpentry work on the cuible and cabinets, so ask me to get my boss's approval to work fr home. Actually I'm taking 1/2 day this afternoon, so I just inform my boss morning I'll stay at home due to the reno work lo..he is OK [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I went b/fast with my hb..had mee siam, super full. Somemore I tar pao lunch..cham.

Argh..I noticed I gained 500g over the weekends!!

I was watching barney at United Sq with my girl. She wanted to go Marina Sq for Hi-5, but I really no energy to bring her alone.

vv / mudpie / apple : thanks for comforting...

when we were young, there isn't any tv in our room... we can only watch tv @ the living room... unlike kids nowadays... the moment they wake up, pester us to on the tv for them otherwise throw tantrum...

sigh... 1st of all, i need to fix the tv & vcd... so she can watch @ the living room & not in the bedroom...

apple : do you know how to fix this?

dolly,

glad to know u are feeling better =) channel ur energy to solve the prob ba =)

hmmm..when i was young, there is tv already in my parents room but my mum will nag at me if i ever lie dwn to watch la. hehehe.

vv,

having our own parents to look aft our kids is still better coz hm environment more TLC. just tat coz mayb due to generation gaps or diff views, sometimes nt everything we can agree on la.

anyway, sometimes give n take abit if prob/issue nt too serious. i am sure, if let other ppl (like nanny, maid) or even in CC, sure will have other probs too.

true la, forgetting is already nt easy dun even say forgive. just talk lesser lo. anyway, PIL-DIL issues nv ending de =P

mudppie,

HAHAH! u reminded me that i said the same to my mum. hehehe. i told her, she had a chance to bring up my bro and myself in her own way, nw i oso hope she can respect me and let me bring up my boy in my own way. whahahaha.

apple,

500g ok la. hehehe. feasting over weekend huh? =p

dolly - my hb is the handy man @ home. I dunno how to fix the switch, but it comes with 3 channels, u can plug in starhub box, dvd, and xbox. The switch each side u gotta put in red,white and yellow cable. This is what I can see fr my switch now..haha the setup, no clue :p sorry can't help much.

Val - yea seems like appetite is good. Yesterday my hb's uncle came fr M'sia to SG. So we brought their family for seafood dinner..overeating!!

Dolly

Yes, take a step at a time. U sure be able to resolve it de...

I got a big problem here. My dept gonna have a sales retreat trip next yeat March 2011. I will have the excuse not to go because of preggy. But now the problem is I want to take leave from Office. If I do not take leave, my Superior will sure take advantage of me, by asking me to back up my 4 other colleagues whom are away in the trip. So am thinking of an excuse to take leave in order for him to approve.

Am thinking to bluff to say I will have pre-natal classes. But worried he may ask me to change the dates... Or I can say full liao, cannot change dates de.

But again, worried this is not convincing enough.

Can anyone help me???

apple,

gd that ur appetite is coming back. mine seems to be coming back too. woohoo! hehehe.

nvm la, once awhile nia. anyway, 500g over weekend can la. these few days dun overeat lo. hehehe.

vv,

mayb u say ur mum will be going overseas during tat period and u need to take care of ur boy?

Morning all! how was your weekend? Did anyone visit the Parenthood fair at the Expo?

Parking lots were soooo full, spilling to the double yellow lines areas around the Expo, that we detoured to Bedok Central to park the car then took the train to the Expo.

Wasn't much there but anyway didn't know what to buy too hehe. I got very hungry suddenly so we had to leave after hb tried on a couple of baby slings, one of which allows the baby to lie flat on her back. I couldn't help but laugh out loud, as he looked so cute with the "tray" as if he was selling dim sum keke!

A stroller caught my eye too, but we're still thinking about it. Have not done any "homework" on baby stuff yet. Initial fave of ours is one from a Dutch brand, Joolz, but the price is really deterring us, about $1600!

Know there are mommies here who have bought strollers for their kids. May I please have some recommendations for a mid-priced stroller? Preferably one which can be adjusted for forward & rear-facing, and more "high-seat" than low-seat. Not too bulky too, as I'm afraid I can't manage it if I'm alone with the bb!

mommies...i got qns to ask abt BM leh..

over d wkend some of my frens..they say they dun hv tender breast throughout pregnancy..so they dun hv BM wor..is tat true ah? they did try to pump as much during 1st mth...but then...it didnt help even by drinking more tonic soups or supplements to help with increase milk flow...

i do hear moms say is regular pumps immd after birth, & is painful to deal with it..cos u hv to deal with ur NB + sore crack nipples & regular pump is painful etc...but tat is d it to hv regular supplies...

Hi everyone, good afternoon.

Hi Mudppie,

Bf is hardwork for some mummies and i am one of them... u need a lot of support and determination to make it work...

My advice is if you are determined to make it work, just believe you can do it. I basically pump every 2 hours in the beginning and got to wake up in the night and pump too (that is in between the night feeds)... after 3 months, finally supply stablised.

As for crack nipples, block ducts etc, this is part and parcel, just like we will get sick occasinoally. Just try to take care in the process by using nipple cream etc.

Hope the above helps

Hi Moon,

$1600 for a stroller is really really expensive... i am using the "cheaper" kind and find it serving its purpose. Mine is Capella.

Hi vv,

Val's idea is quite good... just say you need to look after your kid. How many days leave do you intend to take? Shorter should be easier to convince your boss.

hi everyone [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re: stroller

i always liked combi strollers though i don't think they have the high-seat kind. but i love it for their compactness and lightness.

actually once baby's neck is strong enough to be carried in the carrier, i hardly use the stroller. i'm more mobile that way, mainly also cos i don't drive so i use public transport a lot when i'm out alone with baby.

re: Breastfeeding

yeah like Heaven said determination and also frequency. don't let baby sleep beyond 2-3hours in the early days cos u need baby to suckle to establish supply. i think i started pumping around 1.5mths cos i gotta get ready to go back to work soon then. the Avent manual pump was really much gentler and it helped me a lot in the beginning.

Took a nap & now feeling even much better le...

mudpie : in fact, my lactation consultant would advise best to latch on every 2-3hrs to build up the milk supply for the first 3 months... then start to pump after 3rd months... i remembered my girl's feeding time change from 2-3 hrs to 4hrs after the 2nd month...

dolly, glad to hear that u are feeling much better..

moon, i went to the fair..bought quite a few things there. still thinking what made us to buy these things so early! hahaha..maybe cuz we were too tired to think..

just came back from prenatal yoga~ finally can exercise after so many mths! feel so good!

oooo...ic...mommies...so is not true tat if dun hv tendered or swelling breast means no BM?

is immd after give birth...hw u pump,train bb to latch on etc....i mean initial stage of cos is slow & can get frustrated....but after when it sets in means BM will come if u persevere?

moon,

nope. didnt visit the parenthood fair. think 1st time mummies will find more things to buy than 2nd time mummies.

hahaha. u so bad le, say ur hb till like tat. so in the end did u all bought the sling?

hmmm..frankly, dun nd to get such an exp pram...so u duno if ur baby will like it or nt. initially of coz u will utilise it but when the baby is older n dun like to use the pram then it will becum white elephant.

and also, i think besides the cost, this pram sld be quite big n heavy rite?

personally i am using Quinny Zapp but its nt tat convenient as cant open/close with 1 hand and also quite heavy when u fold it. i think the more common brands are capella and mclaren...

mudppie,

to have regular ss, really like wat heaven says, need to be super determined. got to wk really hard to establish the ss. besides latching my boy, i oso pump aft he latch to "trick" the brain into producing more milk.

whether u have tender breasts or nt doesnt matter. same goes to whether big boobs or small boobs doesnt determine if u will have ss...

i have friends who say they will be v determined but in the end, some gives up within a mth, some 2-3mths and its their 1st kid...as they say v tiring to latch n pump often or they wanna go overseas during ML or go out often during ML and skip latching or pumping...

so really, its nt just say u wan to be determine, u really have to be determined and of coz certain degrees of sacrificies like less slp, less going out etc etc.

2nd kid more tough coz u have to deal with the jealousy #1 will feel when he/she sees u latching or pumping...then they will also demand more attention n time frm u...so sometimes u hardly had enuff rest or "ME" time and yet have to spend time on pumping...so its really a test of ur determination.

dolly,

gd that u are feeling better and more refreshed =)

i am waiting to knock off coz i am v sleepy today. hehehe.

evie,

gd u went to exercise le and feel gd. i havent started! hahaha. i wanna go swimming =P

dolly, good to see u feel better ...

2nd time mummies, what u do with the placenta.. me also wondering ...

wow, start getting stuff for baby ... me hv not do anything ... hehe ... hehe ...

me crossing fingers that i can b determine to BF when bb born ...

Ling,

normally for chinese la, most ppl will just throw away (hosp will help to throw it away - like any normal thrash) coz nt a lot of places will help u to process the placenta.

initially i wanted to process aft i delivered for my #1 but too much trouble le...

nw i am thinking more of the cord blood. i wanna donate it to the cord bank.

evie,

why public pool abit dangerous? worry ppl may bang/kick u?

for my 1st preg, i oso go public pool weekly =P i think dun swim alone will be ok...

mudppie,

dun worry. in the hosp just dun be paisay to ask for help frm nurses or lactation consultant. then nw u can read up more on bfeeding oso. and with a num of experienced mummies here u can seek advises or ask qns frm =)

Dolly

Its ok, I can understand the frusts u are going thru previously. Rem, to stay relaxed for now. Keep us updated of the progress of the switch. We will share your problems together.

Val/Heaven

Yeah, quite a good idea but they know I got maid. So they wont buy my story de. The dates will be on Thu & Fri, then over the weekends followed by Mon & Tue (self-extension for leisure). I intend to take MC on Thu & Fri. Followed by Mon & Tue - prenatal classes (bluff de la). Or either ways.. Sorry for me to vent out here. Because last year, I also didnt go for the retreat trip, ended up I gotta back up all my 4 colleagues whom are away enjoying themselves overseas. I was like over-worked. But at then, I wasnt pregnant. So still ok. Now that Im preggy, I dun think they would be so thoughtful to think I shouldnt over-work.

I already told some of my colleagues about my preg. Most of them are happy for me.

Moon

SGD 1600 is too exp eh.... Uhmm, I personally also feel that Combi Strollers are pretty good. The next will be MacLaren.

Mudpie

Initial stage, will be quite frustrating if you have less BM immediately after u give birth. But if u keep persevering, latch, pump, the supply will continue. But once u stopped or has less frequency to latch/pump, the supply will drop.

val,

public pool got kids..they anyhow swim and jump..and some ppl dun look at their surroundings and anyhow kick wor...at least thats what i experienced before preggie. moreover, now school holidays.

mudppie,

i just continue with my Yoga centre - Pure Yoga. They got prenatal yoga.

vv,

u can say u are nt comfortable with ur maid alone with the boy coz all along it has been ur mum who is ard to supervise the maid lo.i think like wat u mentioned, if u say u go for prenatal clas, they can always ask u to change?? and prenatal class nt full day, scally they ask u back for half day each???

evie,

usually its ok if u arent at the kids pool la. and u can always go to the deep pool's shallower end. cfm chop wldnt have kids playing ard and kicking u coz the lift guards wldnt allow them to play there.

Val

Yeah lo, I also thought so cos the timing bey gam. Ok, I will consider that.... One of my close colleagues told me, dun bother. On that days itself, just take MC and dun need to explain so much.

Ya loh, my friend who has 2 kids told me it's a waste of $ to buy an expensive stroller, coz when the bb gets older, she will not want to use the stroller, but be carried or walk on her own.

Heaven > Can your stroller from Capella be adjusted to face forward/rear?

Skye > I've also seen strollers from Combi & quite like them. Ya, looking for something solid, comfy, easy to fold, yet handy in size. Hard to find eh? Hehe!

Val > The one from Joolz is about 10.5kg, and the one I saw from Baby Ace is about 10kg , a "4-in-1". Is this considered heavy?

Didn't get the sling in the end, although hb was very enthusiastic. I prefer to shop shop around somemore :p

Evie > I'd love to go for prenatal yoga starting next year! Where have you signed up? How did u find the classes so far?

VV

Does your boss ask you why you gotta take leave? Hmm, not sure about annual leave stuff (coz I don't enjoy that in my line of work), but if you say it's a childcare arrangement for a couple of days, would that do? Or can you take childcare leave?

val,

back to the medisave.

so things like the ward can use medisave?

mudppie,

yes, i went for massage. Not pre-natal massage lah, just normal back massage. they made me lie at the side. 60 min for SGD8. so cannot complain.

I also went for shampoo and blow dry hair. Only SGD8. Treatment was SGD12. They put the cream on the hair for 30 mins. And they will massage the shoulders and neck for 30 mins. most shiok!

starfruit,

i was maybe 11 weeks preg in HK?

dolly,

deluxe room is higher than 1 bedder??

ash_r,

i also to process the placenta. Brought home mine for first one. but dunno where to process it.

moon,

i also agree with val. dun spend too much on the pram. there are a lot of possibilities. maybe your baby does not like it, maybe its too bulky or heavy for your liking,

Moon

Yeah, maybe I would have to use my #1 as an excuse at the end of the day... We have annual leave la, but not many days. Somehow, I just feel that in our line of job when we need to back up our colleagues, its like very pai seh to take leave or even MC. Like my case, I would feel pai seh to take long leave. But for my other colleagues, they see it differently. To them, they just dun wan to work and if they can laze and not work, they will do so and let other colleagues cover them.

val - then start swimming as early as possible ba..at least we will feel good after exercising!

moon - mine is with Pure Yoga. i only went for one class and thats today. they started with breathing exercise, kegel exercise then do sun salutation and warrior pose and pigeon pose plus back twisting then meditation, then lie on the floor for a while then finish. i find it not tough as these are done slowly. not many ppl in the class also.

vv,

mc i think if u take frm gynae more convincing...if take frm gp...i feel they may think u trying to avoid the wk or something??

winnedy,

yes. medisave can be use for ward but there is a cap per day. this u need to check with the hosp u going to deliver at.

60mins $8 damn cheap lo! hahaha.

yes. deluxe room is higher than 1 bedded.

wah. then hw u dispose off the placenta when u are hm? just throw into the chute?

winnedy : yeah... deluxe room is more expensive than 1 bedder... I've the room picture @ my girl's facebook... you can actually view her picture under newborn album...

Val

Yeah... MC is better. See what I can do at then.... Actually very sian to go thru this kind of things.