(2011/04) Apr 2011

piggy, as long as appetite good.. skinny jiu suan le. My #1 is super underweight.. till 4 yrs old le we still gotta feed him and even hold his milk bottle! If not he will not eat/drink milk. Even feed also feed v long.. up to 1.5hrs to finish a bowl of porridge! We always feed till v pekcheck.. and go out he wont have meals at all.. he'll just survive on biscuits, fries, some meat here n there. Really really hope Joel wont be like gor gor!!

eLMO,

Yes totally agree i really hope #2 is a greedy baby cos now he alr abit picky infact my #1 durin baby time is v easy to feed most of the stuff he can take it quite well it ard 1Yo he become v difficult to feed he chose wat he wan to eat.. alot of time he say he wan den after we order/cook he refuse to take any *_*

tweety,

erm not to pour cold water now too early to tell my #1 durin this stage v greedy eat watever i gave but now totally diff...

Aiyo Mummies.. All dun compare la.. Let me share My sumo weights & drinking pattern.. He weighs 10.3kg, drinks 5meals of 180ml milk den cereal only max 2 tea spoons.. Sometimes he allow me feed him finish the cereal, sometimes no so I will mix cereal w milk & he is ok, can finish everything.. But duno y last 2 nights, woke up @5.30am & 3am asking for milk.. He already can slp thr de but jus Duno y leh.. Got growing spurts? I dun think he really wan milk but hubby say is he wan milk, no fullcannot slp.. Haizz..

As for puree, I stopped giving him Le.. Last time he like, can finish whole bottle but the other time, he simply dun like, jus boo boo out everything so I Bo Bian, haf to stop..

Fung & Sookie.. I oso becos of house renovation super busy lo.. Really no time argh! Sianz..

Today bring my #1 to Pd for his cough. His weight only 9.8 kg for a 2 year old. Wait for his weight to hit 10 kg till my neck long long. Actually he eats quite well but maybe his body don't absorb well. Plus he is very active and tend to be cranky easily, probably don't put on weight that easy ba. hai..

My #2 also seems to shrink. Flat tummy now. He used to have round tummy.

mum05,

my hair is long, yeap using the thinning hair one, using it alt days already. the normal range one just as good?

piggy,

okay! must find time to go take a look at this product. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

looking at your bb meal schedules and milk intake, I think my R drinking and eating very little! 120ml per milk feed and 1 feed of about 50ml milk with rice cereal.

wanted to start him with 1 teaspoon of cereal only at the beginning, end up he finish the whole bowl !!

anyone knows if I can do mix feeding with cereal, like 1 day rice cereal, next day brown rice cereal? (after the 3 days feed same food thingy)

any mummies doing your own purees? for apples, which kinds/brand should i buy? the ones i always have at home very sour.

Skokie/mrs chua,

Let's Jia You together... I'm so excited to be able to move in in Dec if everything goes smoothly... Heehee! Then dun need to carry so many barang barang when shuttle btw my IL's pl and my parent's pl.

Piggy,

As for stroller, see whether can persuade my HB to bring along or not coz he said the road in Phuket is very uneven thus is a challenge of bringing one. As for food, will go and hv a look at all those instant one and see whether to bring that or what coz also worry that Z dun like them thus if really bring, must let him use to the taste before we go.

Can I chk with u, for the happy bellies cereal, how much milk did u add?

Smiggleprincess/tweety/mum05

Thanks for sharing and the moral support... )

Kaira, ur #1 same as my #1 la. Mine 4 years old only 13+ kg. We feed him also tao tia.

Mrs chua, g not eating alot hor? He absorb well.. Good! Fully utilise e milk!!

Lynn, after u tried out e food no allergy , can anyhow mix le. Ifc give j rice cereal 1 day, fruits cereal other day, n I gave puree w happy bellies at home. Anyhow mix!!

Check with those mummies who feed their bb Frisocrem de, do u still add milk to the cereal? As it's state ther milk no ni to add coz oradi added...

So we can juz agar agar mix rite for e cereal, as long watery enough for bb 2 eat?

morning mummies..

LTS,

frisocreme noneed add milk 1 alr v sweet...

fungfung,

yes let ur bb try the instant porridge/food be4 u go ahead n buy..

hmm phuket road ah i find still ok la stroller jus push mah i dun remember the road was so uneven till got prob leh.. only beach area i find more challengin..

Mrs Chua,

bb G wake up could be other reason la hard to say u can try to increase his milk feed n see if he still wake up if yes it perhap not due to hunger or mimlk can no longer satify him...

btw bb at this stage always boo 1 mine also not tt they dun 1 to eat but they find it fun!! wat i did is push in the spoon press on top of the tongue to prevent him for boo-in lol~~~

Lynn,

nvm abt how much bb take as long as he growin well n happy it ok[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] the brand i check this morning is Davines they have hair loss shampoo also but nv tried be4.. u can go n have a look..

for apple hor if u wan to make ur self jus grind for bott i either gave heinz or a organic brand i bott from organic shop[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Morning mommies, noticed many has been asking abt bb food, I chanced upon this article and tot to share it here for all :

Fruits and Vegetables For Baby -

Do They HAVE To Be Cooked?

-------------------------------------------------This is a question to which you may receive lots of different answers!...

Whether or not you should cook fruits and veggies for your baby depends partly on his stage of development - and partly on the specific fruit or vegetable you are considering giving him. Let's look at some of the reasons you may choose to cook produce for your little one...

Reduce the risk of choking

Many raw fruits and vegetables do, of course, present a choking hazard to babies.

Take a carrot, for example - in its raw state it's very hard and - unless your child is equipped with molars (back teeth) - he could easily bite off a piece that he's unable to chew. A cooked chunk of carrot, on the other hand, is nicely soft and makes a perfect finger food.

An alternative to cooking fruits or veggies that you are concerned may present a choking hazard to your baby is to place them in a Teething Feeder (advertisement). This allows him to gnaw away to his heart's content, with the mesh preventing him biting off any lumps (a sort of 'do-it-yourself' puree!).

Another option is to try grating raw, hard vegetables VERY finely.

Remember, though, that some raw produce - a ripe, juicy pear for instance - should not be hazardous to your baby. If it feels 'squashy' and soft, then it should not need cooking for babies from 6 months onwards.

Digestibility

Raw fruits (with the exception of banana and avocado) and vegetables may be harder for your baby to digest than cooked ones.

This is because fresh produce contains a substance called cellulose. The human digestive system treats cellulose as a waste product - meaning that uncooked fruits and veggies MAY give your baby diarrhea.

Cooking produce softens the cellulose or breaks it down completely, making the food much easier to digest.

That being said, many babies do eat and digest raw fruits and veggies perfectly well from 6 months of age.

If you choose to introduce solids to your baby any earlier, then we would advise cooking produce for your baby until his digestive system is fully developed.

Allergic reactions

Some sources suggest introducing cooked produce to your baby initially, because the cooking process alters the tiny amount of protein contained in fruits and veggies. This makes them less likely to cause allergic reactions. The theory is that - once you've safely introduced the food in its cooked form - you can then try introducing it raw (some pediatricians advise waiting until baby is around 7-8 months).

An interesting report published last year confirmed that cooking fruits and vegetables for baby can certainly reduce or prevent oral allergy reactions. These occur when seasonal airborne pollen protein from trees, weeds and grass cross-react with similar proteins in fruits and veggies - causing symptoms such as irritation to the mouth and throat and tongue and occasionally leading to severe reactions like throat swelling.

Contamination

Many parents feel safer cooking fruits and vegetables for baby because heat destroys most food-borne bacteria.

It's certainly true that produce may be contaminated by bacteria or pesticide residues and great care should be taken during preparation.

But there are other ways in which you can ensure the safety of your baby's food. This page looks at the pros and cons of peeling fruits and vegetables for baby and suggests other ways to ensure your produce is free from contamination.

Flavour

Some fruits and vegetables taste a little different once they've been cooked. In itself, this isn't a problem - but in the case of fruits like plums, peaches and nectarines - it can lead to the final product being too sour for your baby's palate!

As we recommend on our Pureed Baby Food Recipes page, always cook these fruits with their skins and stones intact, then remove them before pureeing or serving. This helps the fruits retain their natural sweetness.

In summary, the decision of whether or not to cook fruits or vegetables for your baby is yours to make, taking into account some of the considerations we've described here and under the guidance of your child's doctor.

If you do offer your baby uncooked produce, it's a good idea to avoid introducing any other new foods for four days - that way, if your baby experiences any tummy upset, then you'll know which food is responsible!

Suggestions for fruits and vegetables that may be served raw

banana

apple (safest if finely grated and stirred into another food, such as yogurt)

melon

blueberries

grapes (peel for younger babies and cut into quarters)

*strawberry

peach/nectarine

pear

plum

avocado

pineapple

cherry

*tomato

mango

*tangerine

bell pepper

*celery

*Please note that the foods marked with an asterisk are often introduced towards the end of baby's first year or later, because they sometimes cause tummy upsets or allergic reactions in younger babies.

Read more: http://www.homemade-baby-food-recipes.com/fruits-and-vegetables-for-baby.html#ixzz1acacn1Wr

lynn, if hairloss is yr concern, then the normal range def won't help. I'm using the normal one since the time when my oily scalp has more or less been stabilised, thus I stopped using scalp oil regulating range. And I find it still works for me til now. For my hair loss, I'm applying their ampoules.

This time round my hair loss seems worser(#1 time not so bad), so it's a good thing that I've prepared myself earlier and hv my hair cut shorter before I delivered, else I can't imagine.

1 of my gfs, her hairloss was quite bad but her hair's long and very thick so it kinda can 'tahan' til a longer period. But one day, she told me that she's been visiting one of those hairloss specialist salons and after a long period of trying to 'rescue' her situation, they finally advise her to cut her hair short. She didn't listen, cos she cldn't bear wif it, til patches started to show... Tt's also why I also tend to tell ppl to cut their hair short if their hairloss prob is quite bad. In my opinion, they will grow, so no pt taking the risk...

mommies whom had or are still hiring maids, can I chck how do u guys prevent the bedbugs problem? I've heard many cases, their maids came wif bedbugs, then they hv to change all beddings, etc, that's very troublesome n costly! My current one, when she went to my cleaner, she also kana, according to my cleaner, n the bugs were frm the lodging provided by the agency(which is very common prob too).

My hubby kept saying that we need a replacement cos #2's still young and we've to move but apart from usual maid prob, this is 1 of my biggest fears too. Can anyone adv?

yoyoyo! how's everyone!!

Mrs Chua, Gervaise 不愧是老大! 10.3kg woot!!! look forward to seeing him on Sat leh!!! Looks like Charissa is in good hands wor!!! wahahaha.

Mum05, thanks for the article! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Hmm, i don't have the bedbugs problem with my maid. My maid was with her previous employer until she transferred over to my place. And my agent houses the maids at her own house before moving them to the new employers'.

fungfung, good luck with your move!!!

Hihi ladies,

How are you guys? All talking about eating.. My #2 is relatively easier to feed compare to her older sis..

Elmo,

Oh my! Lisa is like your #1.. takes about 1.5 hrs to feed and will run around the place! Refuse to sit down one!Aiyoh! Then now cos I bottlefeed #2, she also wants me to bottlefeed her, say "Like baby"!!

Mrs Chua,

Your sumo is only 2 kg lighter than my 3 yo!! Wow!! He is like a spoonge..

mum05,

yes bed bugs problem is super scary.. my maid told me about it and she refused to lie on her bed for 2 nights!

Thanks for the article, it's useful!

elmo,

thanks! I must go and by the brown rice cereal before someone at home buys from dunnoe where and anyhow give R eat!

piggy,

means apple can be given to bb just like that no need puree? (don't quite understand 'grind for bott') I have the teething feeder at hom though.

mum05 & piggy,

i'm definitely still losing hair, but i do see quite a bit of baby hair as well.. maybe it's not that bad after all..

LittleTwinStar,

for frisocerm, i started with just adding boiled warm water, now add BM into it, bb seems to take to it better. If i'm not wrong, the milk content in it cereal should be very little..

Mum05

bedbugs!

u mean the maids clothes or their bodies??

my maid have no such issue lei...

Lynn

for fruits im quite concern of what to give..

i don wanna give those fruits which very "liang" and can caused cough or phlegm very easily..

so i avoid oranges, apples, pears ,grapes, pineapple.

Neither do i wanna introduce heaty fruits.. like mango..

so i very kiasu.. its always the same fruits and i recycle under he is at leat 1 yr old..

avocado and banana..kiwi (but must remove seeds)

vege; i give sweet potato and pumpkin first.. mix with brocoli or spinach...

I prob use the "liang" fruits and mix with another fruits or cereal instead of giving it as all puree...

and i don buy fruits/veg from china for kasper..

avocado from NZ

sweet potato frm japan

brocoli frm australia

Moms & Babies Play Date - Your Weaning's Winning Recipe

Calling all moms & babies below 1 year old to join our get together on Friday 21st October 2011. We would like to take this opportunity to share our favourite recipe for our baby's first diet. Do bring along your home creation of the "sure clean sweep" puree or porridge and share with other mommies on how to make it.

It's fun to prepare the menu for the little ones. Do come if you are moms-to-be or mommies with newborn to get a head-start on how to plan for your baby's first food. For mommies with older baby, please share generously your secret recipe with other mommies. Let's get the sharing and support going!

Of course, JLC will provide some light refreshement to add up to the fun but any contribution to the table is appreciated.

So, mark it in your diary and RSVP on our facebook (joyluckclubparenting) or email us at [email protected] and hope to see you! lovely mommies and cute babies! and yes, do have a day out of the routine @ home and meet other mommies too.

Lynn,

ya cos mine was no baby hair at all but after i use this product can see got growth lo..

hmm i mean blend apple cos i find even after steam v hard to mash the apple..

mum05,

apple is not liang fruit leh even pear got diff type of pear not all r liang..

piggytoh, not me la, hahaha

smiggle, ya me too, I dun even buy for my family liao 'cos now very scared la, china produce. hv never tried giving #1 avacado, but bbs usually love pumpkins. I normally give 'xian cai'(spinach, not 'po cai'), potato, can't rem why I stopped giving sweet potato to #1 after a while, must go ask my sis hahaha. I dun give brocolli til at least 1yo, due to the possibility of 'wind'.

re maids/bedbugs : I also duno leh, just heard from many ppl and should I decided to get a replacement then I'd be facing this fear, how?

Anyone staying West/Central wanna share carton order of Goo.N diapers(8pks) with me? Using M size(bt Mamy Poko L) now.

Morning mummies..

Mum05,

Oops paiseh..

Hmm the maid thingy actually so far friends ard me no such issue wor izzit tt particular agency the place the maid sleep nt clean?? Since y need the help jus go ahead n get 1??

Pink.. I jus my G will smash C with a gentle hug ah. Lol ya, I oso can't wait to see all babies & mummies tmr.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gerry.. Ya,adsorb everything he eats lol but wondering is it gd for him ma.. Must bring him exercise more haha.. 

Piggy.. I oso duno y leh but these 2 nites I feed him his last feed @10/10.30 den zzz first night woke up@ 6 deb this morn woke up @7 but he kept making noise in his slp.. 

mum05,

I just replace my maid 2 days ago. My current one has been with us for 2 yrs plus. Don't have bed bug problem leh last time.

Your bb flip at night? Mine has been doing so , end up keep waking up. I'm so tired. Anyway to stop them ah?? My #1 never has this problem ler.

mum05,

Btw, my maid is from nation.. Got to ask the agent if they encounter this problem before. Got small children at home must be very careful.

Kaira,

my bb alr past the flippin stage now he roll!! i dun think anything can stop them it a phase jus let them flip lo cos since if they can flip den no fear they will suffocate themselves mah..

G'morning!!

TGIF! Super tired already! Yesterday like full moon.. Both my kids were behaving badly at night.. Now super zombie!

Mrs Chua,

Haha!! Don't worry.. As soon as G learns to walk, he will naturally slim down.. Haha!! =)

Kaira,

My #2 is a super messy sleepy.. Will roll all over the cot when sleeping! She likes sleeping on the side, so I put her nicely, then the next time I see her, she is on the other side of the bed Liao!! Haha!! My #1 is very neat.. Don't move much. That's why by 1.5 yo I can put her in a toddler bed without railings and she has not fallen off the bed..

Agree with piggy, apple is not liang fruit.. And there are several types of pear. The green slightly mushy pear is alright, I think..

piggy,

If only i can just let him flip , but he always kena stuck meaning he couldn't flip back. Then I got to carry him and put him at his back again. One night keep repeating many many times. Hope this phase pass by quickly .. My panda eyes sob sob..

Gerry,

My #1 is a super messy sleeper too.. All over the place, always like to hang his leg out of the cot.

piggy, dun quite get yr qns/sentence abt 'get 1'?

piggy/kaira, maybe the dormitory(ies) provided by some agencies are not clean lor, cheap mah...

May I know how much u guys pay the agency for yr maids? What are the fees involved? This current maid we did the transfer ourselves, so no agent involved...

smiggleprincess, piggytoh,

that's why i now very headache over R's meals.

realised he actually doesn't wake up that much at night after introducing cereal... hmmm...

Regarding sleeping, R is a messy sleeper too! put him down on his back, few minutes later he is somewhere else and sleeping on his tummy liao.

I'm very afraid what if one of our adult pillows fall over him when we all sleeping. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Kaira,

icic.. ya i tink this phase will pass hang on there.. my maid ah.. really headache cos tt time we wanna change 1 even chosen another new maid but last min tt 1 sick cannot get approval to come n no other suitable maid n my MIL say this current 1 got improvement so we stick to her n even transfer the employer name to my SIL so if we dun 1 her now the nex maid we gotta pay le n defeat the purpose of changin name so my SIL say wan to have a talk with her first.. so i let her settle lo..

mum05,

erm i cant remember how much alr wor..

piggy,

we co sleep with him... nowadays trying to get him to sleep on his own in his cot. we keep failing, he prefers to join us on our bed..

Lynn,

icic ya i dun wanna my bb to make it a habit to co sleep with us i wan him to be independent tt y i seldom co sleep with him..

piggy

cos there are so many brands out there and i wanna give him variety...

so thinkin of organix and bellamy's...

there is this thread by agape babies selling..

abit more ex but i don wanna wait for iherb shippin leh...

USD getting stronger so i think i better stock up more..

smiggleprincess,

iherb actually v fast leh i jus order 1 batch only take 3-4days to reach me.. i tink even u go by BP unless u go n self collect else also must wait mah n gotta travel to the seller side.. ya i jus stk up some HB cereaL[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

smiggleprincess, i have one box of organix seven grain cereal, u wan?

my boy is eating earth's best, it comes in a box of 6 sachets so convenient to bring out...

Smiggleprincess,

Wat charges u referring?? I am like organisin spree den split the shipping cost accordin to weight n I can buy other stuff at the same time like HB puff , earthbest toothpaste etc so quite ok ESP I gt no time to travel to the seller place to collect[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

when can i give bb puffs?

also, anyone knows when is the stage 1,2,3,4 of the different food type etc etc.

piggytoh,

what items do you stock up from iherb?