(2011/04) Apr 2011

gerry: they are jealous. that's why when people ask me how is it being a 2nd time mum i tell them its not the baby that's difficult but my #1. guess we just have to be patient and try not to lose your temper.. its hard.. my husband and I have lost it so many times but we realise we have to be patient and talk and talk to her nicely but firmly if necc and hope it will get better with time. Some told me it might take 6 mths, sometimes lesser.. just tell ourselves it will get better!

ningyo: me too.. we've used up a lot of diapers.

mrs chua: wow! that's a lot. mine at 4 weeks is managing 90-120ml. but your baby sumo size lah! kekekee

Mrs Chua, i stay queenstown.. dun think can combine order with yall coz my cl also wanna buy for her grandson and is gg back this weekend. So i need to get the diapers either today or tml.. anyone wan me to help to buy? pm me ur order by 3pm today in case i'm gg down later. preferably meet near queenstown, bt merah, telok blangah, orchard or vivo.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my baby gg to shave his hair in a few hours time.. sob.. gg to miss his fine smooth hair!!

Mrs CHUA,

Wah G is really a milk monster!! So much! =) good faster grow bigger..

Ok will try to give some water.. I think my mom would be very happy cos with my #1 I didn't give water until she was 4 months.. And now she doesn't like water..

Your niece probably feels her position is being threaten by the babies..

Voon,

I really hope she will get better.. Now everything I ask her to do, she'll say "I don't want" headache!! And she makes more noise than #2!! sing very loud.. Talk very loud! I tell her mei mei is sleeping and she doesn't lower her vol!

Ningyo,

Ya girls tend to be more vain.. My girl likes to wear the same old clothes!! Got so many clothes!! Haiz..

Sandy,

tt yuguo too far for me le... n i heard long q... now i no energy to go all the way there n wait for hr leh[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] but if really no choice will have to try liao sigh...

hmm i dun like confinement but i like being SAHM la but bobian mus work for their future... cant ask them dun study mah lol~ at least for ur #1 u get to be 1 liao not bad alr...

Gerry,

ya my #1 take also same jus curious if it true;P

Hi gin & ningyo,

Thks for the reply.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I am too get used to warm up the ebm Liao.:p

Btw, do the mummies intend to shave ur Bb gal's hair after 4 mths old?

Sookie,

Ya I so agree.. #1 is more difficult to handle than my #2!! Sigh.. Yes I am hoping that things will get better with time.=)

Fungfung,

I bathe before massage. CL advised me to use hot water from heater to wash my hands. But it takes quite a while for the hot water to come so I washed my hands frequently with tap water.

Shice,

Can't find the Kim Sang address from the website. Can go and buy from the shop at Teck Whye lane? Can I have the address?

I am a first time mummy. My supply dipped to 30ml this week, breast is hard and painful but when pumped, there's not much milk. So sad. I guessed it may be due to the 3hrly pumping. To increase milk supply, I should let BB latch on more otherwise pumping will only causes engorgement and supply to drop. Am I right? When BB latched on, he can soften the breast and relieves the pain. From yesterday, I let BB latch on, not sure if he is getting enough supply.

Mrs chua: wah.. Bb G is a milk monster.. 160ml wor.. Ur supply is good.. Bb J is drinking 100ml now..

Ningyo: wow.. That's alot of diapers...

I'm looking forward to 8th may.. My first Mother's day and Jerrell's full month party.. Going office to give out cakes tomorrow..

Gerry,

pain when do nothing wor... but if pain I pump I find that I can pump smoother than I set routine 3hrly... so dunno is it let down...

u all got dressing problem... my son episode cuter... keep telling us hand & leg itchy/pain... even sleeping!!!!! left ankle 痒痒, then right ankle 痒痒/痛痛, follow by left hand 痒痒, then right hand 痒痒... so the whole night I will listen to thousand 痒痒 or 痛痛... must scratch or saying then ask him go back to sleep... cycles repeat.... Wahahaha... at first still tot he kena HFMD... Lols~

Pink,

dun compare~

Sapphire,

u mean after pump still hard? could it be block duct? coz if u clear ur breast, it shld b soft soft de... if hard n pain could b block duct liao...

yes, u'r right... bb is the best pump... bb will de-latch once they hv enuff...

Sapphire

i also think it sounds like a block duct. When baby is latching u can press on the block, it can help. Alternatively, try using very hot towel n massage before or after pump.

May I ask for a 1-2wk old baby, how much are they drinking and at what interval?

Hi shice

Can I have the kim sang website or Teck Whye lane address to get cheaper diapers? Thks.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pink,

yes dun compare. most importantly, baby is healthy, that's all it matters. my previous pregnancy threads, got one baby who is sooooooooo fat that she kinda scares all of us. another baby is like your little parsley, don't drink at all and is so tiny, but the little boy is so clever!!

in life, you get ahead by being smart, but no one gets ahead by eating nonstop mah. right? heheeh

Pink mine only 90ml yesterday went for the jab nurse took Vianne's height and weight she is at 4.38kg and 56cm nurse did not say and of low percentile so should be ok ba

Mrs chua I also blur blur with the jab but I thought 6 in 1 better? Ke ke ke

For me I also use tap water to wash my hands too ma fan

But I will make it a point to do a quick shower before massage and then in the evening quick shower to clear the oil and in between wipe the massage oil or else very oily

I think because my massage is scheduled usually at 2pm so ok to shower before the massage and after lunch. My Cl told me before that before you head for shower

Or wet wipe body must ensure stomach is not empty but not immediately after la

This Kim sang no sell enfalac sigh

Gin, you really cheered me up! gosh [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but if she is too skinny she will be trampled on by others! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Your girl drinks non stop? heheheh she's hungry Mommy!

I've been researching on supplements to increase appetite... sigh... but there's no info for newborns lor... most of my search yields results that are for babies who keeps drinking and drinks alot... blearghhh

Hippo,

Oh.. Hmmzz maybe it's your breast telling you to pump Liao.. Now you must pump on demand.. For me is when I latch Eva.. As soon as there is let down, the other breast also will start tingling.. But no milk will come out from that one..

I think my breasts are used to breastfeeding Liao.. Like supply got regulated faster than with #1!! like how breastfeeding felt like in my 3rd month postpartum..

Your boy so cute!! Haha!! But these are all behaviors to get our attention lor.. Haiz.. Lisa will sing very loudly and cutely!! Last time she wasn't like that..

Sapphire,

Ya sounds like block ducts.. After letting baby latch, did it get better.. While baby sucking, maybe you can massage like what gin said.

vivi, how heavy was Vianne at birth ah? C was only 3.6kg at 1 month check up... gained 1 kg...

I see everyone's baby already 4+kg... damn envious

Why didn't I leave her inside to grow till 3plus kg... inside of me I got no appetite, outside of me she got no appetite.. i really wanna peng san already.

Pink,

Your C doesn't look like she is going to get trampled by others.. She is quite a chilli padi!! So young and already got character!!

Ya agree with gin.. See even the internet agrees that overeaters are a problem!! At this young age, they are the best regulators of their diet.. It's instinctive for them to eat when they are hungry and to stop when full.. Fat babies and fat toddlers ain't cute at all ESP when they become adults..

For me I don't even know how much Eva is drinking.. Hehe!! But I can tell she is thriving!! And that is most important..

vivi: i'm also changing my night feeds to Enfalac.. no more NAN!!!

I've seen quite a few sumo babies on ENFALAC and i wanna fatten her up! that's my sole purpose in life now. I don't even care which one taste closer to breast milk already. Chey!! whatever makes her grow fat I will give her. Any recommendations anyone??

Paging for MIKIO....everything ok babe???

btw Vivi,Vianne is really tall!! 56cm !!!!!!!! she's going to be super model next time lor wahahahaha. My C only 52cm hehe but i'm contented lar i'm so short... hahahah

Thanks Hippo and Gin for your reply.

Gerry,

Yes, after bb sucks, my breast softens and the pain disappears. Maybe I will try to pump out later and see if my supply increases. I think pumping full time w/o latching will only cause block duct and make my supply drop yah?

Pink hang in there! Rem my firstborn also very tiny n still is? I got a appetite booster. Works. But I can't rem if it's for below one years old.

My PD is very good. She is at bukit timah if u want to see her in regards to parsley.

I think for fussy or small eaters usu pediasure is recommended? But then again might be for above one yrs. Enfa yes. I've seen so many sumo babies!!

Gin, who is your PD and where? I stay at upper bukit timah so bukit timah sounds like a convenient location for me to go....

How was your first born like? her feeding habits and how much did she drink? can share with me ur experiences please? i'm finding it very frustrating feeding her... everyone tells me things will improve after the first month but i'm still looking at one hour feeds. I think i'll go crazy soon.

Everyone tells me that if her intake is small, feed her regularly. BUT, she takes 1 hour to drink her 70 sometimes. So if i feed her even smaller meals, and more frequently, she won't get to nap in between her feeds at all! Then some mothers tell me to drag the hours longer, so that she will drink more, but I've tried dragging to 3.5hours and she still doesn't cry for milk (especially not at night), so i'm afraid that if I miss feedings and she still takes 60-70 each time round only, she will not be drinking enough.

ARGH. *PULLS MY HAIR OUT*

Yah i think pediasure is for above 1 year though. Don't think they have an infant formula?

Thanks babe, i know you're feeding around the clock too and it must be exhausting for u. JIA YOU! u're so brave to have #3!!!

Gerry, my #1 oso make alot noise. The more we tell them to lower the vol the louder it gets!

But I training #2 to get used to the noise, she looks like a light sleeper. Any idea is it becos I'm a light sleeper hence she is 1 too?

Pink, frm wat I knw S26 build sumo bb. But dnt change uneccessily cos if they dnt like the new fm, we'll headache Liao. Have to trial and error which fm they like all over again.

Gerry: i don't know if she is thriving... poop and pee looks ok i guess............ we only see the PD monthly........... hmmm... i think i need to rent a weighing scale to weigh her at home every week liao.... =P

Post photos of miss little Eva please?? she must be a cutiepie! :D

Sapphire,

Ya I do think full time pumping can cause block ducts.. I am a full time latch on mummy for both my girls and so far I don't have any problems with blocked ducts.. Somehow bb can suck away all the blockage away.. After latching, usually pump vol will be lesser cos bb really knows how to extract milk.. So don't be surprise.. For me, when i am with baby, I would latch on.. Only when I am away, then will pump.. I find pumping quite a chore!! Hehe!!

Pink Vianne was at 3.17 kg at birth ! Don't compare will make you upset . If you think this way next time schooling or other stuff you will compare more makes you stress as long as she is healthy most important hugs dear [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] you are a great mummy

Mine sometimes takes 1 hour too to finish her milk. She will drink fiercely during the first 30 ml then slowly slow down her speed. Then stopped Liao . So sometimes what I do in between change her diaper then continue then she slowly drinks finish or at least leaving some tiny bit left if lucky

So in the afternoon and evening very boring to feed her I will watch tv to kill time. Ke ke her gong gong more patient to feed her.

Yeah I didn't know 56cm is consider long or tall wor

Me still pumping milk for feed .

Voon,

All toddlers are the same.. For me thankfully, eva's quite a heavy sleeper and a self soother ( hopefully nothing will change) so when #1 makes a lot of noise, she will peek a bit and close her eyes again!! Unless it is feeding time..

I know bb's the light sleeping part of bb's sleep cycle will come more often than adult's.. That's why they tend to wake up more often.. It helps them to survive. If bb always in deep sleep, then they would never know when they are hungry or cold..

Pink,

Jia you!! Lisa didn't get better after 1 month!! It might take a while longer for feisty C.. =)

Most of eva's photo is on my camera. Haven't got time to upload.. Hehe!! Now I am feeding Eva..

I tried pediasure on Lisa.. She didn't like it.. Yes it's for after 1..

My mom gave me s26.. And I was no sumo baby.. Hehe!! Only sumo now!! Lol

Vivi,

At the back few pages of the health booklet, there are several graphs.. From there you can know which percentile Vianne is in.. In terms of height and weight..

vonn,

ya, doing confinement now... ya it's quite hard to avoid even though got CL to help.... after toilet or watever must wash hands mah...

ningyo,

ya.. it's quite troublesome to use boiled water to wash hand and brush teeth...

Gin,

wow.. rice wine to wash hand... ya lor, tap water is more convenient. but MIL said cannot use tap water... (i was wondering got so much boiled water for me to wash hand, coz i wash hand quite frequently)

sapphire,

ya i know must use warm water but then my MIL don't even allow me to use tap water which i find very troublesome.. so i also dun care, juz secretly use.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

finally my rashes are gone, no more.. now feeling better...

i'm quite frustrated sometime when MIL said bb doesn't have enough milk that is why he cries.. i wanted to tell her that sometime bb cries, doesn't mean that he wants milk.

She will say that bm is very thin and bb will get hungry easily so cannot wait till 2-3 hours. Then yesterday nite, my HB juz make a comment saying that bb keeping wanting to suckle every half an hour to her, then she made a comment saying that i don't have enough milk for bb. HB also don't want to listen to her.. he told me when he comes in to the room, then i tell my HB to ask her look at the fridge (who said i got no milk?)

Then juz now after my massage, bb cries again, then she said, he must be hungry (i asked the CL when my bb had his last milk) and she said juz one hour ago, the balance from the initial feed which is another hour ago.

i tried to coax my bb to sleep bt he still cries and so in the end, i let him suckle my breast after some times. After a while, i wanted to burp him and in the end he vomited most of his milk out. Sigh!

just want to find a venue to vent my frustration :-l

Tweety.. my supply nv catch up with his demand de.. he is on partial lo.. more to fm.. his one feed, I need at least to pump2-3 times for 1 feed so confirm not enough.. so he is being fatted up by FM...

Pink... u wan to try Dumex Mamil GOld for Ms C? bb G is being pump up by this milk.. he had already finish 3 tin of 900g and now on 1/2 tin of 1600g FM..

Piggy, I'm e one who bought my boy for tuina for his cough. I find e med powder tt e doc give is effective. But dunno baby can anot. It's at bk merah. No need queue. If you want i can give you num you call and ask.

Getting ready to go out for some my relax time with my mgr and team mates for hi-tea.. our annual grp retreat cum relaxtion.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

but I will miss bb G de.. haha.. have to cut my miss by looking @ his pics from my phone later.. whahhaha

Pink

I wrote about my #1 before, maybe you missed it. She was sooooooooo tiny despite being 3kg at birth that I get rude comments from everyone saying I starve my baby blah blah blah. It was so tiring for me that I gave up BFing cuz my supply was dropping as she was not drinking at all. When I switch to total bottle feeding, I realise she will only drink 60ml and stop. And during her feeding time, we will all hold our breath and NOT MOVE cuz she might just stop drinking!!

For the longest time, she was only at 3percentile. Imagine my frustration. I visited nearly every PD in the West to see her problem, all told me she is growing well.

When it comes to solid feeding, wah nightmare begins. SHe will clam her mouth shut and stare at us. The entire family make monkey faces to make her laugh and someone will stuff food in her mouth. Sad hor!! I never have to bring diaper bag because she don't even eat porridge!! In the end I fed her with jar food until she grew sick of it. And its the smallest kinda jar leh!! One friend made tewochew porridge and I tried it on her. Wah she likes it and heng from then on she ate something else other than jar food, if not i seriously hate feeding time.

Somewhere about 2yrs old, after a week of illness, she recovered and suddenly her appetite boom. Now she eats NONSTOP but sadly she don't put on weight at all. my PD says she doesn't absorb much, during pregnancy too, all the weight goes to me!

You are at Upp Bt Timah? I'm near there too! THe Pd is there, at Bukit Timah Plaza, 2nd level, Dr Dorothy Ong. SHe is my life saver during my dark days and she gave me lots of encouragement and useful tips.

One thing my PD always remind me, if you are not big size, how you expect your kids to be really big? Me and hubby are underweight as kids too. Hehehe!

Jia you! motherhood is not easy, but it does get easier. Initial months esp for a first mom is always very very tough. Don't be afraid to seek help and don't compare with other babies. Each baby thrive in their different ways!

Fung fung

i understand. When you BF, sure to hear such comments. On my 3rd day I pumped out 40ml milk, my maid dare to ask me: so little ah?! Wah lao felt like smacking her ok.

i used to open my freezer just to show ppl my milk to shut them up, cuz they say small boobs sure no milk. Now 3rd pregnancy, same ppl asking me: got milk meh? ur neh so small. kaoz!

old folks always think baby can only cry for milk. last night my baby make noise, my mil insisted on feeding her with my EBM even when i said nah, she is not hungry cuz she never cry! she was obviously looking for pacifier cuz she keep turning and rejected the milk bottle. my mil keep forcing the milk bottle on her until it dripped! she was really angry when i told her no hungry lah! give me the baby! hahahaha!

in the end...suckle to sleep lah. what else....

just close eyes so will live longer!

Need your advice for those who are doing TBF.

Anyone knows how to make sure that baby is drinking enough? Sometimes I feed on both breast liao but after half an hour of sleep, he will wake up and ask for more again!!

This morning we went to the first gynae visit and his weight not yet back to 1st day hiaz

Also, when should the breast feel full? I realized that during feeding, it will be soft but the moment he stopped, I can feel that it will harden again but by the next feeding time, I don't feel much liao. Is this normal??

By the way, though I'm perspering but I still feel coldness on my whole body! Not sure what's wrong. It started on the 7 days after delivery when I suddenly realized that the hospital room temp was very cold though for the past 6 days, I have been feeling hot knowing that the temp is set at 20-21 degrees. Then the 1st night home, I started to shiver badly after one of the feed and from then on, I always feel cold though I already off th aircon etc. What should I eat or do know!! Wanted to try DOM but Lewis feeding is still not fixed and I don't have the 2-3hrs clearence!! hiaz!!

Gerry,

Either pumping or latching on also xinku. Help!

Pump is noisy, must sit straight or bend forward, must hold the bottles, must wash and sterilise and warm the milk.

For latch on, if cradle, arm gets tired and sweaty. When lying down, I can hardly move and can't do anything so very xin ku. On average how long does your BB latch on?

Pink: i'm here.. Going to pengsan already.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] am at MIL's plc, then she keep chatting with me and i can't rest when bb is slping.. Super lack of rest.. Feeling very down and emo..

My sumo drinking Similac, not Enfalac

How do we know if bb got pleghm huh? My bb drink milk got funny noises and sound like when gargle our mouth that sound.. -.- he always drinks so fast till choke himself n spitmilk out.. Sigh.. Really not sure how to take care of him.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] i'm scared that bb sick n i don't know wat are the signs.. HELP~~~~~~~~~~

Hi, I have the following from [Old Navy] that I have get for my little precious however they are too small when the stocks arrived. Any1 interested kindly PM me =) Thanks..

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5428644.jpg]6-12mths, S$15

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5428645.jpg]3-6mths, S$15

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5428646.jpg]3-6mths, S$15

Gerry envy that Eva is a heavy sleeper if Vianne is like this would be good lo

Mikio Vianne also have some phlegm but today seems to be better

Vivi: hmmm.. How we know is bb having phlegm? Did u give her anything to reduce it? Sometimes he'll cough a little.. Is it normal?

Ningyo.. Can share ur exp in using the slingsling? Quite a few mummies here interested & would like to order.. 

Sookie.. Ya, my boy is sumo.. Lols... Actually noticed is he dun really look like one, maybe his bones mass us heavy ba.. He drink alot lo.. If I would to tbf, guess I will b drain Liao Lols.. Guess he being pumped up by fm. As my supply v low, need abt 2-3 pumps to meet 1 feed so 1 day onli get to drink 2-3 times ebm.. 

Gerry.. Hubby was commenting half his salary bow goes into fm Lols.. 

How do we judge when to increase e vol of milk to feed I wonder? My Renee here was super cranky last nite..cos she was so angry n fussed aft finishing her 100ml feed, so I stuffed her my boobs. But aft tt merlioned so much of it out. Then an hr later her mouth started looking for milk again. Faints. Dare not feed her too much scared she merlion again but no choice cos she was turning blue fm e crying.

Tink by latchg her on disrupted e feeding schedule le..does anyone experience tt when doing mostly bot feeding but latch once a while?

N today she'll get angry again aft I pull out e teat fm her mouth aft she finish drinking..does tt mean it's time to increase e amt?

Vivi,

Tink our girls r soo similar..mine's a light sleeper too..same birthday..realized their birth weight r so close too! Mine's 3.105kg at birth n on tue she's 4.5kg..but mine's shorter at 55cm..hee.

Mikio can hear some sound when she is asleep

Rach ya lot same same next time good friends [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Just did manicure and pedicure for Vianne

pink

my #1 is very chubby and she was on Friso! I uses NUK for her as well abut uses the Medium teat as she is the type that don't like to wait hence I failed on BF then!! For #2, I have yet to bottle-feed but going to try this few days as I'm worried that he is not drinking enough. If my supply is low, most likely will supplement with Friso again. I heard it was the closest taste to BM at least for Friso 1.

By how many days did your baby regain their birth weight? Mine is already 8 days old today but he is still not reaching his birth weight yet!!

also, does your bb fart alot and keep staining the diaper. I have to change so many diapers everytime he fart! Like a lot of wind inside. Was it something that I ate?? Anyone still taking vitamins as my gynae gave me a lot of pills to take !!!!

Totoro,

Yes yes my lady here farts like nobody's biz too..n poo sometimes gets squeezed out as well..she even farts in e shower n poo comes out too! Tink it's ok to fart le at least e system is getting rid of e wind..

N I'm oni taking calcium n dha pills..no more multi vit..

N babies will put back on their weight at diff speed la, dub worry too much..as long as he's drinking well n pooing n peeing..mine reached bak her birth weight by e time we visited e pd at 6 days old..