(2011/04) Apr 2011

Thanks for all the encouragement. I had successfully given birth to my bunny boi. Whole nite didnt slp so nw very tired and shag. Will update soon once i'm nt so giddy.

fungfung

Congratz !!! rest well

wow. happy full month to kleavan & gervaise

next Sunday ll be my Kayleen one :p nw busying sending invites out hehe.

Thks very much to those mummies who have cleared my doubts...really appreciate.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Btw, my Bb gal is now at home already. Her jaundice level dropped to 8.9 this morning so could come home.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I have a few more questions here for the expert mummies...1)now my Bb is back...do I still need to pump out or I can just direct latch on? 2) Those mummies who pump out the bm, isn't bcos you want to build up the supply so that you have enough milk to store when your back to work? Or isn't bcos' your breasts still engorge after latching on? 3) do you latch on both sides of the breasts or only 1 side per feed? How long do you latch on per feed, be it on 1/2 sides of the breasts?(15 mins on each breast)? 4) for those mummies who fully latch on, do you express the milk afterwards? 5) my Bb gal sleeps a lot during the day & very alert at night. When & how can i train her to differentiate between day & night so that she can sleep through the night?

Sorry for asking so many questions.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thks very much to those mummies who have cleared my doubts...really appreciate.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Btw, my Bb gal is now at home already. Her jaundice level dropped to 8.9 this morning so could come home.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I have a few more questions here for the expert mummies...1)now my Bb is back...do I still need to pump out or I can just direct latch on? 2) Those mummies who pump out the bm, isn't bcos you want to build up the supply so that you have enough milk to store when your back to work? Or isn't bcos' your breasts still engorge after latching on? 3) do you latch on both sides of the breasts or only 1 side per feed? How long do you latch on per feed, be it on 1/2 sides of the breasts?(15 mins on each breast)? 4) for those mummies who fully latch on, do you express the milk afterwards? 5) my Bb gal sleeps a lot during the day & very alert at night. When & how can i train her to differentiate between day & night so that she can sleep through the night?

Sorry for asking so many questions.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

St,

Ya super tired.. Very scared when hb goes back to work..

Lynn,

No probz.. =)

Jojo,

I am doing exclusive latch on at the moment. Even if my baby took only 1 breast, I wouldn't pump the other.. Cos i don't want to have oversupply at the moment. The body at this early stage is still tryingto regulate supply . If I latch and pump, there's a chance of getting serious engorgement..

I will only pump if I know I am going to go out without baby.. For accumulation before going back to work, I would probably only start pumping seriously for storage 1 month before work start..

If you are comfortable with latching, then pumping is not necessary.. =)

Hello all!

any recommendations where to get those full month gift packages that we give out to friends and family? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

why our thread bcum so queit these days? all must be busy with NB & moo moo career?

weekend bcum so boring recently. it's suppose to be happy family day as hb not working but it's turn out more moody & upset weekend I have.

when ask him to look after #1 he just no patient only noe to shout scold beat her. end up she ll cry look for me. he rather spend his time take nap & sit in front of tv do nothing. but during weekdays he jiu more patient to help out. I thk he really can't stay at home

During bb shower, heard relatives commenting that my boy kept sleeping & seldom open his eyes even after drinking milk.. Hello lo, isn't baby now @ this stage is eat, slp, pee & poo Ma? Hears like snot nt happy but got to act like no hear anything so xin ku.. 

Living rm can't put bb cot & can't put him in the rm to slp alone ba so everyone carrying him ard den he  even beta so of cos eyes dun wan open la.. 

fungfung,

congrats!!!

Gerry,

sigh now i can only hope #2 sleep thru soon else i tink i will die first... today i am sosleepy i din even have much appetite lo... even at my boi full mth din even have the energy to take pic..

Bbgoh,

Jia you!!! I can feel u!!!! My hubby also a bit a bit scold/threaten/cane my boy... No patient at all... I let him feed my boy so I can latch Jovie end up both of them cry & shout at dinning table... Until I bth go feed my boy ask CL feed ebm... Now I more clever, arrange my timing, latch my girl before Terry is home so I hv time to feed him dinner then ask hubby bath him then I can tuck him sleep... Latch Jovie again... Weekend same... Breakfast, lunch, dinner I must Bao ka liao... Dun even get to sleep lor...

We Jia you together k!!!!! Hugs!!!!!!

Mrs. Chua,

Is like that de... Ignore them lor...

Bbgoh,

Tmrw going to bring Eva for review.. Hopefully it is down.. She looks less yellow..

As for me, the blisters are drying up but the skin is very very dry.. And quite painful as my tummy is shrinking and the loose skin can be quite uncomfortable..

Haha!! I think everyone is either busy with newborn or preparing for the full month.. =)

Jojo,

1 & 2) actually up to your preference... I latch & still pump, hope that can stimulate more so that I dun hv to worry if my supply drop... At least can last a bit longer with those I pumped out... Partly b'coz my girl doesn't latch till she is full... The longest she can latch is 40mins... So has to top up with ebm...

3) I try to latch both side... 20mins per boob... So total 40mins...

5) open the curtain daytime & try to hv some noise if u can... Switch on tv or radio... As for night, try to darken the room if possible... & make sure the environment is quiet enough... I plan to train my girl when she is about 13weeks coz I'm reporting work when she is 15-week-old...

I couldn't answer 4 as I dun do exclusive latching... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

very jialat, think i have same sympton like piggy. today after went out came back then fever, breast very pain then whole bodyache and keep shivering. now took panadol le no more fever and breast not pain le (after violent massage) but supply dropped alot (from 120ml to 50ml)...sighz dunoe whats wrong [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Gerry,

U too!!!! Jia You!!!! U got sensitive skin history? Or just simply allergy to the herbs they use?

Winwin,

OMG~ please seek LC advise if fever still persist ya!!!! Hugs!!!!!!! Jia You!!!!!

hippopolai: thx, juz no damn pain until i keep crying. now better le think manage to clear. juz hope supply dun drop further coz i dun intend to stop BF so fast [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

hippopolai/gerry,

ya i am hanging on no joke manz esp if #1 n #2 cry together n my #2 sumtime cry n cry dunno wat he wan now bobian i alr use pacifier lo... yesterday even forget to eat my antibiotic lo:p

Piggy,

I know I know!!!! My T&J like to make noise together too!!!! Ur #2 take pacifier? My Jovie doesn't want leh... Keep push out... She also keep cries loud yesterday... Dunno what's wrong... Just fed, no pee, no poo... Wonder what happen... Sumtimes carry also cries... Her cry damn fierce de lor... Like kena torture... Sweat~

Hi Gerry,

How old is ur Bb now?

I got engorgement on the 3rd day after I delivered. So i have to latch & pump after I came back from hospital to reduce the engorgement. When my gal admitted to hospital due to jaundice, i pumped around 7 times a day to maintain the supply & I realised there is an increase in the supply. Now my gal has returned home, I try to just latch on & without expression but a bit xinku as I could fill the breasts are full(milk starts to flow in). Does that mean that my supply is dropping now since I don't pump out & solely depends on latching to establish the milk flow??

Gerry, so in the 3rd mth before going back to work, still able to increase the milk supply? I thought there is a higher chance to establish the supply in the 1st mth only and that is why so many mummies are expressing their milk now??

Now I feel the engorgement, should I just pump out to relief myself?

Jojo,

My little bunny is 1 week old..

For me, I would just latch on and if 1 boob becomes full cos baby only took 1 breast.. I still wouldn't pump unless it is uncomfortably engorged.. Then I'll alternate boobs for very feed.. But as the child gets older, she'll need more and may drink 1.5 boobs.. So for next feed, I will give her the last fed boob as she didn't completely finish it.. This is to ensure that she gets the hind milk..

Yes first month is impt to establish supply but once you are stable, you can increase or decrease supply as and when you want.. It's economics demand and supply.. It is never static.. Cos as baby grows, they will be moments of growth spurt and baby will feed more (means more latch on) and this increases supply.. and when baby doesn't need too much, then supply will decrease..

I see no point in oversupplying now as my ML will end in 4 months and whatever you store now will be expired by then.. And I prefer to give refrigerated ebm rather than frozen ebm when I was working with my #1.. And then you will constantly have to maintain your oversupply of breastmilk by pumping after latching which is time consuming and exhausting.. So for me latching exclusively gives me more rest time ESP when I just delivered.

No latching is way better than pumping in establishing milk supply.. How do you think the human race is still around?? Pumping is a recent invention.. So back then, all our ancestors depended exclusively on just latching.. Without pumping..

After 3 months, if you are already tbf, then I don't think you will hav a problem increasing for storage purposes.. At least I didn't the last time.. I didn't even have a pump until the end of the 2nd month..

Hi hippopolai,

Oic. So you pump after each latch? What do you do with the bm u expressed? Use as a 'top up' after latching on? I mixed it with formula for my boy to drink for the past two days. Now I Thot of asking my CL to btl feed (bm) for the Midnite feed.

2) were your Bb deliver in tmc? What did the brrast feeding consultant in tmc advised you on the latching during? I delivered in mt a & the consultant asked me to latch on 1 br per feed, max 30 mins. She advised not to feed on both breasts, like 15 mins per br as Bb might not be able to get the hindmilk which comes after 15-20mins. I am confused by then as I used to feed #1 15 mins per br last time.

Hi Gerry,

Oic. My gal is also 1 wk old! Ur bday is 15/4??

Actually your breast feeding is very similar to the method that the LC in mt a taught me. So you also latch in the middle of the nite? I latched on Midnite for the past few days...very siong leh.

How long do you latch on per feed? 20-30 mins? Convenient to get your contact no so I can SMS / call you when I hv breast feeding questions?

Jojo,

All question with regards BF u listen to Gerry better! She is our consultant here!!!!!!

I pump for top up my girl feed & night feed by CL... Coz I din hv engorgement problem like u... At most wake up once in the midnight to pump coz feel my breast a bit heavy... A few night i'll feel engorgement only... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wah hippo u haven sleep ah?

I'm so sian... I kept jumping up at every sound my bb makes. Hb said I'm paranoid. Hahaha.

Jojo

The nurses at TMC advised latching 15 to 20 mins per breast

They don't really emphasize on foremilk n hindmilk. Anyway the lc at mt a may be right. If latch on for a short while on one breast, bb may not get the hindmilk which is more important for growth since most of the nutrients are there..

Mornin mummies!

Super tired!!! Haix onli doin part time tis few days but already cannot tahan Liao wonderin mon I officially start work how I gng to survive. Although my boy slp early my gal doesn't difficult to rest. And now facin a tough pro realise aft my boy is out relationship wif my hh turn Very sour both of us trying very hard to maintain. Now can onli hope everything goes well n smooth.

My gal down wif fever n she is drivin me up the wall wif her cry.

mrs chua

ignore them. I find some ppl very weird de bb slp too much they comment if bb nv slp will oso say nb need more slp other bb aft milk will slp Liao y these bb eyes still so big. Hear Liao feel so sian.

U don haf rocker? When my boy Full mth I jux place in rocker in livin rm ppl come will c him n he slp all the way don reali have chance to carry him n he oso nv wake up for milk.

Emmm when can i pass the tea bag to u? Btw u still usin hot btl while expressing? It reali disolve the milk duct n milk will spray out when pumpin/latch. Tat day I tried latch bb n use hot btl on breast n when I unlatch the milk spray out like water gun all over my boy face

Fungfung

congrats [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

tweety/ Michelle s

ur supply so gd lei envy u.

Transporting BM

thanx piggytoh, hippopolai, Gerry, bbgoh n Elmo (hope I nv miss any1) for ur advice in transporting ebm I don get to use any method cos in the end nv go but I will b able to use it frm mon onward bringing my bm hm frm work [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Michelle,

Oic. I latched on 15-20 mins on each side when I breastfed #1 that time, same as tmc's LC method. This is the 1st time I heard about Bb would miss the hindmilk if latch less than 15mins on each side of breasts. But there is a mummy mentioned that she would feed Bb with the last breast of the previous feed so still could get the hindmilk. Haha...so very confused now...

So would you stick on tmc or mt A method then??

Hi hippopolai,

May I know what btl tit do u use to feed ur Bb? U started to introduce ur the btl in the 1st week or...?

Michelle,

Woke up to pump & back to sleep... Just woke up by #1 & it's time to pump!!!!!

Yr hb is right... U'r paranoid mom... Relax & dun get tends up... Still long way to go... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Jia you!!!!!

Sandy,

Y suddenly u feel ur relationship with hb turn sour? Dun think so much ya... Jia You Jia You!!!!!

Jojo,

Using pigeon wide neck bottle... Yup, using it after we reach home... Coz suddenly cannot latch bb once we home...

G'morning ladies,

Woke up at 5am to feed baby and after feeding #1 woke up!!! Arghzz!!

Hippo,

Ya I got very sensitive skin.. Like I cannot wear fake earrings for long.. If not my ears will ger swollen.. Very sad case..

Jojo,

I don't really see timing when I latched my girl.. Too busy watching/reading!! Haha!!

Actually the best indicator is your baby.. Initially Baby will suck vigorously.. Then after a while will slow down.. Like stop for a while and then continue.. I usually will feed 1 boob until baby naturally de latches.. Usually that would take 30-40 mins the longest.. Some days will only be 20 mins.. So no hard and fast rule as to how long you feed..

I will pm you later.. Need to send my baby for jaundice review.. =)

Sandy,

Don't stress.. Maybe everything with a new baby and a screaming toddler can be very stressful for everybody.. You and your hb can ride through this..

Jojo

I latched on at around midnight, 2am and around 5 am. Yes it is super tiring.. For my #1, this kind of night feed pattern continued until she was 10 months!!!!!

Hippo/sandy.. Ya, trying to ignore their comments but jus dun understand these people's mindset. Dun they know bb sleep alot @ this stage de Ma? Actually my boy still not bad Le, got wake up & open his eyes super big for few hrs in the evening, they shld b grateful that he did not zzz thr & ignore them right?

Sandy..we dun hv rocker onli hv car seat here @ mil's place. Furthermore, here have dogs so we can't place on the floor & if put sofa, guests can't sit..

For the tea bags, i will contact u when I can collect from u ok? Ytd & today busy his bb shower stuff den Tmr shld b our rest days.. So maybe mon or Wat, will contact u again.

I uses bottle filled with hot water to rub Le but still like this SP told hubby, he say will rub for ne but ytd alot guests so host cannot hide in rm.. Later will try using hot water again..

Haha... Gerry~ same sad case over here!!!!!!! So I always tell my hubby.... He has pure princess tai tai, cannot use fake jewelry... Haa haa...

I even cannot tahan the plaster which hosp use on me... Last time dunno end up lower part body all rashes... Tummy cause by the plaster while back n buttock cause by the bed!!!! Bth....

Guess if I have massage n binding will end up same case like u~~~ haiz... Gonna live on with my shaggy tummy liao... Haa haa....

Sandy

No need to envy me... It's painful and exhausting to have to wake up to keep pumping because of engorgement... Sigh...

You and your hb's relationship turn sour? Why? Anyway now after confinement can go out le... Go on a date with him alone without the kids. I'm sure all will be well... You need to unwind...

Jojo

I couldnt latch on since day 3so i didnt follow both methods. But when I was at TMC, I followed their method. Maybe the mommies here can advise if they prefer mt a's or tmc's latching methods..

Hippo

I also woke up to pump... So annoying to have to wake up to pump right? Just felt like sleeping thru the engorgement but it's just too painful...

Mrs Chua

Ya just ignore them. Babies @ this stage sleep a lot de. Other than poo pee eat sleep, they also cannot do other things what. I have visitors over the last week and they always come when my boy is sleeping and they try to wake him up... Luckily my boy is smart enough not to wake up and entertain them (actually he's jus sleeping v soundly la haha)... These people expect the baby to be clowns or toys, entertaining them with baby smiles, give them 4D numbers (then blame e bb if never open), look at them, watch the bb take a bath, let them carry etc... I wish they know that bb would be traumatised if too many ppl carry lai carry qu... These two days when got visitors I just put baby in e cot and if he's sleeping, I'll just tell them straight that bb just fell aslp only, if want to carry n play just wait outside until he wakes up lor. If they ask for stupid requests, just pretend u nv hear lor (which is what u did, good job). (:)

Gerry,

Regarding BF hor... Jovie hor will latch at most 40mins then she will de latch herself... After maybe 5-10mins she will wail for my boob again... Like that is normal? Like that I will totally have no rest for her fine dinning style leh...

Michelle,

I cannot think it's a torture coz I always wanted to BF my kid... When my #1, I dunno all these BF thing then I have very low supply... Have to supplement with fm... 1 day 8 meal my boy get only 2 meal of ebm... I was so sad then...

Now Jovie can have full BM up to date which to me is very very very blessed.... So I can't complaint~ Lols~~~

If I were like u to start with full BM maybe I will have same complaint like u!!!!! Frankly, it's tire to get up in middle of night to pump... But even if u dun wake up for pump... U still wake up to feed ur boy... So same same mah... For the sake of ur boi, Jia You!!!!!!!

Seems like I more cham leh... No engorgement still have to wake up to pump... Compare like that make u feel better????? Hee hee hee...

Thanks mummies....

Didnt really come in here yesterday coz very tired and shag after delivery. So shag till i even fainted for a while yesterday nite when my HB is supporting me to my bed after my toilet.

This is my birth story:

9+pm: got show

9+ to 11+pm: bath and do my stuff

1130pm: depart to hospital

12am: start my CTG and VE chk - 2cm dilated

12.30am: pump med to pass motion

3.00am: v-examination by midwife(4cm) & doctor informed

4.15am: adminster epidural

4.30am: v-examination(4cm) & break water bag

5.40am: 5cm

8.50am: fully dilated bt no sensation to push coz of the numbness

9am: start to push

9.30am: bb head face side thus hv to use vacuum to help bb head to come out.

9.45am: bb zaccheus is finally born. 

Can someone help to update the table:

Zaccheus Ker

Wt: 3.16kg

Natural w/epi and vacuum.

Congrats Gin and rest well

Moon,

Any action yet?

Hippopolai

we quarrel everyday n we can don speak to 1 another for almost whole day.

For so long we nv pass a day happily [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Gerry

I hope the bad time can pass by fast i can't tahAn everyday quarrel n givin each other a black face

Michelle s

but u c the milk u will feel relief at least bb got ebm to drink.

Everyday we do is quarrel quarrel n quarrel onli once awhile or sometime den we speak nicely which s usually infront of bil/sil.

Can't leave the 2 kids behind [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I still can't put them aside n in law not very happy of they find out we go n haf fun. Bil even told us straight in our face aft work come hm on our own don wait for 1 another haix.

Fungfung

Congrats

Sandy

Maybe both of you are too stress coping with one more bb at home. It's an adjustment time so give each other some space and concentrate on the happy and positive things!!

Mummies who cater confinement food, so far which is good? Do they cater for c-sect menu for 1st week?

Hippo

I read your experience n feel I shouldn't be complaining... I should be satisfied tt I have ebm for my boy. Will jiayou de... You too!

Fungfung

Hope you're feelin better this morning... Do rest well ok... :)

Sandy

Ya I should feel relief tt my bb has ebm to drink.. Hmm quarrel means u care for each other mah. Cannot don't talk to each other de... 夫妻没有隔夜仇... Give and take and tolerate... Or maybe u and ur hb can take a day and bring your kids out on an excursion... And tell your hb 'no quarrels for the day'... Jiayou... Both your kids wont want to see you both like that... Be strong k :)

Michelle,

Glad that u can 看开~~~!!!! =D

Sandy,

Sometimes cannot be so harsh... U tired ur hb also tire... Some more guy dun like to talk much mah... Maybe u give in 1st... Talk to him first, talk to him nicely & maybe can tell him tat u dun wish to carry on the quarrel like that... =) normally we give in 1st they will stop cold war with us liao de.... Jia You! For the sake of ur marriage & kids... We sometimes Bo bian have to REN!!!!!!!!!! Lols~