(2011/04) Apr 2011

sookie,

Oh ok.. My girl is 2y3m... she is not too bad with daytime potty training and she doesn't like pooing in her diapers.. so for now she does not even wear diapers when we go out cos she will tell us.. All thanks to my mom cos she is the one who potty train her.. but I really am wondering when I should start with the night one.. also want to save money from buying diapers!! Haha!!

gerry

tats good. my girl alrdy 2y5m.. only noe to tell me if pooing, pee pee still dunno to control. also hope can save $$ for her diapers

as she is under CC so caregivers said only can train when she is ready & noe how to talk well.

vivi

i also having bad backache, thk due to carry big tummy bah

sookie, wow.. 6 months.. I think he is fine there.. is I think the way he is adapting to the environment and changes.. he is 2 yrs old next month..

piggy, the problem is my hb teeth is straight n nice.. even nicer than mine.. how to say.. but now at CC he cant use it.. lol.. my mil too dote him le.. yesterday nag at me n said y so young put him at CC..

Sookie: My girl is 3.5 years old too, just like yours. She is fully toilet-trained, but recently had one "accident" at night. I think we can expect a few more accidents every now and then after bb arrives. Apparently it's a sign of adjustment. Just something to look out for lor... Is your No 1 looking forward to the new arrival? Mine goes to Nursery so at least she'll be occupied for a few hrs each day! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Strep B - it's a kind of bacteria which lives in some of us, quite common apparently. It can be dangerous to newborns (even though it doesn't really bother adults) which is why if you test positive for it, the gynae will put you on IV antibiotics for at least four hours from admission to hospitaluntil birth (and within two hours from the time the water bag bursts)

http://www.dhpe.org/infect/strepb.html

Yeah bbgoh I think so too.... somemore when backache comes with Braxton Hicks wow I cant even find a good position to sit down comfortably.

Gerry: For us, we dealt with the daytime toilet training first, and very gradually started with the nights after we observed that she started waking up with dry diapers night after night. The secret is to limit milk intake close to bedtime, then wake them up at 11pm just before you go to bed and bring them to the toilet. Slowly, they will sleep thru without wetting themselves. Your girl is still young - good progress already! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ST: Yes, we used Sebamed for my No 1. Quite ex but cheaper than California Baby. Will continue to use for No 2, don't want to risk skin irritations. I heard that we should try to not use Johnson and Johnson in the newborn stage, because there is alcohol in J&J which is drying and not good for young baby's skin?

bbgoh/Piggy: I think they say to try not to use pacifiers because it can cause nipple confusion and make it hard to bfeed. For us, we didn't mind offering a pacifier to my girl, but she preferred to suck her own thumb. She kept doing that all the way until 18+ months. But eventually she just stopped lah. But yes, I read that some babies just like to suck - so for those babies, a pacifier may be a life saver!

Aries: Haha! Yes, I read about the placenta growing thing. Not sure how it works. We may process the placenta into pills. See how lah.

ST,

yes sebamed is ex but y need to try ex brand? becos u expect #2 to have enzema? i heard QV is better leh... for me if cheap brand can work i wun bother to check out ex brand keke..

Yolk sac,

oh i dun like to latch for #1 i pump out n feed so no issue at all.. cos my boi is simply ask for milk too freq so i use pacifier to drag his feedin time...

hmm i started toilet trainin my boi since few wk back but not successful usu put him on potty ask him poo every evenin but no output so far n usu after he poo den he come to me say ng ng... -_-

bbgoh,

huh v tiring leh as they sleep lesser n lesser but heng he sleep longer at nite... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Andrea,

for me i dun care wat my MIL say cos i believe i am the parent so i have the right to decide wat i want... of cos we dun wan to strain our relationship jus tt when they r gettin too unreasonable mus do sumthing also la.. so far my MIL still ok except certain thing they cant follow but v hard to expect to much from them so sentin my boi to CC is the best[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gerry,

hahah ya lo when they r notti can be v cute also so sumtime dunno to get angry or luff..

piggy: your boy still so young lah, no need to rush. when he is ready, it will happen quite naturally. anyway, boys take longer than girls, apparently about 6 months to 1 year later.

Yolksac,

cos i hope he can be toilet train earlier so it will be easier for me keke... cos many others toddler same age as my #1 alr toilet trained keke..

Can check with you on some things?

1) Anyone using Medela Freestyle? They say the parts only sterilise once a day. Then rest of the day will just have to wash with soap. Hmmm. Is it ok like that? Or do you all sterilise all the time?

2) My sis in law bought me QV soap for bb. So is QV soap ok? So I dont need to buy anymore baby soap already?

mikio: gd la, at least ur hb heartache see u suffer..haha..my hb say 35 wk can c sec, i say he crazy so early come out later many prob then jialat. i think stay longer inside better so long as u and bb no prob at the moment, more developed mah, less jaundice etc prob also.. or best ask ur OB they sld be able to decide when is the best for mummy and bb.

Gerry: wow ur bb smart la, can still hide and suck thumb, hehehe...then like that develop callus liao lor?

piggy: ya will try my very best to latch, but still need to prepare if i end up succumb to FM then wonder how many bottles i will need, usually just sterilize once everyday can le right? then i between feeds just wash? or every feed must use sterilize bottle?

st: what u mean as big bottles? so meaning the teats of the bottle must get small size one first? How to choose the right bottle for NB bb ah? Hmm..i very blur on all these leh...

ckim,

for me i only sterilise once a day n jus wash with bottle cleanser n water for sub use... not sure abt soap but i prefer liquid shower gel easier to bath them ...

sorry piggy. I meant liquid gel.. the QV one. It does not state that it is for baby. It says gentle wash with no soap. Is it safe for baby?

Aries,

usu newborn they drink abt 8times a day 3hrly so day time abt 4-5 bott den nite will sterilise all bott again usu newborn best to sterilise be4 use.. i got abt 5-6bott i tink den sterilise 2 time a day nia...

i tink ST refer to those wide neck bott... u will only know if ur bb like the teats after he was born... cos sum can be v v picky...

piggy

usually i let my girl sit on potty every morning to poo b4 go CC. and she does it

maybe eveing not his timing ?? hehe mostly we clean out stomach in the morning bah :p

yr boy still young, give him sometimes when he is ready u can see the sign de

i can understd sometimes we see those same age one can do very well but ours so slow but every child diff in development [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

recently sometimes my girl ll tell me 'shii shii' i thk maybe she is slowly show the sign?? ehmmm

Hi piggytoh, i am also a supporter of PetPet since #1. Cheap and good. For newborn size, i went to other kiddy palace, they dnt sell except toa payoh, lazy to go TPY, i cin cai standby 1 NB pack drypers and in Jan Guardian got Drypers promo, i got 2 pkts of S, will change after finishing the drypers. I super love the new packing and upgrde version.

Re: bodywash, if i am nt wrong, even sebamed contain SLS which cause dryness. My #1 have been Johnson head to toe since day 1 and quite ok for him. But body lotion, i invest in mustela, quite good IMO.

Yolk, when is yr next appt to see Dr lai? I am seeing him this sat and will head to bb fair after tat. Hopefully i still can tolerate till Sat...hehe

Amazed yr gal is fully trained, my still on diapers for nap and nite.

BBgoh, mine opposite. He will oni poo in diapers!! Argh!!

ic. thanks ladies.

Anyone know where to buy a decent but not too expensive Diaper changing table? The ones I saw are very expensive. Is there one that cost like less than $300?

If not where do you all change the baby's diapers?

ckim

how abt ikea?

i wont buy the chging table, just chg on our bed [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi mommies.. today all talking about #2 eh... =)

bbgoh: i didn't buy changing table.. nowhere to put it.. nursery room is full liao... change on her cot bah

Vonn,

hee i dun buy NB size cos my boi est. birthweight is heavy n pet pet Size S alr much cheaper than other brand NB size so i jus buy S [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i also use J&J head to toe no issue at all i tink becos he got no skin prob also la:p

bbgoh,

cos morning i no time HB will leave at 6+ leh den i ask my MIL side to let him sit in the potty in the morning they dunno how n tell me my boi refuse to sit-_- but at home he will sit n i will ask him poo he will gek a few time den no output.. i not tryin to compare him la cos in other aspect like talkin n learnin many told me he is consider havin advance skill liao jus tt i feel tt for his age toilet trainin shd be ok since the rest also can but i din force him la hope CC will help to train..

Ckim,

i dun see the need of havin changin table becos the moment they know how to flip or move they wun wan to lie still so i jus bott a changin mat from ikea n put him on top.. the mat can jus place on any table top or our bed so wld wet our bed etc[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pink,

so how u call agency alr?

piggy

no leh cos that day i told hubby we have not bot any body wash for #2..so we buy back Avent (last time #1 used) then he say don't want..want to try Sebamed then i say ok lor..

Aries

yup my big bottles is wide teats no leh cos maybe my MIL never see before wide teats and my SIL son use narrow teats..then she asked us say bb mouth have to open so wide and big..but then our breast bb also have to open the mouth wide to drink meh..

ST,

i tink sebamed is more ex.. i got 1 sample pack sebamed smell is quite nice but ex la so i use it when i bring my boi to swimm dun waste mah keke.. actually no issue on usin ex brand la if u tink the price is acceptable n u ok den y not jus tt i try to minimise cos on these necessaries rather us the money on other things la[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] cos u add up the diff for every mth can be alot leh... so usu if the cheaper brand work well for me i wun bother to try ex brand la hee..

piggy

yaya i will tell hubby abt it..then u tried before does it really dry up the skin like what vonn mentioned?

ST,

i find ok leh cos they also say J&J 1 is harsh on bb skin but my boi ok leh no issue... so i tink dpend on individual also... anyway kodomo also lately introduce head to toe wash so i bott 1 bott to try also hahah

Piggy, i oni bought a pack, hope she can use it before S. Skin problem, I have to be careful with my kids cos I have very bad eczema and sensitive person.

St, i oni use Mustela bodylotion. Body wash is Johnson.

Vonn,

ya if u or HB got skin prob den better dun stk up first jus in case cos me n HB no skin prob n #1 also ok so i jus go ahead n buy[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ST,

hahah dunno nice anot i jus buy have open wor [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hello mummies~~~~ No time to read post, tonight go back then read...

Piggy, Sun marketing I also out from home around 7.30am~8am lor... Depends how fast King Terry can finish his breakfast... hahahaha.... But then reach home earliest also 9plus or near to 10 liao then still have to settle the thing i bought mah... Follow by cooking lunch for Terry liao...

For Jovie arh... Will look for nanny around Tmn Jurong near Terry's CC or opp JP lor... So easier for me to fetch both if hubby cannot fetch either of them...

I ONLY bought 1 milk bottle for Jovie leh... Y need so many huh? Cham... Not enuff, have to buy again... I haven't buy diapers also... That day wanted to buy, hubby said buy so early for what... See lar... last minute again...

Piggy, tat head to toe is good and imo, not strong. The other blue, purple and pink Johnson is quite strong. Normally I go Chinatown to buy, recent trip there, it was oni $3.90 per btl. Do u use tat for hair though it state head to toe? Hair I use Kodomo..

Hippo

if u gg to fully latch bb then 1 should be enough but if u gg to bottle feed too then 1 bottle abit troublesome cos u need to sterilise everytime u finish..

Diapers i also just bot yesterday too keke also

HIppopolai,

erm 1 enough meh cos if only 1 den u not latchin mus feed 3 hrly leh den mus keep washin n sterilise leh.. den when milk start to kick in but not alot yet u need to store the milk mah cos my milk not alot so after i pump out i will put use the milk bott to store n feed directly after each feed...

Vonn,

ya i use on hair also anyway my boi no hair 1 so does not matter lol~ wah $3.90 is cheap..

piggy

nothing much to do, why not take leave to rest?

wah remember to upload share with us yah [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

piggy

wow like that time very slow one leh..even surf net also don't know what to serve hahah

ViVi

ya weather is good to zzzz too

bbgoh,

hahah ya will share but those revealin 1 maybe wun share la wait my HB make noise whahaha..

ST,

ya lo summore those paper work i let the temp do to hand on so i nothing much to do yawn~~

Tweety,

hee yes hope today can receive heheh..

wow.. everyone is toking about diaper and soap now.. Hmm.. it seems like pet pet got a lot of good comment.. maybe can buy and try for by bb...

What about soap/liquid jel coz heard a few brand here and from what i read, they are for sensitive skin? what about normal one.. use which brand?

going down to taka fair this sat with hubby, hope that can get lots of lobang there so that can finish buying most of our stuff still haven't bought...if not, time is not on our side...

another thing i want to check, for those mummies who have small tummy, when will the tummy become bigger? at which week? coz i'm going into 34 weeks this week and ppl comment that my tummy is small...

Mrs chua,

u mentioned that you got ur freestyle at a good deal? I remember u pay S$470 for it rite? u mean now cheaper?

Rene,

u mentioned about the massive warehouse sale is from Mums & babes? Do you have the exact date for next month?