(2011/04) Apr 2011

Gerry,

okie okie... Thanks for sharing about the Ameda pump... so, that means everytime after baby finish drinking, I'll still have to try to pump to see if there's any more milk? and if I can still pump out a lot of milk, does that mean baby only got the foremilk and not the hindmilk? then, how to make baby get the hindmilk too?

Gerry, ST, Piggy,

Thank you very much!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Will go and check out the link now!

Vivi,

ya, that sounds good too.... can monitor how much baby is drinking too... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Moon,

usually it is the hind milk that will make the baby full.. My baby used to drink 1.5 boob.. then how i did it if I had no pump was to remember which boob she didn't finish ( i used a rubber band on my wrist to remind me) and then the next feed, I will use the boob she didn't finish and let her finish that one and move on to the other..

But If i really need to store milk when I go back to work, I will pump the boobs after each feed until super dry.. might not be a lot, so I would pool the milk that I pump for the day, and store it together.. To try to accumulate milk for the day I go back to work..

Moon but I dont know if this is ok or not leh.... I prefer to see baby drink how much ma.... just that need to wash and sterilize the bottle lor....

Saw d freestyle in backpack selling at $599 at paragon 5th floor 1st few years. D freestyle w sling bag is $649 or so,can't remember d price.

Tmr Robinson cardholders can get d ameda dual pump at $299.

vivi,

Yes it is the dual pump.. Not too scary lah... Hehe!! Wait till you use it and see how it pumps your breast.. then you would really feel like a cow.. Hehe!! =)

Actually, when I was on full latch on, I would monitor baby's weight and her urine and poo output.. to make sure she is getting enough.. and I find that if you let her regulate her own milk consumption, she would have better control of her diet in future.. Many dr say that we tend to give too much milk if we know the volume.. and some babies don't stop eating one... so will end up being obese..

Gerry,

okie okie... Thanks!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Vivi,

should be ok bah or the other mummies here can help comment?

piggy- why you got problem sleeping? and alot of body aches? U're early April mummy so u're like my mirror.. I will prepare myself that in 2 weeks I will feel those symptoms.. :p

Vivi,

ya i prefer to see how much bb is drinkin tt y i prefer to pump...

Gerry,

but for me usu we will see how much he drink den usu it will be 3hrly feed n if he cry earlier for the nex feed den we gradually increase.. i find ok wor.. n tt how we grow up also mah???

NIngyo,

Freestyle got backpack ah?? maybe old model tt y cheaper...

Moon,

those tt u pump out can store for nex feed mah... so ur bb will sure get the milk..

PInk,

every1 diff so dun take me as ur mirror keke ache is pretty common in preg la esp when bb getitn heavier n press on ur hip etc n with ur ligament loosen.. not to mention water retention..

pearly- so good! gained 3 kgs only!!! bahhh envious lor!!

hippo- me too... boobs are becoming super big.. haiz.. and this is before BF... will expand somemore rite?? cham...

ST: thanks for trying to be positive. ooh u're back in action very good hahaha yesterday very quiet without u here... haha

btw mommies, for tmr's Robinsson's Sale, what is the discount like? Anyone knows?

Moon,

i try to latch the first wk but cos i got short nipple so my nipple tear n sore badly n my milk v little my bb get frustrated so end i pump not so painful n my HB can feed mah n i know how much he drink per day...

Pink,

yes will expand somemore:p

piggy- sounds very painful.. poor thing... i think we won't know if we have short nipples rite... i didnt even know there was such a thing as inverted nipple before until I read a BF book..haiz...

At least u can pump that's very good liao...

Baby must also suckle well to be able to latch on successfully leh... not so easy... oh well we'll see

Piggy,

oh, I see... Thanks!

Pink,

it's up to 20% off for selected items and additional 20% off for kidswear on 22nd and 23rd.

st,

your gynae told you that.. maybe 2nd time mummies, all the ligament all loose already.. that's why we feel more aches and pains.. Sigh.. Ya my first one had absolutely no problems lor..

piggy,

I fed on demand.. So I got no fix timings when I should feed my girl.. but up to now, my girl will not eat unless she wants to.. She will know how to say no one..

Ya I was fed like that too.. We lucky not obese.. Now obesity is quite an issue.. Cos fat babies are not healthy adults.. I have 1 friend who is super worried about his son being obese that he is controlling his diet.. and his son is only 4+ mths!!

So they say the benefit of latch on is that babies are taught to self regulate their food intake depending on how full they are..

PInk,

yes it tough but heng pump helps too so no issue i still continue with BF cos it really help to shrink my tummy alot.. even thou i din lose much weight from BF but i tink somehow it helps [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hmm u can google pic of short nipple la but hard to tell also keke... inverted nipple easier to see keke...

tweety dearie!! morning morning!! how are u!! =)

Moon: thanks thanks! like that ah I dont think I'll go and wrestle with the crowd liao... only got small items left to buy... are u going? =)

Gerry

ya my gynae said that that of cos we have to look after #1 so more aches and we might not even get enough sleep too not like last time want to sleep can sleep..it's more of own time own target..now with #1 it's different

piggy- yah it's ok lar.. u said the lactation consultants will advise rite... I'm taking BF with an open mind... try not to stress out [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] coz i have heard of many many mothers who got really stressed and it didn't help with everything else... so I'll try to chillax and see how it goes wahahaha. too painful I will just let her drink formula milk [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pink,

Ya your boobs will get bigger when you start bf... Hehe!! Can be super uncomfortable.. Ya breastfeeding not easy.. Sometimes it is due to mummies anatomy, sometimes babies just don't know/don't like to latch on..

But like what piggy said, it really helps to shrink your tummy... during the first month, everytime i breastfeed, can feel a lot of cramping.. it helps to shink your uterus back to normal size.. and for me it helped with weight loss.. I could eat like 2 servings in 1 meal and still have net weight loss..

Gerry,

actually hor i sort of control my boi when he was a baby n i regretted so much cos now he dun wan to drink milk n he slim down quite alot.. seriously i feel tt the first yr it ok for them to be chubbby n gain more cos subsequently they will slow down n slim down too.. i feel that the obese prob is more of introducin fast food n unhealthy food to them at young age.. for me i believe in balance diet n exercising la..

PInk,

yes yes dun stress urself i din stress myself too tt y i am open for partial FM feed cos no milk mean no mah but wat ever i have i will gave la..

gerry: oh ur penang trip sounds good!! just 2 person world eh... :D Shiok rite?? =))) enjoyed all the food??

piggy- yah... i try to lar.. so u all must remind me ok?? hahaha.. alot of mothers also say it's easy for me to say but when it happens things won't be the same anymore ;P

PInk,

hee yes it true..i know some woman who BF not only for bb but mainly for themselves cos they heard can loose weight keke... jus hope with a better pump i will succeed in total BF[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

piggy- my hubby very naughty u know..he says if Parsley can't suckle can he help??? wahahahahah...fainted....

Yah i also want to lose weight... but if got nipple crack and all that then damn painful lar... if Parsley cooperates I'll try and see how it goes

pink

ya ya don't stress i was very very stress on BF and wanted to give up even before the full mth..cos it's really not an easy job,....and i'm so stress cos i didnt want to give up and give FM....so i had a hard time to overcome my tots

Pink,

my HB also say tt he tink v funnie-_- oh 1 trick for u apply nipple cream be4 u even start latchin keke.. oh this remind me mus go n order the lasinoh brand nipple cream haha..

piggy,

of course balance diet is impt.. But overfeeding your baby with milk and they ending up obese can trigger a lot of adult onset health problems like high blood pressure, diabetes..

Why did you control your boy's milk intake leh?? Was he very fat?

There are a lot of ongoing large scale studies (and i think they are very impt and credible) about baby's development.. When a baby/toddler is obese, a lot of genes get turn on/off that will make them more susceptible to such diseases.. That's why HPB is trying to promote the fat babies aren't cute campaign..

ST- yah... it's not easy but now u're experienced! usually first time mothers will really struggle... I've heard of some friends who really cried and cried coz it was too stressful and painful and also due to hormonal changes lar... i'm very scared!! And these are women who are very successful in their careers and have no men beat them down! But when it comes to BFing..really another side of them shows

piggy- oh I ordered the nipple oil from littledreamers to try... i will also go and buy the lasinoh brand nipple cream... is that the best?

Pink,

Nope... dun think I'll be going too.... I only have the small items left to settle and might be going to JB in the first week of Jan so, might get them there. :p

pink,

Ya really enjoyed ourselves.. Hehe!! Eat like crazy.. I think now I must cut back liao.. Ya now that #2 is coming back, really don't know when I can go for hols with hb... Very paiseh to ask my parents to look after 2 kids.. Sigh..

Gerry,

dunno leh cos i feel tt they r suppose to gain more in their first yr.. i control becos he is askin for milk too freq i scare he become obese but guess like i am worry too much becos like wat many experience mumies advice they will slim down 1 n usu bb only cry for milk when are hungry mah as long as we dun keep feedin even thou they din ask for milk shd be ok esp he is still within 75% percentile..

i feel tt after they reach toddler stage the food we intro is the 1 tt affect them..

ok back... suddenly so busy :S

piggy

so far i think this jamu wellness not so pushy... they are willing to explain to u, but when u tell them u need to consider or discuss with hubby, they are ok one... i signed up the 12 sessions + 2 scrub at $788

last sat the lady boss explained to me about their postnatal massage package, 7 time for $888... i told her i need to discuss with hubby and she was ok and didn't keep pestering me...

pink

u r right... when i had #1, that time 1st time mummy and milk supply super low, i cried and cried everyday until like having postnatal depression like that...

so all 1st time mummy, dun stress about bfing... if have then give, if dun have, nvm... it's a vicious cycle, if u keep stressing about it, your body will never be able to produce milk...

Jtho,

wah the postnatal v ex leh... but pre-natal hor i was tinkin only left with 3 mth dun even know i got time to finish the package anot.. nvm maybe go n try the trial first:x

Pink

ya lor..last time i was not mentally prepare that it will be so hard..tot it will be easy..

Gerry

envy...good the trip is enjoyable

and exactly i was thinking, how come i can handle my career/job so well, but just cannot handle such task like bfing... i felt so incompetent and so inferior to mummies who are able to bfeed their babies

Gerry- yah next time with 2 "extra" baggage it will be harder to travel for the first 2-3 yrs lar..after that will get better.. will still get the chance to go!

My friends keep asking me when will we be able to bring Parsley abroad? hahahah.... i think i cannot survive not traveling for 2-3 yrs... must somehow lug her along =P I also paiseh to ask parents or in laws to take care... they also won't offer wahahaha coz they don't know how to take care...

piggy

the prenatal one if u cannot finish, can convert to normal body massage after birth... but not postnatal massage la [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

piggy,

That's true.. But look at your hb and you.. baby highly unlikely to be obese lah.. ya impt is that so long as you don't continue feeding when baby didn't ask... I have seen some babies who never reject food.. that's when you know your baby will just drink/eat whatever is put in front of them.. and for this group of babies, must control intake..

jtho/st/piggy/gerry+ the rest: feel so blessed to have so many experienced mommies here to give advice and help first timers like us along =) so thankful and grateful to everyone!