(2011/04) Apr 2011

pink

ya, wanna join u all on 11th gathering but i will be busy wit my house religious ceremony frm 10th onwards till 15th dec. thus, i gonna give it a miss for 2nd time again! recently had been slightly busy wit work as i'm going on leave frm 13th dec (1 wk leave) onwards, thus trying 2 cover as much work as possible. so more, frm todae onwards, my director will be on leave for 3 wks. thus, got a lot of stuffs 2 clear wit him be4 he flies! hehe

gerry

yup, durian is really a sinful fruit! caused i heard be4 tat preg woman shld eat abt 300-400 calories more than normal ppl! tink for normal woman, daily calories intake shld be less than 2000 calories. so maybe preg woman shld reach 2000 calories ba! i tell u, claypot rice even more calories. 900 calories! tis is e 1 tat i remember e most! thus, i long long time didnt had claypot rice liao!

Pink you tempting me with MAC again... hubby has already banned me on that ..... sob sob

Wow you make curry puff? Is that your lunch only?

Sharlin for me if I have craving for Durian, I will take Durian ice cream I think that is good enough liao.....

Vivi- wah you cute lor... If I can make curry puff I won't toast until it got chao dar liao... wahaha.. Polar cafe made the curry puff I wanted to warm up only... and still FAILED [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Sharlin-ICIC, it's ok then... hope to see you soon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ST- he got class/not in SG means you can plan your own programme rite? :p

I still wake up to pee 4-5 times during the night.. so bo pian try to sleep longer hours..coz I'm the sort who don't fall asleep fast after waking up.. so my sleep is very very disrupted [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

hee hee Pink [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Oh I see, I think you turn on the toaster too high liao....

You very naughty leh tempt me with all the forbidden stuff...

talking about durian, I used to LOVE it, pre pregnancy...

then now, the smell turns me off! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

my hubby is secretly very happy, coz he doesn't take durian!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I used to be able to take them as a meal on its own... yum yum

Vivi- hahaha... oops. Yah but i'm a terrible mother lar.. i will just eat... maybe cut down to fewer times in a week that i will eat it lar... considered improvement mah like that :p

it's cruel to ask me to go on cold turkey completely! :p

Btw, hubbies are welcomed!

But I must warn u all first hor... almost all men who step into the house will be lured and hooked to my XBOX, or WII games... so Mummies be prepared.. in case the hubbies end up gaming and not able to help out with #1s... hahaha =P

Any mummies want to request for me to hide my games away?? hahahaha =P

Saw e gathering pic all e ladies look pretty n glam ......hope to join e nxt gathering before we give birth ......

Tweety,

U collected e clothes fm ur Sil ??? On sat I was bringing my gal to e playground saw ur Sil coming down fm my blk holding e steamboat pot I bet u having steamboat for dinner ....

Looking forward to my detail scan this fri hopefully bb will be fine n gender according to wat gynae had saw e other time ....( but a bit worried too abt e result every nite can't really sleep well)

Pink I know lor but my constipation problem so have to go cold turkey hee hee....

actually not terrible ma maybe Parsley is the one that loves to eat, just like mine.

SY good luck and I am sure everything will be fine for you.

serene: the clothes are still at my SIL place.. heeheee... yup.. went to her house on sat for steamboat.. and stayed over for the night.. then went for the fair on sunday.. then due to walking too much and being very tired.. we stayed over for the night again.. haahaaa.....

PInk,

hee dun need to keep the xbox n wii la tink my HB will be too paiseh to play also.. was thinkin at least got HB along ur HB wun be so paiseh to face so many woman lol~~ so wat time do u prefer?? any idea on the food???

hhaha my tummy maybe is consider mini if compare to some of the gals but on my body not mini wor... i find my tummy bloom alot everywk maybe by the time we gather u wun say it mini liao lol~

Sharlin,

hahah my skin no stretch be4 also got stretch mark leh..

Need your advice. Should I buy manual pump or electronic pump ha? Not too sure which one should I go for because yesterday went to check out the prices at Kiddy Palace on all those pumps.

vivi- most mummies will recommend u to buy electronic. Manual will pump until ur arms ache and it will take a longer time.

piggy- Gathering can be anytime.. how about 1230pm?

I haven't gone through the list of food that u posted yet... let me get back to u yah ;)

Vivi,

Would advise u to get electric pump coz for my #1 I use manual till my wrist swollen so this time round I getting electric pump .....

For eg: if u getting medela u should drop by mum r babes coz they display all e range n can let u try on ur arms ....

PInk,

ok i am ok with 12.30.. heng u din set on 18/11 cos jus realise got checkup tt day hahah really #2 symdrome not so gan chong on all the checkup liao keke..

no prob if u gals dun fancy the food got better idea feel free to suggest [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Vivi,

if u wan to save $$ go for avent manual pump but like wat pink say hand will ache imagine 1 side 5-10min n if u low supply best to keep pumpin for another 5-10min to stimulate ur breast.. n if u wan a cheaper option for electric pump go for ameda bah..

I think I will got for the electronic because cant afford or rather waste of $ to buy manual and then electronic. So go for the Ameda pump?

How much does this cost? So after pumping then transfer to milk bottle? Then how do we know when to stop the pump?

Sorry if my questions sound silly.

Vivi,

no la u r 1st time mummy how to know all thies.. actually if u can afford i rather u buy medela cos Ameda if u got slow letdown it v slow.. it abt $300+ or u can wait n see if ur supply n letdown ok if ok den u buy? but if ur supply no gd den u order medela pump may take quite sumtime...

for me i dun latch so usu i will pump pour the amt of milk for each feed into milk bott n feed directly when bb wan but be4 tt i will keep in fridge n warm up when necessary[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

usu when we pump for e.g my supply v bad i pump 5min 1 side my breast dry up liao i will continue to pump cos it will stimulate the brain to produce more milk for the nex feed so u can stop once ur breast dry up n continue for another few min if ur supply gd..

Hmm I was looking at the single pump wor... is the Ameda one single or double?

So that means pump already and then pour the milk into the milk bottle and feed baby? But that must pump before baby's feed time? Because I thought half way pump then baby cry for milk then how?

Dont think I want to wait till baby is born then buy because I think my hubby wont know how to buy if I am in my confinement.

Good afternoon... haven take lunch I sleepy liao.... Cham....

Piggy, come come~ stand beside me you will be forever mini... Lols... I'm waiting you girls fix the timing, coz my HB work on Sat (1/2day), if the timing ok, I'll bring him along to entertain #1 so I can concentrate on our chit chat/MJ session mah... I will not want to turn myself into a tigeress infront u all esp those 1st time mummy, lols... Ya lor, I also think of throwing my son into the pools, to tired him out, hiak hiak...

ST, can lar, bring ur #1 along mah, then our kid can play together... Not to worry about u r alone! Piggy will bring her charming Kyler n I have to bring my lil with me if I attend! We can help out each other!

Pink, nvm... me also quite frequent on MAC, at least once a week... I also love to eat those unhealthy food for this bb... Rather dun eat if cannot eat those unhealthy food... Hahahaha.....

Vivi,

better to get double pump cos when u pump 1 side the other side will have some letdown 1(leak) n it faster...

if u wan can latch on demand den pump after latch.. to stimulate ur breast further.. usu new born they will be on 3hrly feed n i usu pump once every 3hr so in between lo.. so wat i pump now will be for nex feed .. cos my supply v bad so i gave partial FM also.. BF for the 1st 2 wk is v v tough.. n u mus massage ur breast n use hot towel to cover be4 u pump.. so alot of thing u can only learn along the way depend on ur preference n bb habit lo..

HIpopolai,

can la ask ur HB to join after he KO lo.. ur boi also v charmin mah imagine the both of them drool over the gals lol~~~~

pls lo u dun even have tummy-_-

Hippo- come come... u are welcomed to my place anytime..12 midnight also ok... hahaha

What time does your hubby end work? Party should start 1230pm onwards..

It's ok lar... turn into tigress we also not scared one.. it's normal mah children are naughty! Must discipline. I respect mothers who will discipline their children.. some mothers believe in not disciplining their children in public.. I think it's impossible leh all children have short term memory loss they cannot remember what happened when they reach home.

Bring your son to come swim! Then at night confirm he will fall asleep very fast... haha [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Vivi- most mothers will recommend dual pump, so it's more efficient and u don't have to take double the time to pump...

I can only say that's what "most mothers" say because hor, I have no idea like you... =P

I'm intending to latch on first for the first few days and see how my supply is first. Er, actually, how do we know how much milk is coming out? Sometimes the baby can be sucking but there's nothing right?

Yah I think it's hard to get the hubby to shop for us unless we give them the specifics.. if not they will be clueless..

Hippo- your body and stomach also quite mini except for one certain part.. *ahem* hahahah

let's just say u're very CURVY hahaha [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

有你在,没有人敢认 No.1 liao! hahaha! woohooo

Pink,

hahah tt y i prefer to pump.. cos i know how much my boi drinkin n i got short nipple v v painful to latch...n pump i know how much i can pump at least i know my supply increase liao[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

so it really individual preference.. but usu newborn they body got enough store nutrient so 1st 2-3day even u got no milk it ok jus let them latch:x

piggy- i dont know leh.. how to tell if nipple is short? until Sandy mentioned i didnt know there's something known as the inverted nipple... oops. very ill informed hor.

Yah first few days they are ok without food... but later on how would the mother know? so still must try and pump in between feeds to see if any milk comes out?

Wow double pump would be more ex liao hor? Hubby is going to faint liao moreover I dont know how long am I going to breast feed until?

Pink,

hmm usu the LC from hosp will tell u otherwise can google n see:p best is apply nipple cream be4 it crack.. usu if u see bb lip got milk tt mean got milk durin ur stay the LC will guide u 1 dun worry[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hahah ya ya Hippo got v outstandin ahem lol~

So that means when we stay in the hospital then there will be someone to guide us hor? but have to tell them that i am breastfeeding?

Vivi,

not sure abt NUH but for KKH,TMC n mtA the lactation Consultatant will visit us durin our stay to assists us 1..

hmm electric 1 the single pump not strong wor.. like ameda the $300+ is double 1.. since u buy the pump can jus push urself to BF.. u can also use it for #2 mah.. other wise can sell it when u dun need it anymore.. or u can consider gettin a 2nd hand 1?? usu WTS thread will have mummies sellin u jus get a new breast shield?

Vivi..

Ya as soon as you give birth, they'll ask.. then they will tag the baby as full breastfeeder or formula fed...

I don't know whether you gals have heard of Dr Sears..But his approach to breastfeeding is very good.. I found his book very useful and helped me through the 1st month.. Helps you to troubleshoot..

Usually, when you have a let down... You will feel a tingling/electric shock(at the begining).. And you can see baby sucking (cheeks are hollow) and swallowing... At least, that was how i gauge.. I was on full latch on for the first 3 months... Even with slight jaundice, I continue breastfeeding too..

vivi..

NUH will have someone too.. My friend gave birth there and the LC will come and teach you.. But I heard they can be quite rough.. Treat the boob like a piece of meat.. Hehe!!

Hee hee Piggy me giving birth in TMC la so at least I know got someone to advise me...

Oh wow for $300 for double is considered cheap compared to $600 plus or $700 plus for some dual pump. But the look of the dual pump seems scary to me ha ha

vivi

hehe, ya agreed! last wk my sis went 2 ice cream gallery n bought 4 me a tub of durian ice cream! like tat e best! tink tat's e only ice cream shop which i find e durian is fantastic!

piggy

caused u petite size mah. me is huge size! i find those petite size might have stretch marks caused their tummy needs 2 stretch till very big mah. hehe.

abt breast pump

haha. tink i those lazy mummy who dnt breastfeed my gal caused i got no milk!!! although my boobs consider big, i got no milk supply! so envy those mummy who can produce milk. dnt know whether tis time rd will have milk or not.

Vivi..

If you insist.. cos the first few days in the hospital, you will not have enough milk... It usually takes about a week.. But baby will have enough storage to last.. That is why very often babies are lighter than their birth weight when discharge.. Sometimes, the LC will squeeze your nipples until you see white liquid and then will tell you "See you have milk, don't give up" As soon as you supplement with FM, your supply will naturally drop unless you pump diligently..

Sharlin that time when I went for Swensen's sundae their durian ice cream is nice too.... yummy makes me crave for it now. Especially when the weather is hot.

For me if can breastfeed can save money for FM...

vivi

tink almost all hospital will have lactation nurse going ard 2 teach u 2 breastfeed. my #1, i delivered in Parkway East, they also has a nurse walking ard 2 teach u. U can tell e nurse in e nursery rm whether u wan fully breastfeed or half breastfeed or half formula. tat time i told them i wan half. then if i dnt wan breastfeed, they will bring e baby back 2 feed formula milk

pink

don't see so..next week will be super shag week for me..hubby out of town so i will be looking after my boy at night with my mum..by then my mum super shag at night too..

Gerry poor baby if not much milk hor.... she will be so hungry. Let's hope she will be a patient girl when it comes to milk.

My friend's SIL could not breast feed because she has little and the baby cannot wait, she will wail if she is hungry. So in the end they succumbed to FM... even when she use breast pump also not in time and not enough.

hmmm, me also hoping tat my durian ice cream is still ard at my mummy hse. tonite go over wanna eat it! hehe

I last time also tell myself wanna save $ on formula n breastfeed my milk.but no choice, me like my mum lor. got no breast milk lor. haiya.

Vivi,

dun worry u can request for some sample milk so it will last u awhile be4 ur supply kick in for me the moment i discharge i get my HB to get 1 tin of FM cos even LC say my milk v little dun even got colostrum durin my stay[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] so u see how it goes... actually even if no milk can still partial BF mah.. cos by 2mth out of 8feed got 5 feed i can gave BM so the key is dun gave up... n i tink ur friend SIL did it the wrong way she could still pump even thou she gave FM...

Sharlin,

no la i got lotsa stretch mark on my thighs be4 i even preg dunno how come have also..

oh my milk also v v pathetic n my boobs is cup D after deliver but i jus keep pumpin lo after a mth at least i manage to pump ard 500ml per day i v happy liao ... hope can TBF this time round ...

Gerry,

the LC squeeze n squeeze got nothin come out[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] n it damn painful hope my boobs is more season now haha..

ha ha I dont even know whether my mum got breast milk or not because I was a FM baby.... never mind when it comes to $ I will make sure I save and BF.... ha ha opps [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My temp assignment end this month and my supervisor says she will keep a lookout if there are other positions that require me. I was touched la and she say I can go direct so my pay will be more. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hopefully I can work until at least end of January or February

vivi,

Infant's stomach is very small, they don't take much each time.. But they drink OFTEN!!!! Initially, I fed baby almost every 2+hours, then slowly the spacing got longer..

FM stay longer in tummy cos baby don't digest it as efficiently as BM.. For obvious reason..

Some mummies who really want to kickstart bf actually will ask their Dr to prescribe motilium to them as it helps to stimulate BM production...

The kellymom website has a lot of info for both full latch-on as well as EBM... And has helped several of my friends.. All the questions you are asking, I think they will be able to answer you better.. =)

Pink..

Ya I noticed some LC can be very rough one.. Like don't really care about your breast.. Quite scary and yes can be quite painful.. As soon as I delivered bb, the midwife put the baby to my breast and she helped to squeeze out some colostrum for my girl to push her to suckle..