(2011/04) Apr 2011

pInk,

wow i heard the dim sum there also not bad wor... not forgettin all the durian stuff enjoy[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pink..

wah.. enjoy your hi tea!! =) This is tai tai life.. I am just trying to stay awake at work!!

piggy..

The dim sum at min jiang is good.. The durian stuff no need to say... yumzz..=)

finally TGIF & can sneak in a while

sianzz work is so busy

pink,

u goin for dim sum huh aiyo so envy

thread is moving fast, cant catch up. did i miss out any interesting topic/news ?

Gosh! I cant believe that I was unclearly explained by the nurses the other day. Just a week ago they took my blood. Now they asked me to do a retest if I want to do the triple test. Such a waste of my blood and time!

I got no heart already want to check if baby have any risk. I'll just pray my baby will be fine );

Gerry,

ya tt wat many told me but nv tried be4... ya lo envy PInk tai tai life ...

bbgoh,

hahah today topic i tink is name bah:p

Pink nice name sounds demure for your baby gal. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]Wow enjoy your high tea sounds nice and yummy

Hee hee so I am decided with my baby's name shall named her as Vianne.

Kurnia actually what happened?

aiyo so fast thking of bb name i still haven noe the gender yet ler [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

must wait till 29th Nov do details scan

Vivi > My last checkup they ask if want to do Oscar or not. I said No but I said blood test for Down Syndrome only. They took my blood.

I call earlier to check the results to my shock, they took my blood and do only normal blood test ie, for HIV, Hepatitis and such...

Now they want me to come down again and draw another set of blood for the triple test.

Piggy > I dunno how, but it happens. Haiz...

They can even highlight to me that I sign a form indicating that I dont want any Down Syndrome test. Which I explained becos they told me if I dont want to do OSCAR please sign the form.

Now I gotta discuss with hubby if we should do the retest.

Can somebody tell me wats the difference between OSCAR and Triple Test for Down Syndrome?

kURNIA,

sigh... really ridiculous..

oscar is basically a combine result of the blood test + NT scan.

n the blood test is jus the blood test anyway NT scan can only be done ard 12wk now u can only do the triple test...

Pink,

My #1 name kacey .... A bit different seldom being use .....

I also thinking for my #2 name start w K try looking ard but seem like many name like kayden, Keegen n etc .....

Piggy,

During my confinement I finish abt 15 to 20 bottles of e rice wine coz my mum make for me n my CL cook it w everything .... At least not much sesame oil being used or else I be v v heaty .....

Today I sleep almost e whole morning fm 9 plus to 1 pm but I still feeling v v tired dunno is it e ventolin n diaphne that gynae prescribe for me make me so drowsy .......

SY,

wow 15 to 20 bott ah.. but how big is ur bott?? mine is those vinegar glass bott size.. my CL scare i bored with the food so she will try to cook diff way sumtime even fry me chix no sesame oil or rice wine:p

oh urs also K huh.. my #1 is Kyler at least none of my friend is usin ... n yes Kayden like v common so i reconsidering..

Piggy > Thanks much clearer now. I didnt do OSCAR becos I didnt know of my pregnancy. So by the time I consult my gynea, its already late. So just planned to do the Triple Test. Now Triple Test also got blunder.

I wonder if Detail Scan can detect Down Syndrome? hhmmm... Anybody knows?

Piggy,

Is e vinegar glass bottles .....hehe in fact my CL fry veg, meat, chicken n those liver also use she cook more gravy w e rice wine I drink every sip .....me greedy right .....

Oh yeah n my monster in law also like she will 假假 say wan come over during e lunchtime than my Hubby will ask CL to cook more food for them ...

Kumia,

Detail scan is done ard 20wk it can detect DS .....

I done e triple test nw e graph bar show I cross e broadline of DS so wan me go for detail scan to reconfirm .....

Kurnia> i read this, it could help u to explain y u need to g triple test:

Second trimester screening

This is based on blood tests which are carried out between 15 and 20 weeks of pregnancy. The tests measure various "markers" in your blood:

• free or total hCG (human chorionic gonadotrophin)

• unconjugated E3 (oestriol)

• AFP (alpha fetoprotein)

• inhibin A

If you are carrying a baby with Down's syndrome, you will have higher than average levels of hCG and inhibin A, and lower levels of AFP and uE3 in your blood.

There are several variations of this test available:

• The double test: measures two markers - hCG and uE3

• The triple test: measures three markers - hCG, uE3 and AFP – this is the one usually available in Singapore.

The link: http://www.babycenter.com.sg/pregnancy/antenatalhealth/testsandcare/screeningfordowns/

Kurnia,

hmm usu FA scan is to scan n ensure our bb is well develope the organ, fingers etc is all fine.. i doubt it can detect DS wor anyway double check with ur gynae??

SY,

wow too much rice wine v sick leh i like it with my rice thou [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Kurnia,

For my first pregnancy, I did not do an OSCAR.. I chose not to do it.. But during my detailed scan, my dr pointed out the nuchal transluncy as well as her nose bridge which indicate whether your child has DS or not.. But like the OSCAR and triple test, it is not conclusive... These tests just tell you whether you belong to the high risk groups.. CVS and Amnio are the only test that can confirm DS.

SY > thanks. If able to then I'll just wait for Detail Scan.

Jie Siling > I've read the link. Thanks. Now I understand better on the difference.

Piggy > Yup. Will definitely check with my gynae.

Gerry > I noe Amnio. But wat is CVS?

Hugs Kurnia can you at least let your gyane know about such boos boos. If I am not wrong for blood tests for HIV and etc, they will take 3 vials of blood tests and for the down sydrome test it will be 1 vial.

The thing is need to check if you can still have the blood test done or not to test for down syndrome since it is over week 12 liao.

Hmm talking about the normal blood tests for HIV and etc when it is supposed to be done? I am in week 19 liao and my gynae have not took my test. Anyone can advise?

Tweety, Piggy & Gerry,

thanks for the concerns & advises. Gynae said infection and nutin serious. bb is fine. moving and growing... =) she further confirmed mine is a BOY!

Jie Siling > khekhekhe... read liow. Read abt Detail Scan too. Can detect DS but very low percentage.

Vivi > Hugs. No point letting the gynae know also. Whats done cannot be undone.

Vivi, i took my hiv etc blood test when I'm 16+wks. Together with urine sample test too. 3 tubes of blood!

piggy, my boy at gug doing zoophonics too.

Hi mummies, It's been a while since i posted. Coz I can't log in at work and really can't keep up on the fast pace. haha..

Anyway, I went for 20w detailed scan yesterday at Gleneagles. Waited for about 30mins for the scan. The whole scanning process took about 40-45mins. Bb was not very coorperative, legs very tightly closed for a long time. So the Sonographer had to bring me a glass of water, waited for 5 mins and scan again. Then she saw 3 lines! But we were told by Gynae it was a boy at 12 weeks! So she brought in another more experienced lady to double check. She also confirmed it's a girl!

Haha....we were definitely confused and Gynae was surprised that she was wrong too. So did another scan in her clinic to confirm. Apparently she said she might have mistaken the umbilical cord for a birdie! LOL!

Luckily we haven't started buying any gender specific clothes yet. We're both very happy to have a girl too! It's the first girl in my family and she's gonna be a precious princess!

PIGGYTOH, pls update my baby's gender in the table. She'll be my first. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Kurnia,

If I am not mistaken the main disadvantage of cvs to amnio is that there might be a mixture of maternal and foetus cellular material which might affect the karyotype results. Cvs takes sample from the placenta. Amnio takes samples of the amniotic fluid which contains skin cells that has been shed off the baby.. Then the chromosomes from the bb skin cells will be karyotyped. This is what I can remember from my genetic lecture in uni..

Unome,

Congrats on ur bb girl.. Wow.. That's what they say even boy can change to girl during the detailed scan. I guess cos the machine used for detailed scan should be better!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi all~ xD

I went for my check up yesterday and my ob/gyn tell me most likely my #2 will be a boy! xD Although was hoping for another girl, we're still excited for this boy.. xD Will confirm on my detail scan on the 20th.. hehe.. Either way, girl or boy, DH and I both very excited.. hehe..

I saw the topic was names.. Just to add.. My girl's name is Kaitlyn.. Also K de.. hehe.. If second is a boy, we would name him Kristen ba.. That's the name I was hoping to give my #1 (was hoping for a boy that time! haha)

Btw, I tried some pies in BP today.. I love the shepherd's pies!! haha.. Ordering 8 of them for second order.. =X

My appetite is still unstable.. My tummy big liao.. Baby is about 215gram but I only gained 0.2kg since my last check up... Hope I can eat better ba.. xD

morning ladies...

Pearly,

congrats!!!

weight gain little is gd mah as long as bb got grow no issue 1.. i got friend only gain 2-3kg but bb 2.8/3kg at birth [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

morning ladies... feeling better today... was napping in the office yesterday due to the headache..

piggy: paiseh for not being able to turn up.. let's arrange again!!!!

IRene: congrats on your bb boy!! =)

unome: congrats to your bb girl.. =)

pearly: dun worry abt the weight.... =)

sandy

actually kai en still not too bad. But 2 my hubby, with "en" for boys, he felt a bit funny lor. normally hubby will come up wit chinese name then i come up wit chiristian name. But chinese name still need 2 match wit e ba zi lor. haiya, tink name is always so difficult 2 continue down if different gender. Anyway 4 me, gonna wait till next mth confirm gender again then headache for tat. hehe

elmo

ya, i also dnt know y i seems 2 like "J". caused my 2 dogs named also started wit "J" too. haha. then when i named my gal (Janelle), my sis was laughing at me how come my gal start wit "J" too. hehe

lynn

i tink 1.6kg is ok. when i had #1, there's a mth a put on 4kg n my gynae got a shock. I try controlling by cutting down on e preg milk n subsequently every mth i increase 2kgs till birth lor. I tink tis time rd, I didnt no increase as much as my #1. but I just scared tat it might increase suddenly as recently my appetite seems 2 increase! scared put on too much.

Hello morning everyone finally is Saturday !!!!

Wow Unome at least the detailed scan is the most accurate liao.... lucky havent buy so many blue clothing.

Pearly wow little weight gain for you but as long as baby is growing no problem. Too much weight on you will be difficult to shed later on.

Talking about buying went to check out Robinsons yesterday and saw the Avent starter kit. Wanted to buy first but hubby say still got time. Hope this is regular stock.... so next time can buy....

Good morning ladies!

Irene, Congrats for ur bb boi!

Unome, Congrats for ur bb girl!

Pink/Vivi, I love ur bb girl name! Charissa sounds cheerful while Vianne sounds so 温柔.....

So many J bb here, guess the Jolin n Jay 效应? Wahahaha.... I looking for name after T as my boy is Terry! But my mind not working plus Hubby always reject my suggestion n I keep reject his as well, Lols.... Anyway we dunno the gender yet...

Pearly, u very bad! Again tempted me! I saw that but dare not order, scare not nice....

Piggy, how come ur rice looks like red wine de? Just curious... Kekekekeke...

Hippo thank you. I was telling my hubby last night that baby english name is Vianne, added i more e to it. He say ok but dsounds like ant..... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

when are you going for your next check up or detailed scan?

Morning mummies!!!

Did not cum in tis few days as my ger admitted kkh on thurs nw still there, nw at gynae place waiting for my turn hope can see gender. Lots of mummies start to find names for bb liao, tink ger's name easiler.

Chloemummy,

oh dear wat happen to ur gal??? hope she is better now....

ya i agree..when i had #1 only got idea for gal name n i quite like Clovis... but tink wun get to use it liao...

Hi all mtb,

I visited my gynae few days ago(wk 16), expected to know my bb's gender but he did the scan super duper fast & said he couldn't see 'anything' (Bb was lying side way)& asked me to see him in 4 weeks time :/. Keke...so I think I will know the gender only on week 20...hiaz.

Btw, I would like to seek your advice on some matters.

1)who will be your confinement lady (mil, mum & CL)? How do you feel about the idea of doing the confinement yourself? For 2nd time mtb,have your tried doing the confinement by yourself? Was it manageable?

I thought of doing confinement by myself this time(when my 1st boy delivered, my mil did the confinement for me). I can cater confinement food & as for the bathing part, I can wait until my Hubby comes home from work & let him bath for Bb). But I have fear that we would not be able to manage.

2) do you intend to extend your leave after 4 months maternity leave?