(2011/04) Apr 2011

Piggytoh,

When I had my gal, I bought only medela bottles and milk bags of course. So expressed in medela, keep others freezer bags then transfer the frozen ones in medela again if need to feed. So just buy all Medela bottles so can use to express and feed rather than have different kinds of bottles around. Am I thinking right or there's a better way of doing this?

haha cowgirl i guessed yesterday it was you anyway [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] the mother+daughter dresses are really quite cute.. i think they should carry different sizes hah but yes their dresses are exp~~ i don't wanna spend that kind of money also. One maternity dress cost nearly $100, more exp than our ordinary clothes...! (=_="") then the sales staff are kinda pushy also...

morning babes... i'm having bengawan solo cake for breakfast today. wanted to have a slice last night and sent Hubby to hunt for it and he came back with the whole cake... omg now we have to eat the same cake every day liao. (=_="")

We have more or less decided on the English name for our girl, it will be Charissa. Piggy can help me update when you're free. Thanks! hehe

I am intending to buy the pigeon sterilizer as well...seems like alot of mothers are using it and it's pretty good. Can fit any size...

vivi... yay congrats! let's go shopping for girls' stuff tog yah!!

Cowgal,

sure no worries[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Dreamy,

hmm if ur gal is ok with medela bott n cost is no prob to u of cos it ok but i find medela milkbag is ex so is the bott.. so for me usu i pump instead of latch so i will trf the milk to another bott/bag keep it in the fridge n warm it up be4 the feed cos the milk bag can jus put in the bott cut the top n can feed directly le...

cowgal,

Whoa 18 medela bottles!! You are a winner. These bottles are so expensive. Do you remember how much is 1 in Sg? I'll compare prices and see if cheaper to buy in Australia.

anyone else thinking of names yet? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

thanks piggy! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] We short listed a few and that was our top choice.

Now we have to think of chinese names... *headache*

PInk,

hee now i havin 2nd thots on the name cos Kayden sound abit common .. chinese name we leave it to the fortune teller keke so no headache but i like gals with xuan , en, ning v sweet i find[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

piggy, the rice wine sounds gd. Can i buy from u too? But now izzit too early? haha.. now #2 no need to see poster le. Everyday see #1 can liao.

btw, anyonw knows how much does the Pigeon breastpads 60 + 12 pieces cost? Saw someone selling.. dunno cheap anot.

Morning mummies...

We (me & hub) already have names eversince our courting days. Finally after 8years we are able to use it. Very KS rite... LOL!

ELmo,

if u wan i can gave u a small bott to try too if u like den buy la... i scare nice to us not nice to u[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] aiyo every day see #1 wait photocopy from my HB dave again lol~

piggy, i like gals with xuan too! But i no gal. haha.

We kindof had a name already.. subjected to changes.. so no need to update in table. #1 is Jerrell.. #2 will be Joel. Chi name thinking abt 宇安.. unless i can think of better ones.

Elmo,

i tink try abit add to chix shd be ok bah??? anyway jus to taste taste nia.. but i dunno how to cook with rice wine also tt time my CL cook 1 keke..

pink..

I can imagine having a mother/daughter set would look cute.. I recently went to Zara and saw a few dresses that can be used during pregnancy.. Cost about $50-$80.. I think for dresses, don't have to buy maternity... I only bought maternity jeans, pants and capri..

Still thinking of names..Want to confirm sex first.. =)

piggy, elmo...

My little girl has a xuan in her chinese name.. and if this girl, might still use it..I like xuan too..

Piggy,

so, the rice wine is for cooking confinement dishes only? How many bottles do you think we'll need to consume throughout the confinement period? hmm... I'm tempted leh but then I think I'm allergic to alcohol wor but if after cooking, by right, the alcohol content would have evaporated, right?

piggy, Kayden is a nice name and as with nice names alot of pple use them! haha.. Kayden, Jayden, Ethan seems especially popular.

Xuan is nice but it doesn't have a meaningful meaning... haha arghh I'm so fussy i think. Must sound pleasing to the ears and have a good meaning... Wah Elmo you decided on the name so fast!

Kurnia so what names are you short listing?? :D

Gerry what is Lisa's Chinese name?

I LOVE Zara! Went shopping at Zara NYC/Boston/HK/Amsterdam when we were traveling and my hubby always gave me a puzzled look and asked " don't they carry the same stuff as Singapore Zara?" hahaha!! It's hard for me to buy dresses!! arghhh coz I'm short and all the dresses are too long.... knee length for normal height girls is full length for me liao....

piggy, ok onz. Actually by rite cook le shd be no alcohol.. so ok hor? :p Pass to my mama to cook. I dun mind buy directly also lah. Get from u when we meet up? Where u work huh?

Pink > Hehe... I like it simple. We've only choose 1 for each. If its a boy it will be Azraf. If its a gal, it will be Azra ;)

If I happen to have another gal, really gotta tink of another girl's name. Aiyo!

pink..

Lisa's chinese name is ying xuan... Ying means genial and warm.. the xuan we picked means lustrous..

Haha!! If you love the dresses.. maybe can get them to alter.. I bought a plain black maxi dress from zara when I was 36 week pregnant so that I could wear to a wedding and it only cost $60!! I love their clothes too!! But my jobs doesn't require me to dress up so I am usually in jeans!! Haha!!

Kurnia,

Azraf and Azra sounds exotic!! =) Never heard of these names before.. they sound like they either originate from eastern block or from Middle east?? Issit?

Moon,

yes usu CL use it to cook mee sua, meat anything.. hmm how much depend on individual my CL say i eat v little many woman can easily finsih off 8-10bott in 1 mth i tink i only finish 4-5bott keke.. ya by right after cookin will evaporate...

Gerry,

ur gal name v nice also[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Elmo,

ya jus try la .. maybe ur mum got lobang also actually tt time cos my sil n me only 2 mth apart so she made alot n my CL ask her sell her so she jus continue to make n keep so if u keen i can let her know but i not v sure how much tink ard $12 bah need to confirm with her...

Piggy,

Thanks for the explanation. Is the rice wine the transparent type or red one though? Hmm...and if I'm interested, how much in advance should I place order with you? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I also bought the package for the pigeon sterilizer... think the deal not bad so I bought...

Is pigeon auto breast pump good?

piggy..

Thanks!! =) Both hb and I are potato eaters so we just look through the chinese dictionary to pick my girl's name.. Hehe!! =)

Haha... piggy u can consider setting up a home biz selling rice wine already =P I may also need to ask you in future because I'm not sure whether my inlaws/grandparents will prepare it for me... no news from them so far...

Gerry... so qiao! I have both 颖 and 萱 under my list of shortlisted words to consider... haha i'm still considering the different permutations [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dreamysprings : I got no choice. At 1st 3 mths....6-8 bottles is enough cos my gal dun latch. So I always keep 6 bottles of EBM in fridge. Then another extra 2 bottle can pump and rotate with the 6 bottles. Then if got extra then I put in milkbag and frozen it.

When 3.5mths onwards…my gal was looked after by my mum..only bring her back on wkend…so my mum fridge mus have 6-7 bottles EBM standby since I not there for one day supply…then I will pump another 6 bottles. So every evening mus go there and deliver breastmilk… then another 5 bottles as a spare. So tat is why 18 bottles.

Tat time really tired, to n fro, with a pump, fridge to go and 6 bottles everyday.

As for medela bottles, I bought from spree from usa….think ard 6+ per bottle.

Cant buy local medela..too exp. Then at Taka fair, they got promotion last year…a used bottle to exchange a new medela bottle at $6.90 if I din remember wrong.

Just a note for 1x mummies, dun store too many frozen breastmilk(FBM)….cos the taste will change. So u mus test whether the baby is fussy one…my gal is. But still mus store if u got enough supply incase of emergency like my below case.

Tat time during her 5th mth I kenna chicken pox….i was not aware initially then I took care of her from fri nite to sun morning. Sat afternoon I did accidently cough on her face…then my fever din subsided so sun morning I ask my mum to bring bk fast incase I kenna H1N1.

The next day mon afternoon , went to A & E, tot is H1N1 but found out is chicken pox. But she din kenna. Believe is magic of breastmilk! breastmilk is really gd! So during tat period, I was given strong medication so cant express to give her. So my mum at her side use my FBM as emergency…but she din drink much as EBM.

Then even thou I cant express and give her I still continue and express to maintain the supply.

But in the end, I still gave up breastfeeding at 6 mth cos to pump at work is too stress!

One more thing, best if can latch…100% direct nutrition, if EBM some nutrition will be lost…then if FBM…lesser. But too bad my gal dun latch.

Paiseh for such a long story.

Gerry > khekhekhe... Actually both names derive from both hub and my name.

Pink > Thank you. Me too... Glad that I'm able to FINALLY use it.

Cowgal > Dont paiseh... Very informative your info. Good for us first time mummies ;)

Moon,

it red in colour i tink ..cos some call it red wine.. u know the hong chao chix?? itnk use tt to cook also.. eh.. i need to check with my mIL first dunno she got so many to sell anot cos she need time to make more..if u really keen den let me know i help u check...

PInk,

whahaah my MIL jus sell for fun nia n happen tt time JJ askin so i tel her if no lobang can consider my MIL 1 lol~~

JSL,

dun buy pigeon pump it useless... i tink for breast pump mus invest 1... cant save on it 1..

cowgal> very informative! U got alot of milk? i mean how u did that? u r good.. I hope i can be like u.... did u take any tablets to increase the milk? I also target to BF at least 6mths...

Cowgal,

ya i agree latch best even freeze nutrient will be lost v hard to gave 100% fresh milk every feed la... for me i hate latchin so bobian... 18bott really alot.. even thou cheaper than sg but still not a cheap option??? so when u freeze u trf to milk bag?? i hope i can BF at least 6mth my target is 6-8mth keke..

piggy> but i bu se de... the one u guys talk one super ex and i scardy cat.. scare no milk. I hope i dun stress myself...

BTW, heehee u reali got rice wine to sell? heehee Can i buy also? BTW hor my mum say 1 to 2 bottles good enuff and u gals take 6-8bottles? so much ah.. faints.. wat u all cook with it?

JSL,

ya i know wat u mean but do u know if we have low supply a gd pump can help to maximise the supply n like me jus keep pumpin every 3hr even low supply after 1-2mth my milk really increase.. n FM is so much ex.. u know 1 tin easily $40 n they drink 3-4tin permth!!! so if u work out the pump is not tt ex afterall.. u can buy PIS cheaper $300+ if buy from US[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

erm 1-2bott??? v little leh my friend buy 12bott at 1 go 1 leh... cos cook soup can use 1/3 bott liao wor.. anyway i alway cant finish n my CL always comment i ate sooo little keke... if u wan i can gave u abit to try la.. cos scare u buy liao dun like..

chiam will the mod ban me thot i doin business here?? lol~

JSL,

at first my supply is also pathetic. maybe total 20-30ml every pump but keep on persist pumping every 3 hrs for 20-30mins per pump. except at nite i will sleep thru 6-7 hrs. till the later stage i managed to get a total 150-180 ml per pump. but still manageable to supply only. heard tat some mummies per pump can get ard 300ml.

for me i drink more hot soup and more water.

ppl say fish payaya soup is gd but dun work for me. my mum cook the black beans trotters soup...work wonder for me. soi always get her to cook when i found my supply is low. the next day will increase.

JSL,

btw when i had #1 i wan to save $$ also worried i no milk end up use my aunt hand down medela single electric end up v upset everytime i pump spent 30min n i hand squeeze even faster tt y this time i die die will invest even my HB told me buy a gd 1 n he tink my supply may not be tt little could be tt lousy pump... my friend use pigeon i tink even worse..

cowgal,

ur supply v gd le i know manage to pump 20ml after a wk leh.. i also drink papaya soup but dun like so my CL cook me black bean/peanut soup she say v gd in increasin supply also[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mummies.. Anyone have a list of wat ate the items we need to buy for babies? I'm so lost... Ytd went check up @ KK.. They having promotion for the pigeon breast pump @ $90+ after discount.. Usual price $120+.. Nt sure if worth it to buy.. It comes with quite alot of freebies.. Anyone can recommend which breast pump I shld buy? Hubby say Now buy is too early.. Wat u all think?

Piggy> understand lo.. Ok let mi go consider in the meantime go find out more of the pumps bah.

I seldom take rice wine.. my mum cook anything i juz eat.. LOL or i buy a bottle then ask my mum cook if ok i get more? I can drive down to take frm ur home... my HB works in TUAS... so np at all..

cowgal> black beans trotters soup heehee im now learning to cook this soup also...

Mrs Chua,

i post the list here be4.. i can post again tonight[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hmm dun buy pigeon breast pump it useless.... the more popular 1 r medela freestyle/PIS most of us orderin from US... now US rate v low can consider buyin now..

JSL,

hmm i can gave u a small bott to try la no worries... i also nv take rice wine till my last confinement cos i dun like confinement food 1...

oh u can try drink raspberry leaf teain last trim heard it help also this time round mus drink faithfully[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

piggy cannot la.. if so many ppl try gone le...

Anway I duno y but i trust u wor! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Raspberry tea onli at last trimester.. noted.. then need to continue after birth? drink faithfully means drink daily? till give birth?

Piggy,

Oh, I see... but just to ask you hor... besides the rice wine, did you take any other liquor eg. DOM? Coz' I was thinking cannot be take both types, right? or is take either one?

JSL,

hahah thanks for trusting me but i tink u try first la in case u dun like rice wine wun waste $$ cos if u wan 1 bott i need to collect from my MIL also.. u try liao den if wan nearer to date to buy also can[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

oh after birth drink the soup ... yes last trim i tink 2-3time a day i tink buy from moms in mind can le...

Piggy,

no choice for me.

my gal born low wt only 2.4kg even thou is 37.5 wk baby.

scared she cant absorb the enough nuritions that's y i persist of breastfeeding and i try to use same bottle to express, store and feed. only when got some extra then i will use milkbag to freeze it. cos i always tot freeze is really for emergency din plan to let her drink if supply is enough.

yes, understand from mummies...latch on is very tired also cos backache..but to me maybe never latch on before so will envy those latch one especially only need to latch. no need to wash, sterilise, pump, store, warm and feed. and when going out...a mummy and a baby to go and nursing shawl will do. hee hee.

Thanks Gerry for the explanation shall go ahead and check out the starter kit then. Ha ha I thought from the start need to must those ex kind og baby bottles like Dr Brown or Playtex. Last time when we are babies we also dont have this kind of luxury to use those ex milk bottles

lor.

Yes Pink we can keep a lookout on cute and sweet baby gal clothes [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Me too have thought of name for my baby gal. It will be Viann. I hope it is not too hard to pronounce.

As for maternity clothes, I am buying dresses more because dont need to crack my head on what to wear. Temp job needs me to wear proper working clothes so no jeans or capris. I just bought a dress from Cotton and that costs $29.95 only. It is those empire kind....

Hmm any mummies having back ache me starting to have it and yesterday was bad.

moon,

my CL use DOM n martel to double boil tonic for me after 12days i am not a liquor person so i din drink directly.. jus drink the tonic soup nia n it a torture alr:p now i still got many bott of DOM left sittin in my store room haha... rice wine n DOM no crush 1 dun worry.. if u breastfeed jus make sure u drink after ur last pump/latch so ur milk is safe for bb to consume..

Piggy> let mi noe when u can get it... I paisey ask u MIL juz to make some also... if she wans I can buy the whole bottle over.. no worries I dun like coz im a liquor person! LOL oops... drnk more better.. breastmilk will make my bb drunk.. lol kidding...

Kk i will put that in my list and timeline to drink.. so many small like things sia! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]