(2011/04) Apr 2011

Pink ,

ya I also cannot STD pp nag tt y get CL instead of my il or mum.. My CL encourage me to bath cos breast feedin mus keep urself clean but hair she say best wash twice a wk la but I wash 3-4 time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] food wise I jus eat the traditional 1 which she cook she will remind me to wear over knee pant but up to me la if u get a pro 1 they will ask u bath 1 ..

The no bath theory pass down from china leh their weather cold of cos can't bath but in sg can die leh..

Sandy,

Winter in hk is cold but not freezin cold la dun worry ..summore nov not tt cold yet but bring more clothin jus in case[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pearly.. As long fresh, I guess is ok ba but like wat piggytoh said b4, everything eat moderate will do [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ytd night I was telling hubby telling hubby I tempted u girls abt sashimi. U girls drooling & he laugh.. Lols I ask

him if he can bring me to sushi teh for some more sashimi, he say no cos he allow me eat dies not mean I can eat alit. As is our 1st child, everything moderate [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] he oso dun allow me eat too much prawn (though I'm not a prawn lover but after pregnancy, I started to like fried prawn fritters & prawn dim sum) haha.. But after eating all those prawnue stuff, I suffer cos allergy to much if prawnie haizz..

Girls.. Jus would like to check, do u all feel hot nowadays though I admit weather is extremely hot & humid for the past few days but I even in aircon rm, still feeling hot.. In

office, mrt, @ Hm.. Almost everywhere hot!!!! Pple say is due to pregnancy so I started feeling hot but us really hot that makes me feel sticky.. Anyone feel it le?

morning ladies...

Mrs Chua,

me too i am not really a prawn lover but i ate quite a lot prawn food wor.. m yes i feel hot all the time cos with a baby within us our body temp will raise....

RE: confinement bathing

ladies esp 1st time mummies dun worry abt bathin durin confinement now no longer a ban only our parents or grandparent will comment... u can jus buy those herbs bag from medicine hall tt smell like grass jelly to bath n a cheaper way use lemongrass... smell gd n same function but u mus have a CL or the person doin confinement knows how to boil usin lemongrass:p

Also, my aunt taught me to use hard liquor to apply to scalp after i wash hair to prevent wind from enterin our body ... i follow n indeed i seldom suffer from migraine etc after i gave birth be4 tt i often have migraine 1... u gals can consider tryin[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

G'morning ladies..

Piggy..

Aiyoh.. I drink soo much cold water.. Hehe!! Even during my confinement.. Haha!! It was super hot lor.. Cannot tahan..

Regarding bathing..

I bathed and wash my hair the day after delivery... Very dirty.. Then I went for my lactation class with wet hair.. Hehe!! I think most important is that I am confortable.. It is just not practical to follow these confinement rules in SG..

Raw fish..

Fresh fish would not contain bacteria but it will still have parasites which can be dangerous to pregnant moms.. My hubby was trying to teach me... So please eat with caution.. Fresh water fish like salmon (they will go back to the fresh water lakes to lay their eggs) do have the highest no. of parasites.. The parasites will be in fish even before you kill it for your sashimi..

Mrs Chua,

Yes we get hotter during pregnancy.. Body temp goes up.. Wait till you give birth during confinement.. Even hotter!! And we are all delivering around April which is already hot!! Yikes!! =)

I remember when I was breastfeeding my #1, both if us were sweating like crazy!

Gerry,

ya confinement v hot but i endure lo cos i see many of my friend bochap n no need wait old alr have lots of prob... i rather suffer 1 mth n have a better body... i also drink alot of cold water durin preg but only confinement i endure lo.. wah u din even use dryer to dry ur hair? i agree not practical to follow these confinement rules tt y i only follow those tt i tink it makes sense...

am glad my CL is v modern she even encourage me to on the fan so hot but not directly la n taught me many things...

i feel like shit again todae!!!puked out brekky again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] sigh...and my tummy feels like muscle spasm or something..so uncomfortable!

all the tok abt sashimi really make me gian leh...mustttt control!!!

toking abt seafood...i used to love seafood...now i think BB totally change my taste liao..somewhat dun fancy them so much anymore..really sad loh.

Morning... Im back in action [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bad gastric finali gone away...

I also start to feel very warm esp my feet and palms onli wor.. when on air con i will curl up like cotton ball... haha

I got my NT scan results eh which one to see ah? Background risk, ultrasound risk or adjusted risk?

Doc highlighted the Adjuest risk: Tri21 1:1676, Tri 18 1:4199 and Tri 13 1:53850... i oso blur but he tell mi low risk

A nice weather to sleep in n laze ard but my gal choose to wake up so early .....

Piggytoh,

my friend ask me this time round dun buy herbs to bath use lemon grass .... Her CL taught her boiling of lemongrass water for bath I share w u ladies it quite easy .....

Lemongrass abt 5 to 6 stalk

Ginger abt 5 slice

Water 1 pot

Boil abt 45 min to an hr let it cool n than can bath

She also taught me lemongrass drink but I can't rember some things let me check w her than type here n share w u ladies

Confinement

Nowadays, not many people would follow confinement rules. For me, I just go through it. Its really not too bad for me.. I wash my hair like 3 times in a month, and i just wipe myself clean with towel twice a day with the herbal water . Its good enough for me . Funny thing is I just don't feel like bathing that time as I don't wish to get my C section wound wet or I'm just too tired to do so.. I use femine wash like thrice a day as need to be clean to prevent UT infection.

I did on aircon throughout the day as just cannot tahan the heat.

sy,

YES use lemongrass alot cheaper n nice smell.. haha i jus leave it to my CL cos lot of work leh mus boil den carry pour into the pail etc... even we can DIY we cant carry also...

JSL,

tt great[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] nvm the readin la as long low risk can liao:p

Kailee,

nvm la dun eat so much seafood also gd.. my MS almost gone liao but i get hungry more often keep eatin no gd no gd... argh~

piggy,

not sure when my MS will be going away leh...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

think my tummy is going to gif up with the constant puking liaozz...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

ur BB starting to feel hungry liaozz...

Kailee,

i tell u once ur MS go away it will be constant hunger... i hate it when i start to feel hungry be4 bedtime... dun feel like eatin but yet tummy cmi... yesterday my HB v irritatin after eatin seafood feast still come n tell me the white pepper crab v nice etc... make me feel more hungry end up kena ffrom me...

piggytoh,

If night time hungry , can eat those meiji dry cracker come in many small packets in a big box. Eat one or two packet , it helps.

Hi everyone I have a Medela Free style pump to let go. Used for 2 weeks only.With local warranty still valid. Letting go at $420. Purchased from local retailer at $799. Please PM if interested for photos and such. thanks.

Kaira,

i ate too much biscuit previously n i see biscuit v sian dun feel like eating[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

JSL,

hahah dun tink easy hor got technique to boil those herbs bag n lemongrass 1 lol~~~ i tell u my utilities bill shoot up v high durin confinement lo...

haha i noe not easy la.. but think my mum wun let mi bathe so often oso.. hehe I still duno whether to ask my mum to do confinement for mi or get a CL...

JSL,

my advice is dun get own mother if ur mother is 1 tt dun encourage bathin.. cos in their time they were taught those traditional way n dun understd hygiene is impt... n will cause conflict if we argue with them.. n i cant possibly ask them do housework for me mah.. so if u can afford go for CL n book first now is alr too late to get those gd 1... n if u goin agency be careful.. my neighbour kena 1 v v lousy 1 n they suffer dun understd y they dun go n exchange also..

piggy,

even now i'm eating b4 i sleep leh...some nites i need to wake up just to eat something cos i feel my gastric acting up...v sianz...if i dun..i will puke loh..either gastric juice or my brekky in the morn...so sianzz...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

ya..i am also quite sick of biscuits...

wah find as in now ah? still got 6 mths ahead...

CL will do marketing for u oso? or they juz cook for us onli? Got include taking care of babies and housework oso ah?

Where you gals find the CL one? seems like i need to start looking ard le lo....

One ting i prefer my mum to cook for mi to eat coz she noes my taste and I can eat watever she cooks one...

kAILEE,

hahah now my MS gettin less i keep feelin stomach empty wor[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

JSL,

erm for CL u mus book as early as possible.. for #1 i am like u take my own sweet time end up all taken n panic... almost go to agency 1 which cost more... actually if u find a gd CL u be surprise their cookin is v gd too... n confinement i tink all food taste sama sama cos lots of ginger n sesame oil hahah... yes CL suppose to do marketin for u so ur HB may need to drive her to market etc but cost on u.. for me my MIL help me do all the marketin n bring up daily for me so my CL can save sometime...

i just went toilet to do a big one...n realised i haf abit of spotting of fresh blood...goodness..is that normal???[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Kailee,

did u use too much strength??? u in 2nd trim alr??? usu spottin will occurs in trim 1 early stage.. maybe u gave ur gynae a call n check???

JSL

yes yes as in now liao lor..i heard some pple once know they preg they quickly chop the CL liao cos like what piggytoh mentioned good ones very fast taken up.

As for housework some CL do some don't u can ask them before hand de

Morning mummies!!!!

Sy

yes is a nice weather now I miss my bed sooo much how I wish can bring bed to work haha

Piggytoh

congrate on ur ms go off.

I always feel like eating.

Thanx for ur advice on hk weather.

Sometime u got a bad cl oso difficult to change ba like mine I wanna change mux wait some more I still got 2 more wks end my confinement Liao by the time the new come no use. I feel tat if getting frm agency mux find reliable de

Jsl

I agree wif them find a CL early for #1 I find during 7 mth n mine is cannot make it at all.

piggy,

i'm in my 13th week...technically after my trim 1 liao...these few days i notice more spotting even vomitting...but first time when i go toilet..dun think i used tat much strength tho..

ya..maybe i shld...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

That time, I have a maid, my mum and CL to help out during my confinement. End up have quite a bit of conflicts with who is to do what. My CL takes great care of the baby.. But since there's a maid, she left quite a fair bit of household chores for the maid like washing of cutleries after cooking, mopping of floor, toilet washing. She even ask the maid to help out with the cooking. End up my mum keep nagging how irresponsible she is. And I complain to hubby and we both end up quarrel lor. Headache that time.

kaira

that time my CL worse leh never even mop or clean the floor lor..but before hand she already told me she never do housework one but if the floor is really dirty she will then clean the floor only...but what happened is that the floor was so dirty and sticky she also can't be bother...this CL even eat the same food as what i eat leh in the end the cod fish still share with me and hubby..

Sandy,

i still got MS la but lot better now HK$ v gd rate i jus change some yesterday goin to ask my sis do some shoppin for me:p

yaya bad CL v jialiat my friend 1 even steal their things... tt y if can dun get agency... cos even thou they state can change but subject to availabilities also...

Kaira,

i tink best is jus maid n CL den get maid learn from CL n yes i tink ur CL abit not v responsible to leave the cookin for the maid.... so u gettin back the same CL or not gettin any this time round??

ST,

wah ur CL did tt ah... for mine i tell her mus do housework in advance so she ok with sweep n mop but not those intense 1 like window cleanin la... n she dun eat my food 1 cos she say v sick of confinement food sumtime even ask me can eat my maggie mee anot lol~ i tink a reliable 1 is v impt... so i only ask for those my aunt or close friend use be4... v scare kena lousy 1 faintz..

hope ur new CL is gd.. but i heard sg 1 abit proud so i scare rather get m'sia 1 n cheaper also[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jsl

the 1 I hire b4 do hsework for me but for marketing I got to follow her she say she don like to go wif my hb n she donno how to cook *faint*

tis time round wanna get 1 cl but no space for her n I scare get a bad 1. Reali wanna do a gd 1 hope confinement meal n following the rule will help me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] haix

Kai_lee

call ur gynae n check don frighten urself.

Do u get constipation recently??

piggytoh, ST

She very patient and good with baby. Her personality is also quite okay. She ask maid to stand there to make sure the fish not over fried etc.. but cooking still done by her.. Ya intend to get back her . But this time I'm going to be very strict wi my maid and her about what their roles are .

JSL,

i am getting my CL from http://www.gplsconfinementnanny.com.sg/

recommended by friend.

Decided to go with agency in case the CL gives prob last min and we will be unable to find last min substitute. They allow for exchanges and even money back guarantee IF things don't work out. That's what the contract says lar, I don't think at that time we will want to be left without a CL. The thing about going with somebody referred by relatives or friends is that those kind are not with agency and tend to be more controlling because they know you can't be without them. I had a friend who had a CL recommended by relatives who insisted that she bottle feeds at night and not BF. What works for others may not work for you. Agency ones they know if they don't like your service you can request for exchange. And in the agency both the CLs and customers are briefed on what their roles are so they won't be any conflict. It's clearly stated in the contract what kind of housework they do, how many meals they cook, etc etc.

Sandy,

huh CL dunno cookin???? tt craps so u manage to find /book 1 alr??? i try to book 1 v gd 1 when i was wk8 n her schedule alr cant meet mine.. end up i go back to my old 1 more ex but ok la at least she is gd... ya i tink eatin confinement food n no cold water really make me feel my body strong my body is v weak be4 tt:p

Pink,

not true... like sandy with agency den mus still wait... 2 wk.. so far those who use those gd CL got no such prob like more controllin CL cos they also hope u can refer more client or get back their service... like my neighbour case the CL sux big time n if they wan to change have to wait also n they also worried the nex 1 also like tt n durin interim period they got no helps.. so all got pros n cons..

piggy,

no leh the replacement don't have to wait leh, immediate exchange. they have a pool 250 CLs to choose from. Depends on individual preferences. I want to have the flexibility instead of relying on 1 person. And i like that there will be a 3rd party mediator in times of conflicts. Sometimes let somebody else do the talking and things get resolved. It is alot more transparent and in terms of paper work it is clearer too, we have to sign documents to make sure that their work permit is settled. Some of the free lance ones won't have these proper documentation.

Piggytoh

where u change frm?? I don even know how much to change haha. Reali seems like an idiot lo asking ard machiam mountain turtle [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

PInk,

but keep changin CL also no gd... anyway it individual preference la.. even got 3rd party u also need to explain n tell them the reason etc..my CL ever join those agency be4 n she told me those agency also use them n see if they wan to take up the assignment.. so even immediate they also need time to contact n check schedule so best is the CL tt came is gd no need change no trouble:p

Sandy,

go to any money changer to change lo... i change in Jurong point too far for u la.. almost 1 SGD to 6HKD v gd rate now... keke...

Pink,

my CL is PR so no prob on documentation n those not PR usu unless u wan enagage them for 2 mths if not no need work permit..

Wah u all hiring CL? I thought most people would be lucky to have moms or mils to help with confinement.. hehe.. I had a CL for my 1st preg.. Friend of hubby's relative.. Due to some problem, she was last min de so she came for only 10am to 4pm.. It was super tiring for me..

This round, I'm hiring a maid in Jan.. So no confinement for me le.. lol.. Cannot afford both a maid & a CL at the same time..

Piggytoh

ya lor mine so worse then still share my exp fish in the end i ate a bit only

as for singapore CL this is thru another forum mummy's aunty and heard from her she also recommended alot of her friends to her aunt and her aunt only doing referral CL business..and she's doing for 30days lor..so hopefully it's good [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Mummies, Good morning.

Talking about confinement, i bathed at the hospital. but when i went home, i did bathe with the herbs. Can i check why is lemon grass better than those herbs? but i did not follow strictly.

Don't think i have much problems. Only problems is with my second pregnancy. more tired, leg pain, stomach cramp etc.