(2011/04) Apr 2011

piggy/gerry, errrm the last I've checked was with my #2's PD when she went for her jab. He told us not compulsory yet, but highly recommended.

I rem couple yrs back, they did mention about making this immunisation compulsory but has not confirmed on it... And I guess it's hard to do so, 'cos of its cost, some may not be able to afford it esp. if we're talking abt getting the jabs during the kid's 1st yr, u need 3x S$170-S$190. That's not a small sum on top of the other jabs' cost...

Has it been finally made compulsory? Where did u ladies read the annoucement? however, guess it doesn't make too much of a diff to me since I've already let her hv the 1st dose y/day heee... No choice, better take, since jie jie going back to school...

Mrs chua, the pd told us the pneumococca jabs r to be given at 3rd, 5-6th mth and at 1 yo(if given before 1yo).

Bbgoh,

The Malay food nt buffet la but the area small if small grp can consider[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

N menses haven come dun nt mean no egg no ovulation hor ..

Fung,

Ya babes purple colour I find ok but instill prefer kodomo haha.. Tt day try juggles totally hate it v hard to pull out keep torn off argh..I bott from JP..

Mrs chua,

My GP say diff thing from urs so I tink diff dr diff practice she encourage me to take prevenar early dun.risk n so far I let BB take 2 jab together ok no fever o tink if BB more probe to havin fever 1 or 2 jab no diff bah..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mum05,

Hmm i tink u better check again the cost high maybe tt y can use medisave ?

oh gin, u mean once our menses resumed, our ss will dip and will not resume when menses end? Oh man...

piggy, it's ok la, for me it doesn't make any diff whether the jab's compulsory or not, cos I've already let my #2 hv its 1st does liao and hv also paid for the 1st yr's jabs with cash liao(blurr me duno CDA acc need pin no like ATM lor, so din bother to check the pin no, hahaha)

ya, mrs chua, it's very ke lian for the bb to hv 2 jabs at one go, but then it's pain for that 'day' only, if go another day, they will still feel the pain, I guess it doesn't make much diff.

Hmmm, as for whether it's better not to hv 2 jabs on the same day, it's hard to say I sup, cos even w/out the pneumococca jab, it's alr a combination of a few rite? And also, if you have an older kid attending childcare, then it's highly recommended that the bb be immunised earlier. Afterall, these jabs are to help prevent/fight the attack...

regarding menstration, i hv a qns... since we still ovulate but if we dun menstrate, then where it goes to ar? hmmmmm

mum05

good Q haha. maybe master gerry can answer it. but no menses we won't noe when is the ovu day, rite ?

fungfung

not more #3 lol. just wondering if still need to do 'safety' when 'rock & rolling'. hahaha

hippo

the 1st thg when I go bk batam is ask my bro buy Nasi Padang for me, even sometime no time to eat I ll dabao it bk to sg 'blush'. hehe

thanks so nice u wanna dabao for me but sat I might not at home

piggy

hehe bcos July I work half day morning only so if got gathering I may still can join after work.

this red ginger only imm got huh??

Bbgoh, mum05,

When bfing without menses, you are not supposed to ovulate.. The problem lies in the fact that we wouldn't know when our first menses will come and ovulation usually happens 2 weeks before.. So must still be careful.. Accidents usually happens during that 1st ovulation..

Mum05,

For me, the last time, my menses came back in the 4th month.. During my menses, my ss did drop.. But not significantly.. When it stopped, it went back to normal.

Didnt have enough sleep coz hv to wake up early to pump so tht Z got enough supply while i'm away. Now on my way to HDB.

Yeah! Now finally can have my delifrance later.

Mummies who are going for the gathering later, enjoy yourself and have a great weekend! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi, Morning!

Gerry : My office don't have nursing room, so I have no choice got to stop BF. My mum said it is not good to baby and myself if I am not eating well then make the BM more dilute and lesser nutrition.

charmaine/mum05 : He vomits quite often, that's why I asked the CL don't give too much but she insist wants to give him drink 150ml!! Some more she said if she cut down a bit this round then baby very fast get hungry then she got to feed him again! Walauyeah! She likes to force my baby to finish the 150ml milk for every feeding, and I always mentioned to her don't force him to finish it, then she said no lah, your baby can finish it and asked me don't worry to much.......

She mentioned that it is very normal if you see baby vomit, I have no experience so I just listen to her lor, think back, I feel myself like very stupid hor!

Water!

Baby consume of 30ml water per day, is it consider too much?

Aemiko,

Seems like ur CL insist on 150 ml for her convenience cos nt so freq feedin.. If I were u I wil sack her man so terrible ..

Aemiko,

My workplace also does not have a nursing room.. I would use an empty meeting room to pump.. I know some of my friends do their pumps in their car or toilet..

As for nutrients, your diet does not contribute significantly to the quality of bm.. But yes it will deplete you of the necessary nutrients for mummy's health.. Baby wouldn't be affected by mummy's diet nutritionally.. Of course allergies are a different issue.. I just find it quite a pity for you not to bf side you have milk.. =)

Your CL bullied you.. Quite too much.. 150ml is indeed too much for a month old baby..

I only give 1-2 teaspoons of water to bb a day.. Don't want her to just be drinking water..

ya aemiko, agree wif piggy, yr CN was being lazy! She's not suitable to be a CN in this case. Even my #2 used to drink abt 90ml dur her 1st few wks, PD alr said alot...

I've asked the hosp nurses and PD, we're only to give 1-2 teaspoons, 3-4 times max a day, but if bf/drinking bm, no need to give at all.

Last time I also duno, listened to those old wives' tales, gave #1 water, haiz...

That's why this time round, I made sure I chck with the nurses and PD!

oh Gerry, thks for the info(on menstruating). As for the issue on bm, although I've read sooo much abt our intake of food not affecting the quality of our bm, but I can't help but feel otherwise, 'cos how else some food we take affects the bb's allergy/alertness, etc... and why whenever I eat durian, my bm's 'thicker' and more? Perhaps u'd be in a good position to correct my mindset, heeee

Who's gg to be at marina sq? I'm on my way there.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but wun stay long..

I am from the Jan'11 thread.

Would like to let go this Piccolo breastfeeding bib as I have stopped breastfeeding.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5643790.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5643791.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5643792.jpg]

Brand new, washed but never used before.

Purchase price: $24.90.

Would like to let go at $20.

Interested, pls PM me.

bbgoh

for me when my period came, ss dip, when finish, it went back up but never to the same level. so end up by 7-8th month i have to stop cuz its not worth pumping for that little bit of milk already.

mum05

everyone is different. for me my ss dip. but it doesnt mean yours would

Today MS very happening. Got live update via whatsapp too. Wahahah!!

oh dear gin, mine sometimes dip for nothing also, duno how when my menses resumes... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

So happy tdy coz went bk to my gynae to do pep smear and weight myself, to my surprise i'm lighter now as compared to my pre-pregnancy weight. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

So now wont feel guilty of eating supper, chocolate and etc. :p but will still take note of over eating. Kekeke

Pink,

I mentioned to Dr Ho abt u and he remembers u (hope that he really remembers and not just say yes. =D). He asked how are u and abt C too.

Gerry : Ya, such a wasted I'm not to bf side I have milk

No ler, I did not sack her, because I worried I can't get another CL during my confinement month, anywhere just pass the confinement month. My baby is 3 months old now. So, I have learnt my lesson, next time cannot treat CL too "ching chai", they will take it as granted.

Yup, she is quite lazy, but she did not drag my baby feeding time ler, I really can't imagine how my baby can finished the 150ml for every 2 hours! But now I just give him 120ml only and he seems like quite ok.

I have consulted with PD, PD said 150ml is ok, because different baby got different appetite, so I just let her feed lor.

My mum and nanny keep on saying must give baby drink more water for good digestion. They mentioned you will regret if you did not introduce water to baby now, when baby growth up he will refuse to drink water. Nanny likes to give baby drink water (30ml per day), and I can't control her, because she is the one to take care of him, the only thing is just keep on remind her, pls do not offer to much water to baby!

By the way, what brand of FM that yours baby taking now?

bbgoh, i think still better to practice "safety" when "rock n rollin" w hubby! coz i've heard of cases where #3 came along even when breastfeeding!

Another round of buffet!!!

Date: 6 Jul

Time:12.30pm

Cost: $58++ (going for 1 for 1 promo under citibank)

1) piggytoh

Piggy-thank you for yr reply in the carrier. Have tried but bb cranky thus will try again.

Hippo: thank you for yr info and advice on the plAymat..think will get 1 like mrs chua/voon

mummies need advice on the followings:

fever after injection: usually fever will come after injection or we need to monitor how many hrs/days?

Today bring my bb to polyclinic for injection. She took 2 jabs of injection due to pneumococcal lst dose.my mil was so angry and rant At me that I shld not let my bb take 2jabs of dose...what kind of mother am I???!! She said tis becos her son cannot accompany both of us to have jabs due to work...I brought my bb alone...thus she scold and shout at me!!! I feel so sad...my bb has been very cranky for these few days and I am taking care of her alone as hb very busy at work..today just saw mil and first thing is to throw her temper at me...

So down today [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Fungfung,

nope but this is lunch not hi-tea but if 1 for 1 only pay half mah after half price still cheaper than kuishinbo wor.. the review looks ok thou.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yoti,

huh y ur MIL like tt 1.. jus tell her dr say ok ?? actually it quite norm to take 2 jab together leh.. else mus go back every mth ... ignore her la ask ur HB go talk some sense into her!!

Yoti,

Hug hug! Cheer up. I understand hw u feel. To make urself feel better, Dun bother about her, juz one ear in, one ear out. Bb is urs, u hv the right to decide to let her take how many jab in one day. If really cant, Dr will advise u. And is normally tht bb will hv fever if they take 6-in-1 jab or penuccocoal jab so dun worry, juz monitor ur bb temperature.

I'll aso be bringing Z for 2 jabs when he is 3 mths old. Old ppl are like tht, they thought tht they noe everything after being a mum themselves too.

Piggy,

Oh! Usually lunch is of higher price than hi-tea. Heehee! Didnt noe abt it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Fungfung,

yes.. cos hi tea usu the food serve is not tt fantastic[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] carousel lunch buffet is $45++ but no 1 for 1 deal.. another 1 to consider is M hotel how? both i nv tried be4 :p

Piggy,

Both i aso didnt try b4. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] maybe can ask any mummies try b4 here

Fungfung,

i anything la but i been to M hotel(but nv tried the food jus acc my friend) n read review so so nia n food quite limited tt y i chose Aquamarine la but if other mummies got better suggestion i am ok too..

Another round of buffet

1) piggytoh

2) Hippopolai

Yoti,

*hugs* I dun understand y ur mil need to kick suck a big fuss on this issue... Take now n later also 2 jabs, y not suffer in 1 day? Have to make it 2 days? Suffer more!???? Haiz... Sometimes old ppl just doesn't make sense....

Thanks piggy & fungfung for yr reply...I do not wish to argue back as no point..I just let her shouted and scolded me..after she had finished,I just walked away..I do not have the energy to explain or argue back...piggy, she called my hb immediately to complain what have I done to her granddaughter and complain abt me!hb knows everything and consoled me once back..one side is her mother the other side is me..do not wanna make things diffcult for him thus just act normal but deep in me,my mood really dampen by her...

Piggy,usually after injection, how long (as in hrs/days) we need to monitor if bb is prone to fever type?

Another sad issue is that my bb's weight is under the 25% percentile...is this consider underweight? My mil commented that if I breastfeed, bb will not be so skinny as she heard from others breastmilk is the best! Said that I shld give my bb the best blah blah blah...hai today reali not my day! Keep shooting arrows towards me!!

Sorry mummies for the ranting! Need to let it out as feel so sad and dwn today! Of cos I have tried not to let her affected me..but what I am worried is my bb's weight-doctor commented need to monitor her weight [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Yoti,

i only know for mmr usu 7 days norm jab i tink 1-2day will have fever.. actually if scare can feed medi rite after jab... dun worry jus come here n rant at least ur HB understd u.. ya i can understd abt HB being sandwich.. for me i can tahan naggin but if my MIL ever shout at me i will not gave face lo... no matter how much she care for her grandchild cannot like tt mah.. but tt me la cos my temper no gd hahah..

Yoti,

btw dun worry abt percentile... tt 1 only guide my boi also belong to 25/50% nia u mus see the birth weight 1 ..like mine alr gain double the weight my dr say v gd liao

eh ur mil is right abt BM being the best but the skinny part i dun agree lo.. whether FM or BM also mus see how well bb absorb mah some bb drink alot also skinny leh..

Yoti,

You did the right thing by ignoring her. Thus she can't say you argue with her nor would you make your husband feel sandwiched.

Many people have different notions of caring for the baby. No doubt it is out of love, nevertheless her attitude is indeed very hurting. Chin up, we are here to hear you out and your husband is very appreciative of you.

I mentioned before that my baby was 3percentile, and her weight is much lower than C right? As long as c meets her milestones on time, it will be ok. If you are still worried, go seek a second opinion. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]. Feel free to msg me if you need any help ok? I know how worrying it can be

Wah another buffet!!!! Duh leh, another timing that I can't go.

Oh yoti I want to add on. Skinny is notna good indication of health!! My girl is very skinny, but her health is very good compared to many other fat kids, just make sure u let c eat fresh n healthy stuff to build her health up.

Piggytoh is right, a lot depends on their birth weight too. Statistics doesn't and can't cover all babies. Just a rough indication only.

Weekend is here. Cheer up ok!!

Hippopolai-thanks for yr reply...dun know what went into her today!!! Mayb took me as her venting bag! Anyway she only cares abt her son and granddaughter-when I am doing my confinement or pregnant-she never bother or a word of concerns frm her! Trying my best not to be affected by her! But damn sian today-all of a sudden kena scolded and shouted by someone[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Yoti,

Haiz.. This is monster in law.. It is very hard to try to ignore someone who keeps shouting at you.. I would have flared up.. At least hb is understanding.. Since mil loves your hb, ask your hb to tell her to give you some room to breathe??

I also gave my girl 2 jabs when she was only 6 weeks.. It is ok lah.. 6 in 1 alone doesn't usually cause fever.. It is the pneumococcal jab that will.. Just monitor 1-2 days post injection..

Bm is indeed the best for babies.. Cow milk for baby cow and human milk for human baby.. Human milk contains lots of fats to help in brain and neural development as humans are 1 of the smartest mammals around.. Cow's milk has more proteins to bulks strong muscles so that baby cow can run away from predator as soon as possible..

Studies also shown that fully breastfed babies are usually on the skinnier side.. Something in bm helps bb to stay trim.. Which is impt as they grow older.. Fat toddlers are unhealthy..

As long as bb is healthy and rarely falls sick, doesn't matter whether skinny or not..

Yoti,

Ya, every bb is different. Cant based on statistic as tht is only a guide. As long as bb is growing and healthy, then it's fine. Dun worry too much.

And feel free to pour out ur woes here as we are here to support each other, to share tips, knowledge, experience and etc.

Cheer up, it's weekend. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Fung Fung, Kk Ho always blur blur leh don't know if he really remembers lor.. I have not gone back for pap smear yet.. Period came leh [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Bbgoh u so cute now we know what "rock n roll" means :p

Another round of buffet

1) piggytoh

2) Hippopolai

3) sandy dee

Piggy,gin,Gerry,fungfung-thank you for yr post-I feel much better now as compared to this afternoon! This Afternoon after seeing doc ( doc commented need to monitor my c's weight-said until very jialut) and ranting from mil,tears slowly flow in my eyes.but seeing c, I told myself I need to be strong cos mother need to be strong! I am glad that I have mummies these few months to see me through..these few months, I have seek advices from mummies on my c's feeding and weight,thus when doc give negative comments,I try to stay positive cos most impt bb must be healthy...

Gin,which pd are you seeing? Heard that yr pd is gd?

Yoti, *hugs*. no matter what the crazy doc say or ur Mil say, u r still bb's best best best mummy. If bb cant take 2jabs together, the doc would have known. And bb under 25% is not life-threatening matter, so long as bb is healthy & drinking milk & growing its fine. Adults also come in different sizes, same for babies right. u did well not to argue w her, else fire'add oil' but u need to vent it out also, tell hubby how u feel, dont bottle up. Then u'll prob feel much better after letting it all out.

Yoti

Hugs and stay positive for hb and bb. Just ignore your MIL. When someone flare up and you just ignore it and pretend nothing happened, I think she will be the one that suffer more !! You have lots of support from mummies here :)

Regarding bm and fm, my #1 was on fully FM and she was a "lotus roots" bb, only when she started to run and jump, then the fats disappear! Sometimes skinny or fat also depends on the genes. FM may not have the antibodies that BM gives but it provides lots of other vitamins and DHA that is good for bb development as well.

Saw the pics on the MS meet-up yesterday. So what freebies did you gals get? Wanted to subscribe but don't know what to choose and afraid that the Q is too long. Maybe will try to go down today or tomorrow.