(2011/04) Apr 2011

elmo.. ya, I cant move lo. felt numb... so it could be real contraction which is not regular lo.. hope by wed, it wil be regualr den dun need to induce on wed...

loop one dun tie wont drop out meh? U mean put 2 pads on is place one on top of another? wont the top one drop out??? hmm... sory ah.. I jus duno how secure it is leh.. scare drop out den bloody show on the bed, ugly lo. u finishing using hospital give one is how many packs? 1 or 2? mine now I see if giving 2 packs of 10 pads each.. so got 20 pcs, we need to use so many for a 3 days 2 night stay??

Andrea.. tell baby wait for daddy to come back.. be guai [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mrs Chua, I cant rem how many packs hosp provided. But each time use 2 pads.. so quite fast loh. Plus initial lochia alot. Ya.. the nurse help me put 2 pads on. 1 on top of each other.. for cushioning the wound also. Wont drop out leh. Too thick le. And you wont walk ard much also. So still ok.

tweety.. ya, I have a bunch of gd colleagues which I admit. even mgr too but jus that mgr recently stress over work, so start feeling tense up..

elmo.. ok, maybe I jus bring 10 pcs den use hospital one, if not enough, den I use mine [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] thanks for ur advice. u still not going for lunch???

tweety.. I eaten late breakfast.. MIL asked maid go marketing so I ask her help me buy breakfast. now I packing my cupboard while chatting here online hehe.. u leh? what u eaten today? xiao long bao?? haha..

Hello all!

such bad timing to fall sick.. cham. running nose + coughing now. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Luynn.. do take care of urself ah.. I oso experiencing some sore throat this so kept drowing myself with water.. btw, u got PM me ur number? I think the thermometer arriving this or next week but becos I going for induce this wed, wil ask my hubby go collect from the organiser.. pm me ur number ok? or sms me. If nt wrong, I did pm u my number b4... if nt, u let me know or get from tweety...

Andrea.. dun emo dun emo.. we are here for u ah..I know u oso feling stressful having to take care of #1 so more tiring but jia you ok??? we are here to suport u [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

tweety.. ya I saw from rach's post in the forum.. she say reaching vpost soon. I have to make some payments to her 1st.. later in the afternon I will settle that den infrorm u all abt it ok? I wila sk hubby to go colect from her den maybe if u haven due, I can ask him to pass to u @ tpy.. if nt, we can meet after our confinment when we bring baby out to pink's house or what...

Tweety, just called.. no ppl answer.. Mayb lunch time..

Mrs Chua, #1 fever gone.. Now rashes.. Hai. Sick is the most toughest time to look after..

Mrs Chua,

yeap i have your number. sms you mine later.

update me on the amount i owe u too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I can pick the thermometer from you at yishun when i head over to my mom's place :D

tweety, I stay in the west.

Mikio, ya... U r in my fb freinf list... I'm Joe Cheng

Austin, later master go home check update you tonight ya!

BBgoh, okok, later I reply u ya~~~

Hubby is on leave today went back Malaysia to settle something, he just sms-ed me that he back in Singapore and now he Q-ing to buy me GONG CHA~! Wahahahaha... I requested to have 2, honey milk tea and Lemon Winter Melon tea... Wahahaha... Shiok! Can't wait to go home so can enjoy my Gong Cha!!!! YEAH!!!!!!

andrea.. aiyo.. how come develop rashes now? I know when a child sick, is very hard to take care of.. like when I see my niece or nephew sick. they so xin ku.. ask them eat med oso difficult...

tweety.. no prob, wil update u ;)

Lynn.. no prob.. I wil be doing confinment but think can we can arrange to meet up de [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

winwin, glad to hear you n bb are doing fine!

Andrea, your son seems quite jialat after joining CC wor... you shld monitor and if the situation con't, u consider to change CC?

Vonn: Oooh that is definitely your "show"! Labour can be a few days or up to 2 weeks away but at least you had a sign. I have no signs. BTW what time are you seeing Dr Lai on Wed? I have an afternoon appt. Maybe can meet!

Placenta!!

Anyone keeping placenta to make pills etc?

BabyChloe

Sorry for the late reply. Busy busy day yesterday. You can use extra virgin olive oil or pure olive oil (can buy from any pharmacy) or coconut oil or hazelnut oil. We tried a few different ones and my favourite is a cold-pressed hazelnut oil from MothersWork at Tanglin Mall. Week 36 is just nice to start, not too late for sure! If you can manage to do 3-4 times each week until you give birth, that should do nicely.

Yes, Dr Lai thinks that tearing is usually better than cutting, I think, but this is provided the mum prepares the area using perineal massage.

Last night, I used my Epi-No - only got to 5.5cm. With No 1, I remember I reached 7cm by the end. Got to jia yo!

Mrs Chua: Haha! No feeling lah. Just like swallowing a vitamin pill. At first, I didn't want to keep it but now I think I may regret it if I don't.

Mrs Chua, doctor said is post rashes from the infection.. He shld be fine in 2 more days.. No worries.. My boy like to eat medicine cos the doctor give one is sweet.. Rashes more difficult to look after compared to fever.. Fever give med they will sleep but Rashes is itchy, he wan to sleep cant sleep, sleep halfway hold my hand to stretch for him.. *faint*

Hippo, when he recover will put him half day n c how.. Wont change CC cos of transport.. if really cant adapt will put him out.. the problem I think is he is too close with my in laws.. all treat him like king.. even my BILs n SILs.. very very headache..

Lynn

Aiyoh, take care! Hope you get better soon. Load up on Vit C and water. My hubs also not well, hope I do not catch it.

Hippopolai

Wah you lucky girl!! Your hb is so sweet. I couldn't find bubble tea today or yesterday so I had to settle for soya bean milk with pearls. Sigh!

Fish oil!

All this talk abt fish oil! Are we supposed to take now or don't take now? I've been taking on and off since second tri but not consistently. Please advise!

Yolk Sac:

yeah. think i got it from the stubborn grandma at home who refuse to go to the doc, she running nose and cough till wanna vomit guts out liao still don't wanna go see doc. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

HI ladies,

Back from lunch and my belly is bursting!!

Hippo,

Wah you are so greedy!! Buy so many drinks!! So shiok..I think the soonest I can buy gong cha is when we meet up for hi-tea!! Hehe!!

Mrs Chua,

IV drip -- Intravenous (IV) drip... It's a drip that they set for you.. they will pricked the needle into one of your veins.. Like if you take epi, you need an IV drip with saline, or some hydrating solution cos epidural needs it.. Or if you have Strep B, then they will pass the antibiotics through one of these drips.

Artificial membrane rupture -- They will insert a plastic looking stick to burst your water bag if it is not brokenand you are contracting and dilating.

Urine catherisation-- insert a tube into your pee hole to collect urine.. They will do it if you opt for epidural or if you go for c-sect..

Yolk sac,

I heard of people doing it and they say the pills really help to boost their energy level when they are taking care of the child.. Did you do it for #1?

Mrs Chua

To answer your question, for me, the pros pill was inserted at my gynae's clinic around 9am and I started having very light contractions around 10:30am/11am. So quite fast. Yes, they can insert a second pill if you don't start contracting. They only want to put it one pill at a time because if the dose is too much, the risk is over-stimulation of the uterus. So yes, you should have your hospital bag ready and packed when you insert the first pill. For me, after I inserted the pill, I went to Taka (from about 10am-12 noon) to shop and eat breakfast/cupcakes - all the while having contractions. I just stopped walking when the contraction came and breathed a bit. Then at noon, admitted myself into hospital as per gynae's instructions, though I think I would have preferred to stay out shopping for another 2 hours (until 2pm). My labour was only challenging from 2pm to 7pm when No 1 arrived.

I'm back from lunch! Had sinful char kuey tiao and orange carrot juice now. :p

Lynn, take care n rest more!

ya andrea, so painful doesn't sound rite leh. Maybe try calling ur gynae later again. Rashes after fever could be roseola(sp?). If no itchy or not irritated.. shd be ok.

yolk sac, i not keeping placenta too.. looks gross to me. Hb took a pic of it to show me last time. :p U mean the perineal massage can do ourselves? How?

Gerry - Yes, we did do the pills. DIY at home. My husband rocks! I stopped taking after a while because I had breakouts on my face (tho I'm honestly not sure if this was related to the pills). I had good milk supply (again, not sure if related to the pills). I guess no harm making! My friend made, took about half the pills and froze the rest for future use.

andrea

Oh, babychloe and I were talking about perineal massage, you can use those oils to have soften the area, reduces damage during childbirth

elmo

You can DIY or get hb to do for you. Can find instructions online - just search "how to do perineal massage" and there are some good resources with diagrams. Basically, the goal is to the lightly stretch the skin there so you get used to the sensation during birth and you also condition the skin so that it stretches beautifully when the baby is crowning.

Haha yes, don't you think the placenta looks like a big brown-red plate with veins?!?! Or a jellyfish?

tweety

Yes, I understand your concerns. That's why we DIY the pills. 100% in control when you DIY, can be assured that you know what went into the pills.

Pink,

PArsley is a good size.. somemore you are going to take her out early next week right?? No problem in taking care of big babies!!!

Right now, my tummy is soo heavy and uncomfortable that I have also been toying with the idea of induction!! Haha!! But I doubt my gynae, hb and ILs would approve if bb is healthy and my body can take it!!

This time round, looks like the girls are sumo!!

There will be action coming up!!!

Yolk sac,

The pimple outbreak could be due to the hormones present in the placenta.. Cos a friend's friend took it and felt like her complexion improved.. and she felt very well rested and rejuvented.. Ya there's really no harm making it.. Somemore it is your child's tissue.. My friend was telling me to lyophilised my placenta rather than baking it cos it will maintain the integrity of all the nutrients... Hehe!!

back from lunch, now feel like sleeping... zzzzz

looking forward to hear all the actions [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dunno when will be my turn :p

Gerry

Yeah, I've long suspected that the breaking out was due to the placenta. I will see how this time. No harm making the pills first and deciding whether to take or how much to take later on. What is "lyophilised"? And how do you do it? I think we steam the placenta, not bake it. Must check with husband.

tweety

Make at home lor. Just ask the hospital to keep it aside for you, bring it back and freeze. When ready to process, I think you steam it with ginger and chilli, then dehydrate, then pulverise (e.g. with blender or by hand), then fill empty capsules with the powder using a pill maker or capsule-filling machine. Then done! We have a dehydrator (bought from Tangs in 2007) which is used just for this - other pple dehydrate fruits etc with the same machine - and a capsule machine can be bought online for quite cheap.

Vivi

Wah Vivi, you are super woman! Can still mop floor!

Jtho

Salut! Yes, I was just thinking that this thread is actually quite late in producing some serious birth action. We are already in the 20th and beyond dates for March but we have only had a few mums pop (like Sandy Dee). Why so late? C'mon babies - show your cute faces!!

hilo hilo

Finali got time to type a post le [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wow seems like i better don come in often liao hehe cos u all have been talkin abt food gong cha la kfc la all these makes me drool :p

now got the urge to sneak out of hse hehe but feelin so lazy alot of things to do. donno y my rm 4eve messy. tidy le awhile ltr things all over the place.

Yolk sac,

Lyophilised is to use liquid nitrogen to preserve the tissue and whatever is inside.. It's also called freeze drying.. The liquid nitrogen will sort of harden the tissue and you can pulverise it and make into capsule..

Ya no harm making it.. Anyway, you can bring the tissue back and decide whether you want to take it or not.. =)