(2011/04) Apr 2011

Pink,

I got see before but i forgot liao leh.. I think baby shops that sell rompers got de.. Or u go BP find, sure got ready made de.. Then u self collect loh, will b faster.. Find from BP easier n faster..

piggy: yeah, after studying the Prufirst plan, find it quite a waste of time.... To sum it up, using 1 of the plans, the worst case scenario if baby dies, I get $5000. What the hell do I want with $5000 if my baby dies?! Considering the payout amt (differing based on diff plan), the premium is considered extremely HIGH!!! So I think forget abt it.....

Moon: just my 2 cents' worth, u're very welcome. Oh yes, if possible and u've other agent friends, can consider some others apart from GE. Their shield plan coverage not very comprehensive. Do note that you should only get ONE H&S plan for baby becos such plans are on reimbursement basis and claimable from only ONE insurer. So get the best-est that you can afford. If can afford, go the full works, rider to cover full deductible, A class ward in pte hospital, cash incentive for hospital stay, etc. Cos if baby falls sick, u really don't wanna be caught in a situation whereby lack of $$ is causing you to have limited options for treatment.

Piggy, ya lor~~~~ That's y keep question my hubby, where we got the guts from to have a kid at this crucial moments, wahahahaha....

Hippo take one step a time bah..

Piggy

that me mine was like wedding, new flat (find reno etc) plus change for new job..super stress

Moon

for #1 i bot H&S, life plan and education plan..

for #2 guess will get H&S plan first kekek

but i know for Aviva H&S plan theirs not bad leh..if both parents take up their H&S plan..then their kids (2-3 kids) is FOC till 21yrs old..so quite a good deal..which means ur kids is under H&S plan but u don't need to pay $$

Moon: I mentioned to buy plans from diff insurer so as to spread out your risk. Also and more importantly, diff insurer have slight differences in terms of their policy even though majority are similar. For eg: the list of critical illness for diff insurer have SLIGHT (1 or 2) differences. So if let's say you'd like to purchase $20,000 life coverage for your baby, spread out to 2 insurers and cover $10,000 each. Take note of the difference so you can enjoy fuller coverage.

ST: yah same same... one thing after another rite.. i told my hubby he can't quit his job or change job leh.. if he has to take paycut we will all eat grass... outside my house got alot... or drink swimming pool water... LOL.... stressful for him...

Thanks for the suggestion I also need to go check out the Aviva plan.. someone told me about it before but I kept procrastinating

Rene

not sure what u mean by medisave deductible ops kekee sorry huh

but i know u can use medisave to deduct the plan then if u want full coverage(100% don't need to pay anything) the $$ for full coiverage is by cash but it's per anual de..

so it's really worth especially if u intend to have more than one kid

ST,

actually tt time for H&S 1 i compare between Aviva, NTUC, AIA & GE end up i take up NTUC 1 after comparing the cost vs benefit wor...

HIppopolai,

sumtime the more u tink the more u hold urself back so dun tink so much hahah chuan dao qiao tou zhi ran zhi... whahaha..

wah too many posts.. cant catch up. Going to work le.

Rene, I seldom go Tanjong Pagar mrt leh.. and hor.. .we can eat so many pineapple tarts now meh?

Rene,

wah... it all sounds very chim to me now.... ok, let me go and do some research and try to digest first ah.... Sorry, I'm really hopeless when it comes to finances.... :p

piggy

hmm what i heard from the agent is that Aviva has one type of covergae which NTUC doesn't have and of cos Aviav plan is more exp than NTUC leh

and not sure now huh..when i bot that time NTUC doesn't have the 100% coverage where as Aviva has..but too bad my hubby got some issues so he can't get into Aviva H&S plan so now we have to pay the premium lor..

but of cos pls do compare all the different H&S plan and get the most comfortable one

ST,

i cant remember liao cos tt time i look into the area of the coverage n compare cos Aviva 1 got some area i dun like i tink.. n AIA is gd if u wan Pte hosp but frankly if bb got prob i will go KKH instead where they r better equip n more exp. so end up i compare Aviva n NtuC nia..

Aviva also has pte hosp leh..it's the most exp plan..

piggy not sure that time when u buy was the deductiable alot.. u go check with ur agent for NTUC now they have like higher deductiable for H&S plan but of cos not 100% but can't remember how much..

moon,

Ya i agree with Rene.. I bought the GE H&S policy for my girl with rider.. and it really is good.. and it is medisave deductible.. Only have to pay for the rider in cash.. My girl stayed on hospital 3x (2x at Mt E for Kawasaki, 1x at Gleneagles for op on block tear duct) I didn't have to pay a single cent!! I think it is very important.. You never know when you might need it.. *touchwood*

pink,

buy your MIL a Hermes scarf!!!! Hehehe!! T&C also not bad.. There are some classy design...

Went through alot insurance info just awhile ago because I was going through corporate group insurance renewal for my group.

There're really alot details which laymen like us won't fully grasp and comprehend. Unless we read and are financially trained to understand the fine print, we end up being led by the nose by the agents, who'd of cos convince us that their product is the best. Sure right, otherwise how to sell?

So just remember a few rules, as with all things, remember to spread your risk. So if you're in the mkt to buy $100,000 of life insurance, perhaps buy $50k from 2 insurers.

Insurers like AIA and Prudential are much more expensive compared to local brands. However, they do have very comprehensive products.

If you've more time on your hands, can look at slightly smaller (but also very established) insurers like TM Asia, UOB Life, Aviva.. Becos they're keen to gain market share, they've some very attractive products, competitively priced!

If you're in the pink of health and a Singaporean, good to buy NTUC Income products. They had problems with claims experience etc in the past but have improved alot. Because they're a cooperative (loosely translated as govt-backed), they're actually forced to offer some products not out of profitability but more as a 'social responsibility' such as their medishield products so these are good to buy!

If you're concerned abt finances after birth of child but also scared you're not covered enough, get a cheap RENEWABLE (this is v v v impt orh) term insurance say maybe 5 yrs. Averagely, for $250k coverage and you're abt 30 yrs old, you'll probably pay abt $200 per year which is very very cheap. The early part of the child's life is when you wanna make sure if you or hubby *touch wood* anything happen, your baby will be financially provided for.

The above are my personal opinions formed after months (long, draggy & painful) of trawling through SO MUCH insurance info for the group until I wanna puke. Just remember, buy within your means!

tweety,

Ya both my hb and I also have this plan.. Making the claim is also very easy and they also post me the cheques fast.. So there's no delay in getting your money.. The only delay would be from the hospital side cos they take super long to send you the invoice..

Rene,

wah u r gd.. keke.. yes i bott from TM Asia for the education plan.. now their product is gettin more competitive...

ST,

tink i mus go back n see den know y i chose NTUC instead lol cos i tink certain area the AViva coverage not as comprehensive as NTUC bah n their price diff not alot also.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

piggy, i bought the Income medishield plan also. I used to dislike Income but after learning more about its products and doing comparison with others. I find their products competitvely priced, comprehensive and generally, for their life insurance, the returns are amongst the best in the industry. Like I said, cooperative mah so some of their products is the 'bo bian' kind so those i bought! Hehehe...

Ha ha Piggy now you know why I am bad at all these plans.... this kind must wait for hubby to decide.

so fast on new year goodies hee hee

Rene,

ya lo.. my agent is those tt carry a few brand n she also encourage me get NTUC even those the premium is alot less than the other brand she sellin i spoke to AViva rep also be4 i make up my mind 1...

Vivi,

i tell u not easy lo so many thing to compare tt time i also head big big... n not as if i v gd with it... lol~

piggy: gd choice on TM Asia! I find them offering very competitive products and they've been paying out constant bonuses (despite economy's ups and downs) for the last 10 yrs which is something indeed! I find they've 1 of the most competitive life insurance in the SG mkt.

piggy: sounds like u've got a gd agent. I personally prefer independent agents who're from broker companies carrying a suite of products as well. They offer more complete views. Unlike agents who're tied with a specific insurer, sure say their product is how good by how good then quote examples of loopholes in other insurer's products against their own but don't examine their own shortfalls!

pink: go DFS buy a scarf la. Provided your MIL wears scarves. Hermes exp indeed la, got many 'cheaper' alternatives there like Gucci or Burberry that won't cost you an arm like Hermes!

moon- i'm even worse than u i think.. i'll short list a few and ask my hubby to scrutinize it... i cannot make it I'll read the terms and go HUH??? wahahah... he's supposed to be in finance so i let him decide...

Rene- I think for my hubby his firm covers all the child's medical expenses after 12 weeks... if that's the case do we still need to buy extra coverage? My hubby asked me to check if there are policies that only cover for first 12 weeks?

for NTUC i bot the life insurance..

piggy

ya u go check with ur agency..ask him/her if urs is under the higher dedecutiale if not maybe u can purchase the rider bah

Rene,

ya i find their payout better also.. ya my agent not bad.. she did up a table base on my budget on the brand she carries so easier for me to compare cos i really know nuts abt all this den for brands she dun carry i compare myself.. ya i also prefer independent agent la cos usu their view r more neutral..

PInk,

ur HB will do the job la u no need headache my Hb worse than me so cant rely on him wahahah..

Pink, next time ur hubby buy u chiong Miu Miu then u know, wahahahahaha...

I read on Rene post i fall asleep, whahhahaha... So details~~~~~ Some more after lunch... ZzzZZZzzZZzzZ... But thanks~! Another round of comparing, wah lao~

ST,

i tink i got bott the rider..

PInk,

usu we can only buy insurance for them after 28days so 12wk abit long leh if touch wood anything happen inbetween no coverage leh..

pink: depending on yr hubby's company's insurance - issit medical, H&S, or...? Does it comprehensively cover H&S, outpatient and outpatient specialist? Is the PD and hospital whom your child will be seeing included in the 'approved list' from the insurer or is the company self-insured?

Do note that for group insurance, there's a certain limit. If you ask me, I'd advice that you buy an independent H&S insurance for the child, the best you can afford, something that's medisave deductible. Too many employees make the mistake of being solely dependent on company's group insurance without knowing the details of it. Only when actually admitted to hospital or submit claims then realise 'this' not claimable, that's not claimable'.... VERY DANGEROUS la.

hippo- he can't coz i shop for my own MM!! hehe!!

gerry- I'm disappointed with T&C items... hubby spent almost 1K on a SILVER charm bracelet and after I wear it i realized it gets scratched quite easily~~~ bleargh... the quality like abit koyok... now it's permanently on display in my jewellery box... i can't bear to wear it out.. super bo liao i should have asked him top up abit to buy real proper diamonds...

pink,

Hehe!! But I always think the safest gift for MIL or any other women is jewellery.. They can't get enough of it.. Get her those nice atas looking ones...Those with special stones like onyx.. You can check out choo yilin's website.. she makes really unique jewellery using semi-precious stones.. We bought a necklace for my MIL from her..

I feel that even though our co might cover us, spouse and children.. but always safer to have some independent coverage.. play it safe esp in this volatile job market..

pink: if ur budget is low, then buy something of lesser value la!! Don't term cover $250k la.... maybe $100k more than enuf liao... depending on your current income!

Pink,

at least you can count on your hubby on these.... mine cannot make it lar.... I think he's worse than me at all this lor.... :X

after MIA for 1wk+, there are so much post till i got no time 2 read through. times really flies hor. We left abt 3mths+ to 4mths to the EDD! I was forcasting my leave for Yr 2011. And realised that i left abt 4 mths 2 my ML! scary man! hehe.

Insurance

hmmm, tink i only bought hospitalisation policy for my #1. I forced myself 2 save 4 her every mth in her mighty savers acc. I'm not really into endownment plan etc as i found tat those policy offered by insurance firm r mostly endownment plan

rene,

hahah heng got u to explain at least i know i am in the right track lol~~

Hippopolai,

hahah ya another round of comparing n $$ ...

rene: talking different topics just now, u were talking about the gucci/burberry scarf mah.. also more than $150.. haha not about the insurance policy.

I don't really know the details, but i don't think his company is self insured. I was issued a card from Aviva so that's probably the insurer for them. So all my medicals are free. No restriction on which clinic to go. All my hospitalization is covered also, no restriction on where. (excluding pregnancy and delivery lar)

I think it may apply to the child's policy too.

My hubby may have concluded that it's sufficient coverage once the child is past 12 weeks which is why he told me to go look for a policy which will cover for the first i-don't-know- how many weeks.