(2011/04) Apr 2011

Wow Pink for me a normal school will do

Yup DZ agree with Piggy need at least a year for the body to recuperate before giving birth to second one or else baby and mummy may be affected

well..irregardless wat horoscope...i believe as long as our kids r happy n healthy...think i'm happy enuff...riht mummies? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

tanjong pagar area haf KOI ornot...u all hor..make me think abt it leh...tsk tsk...

dz, i recd a sms from OCBC said today & tml got so called xmas sales. so just go see see..

haha. yar hse so many things ar? mine is store room full!

Vivi,

hahah norm sch... u know hor when i go to the little sch house by NTUC jus below my blk n it alr on waiting list... those gd n cheap 1 v fast 1.. n those many slot 1 usu it the teacher n environment no gd... nowaday the sch many things to look out lo.. like the curriculum.. can faintz lo...

Irene,

hahah i also received the SMS but robinson v far leh..

Hi All! Just had my checkup done this morning and have some info to share.....

Re: Milk

My gynae said it's advisable for overweight MTBs and those who are prone to putting on too much weight to drink the low-fat versions instead of the regular one. Only when baby is found to be too skinny/small in 3rd trim, then will she request me to drink the full-cream version or take the maternal milk.

Re: Movement from Baby

My placenta is on top of baby...meaning after the surface of my tummy, it'll be the placenta then, baby. So, it's expected that I'll feel baby movements only much later...probably only around Week 22 or Week 20 earliest.

Lastly....

Piggy, can you please help me to update the table?

I'm expecting a little princess.... (",)

Thank you!!

Moon,

wow congrats[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] sure will update tonight[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Vivi...

I am thinking about my #1.. #2 still thinking of names!! Haha!!

DZ..

My girl only going to turn 2 next month.. But I was thinking of sending her to play school for half a day when she turns 3... Also easier to look after #2 ma..

You all talking about koi.. make me wanna go and buy.. I go to the one at marine parade.. nearest to my place..

Gerry,

actually hor at first i wanted to sent my boi to those 2 hr playgroup but the 1 ard my house either no slot or cmi.. so i check out the CC n the price for half day n full day only $50 diff after subsidy so i jus go for full day if he can adapt will jus let him study ther till he finish kindergarden no need headache abt sch again....

pink..

Haha!! I have heard of people who have signed up for their alumni even before conception.. So now that you have a princess, are you going to send her to your school then??

DZ, raffles place got Kawa.. Very nice. Personally i think that its nicer than Koi.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Moon , congrats ..!

Gerry .. understand , for mine i put her into playgroup about that age also .. I tot your girl alrady 4 years old .. I put in more becos , my mum likes to watch TV , TV can be whole day on .. not good for kids... and being only kid at home I scared she cant get used to school next time .. but this age needs one adult company for those 2 hrs one unless you choose Childcare.

Thank you all for your well wishes! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pink,

ya... I told hubby that I'm getting a headache already thinking of the number of things I'll be getting for this little gal.... so many things to spend on... and as we were walking around, I started to look at the teenage gals around me and started 'complaining' about how our daughters could be asking us for money to buy clothes, make up etc.... He just showed me a =_= face coz' buay tahan me for thinking so much ahead lor.... :p Wahahaha.....

for my side Toa Payoh got Koi but lazy to wait because of the long queue.

Yesterday tried 1 new brand call come buy also not too bad. Just open this bubble tea shop. quite the same concept as Koi as you get to choose the amount of ice and sweetness.

Piggy..

But full day like quite siong for a 3 year old leh.. I went to school when I was 3 but it was like doing nursery for 2 years lor.. So I thought she can follow my style.. Hmmzz.. will take that into consideration.. still sourcing for schools..

Gerry, my school is very far away from my house. I do want to send her there but we have to figure out the logistics. My hubby and MIL are quite insistent that she gets driven to school because if she takes the school bus she would have to wake up very very early to go to school. Sigh really going to be spoilt. I have to fight a battle with them everytime we discuss that. To me that is perfectly fine.

The other issue is I think if you only attend the secondary school and not the primary school u don't get into phase 2B. So maybe our girl won't be able to get in.

Also, the education landscape is changing alot these couple of years. We need to see how the school's IP programme pens out and which school they will go to. My hubby thinks that doing the IB instead of the A levels is the way to go. But I haven't done enough research on that subject. For our generation all of us go through A levels.

What about your girl? where are you considering sending her?

moon . .. that's why don spend so much when they are young, a lot of $ will go into their education later .. buying asesment books, stationery , classess... not even talking about teenaging ...

piggy , my girl one only 3 years onwards no need adult company leh ... and she still cry .. lousy .. cry for one month ! Create chaos to the class cos only one crying.. but maybe the teacher also chg la ...

dz,

haha... ya, can foresee the huge expenses from now onwards....

Wah, you all very onz leh.... thinking about primary schools and beyond le... I think hubby and I will be satisfied with just sending our little one(s) to the neighbourhood school opposite my place... :p

pink, you are right , going secondary school doesnt help and does not consider you as a old boy / girl of the primary school but that will be Phase 2A.. phase 2B is for Parent volunteers i think and members of related clan/ association. and Phase 2A is split into 2A (1) and 2A(2) , the former is where you are also alumni... so chance higher ..

DZ,

izzit cos i know playgr like appletree n talent plus no need parent acc 1.. anyway i puttin my boi in CC nex yr Mar hope he can adapt... n really hugh expenses lo..

Moon,

even neighbourhood sch gt gd n popular 1... nowaday v tough the competition..

Moon, I think it's ok to go neighbourhood schools too. I came from a neighbourhood Hokkien Huay Kuan school and it was good. My hubby is the picky one. I was in the top class in my primary school and almost the whole class got into the SAP stream. So I believe if you are good you will shine no matter where you go. Although I must say the opportunities, exposure and learning environment may be slightly different depending on the school+ school culture. That is what my hubby is particular about.

Dz thanks for the clarification! Looks like I have to volunteer at the school if I want to enroll my girl...

DZ..

U have done your research man!! I really have no idea how this Pri 1 enrolment works... Hehe!!

Pink..

Still torn.. I came from the same all girls pri school so should be eligible.. But my hb is from tao nan and it is a pretty good school.. I think tao nan will be very stressful for the poor kid.. and I personally think that a convent education seems to be all rounded.. I grew up appreciating and enjoying the arts and humanity subjects despite being in a science background.. And I remember having to put up lots of plays and performances which I thoroughly enjoyed.. But my hb worried that if she ends up in my sec school, she might be a pa kia and not want to study.. Haha!! I was sorta an anomaly in my sec school!! Haha!!

Hmmz.. IB and "A" levels still far.. maybe by then will be different liao.. =)

Gerry, I'm from the same "group" of primary schools as your hubby! hahah and yes it was very stressful!

it's a pressure cooker in there!

I think the consideration is whether you want to put more focus on academics or a more balanced education. There will be no perfect option out there but we have to see which one suits what we would like our children to have. Maybe we should go for something that can complement what we can provide for them at home? Like if you decide to send her to Tao Nan, you can bring her out for more "fun" activities during the weekends. That way they will enjoy the best of both worlds [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Well if you send her to your school... she may do well and not end up in your secondary school! (opz, no offense! Just saying she could have other options) [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Must have confidence in Lisa! =)

Yah it's a long way to go... my hubby really plans ahead huh... he already knows which UNI he wants to send her to... my gosh

piggy , yah even neighbourhood school are competitive cos in Jurong more and more China kids who are very smart one .. sigh .. so even our kids are competing with foreigh talent !.. which CC are you putting your boy.. yah its expensive and the tot of putting my girl in one is very heartaching .. cos I very worried about HFMD .. see how it goes lor .. I got 2 , maybe no choice liao

Piggy & Pink,

actually, I've heard that the school opposite me is pretty good too but I don't think hubby and I wanna start racking our brains over this issue so soon... :p

My hubby was a slow learner and so, he had his fair share of negative experiences of being pushed too hard and too soon and he's pretty firm on not imposing that on his kids. As for myself, I did pretty well in primary school but not so for secondary... coz' I'm somewhat weird bah.... I'm the kind who when faced with competition and if I win the first round, I will strive very hard and continue to stay on top but once I lose out, I lose all competitiveness in me and would be satisfied just staying average...

Nevertheless, I think I'll just be enjoying my pregnancy for the time being... probably, only start to panic and search around for IFC when baby is born bah... :p

Gerry , Tao Nan is a top school ! my friend bought a condo there jsut to get her boy in ! If your hubby old boy, then u no worries liao, girl boy , no issue .. not i do a lot of homework but my friends' kids all in pri school liao .. I old lady give birth so late .. that's why hear a lot of first hand stories liao about pri school system. Bottonline is where the first one goes very impt , the rest follows and is much easier to manage and less stressful for the parents .

Haha strangely for me comebuy was shorter for me .... fated for me to drink comebuy .... thinking of buying a cup to drink when I am on my way back.

Counting down to 6pm another half an hour before knocking off and another 2 more days before weekend hee hee

wah we think so much and its not even Apr! .. poot first then say .. one at a time .. I mean 2 at a time for me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

pink..

See back then already like pressure cooker.. I really don't want to know what it is like now man!!

Haha!! I'm sure Lisa will be fine.. I turn out fine too!! Haha!! =)

Actually most of the pa kia (who are my friends) who "didn't want to study" were the so called drama queens.. So now they all end up in the arts field.. Like DJying, acting, advertising and magazine editorials.. But back then obviously alot of parents would disapprove of such fields..

dz,

hee...hee.... it'll still be 1 at a time... can't imagine both heads popping out at the same time... that'll be scary.... :p

DZ..

Ya i heard of alot of parents wanting to send their kids to tao nan.. but like what pink say. Very stressful school!! Haha!! Ya both my hb siblings also from that school..