(2011/04) Apr 2011

Cool! SY, simple things like tv console will have sharp edges... dining table made of glass .. will be difficult to child proof rite?

Hey since u're free lancing, and I want to design my nursery room, do u think u'll be able to help? I don't mind engaging ur service coz I'm too lazy to look for designs liao. Alot of effort after doing it for my house. Maybe u let me know how u charge?

pink,

hee...u v funny leh...but kids r usually fast learners?kekeke...if only my hubby half like urs leh...keke...but true la..always ez to say..i'd like to see how my hubby handles our boy next time.i wan him to be really hands on kind.unlike his dad!

tks for the tips..i will do my homework! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sandy, is it your first time to HK?

There's the famous 许留山 dessert place that is everywhere, it's a chain you will see it (http://www.hkhls.com/). If not you can go Honeymoon Dessert 满记甜品 it's also very nice. There's one at the IFC shopping mall which is at HK CENTRAL station.

There are many many nice dimsums places that you can go. I can recommend a few like: Superstar seafood restaurant (also many branches either at Lan Gui Fang or Tsim Sha Tsui), and the one at City Hall 2nd floor) The queue for this one is very very long so you got to go there abit earlier to get a table. Another one of our favorites will be this restaurant at the basement of the Pacific Mall, ZEN. Serves dimsum all day. But I find that the standard has dropped abit and the prices have gone up since my first time there in 2005. Alot of the places in HK now serves alot of mainlanders and the mainlanders throw money like there is no tomorrow. So I think depends on luck whether we still can get good service from them.

Most people will also recommend you to try Yung Kee at Lan Kui Fang but i find it abit pricey. If you don't mind it's worth a try, the roast goose is very famous. http://www.yungkee.com.hk/

Which area are you going to stay at? Most of the small small eatery shops also has quite nice food. Just watch out for the hygiene level and don't drink the tea that they give you. I enjoy going to these smaller shops (along Causeway Bay also has alot) for simple wanton soup and roast duck noodles etc. And the milk tea they serve there is nice too. Very 浓 and fragrant. I'm very sensitive to caffeine so even after drinking 1/2 cup I will have insomnia for 1 night

If the weather is cool you can go and have steamboat ... there is this 小肥羊 chain of steamboat restaurant which is not bad [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] and it will be nice to have steamy hot soup in cooler weather

kurnia... thanks![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I've since removed alot of the ornamental objects... gathered alot of dust and requires too much maintenance :p

now the fewer bai swee items i have the better..everything is more functional. My carpet is now sitting in my store room too. Had to wash it every month and hang it to dry for 3-4 days... sibeh cham

kailee, yes u will enjoy the process of preparing for your new home [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i spent months and months buying SQUARE ROOMS etc all the design mags to get ideas =) Let me know if you need any help~~~

think we are quite the experimental kind of parents... like to test and see the response.. haha! hopefully we won't become the super protective kind who don't allow their kids to try alot of things... know some parents who are like that. I think ur hubby will be very hands on now alot of fathers are like that. Some are even better than their mothers in changing diapers! It's possible! YAY!!

PS: Actually i think i still have some design mags leftover... will pass to u if we meet up.. have no use for them anyway~~~ don't waste!

pink

woh!!! ya is my 1st time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yes i hear of the dessert pl. i tot whole hkg onli got 1 donno there is a chain.

Dimsum: my fav.

will be staying at Causeway Bay.

The tea they serve is it for washing hand??

how abt those roadside stall im craving for smelly tofu hehe.

how to see their hygiene level? meaning they will b on their wall like spore hawker? or jux look at their surrounding?

yes their milk tea is called stocking milk tea is it??

oh the desert place is everywhere i think within causebay bay got 1-2 already... u can walk around and it will be there. Causeway Bay area has alot alot of nice food also. And within Causeway Bay PLAZA i think alot of nice restaurants but it's quite atas there... i've never tried but my hubby and his friends go there to "socialize" and "network" and their bosses will bring them and charge it to their business expense account.

Yah the tea they serve in most restaurants is dirty our friends who are locals tell us not to drink it. Try to order canned drinks to be safe...

Eh, sorry I don't eat smelly tofu so i won't know... haha. Hmm for the roadside stalls my cousins bought some snacks (those on the sticks that kind) before and it was ok for them. Is your stomach strong? If you have a strong stomach it should be fine. But I don't suggest that you let your girl eat lar...

Eh for the hygiene level I think u need to observe... they don't have the poster on the wall. Usually their food is served hot so it shouldn't be a problem...

Yah it is called stocking milk tea

Sandy envy envy..went to checked up the price for HK and taiwan yesterday wow so exp for just 4D3N it's close to 800

Pink > Yes true. They say Malay loves to have all this stuff decorating their home. But I'm the exact opposite. khekhekhe... i like hse wit minimal furniture. My only decorating object in the hse wld be my cats scratching post.

pink,

ur apt is v nice...power leh u..

wah...all ur listings n food mention make me hungry leh...feel like having steamboat now!

u all think it's ok to haf mala steamboat ornot huh?

Kurnia.. icic! how many cats do u have? I have 2 but they are staying with my inlaws now... they are almost 9 years old now! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] One tabby and one ginger cat, both males and very fat now! haha

kailee... er technically it's ok...but i think given our very jialut gastric problem... if we eat the mala steamboat... our stomachs may not be able to take it eh... i have to avoid all spicy food [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Sandy u made me miss my travels!!

Canceled my Taiwan trip in Nov and I'm regretting it now! =(

Kurnia> so cute!!!I think females are more manja lor... my male cats hor, really altitude. To them food= me. The ginger one is slightly more affectionate and the tabby one is only interested in food... haha

pink,

tks leh...maybe can ask u for advise later on hor [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

eh...but my BB likes spicy stuffs leh...wahahaha..like me...:p

i will force my hubby to be hands on one..dun care!heh!

st,

maybe we org dimsum outing..keke :p

kailee, no prob... SY is a freelance ID..even more pro~~~ heh

Good that ur bb likes spicy food... mine used to like NOTHING/like to STARVE to death. Now... i'm starting to be able to eat more but i'll still avoid spicy and oily food. For the last 10 years of my life I stopped myself from eating rice (except sushi) so that I won't gain weight and now rice seems to be a staple that I need..grrrrr.

Talk about a LIFE-CHANGING- EXPERIENCE man

ST coz I threw up so much last 2 months I thought it was impossible for me to go~~ and no mood also alot of things cannot eat/cannot do... since we get tired easily. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Plus it's really wasted coz we used our milege points to redeem the tickets... we had to forgo all the points that we accumulated... i tell you this kid ah...*shakes head*

ST... hah! I can only wish... give me so much nonsense for 9 months... better come out and be guai and give me an innocent, angelic look so that i will forget everything...

pink,

hee...ya...

now i cannot take too bland food leh...haf a v picky eater inside me..so i need things like chilli to perk my appetite..i only tried once mala when i didnt know i preggie yet...so far..nvr dare to try loh..dunno how BB will react.

i agree...now rice is everything..without rice abit jialatz..esp our gastrics...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

ya..changed my lifestyle ALOT!

hmm...not tat u feel beta..y not go for a shorter trip?just to loosen up loh..we wanted to plan a short trip...but with my current vomitting probs..i also not sure leh...sianz sianz sianz...

kailee, coz i have no more milege points liao!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] i don't wanna pay for my flight!!! LOL LOL so i can only go Sentosa!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

yah i think of vomiting on the plane...already sian 3/4... (>.<)

pink,st,

haha..i guess for now...any change of environment is a break for us huh?

just now saw an advert on newspapers to go bintan quite cheap leh..maybe can consider..but dunno will puke on the ferry ornot...haizz

shitz...i think i am hungry..now i wan BBQ chicken wings..arrghsss...

Piggytoh.. I heard from one Malay colleague who jus gave birth 4 mths ago.. When I see her few weeks ago back in office, she was so slim, totally regain her figure b4 pregnant though she say she still hv 4 kg to lose but simply can't see where the 4 kg is lols.. She did told me she engage the post natal massage for 2weeks & breastfeeding, she simply lose all the weight.. I so envy her lo.. Maybe will ask her which massage lady she engage [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I was hoping to go for the massage for at least 2wweks.. Hoping to lose as much as I can b4 returning back to office.. But of cos if $$$ permits too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sandy..actually I oso dun like pple to comment abt my tummy but hor is hard la.. Furthermore is pple mouth, I can't stop them haizz jus listen from here & let go from the other side lo lols

Cholemummy..ya, pple ard me oso think I'm bluffing them that I'm nt expecting twins lols but more & more pple in office know abt my pregnancy le as my tummy expose it haha

kailee, i've been to bintan before... quite boring and quite expensive to go... oh and yes i vomited badly on the ferry there... was monsoon season when we went...We stayed at Angsana Resort and Spa which was nice but I kept sleeping coz the aroma therapy oil was too calming hahaha... I had stomach flu before I went so it wasn't as good as I hoped

Bali is alot better but I'm not sure if it's more exp than Bintan... Bali has alot more culture and activities to do

today I keep feeling strange cramps in the abdominal area but it comes and go and I can't describe the kind of pain it is arghh...

and my boobs are hurting again... weird

Hello everyone

my trip was good and relaxing. I don't know why lately my tummy had this strange feeling like tingling sensation or like I have applied some pepper mint kind of stuff. I really don't know how to describe the feeling making me worried. Only feel in the evening generally.

Pink me too sore boobs coming back again

vivi, welcome back~~ glad you had a nice trip [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

me too.. i have this strange sensation it's not really painful just weird lor...

any of you feel like the top part of the breasts is getting abit softer? I am very paranoid that my breasts will start to sag~~~~~

Pink you feel that too can't really describe in words leh but these few evening got these kind of feeling making me worried. Like can feel stomach got these tingling sensation which is like after putting those peppermint cream.

Not really cramps wor

yah... and the position of the weird sensation doesn't stay at one part.. sometimes higher sometimes lower... and it comes from within

yeah it's not really a cramp... i keep looking out for any bleeding but there isn't so I don't know what's going on too

Vivi,

could be ur bb movin???

Sandy,

oh u make me wanna go HK again!! yes 许留山 is a mus it everywhere yummy.. actually now the road side hawker like smelly beancurd the hygiene level improve alot le but still mus be careful la.. as for dim sum my fave is this 稻香 i tried so many dim sum in HK this 1 is 1 of the nicer 1 yum yum... but a pity u stay at causeway pt cos tt area is more like office/city the shops there all v ex keke i always stay at Jordon/Mongkok area keke hope u will have a gd time[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

So pissed off now! A stupid man gave up his reserved seat in d mrt for a fat lady n bypass me.D fat lady can't be preggy coz she was wearing heels and she still got d cheek to take d seat. Shame on them!

Mrs Chua,

actually to slim down fast it not how many massage u do leh.. it depend on individual body 1 like me i only massage for 3 session i slim back within 2 mths for me breastfeedin only help me to burn the extras food i ate cos breastfeeding u feel hungry v often 1 so i din loose much from breastfeedin cos i only Bfeed for 3 mth.. buti tink in long term breast feedin will somehow help 1 but dun expect the malay massage will 100% help leh..

Vivi,

for first time mummy not tt u all cannot feel bb early like us 2nd time mother but u all dunno tt bb moving[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] tt y usu 1st time mummy say they felt it later... the bb moving is like sumthing fluttering inside dunno how to describe but i can only say could be la cos i dunno wat u r feelin also so cant comment[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but as long as not unbearable/unusual cramp dun worry so much..

Vivi,

dun worry la if it from within den prob it really the bb?? try talkin to ur bb see got response?? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pink

thanx alot alot.

sure i don think i will gif my gal those road side food.

i heard that the tea served is for washing hand de.

TAIWAN!!!! is true la if go n keep vomitting is waste $ like me now worry liao. my 1st in my life time taking a aeroplane lei wat happen i vomit oh god n watever i eat gif me 15 to 30 mins i will need to find toilet liao need to LS.

Tat time i book liao den all tis happen some more gng wif in law reali stupid nv think of consequences.

But don wanna cancel since already paid liao.

st

huh!!! it cost me abt $1250 for hotel & air tix for me+hb+my monster.

But heard the air tix drop.

maybe is cos of sch holiday since i go tat time not related.

piggytoh

oh u going JAPAN!!!! A place i wished, wan & rather go. but cant i need alot alot alot of $$$$$ den can cos i wanna buy alot alot alot of hello kitty stuff.

i go Hkg is cos of disneyland hohoho i cant go japan de so go hkg 1st. even now preggy cant play those game oso nvm once in a lifetime mux go disneyland [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Tats my own thinking [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Kurnia/Pink

CATS CATS CATS!!! u all got CATS???? I go crazy over cats. my dream is to keep a cat but i cant so now i onli keep stray cats. haha. since young Cats r my best fren. next time i got my own hse i wan a cat too. so now train my gal to love cats n tats the onli animal she don scare :p

Mrs chua

ya la cant say back i onli can gif a fake smile n say is FATS.

Till now my colli nv ask but they will stare at my tummy s if im ET lo. n i will hide wear my jacket in front so will hide my tummy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i donno how long i can keep so everyday go work worry.

i taking MC AGAIN tmr. im still not well n oso jux now i talk to my hb admit to him tat actuali im trying to avoid.

My collic ask me to put up all the document in the shelves n those document r in boxes it takes up abt 3 desk n all over the floor is heavy lots n lots of things. i don think i can altot i nv try but lookin at it make me faint even i send document down to another office i can tired till fall while climbing. Altot i cant hide forever but at least can escape.

Hi Ladies (and gents if any).

I'll be popping in and out of this thread if time avails. EDD of kiddo is on the 26th of April.

Hope to contribute in some way or another, but most prob will be sponging off the great info avail here.

Morning ladies..

Gerald,

welcome.

Sandy,

i been to HK disneyland be4 hmm i dun like it n i wun go again.. the PRC there v rude n i dun enjoy at all but my other friends who go recently say ok no harm jus go n have an experience...

actually both Jap n HK is nice place to me.. absolutely love shoppin n eatin in HK in fact i jus went in Apr only but i cant wait to go back keke...

piggy, sandy..

So fun going for holiday... You guys got something to look forward to.. Enjoy yourself!! I also wanna go but used up my holiday budget!!=( Never mind.. Next year after popping!! Hehe!!

Gerry,

hee u mus have travel a few time this yr alr rite[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] nvm wait after pop more fun[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sandy,

regardign ur work cannot speak to ur boss? u alr pass ur probation rite? since u preg they shd be more considerate n not ask u carry so many things mah... cos if can try to save ur mc better wait u used up n u really v sick gotta use unpaid leave le wor.. tt y everyday i push myself to work[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

piggy...

Hehe!! *sheepish* Went to London, Paris and Phuket.. I know.. I know.. but a girl needs her holiday..=) Japan is super fun!! Really love that place.. Should be quite cold now right??

Sandy,

I heard from my cousin that HK was 16 degrees yesterday!! Wah soo shiok!! =)

sandy> Im gg HK oso.. when u gg? Im gg 21-24 DEC... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] staying at the new POP Hotel lei.. duno good ant.

BTW, Piggy.. ur #1 gave mi an inspiration to call my BB Jayler [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I'm starting to get used to this name if BB is a boi heehee and if its a gal will call Edlyn (not very satisfied yet so sub to change) heehee

Sandy you poor thing but maybe if you tell them you preggie then they will not ask you to do those heavy stuff. Sooner or later they will have to know wor.