(2011/03) Mar 2011

hi won mummies - i am also weaning Janelle off her thumb sucking. so far, it has been 3 weeks and i can say the situation getting better. what i did was that whenever i apply ru yi you, i will use my hand to touch her thumb, than bring it to her nose and tell her that hand got you you. or i touch her lip with my finger so a little bit of la la. than bed time or day time at my in law, i put on plaster for her . so she cant suck the thumb. i think kids there age need to constantly remind. like mil will say "mummy ma (scold) if xuan eat thumb". than when you ask her can eat, she will say NO, mummy will ma! . so now even when she sleep, her thumb is beside her cheek but not inside her mouth.

i so headache! how can i train my ger to take a little chuncky food ? i cook porridge with thermal flask, brocoli a little hard nia, she choke and vomitted out at bugis shopping center. told in law to train her and not blend her food, again i got the reply of "no blend cannot put more nutritious food". sian! i told inlaw, if we dont train her, than she go childcare she will just suffer cos she dont bite her porridge de and directly swallow. childcare dont have the luxury of blending food loh. this ger very strange de. give her other solid food, she will bite. but just porridge , she swallow direct.

Ask you all ar, i going staycation with hubby and J this fri to sun at RWS. how to settle J's meal ? any suggestion ? she dislike those instant ones that i tried previously. any kiddy friendly food at RWS ? thought of using thermalto cook porridge. but what about the ingredients. how to cook . anyone got good suggestions ?

2k , ST and poky- I'm going to hk too... But is end of this month.. F&e also...

Can't speak canto... Hubby say no bring pram.. Think I will die

So many planning for trips. How nice. I have not brought J on any trips yet. He don't even has a passport yet. I wish to go on trip too but now near year end a lot of countries getting cold.

ST: I saw this stroller on GMarket and at the Baby Market last weekend. It is cheap and very light. But you can't hang your stuffs on it. Too light and will topple over.

http://list.qoo10.sg/item/SEEBABY-STROLLER-QQ2-WITH-RECLINED/406623745?selectedOptions=

Allets: You can introduce chunkier food to her slowly. Start with not blending one of the ingredients from her porridge. Slowly move over to not blending the porridge. You can also give chunkier fruits or baby biscuits for her to try. When she is eating, constantly remind her to bite her food.

My boy also used to be like Janelle. He straight away swallow. Initially, he choke but after a few time, he learn to bite his food. Do give her more time during mealtime as she will need more time to bite.

As for your trip to RWS, how about bringing a mini slow cooker? I know cooking is not allowed in hotel but secretly do it...haha

allets - tks for ur info. i always let her hold e ru yi you bottle cap when i m applying for her. prob is my gal can take spicy food. already tried otak, curry n chili sauce, all she ok. so its a lil tricky for me to wean her off thumb...haiz....

If J will bite when give her solid food, y dont u stop giving her porridge? maybe u can try rice w soup instead. can have e same nutrition she need. my gal since 12mth+ already hate eating porridge. she dont like nua nua food.

won mummy: My sis used to suck her thumb till she went secondary school. My mum used to wrap her thumb with bandage (bandage until big big), put ointment on her thumb, scold her, show her pictures of ugly thumbs, but she still continue. In the end, she gradually stop, due to peer pressure.

tres: its okay for not able to speak canto. nowadays they can speak mandarin very well there. just that u prob be mistaken as from china lol

if i go there, i will always speak to them in canto. the service is much better

fel,

no canto nvm, those typical shoppin area, most know chinese de. jux gd or heavily accented... ask ur hubby to carrier ur boi lor... his back break lor... haha

eh... I know how to speak Canto lah!

Fel, 2Ks is right.. speak in Chinese can liao.. nowadays they speak Canto to 'their own pple.' Tourists they immediately speak Chinese!

Wah, Audris, B ok with the spicy & hot food? My hb always wants to let Chloe eat but I stop him....!

Allets, maybe you can try breaking her biscuits/rice crackers into her porridge, with the bits she might chew coz she like biscuits.. from there move onto chunkier foods. Bring a baby scisors along, cut up those food into small bits?

u should still bring stroller la fel.

when he nap is your best time to eat peacefully or shop peacefully. 2 persons sure can handle one stroller la.

tres: u can speak canto too? in bkk, i will keep quiet and let hub do the talking but in hk, he will keep quiet and i do all the talking...

so tired...LOL

u always go where shop huh? i find HK nothing much to shop leh except for branded. i dont have so much money la.

allets: u only give her porridge meh...u never try soup with rice, mee sua, noodles, bread, udon,

at this age, they should be eating more variety la.

even if porridge, also i dont cook until so mushy already

fel: thats why i find that we should have 2 strollers, one heavy and one light. u are not driving, u shouldnt buy such a heavy stroller.

get one cheapo one la...

can let bb zzz and then hang the barangs abit.

my peg perego is also heavy... but i got another pliko mini

JoJo - wow...till secondary sch? OMG!!

The funny thing is, i ask her CC teacher if she suck thumb in sch, she say she dont. means she only suck when trying to sleep at home. There was 1 night i think somehow she wanted to quit sucking thumb herself. she refuse to put thumb into her mouth but she also cannot fall asleep. end up whole night v cranky. funny lar she.

tres - haha. i refuse too. but my parents wanna test water. so i just keep quiet. was surprise that she dare to take spicy. just a bit lar. when 1st try, she will open mouth wide, blow out air from mouth (like most adults do if too spicy)...aft few sec, she start chewing n ask for more....lol...damn cute.

2ks - i introduced different food liao. just that the main meals are still porridge with different ingredients.

she can eat noodles, bread etc with us. but also all swallow without chewing or at most little chewing nia. just that when come to porridge, though mil said she dont blend porridge. but is the pork that she blend. haven been looking at her texture though. for me on weekends, i just cook porridge, dump in dry scallop, fish, brocoli and sometimes egg. than can eat liao. using shuttle chef so bring to boil, than cook 1+ hour can eat. but sometimes brocolli abit hard, this ger will choke. that is why i so pissed with inlaws. J was confused with blended porridge on weekdays and when come to weekend, give her a little chunckier food, she cant take it. if small meal / snack, she can handle pretty well on the food. she can even take rice but not as a meal, we feed her while we eating, she ok.

i wanted to try soup with rice, but mil against it. i cant convince her that soup n rice also have the same nutrients. so she still stick to porridge.

i think the prob wiht her is that if porridge, she expects it to be swallowed directly.

i think parents and caregiver need to work hand in hand. no point i train her on weekend and weekdays, she reverts to the same pattern. like for instance, weekend J can stand and bath, but weekdays, mil always said she cried bitterly. think her technique is wrong ba. cant be help, i still need mil for another 4 months before J go childcare, so cannot de zui her.

seriously contemplating when #2 time, should mil or mum take care. mil good in nutritious food and parenting. but i cant control or overright her unlike my mum.

2k - no money to buy another stroller

Haha.... and nowadays eden dont wanna sit in stroller liao... must force...

allets: u also very "mao dun" leh.

u want J to learn, send her in cc immediately la..

field train then...

but then i see yr pattern hor...go cc is not a relief for u, should be another set of problems instead.

Haha... I got travel vouchers from a patient lei... The patient gave travel vouchers to nurses working in oncology ward... hee hee hee...

2Ks: I feel that if not driving, all the more should get a good heavy stroller. Can hang lots of barang barang and don't have to worry about the stroller toppling over. I love my peg perego, can stuff and hang lots of things. It is still easy to push despite me loading it with lots of bags.

Before peg perego, I was using a light weight stroller. Going shopping is very ma fan cos cannot hang the bags on the stroller. Have to carry the bags and push the stroller at the same time. If need to carry baby out, must make sure the stroller is not over loaded, or else it will topple. It happened to me a few times, so I don't like light weight stroller.

However, heavy strollers are only good for stroller friendly countries like Singapore. We can find lifts and escalator almost everywhere.

won mummy: Yes, till sec sch. My mum gave up on trying to get her to quit it. In the end she quit by herself. I think Bernice suck her thumb at home for comfort cos whole day never suck at school.

Allets: Maybe your mil think it is easier to feed blended porridge? Cos less time needed to feed her? My mum also like to mash up the porridge before feeding J. I told her not to do that cos need to train him to bite his food.

allets: Maybe u want to tell your mil that doctor suggest to give her more textured food, to train her jaw muscles? Tell her doctor says, and maybe she will listen?

jojo: not those lighter type like combi or capella light version, i am referring to those in between one.

like peg perego SI, maclaren XT.

anyway i personally think should have 2 strollers, one heavy, one light weight. so have 2 purpose mah.

allets: i know what i am thinking can le..tell u, u wouldnt understand also.

2ks, ya I speak Canto too.. grew with speaking with my mum & Grandma!

Nah, I dun usually go HK to shop (except for branded bags). I will go for the food! everything in HK (even the roadshide food) is yummy lah! Shopping it is getting more & more expensive liao. Last time can still buy stuff from TST and stuff but now, all imported from China, I rather buy from Taobao.com.

Audris, hahah at least she open her mouth, I think i got once given Chloe (by mistake) a bit of sambal from my spoon, her whole face turn red and then she cried! From then... i dare not give anymore!! hahaah

2ks - huh ? what pattern ? why another set of problems leh ? well, i do think cc is a relief instead of problem for me leh. at least what she did in sch, i dun see, i dun feel pek chek. leave her for field training ba.. but i dun wnat to leave it to cc to teach everything, if i have the tiime now, i want to prep J first.

I guess different parents have different styles ba. i dunno leh.. maybe for me, i dunt see the urgency to send her in unless no one to care for her tomorrow or what. else, i prefer slowly let her go in only nearer to 2. so i think now i got more time to prep J for cc before i send her in, hoping that her transition to sch will be easier. also, situation is abit diff. hb just changed to a rotating shift (with night shift) job so want to minimise any sig changes for all of us ba.

Anyway once J goes to cc, i think she will only see mil and fil a few times a year cos hb dont like his mum parenting style ever since they argued over J.

tres: nowadays very hard to find our age one speaking cantonese la..

i find speaking cantonese like very close to each other like that leh...

i dont have so much money to buy branded la..

bring both hor...dunno got chance to go space warehouse or not.

the last round, we took bus there leh

jojo: i just sold my peg perego...lol..

the 2011 version one i didnt quite like it.

and i bought baby jogger...and its heavier than my peg perego lor.

its cos of the free shipping from US lobang from my SIL, otherwise i think i wouldnt bear to part with my peg perego also.

u know the older models, the seats are wider than 2011 range

I dunno my peg perego is what version. Anyway, I have no intention to buy another stroller. I have no complains about my current one.

Baby jogger is very big leh. Looks very sturdy and nice. Lucky of you to get it cheaper.

jojo: i used a few strollers before, i got capella, maclaren, peg perego (2008/2011 versions), pliko mini, another brand suddenly i cant remember...

and then now baby jogger.

i think its heavier than my peg perego...die liao.

peg perego is good la...u didnt make a wrong choice. can tahan very long one. the seat cushions also very good and lasting.

anything u can always send to baby hyperstore for servicing, its only $20

ya, among all the dialects I like Cantonese best! I mean it is not as 'rude' as Hokkein, not as sing song as Teochew or Hainanese. Cantonese sounds nice even when you are scolding pple!! hahahaha!!!! I hoping my kids will learn some too!!!

any mummies, any experience with twin stroller ah?

Fel, you going Disneyland? I think Disneyland can rent strollers.. & maybe those big shoooping mall in HK island can rent at customner service counter too, you go and check???

tres: me too! hokkien is quite rough la.

my mum refused to speak canto to kyler leh. i find kids speaking cantonese is very nice leh.

oh...last week, i tried my gf phil & teds vibe. i find it not bad leh. quite easy to push, and when collapsing it, dont have to take out the seat. and when u are pushing it, ppl will siam u, cos the wheels are not to play with, once roll over i think will blue black...LOL

we had the 2 toddlers sleeping in it, comfortably and the seats are wide.

but its heavy hor. the car boot need to be wide also.

fel: borrow a lighter weight stroller from your friend or what la.

rent stroller at disneyland i think not cheap lo.

i will bring a stroller lor. rest my arms. and when he zzz is the best time that i can eat peacefully or shop peacefully.

2ks, jojo

i personally love maclaren. compact yet stable (for bigger version). i got two. techno n quest. n 1 twin stroller of another brand. i always bring the quest (light and can hang decent load).

capella i used it only when kids are infant for it reversible handle function. after they grow up, i sold off each time... =p

i can listen well.. but speak terrible canto. learn from listenin to my mom telephone conversation since young... haha

Fel

how much the patient give voucher?? so worth to go?

disneyland can go outside agency to buy at cheaper rate than goin to the ticket booth outside disney or ocean..

poky: go where to get the disneyland tickets huh? i need to get.

that time when bring kyler hor, someone sold us her tickets cos last min she cant go, cheaper price la. save a bit

hub said dont buy kyler one, said he so small size maybe can cheat in. what do u think.

2ks

i apps u later. need to find the add. but it my laptop at home. =p

ya.. make big mistake the previous round!!!! bought in advance for my older gal. cos she over the age mah.. but at the entrance they c her small size. nv request... end up.. i spend more on fees.. cos the kid ticket for disney n ocean not utilise at all!!! but only if ur kid is small size enuf... they will juz let them in. if not, juz buy his ticket at the booth lor... buy at normal rate better than buyin a not required discount tix!! the seller of the agency will tell u buy!! so that they earn mah.... ^#^^^#%

poky: kyler is very small size lor, so i think can bluff, plus u ask him how old, he always tell u 3 years old. if go there they ask, i will just said turning 3 only on this date.

not going to ocean park lor. not enough time.

Tres- yes im gg to Disneyland . Stayin there one night as well... Hee Hee

Poky - 1.2k of vouchers

2k- yeah maybe I should start looking for light stroller...

Exact amount is $1245.

I bought over my colleagues vouchers at $900. Just nice for our whole trip...

Eh.. The patient is not in my ward.. But out of appreciation for all nurses taking care of cancer patient he donated vouchers to my ward also lo...

So lucky me!!!! Hee hee

Fel: wah the patient is so good...give travel voucher [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]I think besides baby carrier, i will bring a light weight umbrella stroller....

Jojo: thanks for lobang - Seebaby Stroller QQ2...will check it out [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tres: I fed M nasi lemak with sambal before (by mistake!) ...and he asked for more! haha....then my mom told me that when i was one, she already fed me those malay spicy food....so i was being trained since young and I can really take those hot and spicy food......

2ks, think it is china brand.....2 reclining position, less than 4kg and it is only $58.... Too bad it is not umbrella stroller...

Maybe 4-6 days before menses is due?

For those high sensitivity strips? 10iu/ml or smth like that... also dont know how true!!!

Are you expecting? haha...

ST: yr menses is regular type or not? if yes, once u miss yr menses 4-5 days u can test already.

just get those cheapo strips. i used for kiefer time, never buy exp type.

the line will be faint initially when positive, then it will get darker.

2Ks: Yes the seebaby is china brand. But it is really light. Good for going travelling. Considering the price, it is worth to buy for casual, rough use.

ST: Yup, it is not umbrella fold. U can go try it out. I personally feel that it is too low. If push for long time will be back pain, especially for ur hubby.

jojo: last time i got this maclaren daytripper hor...which i bought at $90 also very good leh, for short trips, can put things somemore...

but stupid hub sold it away...i still remember i sold it at $50 lor.