(2011/03) Mar 2011

JAJ: haha...okay sometimes when i go in JB, i will try to speak malaysian chinese, so that i can merge in mah! lol

dont worry about the tongue thing. from what i know is when the person dont have the line that connect the tongue from the mouth, its likely cant talk properly. but its not beyond cure la.

javier only 18 months la...dont have too much expectations 1st hor

LOL, I will never wanna speak JB accent!!! I can faint hearing them speak...

I think I got phobia hearing my friend's story so worry Javier will have same problem when I heard him says "bup", machiam short tongue like that. Think n scare myself too much.. haha

Hey Annie, no worries about bus, my boy says bup too, I'll just take it that he has yet to master the 'S' sound. He's starting to count 1-10, good exercise to keep him occupied in the lift!

Jojo, 2ks is correct. The polyclinic doc CANNOT MAKE IT.

You cannot diagnose a child ADHD until he's 5-7 years old. I've seen a lot in primary school so I know. It is too early to say a child is ADHD at 18 months! Many toddlers are active but usually those that are normal will slowly settle down by age 3-4.

As for Autism, there are red flags from 18-24 months but mild ones can only be detected at a later stage. Active and not talking much do not mean a child is autistic! It is definitely more than that such as poor eye contact, obsession with lining toys, too independent, not sociable, etc.

So please don't worry! Don't ever go to that doc again.

I also v worried that Ver will be autism, she dun talk but sing only. I just dun understand y she can sing from A to F for e abc song but nt tok. Hai.... N she is super active too which make me more scare. But I go polyclinic n e doc said need to wait until 2 yo then can really diagnose.

blurjen: it is really too young to able to detect autism. autism doesnt mean what u had describe.

like what pauline had said, autism is like playing with the same toys and staring at the same toy, everything like to do himself etc.

vernice is attending school next year rite? u observe then okay.

ADHD

Kayden got tested at aged 3..

So far he is negative.. because by 3, they will sart to listen to instructions better and listen to u and stop moving so much..

before that, they do not understand us and really listen when we tell them to stop moving..

i think its normal..

cos Kasper cant stop running til he is out of energy..

Autism

we only took this test for Kayden when he was 3 yrs old. KKH offer this only to kids after 2 yrs old..

Any earlier than that is inaccurate...

Plus, autism have various types..

For mild autism, there are various way to help the kids..

Polyclinics

The doctors there do not specialise in pediatrics..

so its better to have second opinion..

Blurjen

My #1 was born 6 mth premature, so the tendency of autism is very high and somemore he's a boy..

He started talkin very late and loves to play alone..

But once he started school, he enjoyed the friends and learnt from teacher how to mingle..

so dont worry.. Kids behave differently in diff environments

ask u all...are ur babies growth super slow?

my baby weights 10.1kg at 1yr old jab then at 18mths jab he only weighs 10.3kg. this normal? his weight at born is 3.15kg leh...so now he is skinny...i keep askin the PD if this is normal and the PD says he is now betw 25 to less than 50 percentile.

he drinks 2 bottles of breastmilk 200ml each, one half slice of bread for breakfast, abt a bowl of porridge at lunch and abt 10teaspoon of healthy times cereal for dinner when i go work. then nite and morning latch. is this too little for him?

my boy active..i think whatever he eat sure calories burnt of within next hr...climb up and down, bums are pointed one..cannot sit still even when read storybook.

whats yr baby weigh now?

Babybride

My boy was 3.00kg when he was born. He's now 83cm and 13kg now. your boy's diet looks ok and if he's active and healthy, then shouldn't be any concern. My friend's boy, 20m, is only 9kg, very active, pd said he's v underweight and advised him to change FM. Still no improvement so far but since he's active and alert, my friend is fine with it.

babybride

yup.. after 12mths.. they slow down...

Kasper has been 12.5kg for the past few months..

eat alot.. and very active...

he drinks 3 times a day-180 ml

breakfast - 2 slices of bread or like 5 pcs of chwee kueh

lunch- either macaroni/poriddge or kuay teow

tea-bread & fruits & biscuits

dinner - 1 bowl of rice & fruits

Your boy havent eat rice yet?

Janelle is also around 9kg+ nia. not a concern for me cos she already eat alot, v active, poo around 2 times a day. so maybe her digestive power good!

mimimo24, u mean yr friend's child PD thinks that drinking BM will not gain weight/cause underweight huh? hmm...does that means i shld try FM for him too? his weight gain is like only 200-250g for 6 mths..ayoh..now i hold his hands, i feel bones...not like before chubby hands & legs.

smiggleprince, i got feed him with rice before but tot cereal more nutritious so i ask my mum to feed him with cereal then when i reach home eat dinner, i will feed him a bit of white rice..

waaa 2 slice of bread for breakfast? ayoh mine at most 3/4 slice of bread else average slightly less than half slice..so i prepare 200ml BM for him before his morning nap

pooh bear/allets, the PD got say anything when u bring them for 18mths checkup?

Babybride

Ah no no no, don't stop the breast milk. My friend stopped bf early this year and started him on FM. The pd informed her to change it to pediasure. There isn't much improvement though, but it's not a major cause of concern since he's super active. Perhaps you monitor first. I think if healthy diet, will drink will poo, then should be fine. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

to be frank...i dont understand why so stressed over 100g, 200g, 250g...

its just how heavy nia...can sense the difference meh???

as long healthy why bother!

Babybride

at their age, they need to learn to chew..

prob intro more types of food to him so that can get his interest in eatin??

Kasper also gain and lose weight very fast..

esp if he sick..

so i think its normal..

My #1 has only put on 1 kg for the past 1 yr..

smiggleprince: kiefer is already eating rice think 12 months or so.

now weekdays night, its rice with soup for him.

but hor...i think he halal one, he doesnt seems to like pork.

and i used yao zi rou (kidney meat) for him okay!

he takes all the exp food lor.

i never bother about their weight lor all along.

to me 100g? one pee or one poo weight??

u have whole life to worry, why worry over 100/200/300g??

for the 18 months review, can we do it later ? i totally forgot to book J's appointment for jab and this weekend i flying to dubai for training again and will be back next fri. only next weekend than free and hopefully got slot .

i managed to book for her 18 months review n vaccine at the polyclinic tomorrow morning! the one and only slot else need to wait until mid oct than got slot liao.

2Ks - I also use kidney pork for C but she not really like also... then threadfin also don't like, she prefer cod fish or batang pan fried style and steam white promfet... her best friend is fishball/broccoli/beansprout/toufu... yday cook her porridge with carrot/dried scallops/dried silverish/ pork and she likes it! 1st time cook dried silverfish for her and I think it smells and taste gd!

XFZ: wah! C very clever leh...kiefer doesnt like his veges and fishball lor. havent give him beansprout yet

tot kids will like fishball leh..

now u got energy to cook already huh...

Pauline: I have no choice on the doc at the polyclinic. I went there for my boy's injection and the assessment comes together with it.

Jayden has an obsession with doors, especially sliding doors. He can just spend a long time sliding the door open and close. Sometimes, it is hard to get his attention especially when he is concentrating on doing something. It's like he is in his own world. He is also not afraid of a new environment. Red flags for Autism? First-time mom syndrome at work again.

Babybride: My boy was 9.5kg at 15mth, now only 10kg at 18mth (25 percentile). Their growth rate will slow down after 1yo, so I think your boy is normal.

He drinks 180ml milk 3 or 4 times a day

Breakfast: Bread 1 slice with half cup milo

Lunch: Porridge / rice / noodle

Tea: Fruits / Yougurt

Dinner: Porridge / rice / noodle

jojo: this habit of playing with the door is only lately?

just observe la.

does he mingle with other kids?

perhaps u wanna send him to some playgroups or something

2Ks - haha C likes to suck the juice from the fishballs... she likes soup also, sometimes her rice she dun eat much but she can drink quite abit of soup... corn also her fav so I buy frozen corn kernals keep in the fridge, weekend just steam some corns for her as snacks... now better la can cook can do more things... I reckon another 2 mths I will go back to being tired again... like you say must spend time with #1 and while now attention can still be only on her so trying to spend more time with her... now she growing up need to prepare food for her feels bad if she dun have home-cooked food to eat... but she is very sweet, got once I was cooking her food then she keep asking me for mum mum so I gave her a biscuit she sit in the kitchen and eat then once I tell her her food is ready, she go to the dustbin and throw the biscuit away then go living room pull her high-chair haha... so I feel appreciated!

XFZ: ya man...u feel touched when they finished up all the home cooked food. make all yr effort appreciated rite.

until now, kiefer has not tried outside food yet except plain rice, plain soba.

i am still controlling think maybe another 2 months or so...

2Ks - your control power... mine long time ago already eat outside food more then just plain rice and noodles but I will try to wash the food with water before giving her =) I got not enough power to curb her haha...

XFZ

Im already poppin the corn kernals into popcorn for Kasper..

Happycall really makes me happy..

Kasper also eat home food.. but im controllin til this weekend..

then he be officially 18mths..

then unleash him eat outside food...

smiggleprince

That's a good one! Happycall to make home-made popcorn..keke, will be trying that out.

I have unleashed him with outside food when he turned 18mths. Fried rice, noodles, fish & chip (without the batter), mashed potato...No much prob with his appetite but he really dislikes bread, prefers biscuits anytime. Anyone has advise to train him on bread? I find it much less heaty than biscuits so wanna try to strike a balance.

Jojo,

Yeah, prob just observe first, it may be a phase. Just like my boy is obsessed with certain thing for a certain period (e.g. in days) and tends to ignore us. I've a friend who is special needs teacher..in case you have any query etc, just buzz me ya.

mimimo: fish & chips hor...if outside those cheap kind, please dont eat. its heavy-chemical dory fish. no fish smell one.

only those branded ones (exp ones, then give the kiddo eat okay).

kiefer loves bread, he will say mian bao mian bao..his fav is the four leaves small buns. maybe u can try that?

XFZ: i prefer to control his diet la, for a couple of months more nia. keep his system clean...

i heard too much about outside food...so i am trying my best...

2Ks: He has been playing with the doors for a few months.

mimimo: Thanks for the offer. Will approach you if I really need help.

Outside food: I have also been giving my boy outside food. But only a bit for tasting nia. He will still eat the porridge I prepared.

Agreed with 2Ks that outside food is heavily msg-ed. But sometimes it is unavoidable, so we will try to limit whenever we can.

me too, i dont really give J outside food yet. the outside food is most probably bread from breadtalk. This ger not greedy de. when we have meals, she eat her own wholemeal bread or biscuits. hardly will want us to give her some of our portion. but if we take icecream or what, she get a tiny bit loh. i know mil when bring her out, sometimes she give her outside food. but the quantity v little nia (like congee from crystal jade etc), so i am still ok.

talking about the dry scallop / dried silverfish, how you all prepare ? my concern is the salt content of these food. so want to check how you all usually prepare these items. is it soak while liao, pour away the water than add to the porridge to cook or for dry scallop (干贝)or just wash and put into porridge ar ? cos J's weekend porridge comprises of threadfin, pork, brocoli. like lack variety . than hb complain that the brocoli smell when open the vacuum flask outside, very strong .

mimomo - you can try those mantou instead of bread. get those brown n white de very nice after steaming. accordingly to mil who reads alot, she said mantou got yeast (or some other ingredients that bread dont have), so mantou is slightly better than bread.

how to make popcorn from happycall ?

brought J to her MMR and 5-in-1 jab earlier at the polyclinic. Completed her jab and received a certificate of completion from the polyclinic. haha, no more jab liao! Petite girl weighs 9.1kg, 80cm tall. the nurse said ger is tall for her age and because she talk, her weight not a concern cos since she is eating well. did her doctor assessment as well. this ger, infront of doctor, shy, dont want to perform .

Allets

Buy white corn kernels from supermarket.. Abt $5 a pack..

put into happy call and just wait for it to pop..

can have it plain.. or melt sugar to drizzle on top..

for caramel flavour, melt butter,sugar and honey..

For Kasper, I will boil soup and bring rice out into two separate container..then smell not so strong

hello mummies.....

wanna ask, if your kids all eating breads and those kids crackers.. besides making them drink water, how to prevent throat irritation ah?

Eversince CHloe went to PG ah... her snacking habits are from bad to worse! LAst time she is contented eating those mild kids biscuits, dunno what the school expose her too, must she will eat those 'salty' biscuits lor! Thosae biscuits I put into her lunchbox are untouched and teacher tells me that she is taking her classmates biscuits!!! *faints*

then how my mum complains tat she is heaty, has alotsa of phelgm!!

tres: kiefer ifc gives green bean soup, herbal drink, barley for the kids..

so far he okay, but he going to toddler class soon la.

but i check the menu of the school, quite suitable for them. dont have salty biscuits

I think all food the same la, so long in moderation ok lor...

allets - For the dried scallop I will soak in hot water for it to soften, then remove the whitish part at the side cos I feel that part smells then shredd it and add into porridge to cook... the scallops my MIL buy for me is those small small type and lighter in color... as for dried silver fish I rinse it twice then soak awhile then chop it up and add to the porridge to cook... but before I chop I will taste the 'soak water' see if it is still very salty, if still salty then change water and soak again... I feel the salt content not too much of a concern cos we soak the items before hand plus the amount we use is very little...

XFZ: u know those big dried scallops very exp lor!

i give a mixture.

silverfish get those pale white colours one, they are not so salty.

Tres

Eat more fruits and give her more water..

Barley can cause phlegm too

On the school bus, its like a pinic.. my #1 will exchange food with all the rest and eat..

its what other parents put that really makes me wonder if they are concern abt the sugar intake..

imagine all the chocolate bisxuits and sweets! really makes me angry when i tried so hard to keep them away from #1

Silver fish

You can buy the fresh ones from market.. not the dried ones..

Thanks mummies on the bread suggestion! Wow can't wait to try it on him.

2ks

Thanks for the advice on fish and chip, I wouldn't have known [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

2Ks - I haven had chance to see the PG menu... but well not expecting any nice stuffs from there... yup scallops are very exp... the ones I have are bought by MIL think when finish then must buy myself liao keke...

smiggleprince - some parents anyhow buy one... my gal in IFC only that day duno which bb first birthday give goodie bag and inside got 'wang wang' biscuit 2 packs, I faint...

For heatiness, my mum will boil barley once a week. I will also give more fruits and yogurt.

The birthday goodie bags are always full of junk food. Sweets, biscuits, jelly, etc..

Silverfish: Last time I bought fresh silverfish from NTUC and when I try to wash it at home, it feel so slimy and smell yucky. Since then I have never try silverfish for my boy. How to handle them?

XFZ: wangwang biscuits is very salty leh! aiyo...

thats why lor..i look at kyler goody bag that he bring hm i faint. and the teachers sometimes give them sweets somemore...

i always throw away one...

i dont like him to eat rubbish sweets

jojo: those silverfish that u bought from ntuc rite. when u go home, u should scald it first. then repack it and freeze. then when wanna use, then u cut it and throw in porridge.

if u dump in porridge just like that, i find the porridge will be very fishy smell

ya.. the big scallops are expensive. i went fu hwa the other day, 200g already around 30+ 40 liao, the japan one lah. but i think ok lah, use 1 piece at a time nia.

2ks - daiso got sell kuey ? premix ? if not yeast, than must be another ingredient cos she told me in chinese .

junk food - both my niece & nephew eat junk food everyday. cant stand my mum, everyday after they alight from school bus, sure vist the provision shop and buy a pack of cracker. haiz.