(2011/03) Mar 2011

Okay as a mother this is my take.

Frankly you can increase, decrease, remove whatever and if I didn't want to have kids I wouldn't. No carrot could get me to have kids if I didn't want to have kids. Now, if you want a couple in Singapore to have more than 1 kid... you need to STEP UP.

1. This $300 rebate for full time mothers, and $150 for part-time mothers is bullshit. Working is working, already part-time means less money, just give $300. Not working please give $300 also cos seriously you think SHM no need break ah? And it should be able to use for regular kindy (pcf, whatever whatever) enrichment class etc. Why everything must control, got T&C all?? It would be "Okay, here Singapore is freaking expensive - here's 300 make it work for your kid's education"

2. Damn maid's levy seriously 170 a month is rubbish, 170 a year is okay. Then we talk about increasing maid's salary and getting better quality maids into Singapore. Cos NEWFLASH all the better qualified maids are going to HK or Spain or Dubai.

3. The fact that we're all idiots who are willing to spend HOW MUCH for a piece of paper to BUY a FREAKING CAR tells us that - everyone when push comes to shove will buckle. So you make it a rule that SME, small businesses, big business - follow the 4 month ML policy, have a place for a mother to pump and that means not the toilet.

4. Make it 6 months leave. Now I don't want another, that's a personal choice and yes, I can't afford #3, so this doesn't even benefit me. But you want healthier babies and a mother to breastfeed longer - 6 months would be the way to go! Plus this 4 months rubbish is BULLSHIT, I had to go back to work before the 4 months were up cos it was technically 80 days or something, pfft!

5. Fathers getting 2 days leave when their child is born is BULLSHIT. Make it 5 WORKING DAYS (don't include weekends, public holidays) aka 5 proper days that can be split up and used accordingly.

My two cents.

M: totally agree which u la!

one thing i also think they should subsidize on the childcare fees, the cc fees keep increasing lor!

give birth is very easy (at least for me lol), but the finance is really very tight..

the $150 subsidy for non working mum, i agree its BULL SHIT too. already not working and subsidy still cut??

The problem is if the govt increase to 400... the CC will also increase by 100. Sigh.

I have to say I was shocked when I saw how much the PCF cost $186 for 2 hours, but I have to admit the classroom is awesome and the kids get plenty of attention and Rylen seems happier.

from $62 to $69...

i don mind if the place looks cleaner..

but hor, they only clean when the MP comes lor..

M

superbly agree..

but i prefer to have a healthier working hours for a mother... we need to work lesser hours..

seems like most women do OT but men dont...

PCF cost $186 for 2 hours? Is it per month? or per session?

Maid levy

i don understand why they have to levy??

for wat?

Every month i have to pay $400 + $170 + feeding her + vomit blood + medical check + all those upfront payment... waste of my hardearned-money and increase my worries..

Govt just wan us to give birth and let strangers take care of our babies.. And expect them not to be spoilt by these strangers.. And still wan to emphasize on family bonding and not abandon their parents when the kids hardly see their parents..

How in the world will it work???

S$186 a month. I know it's not as expensive but suppose to be subsidized right.

okay pt 6. Normal working hours!! I start work at 8.30 and end at 6pm. IT SUCKS. Cos by the time I get home, I have to prep for their food for the next day, bring the dogs down, shower them all by 8.15pm. And when the hubs works late I have to read and put them to bed myself by 8.45pm, I'm just lucky I'm lazy and trained them from young to sleep by themselves! Then come out and hang clothes, cook, wash dishes.... sob, I'm getting myself ready for tonight cos the hubs just called to say he has to work late! My maid comes on Wednesday!!! Cannot wait ah!

I don't get the levy, I mean we have to pay the agent so much already and then what does MOM do that we need to pay $170 for them to function?

$186 for 2 hours is exp too me leh.

kyler cc fees is around $350 per month which is 12 hours..

ok la..u are just tahan-ing for that few days...

i do what u do everyday...and for the past few weeks, hub is outstation and i got to manage both..

but then i really dont have time to guide kyler and teach him...sometimes i just wanna rest.

Yeah when Ry was in CC it was $450 after subz and that incl.ed food! But all the money spent for doctors fees and medicine and TCM and massage and etc etc... I just hired 2 maids. One to look after my kids during the day and then she looks after my Mom (cos the nights are still very bad for her after my father passed away) so I have to pack, cook their lunch and dinner, prepare their bags, etc etc. The good thing is that the husband now knows being a maid is not easy, so I hope he'll show the new maid a little more face. I also learnt that I like waking up earlier to bring my dogs for a morning walk :p and to get my kids ready, I can forgo 30 mins of sleep from now on. I really hate washing up though... HATE IT.

Like I said lah, I really don't know how you do it.

M

is it not subsidise already?

i think the teachers not are cheap...

yalor.. #1 being a premature, is slower in development..

i shld be spending more time with him to teach him...

but my wrkin hrs is from 9.30-7pm..

i reach home abt 7.30pm..eat dinner and bath liao.. where got enough time to spend with to kids AND hubby...

still have to counsel the maid lei...

thinking abt a manicure or facial must plan one mth in advance so that i work ard the boys

all of us got so many things to do..

pay bills, medical appt.. grocery shopping, buyin stuff for the kids, visit parents, visit in-laws...how come weekend only 2 days?

I don even wanna think abt the future when they go primary sch, have enrichment or CCA or have exams.

The long weekend was just nice for us..

Since 2006 - PCF has gone up 5X. Like I said I'm okay, $186 is... it's a pair of nice shoes, I get it and I can afford it BUT it's not (for a non profit company) affordable in general.

smiggleprince,

i agree w u....

my working hrs is worst then u..i work from 9am to 7.30 / 8pm..by time i reach my mum place is ard 9pm then faster eat dinner then fetch bb back home to bath him and also for me to bath. then i only can have time to faster wash all his bottles put into steriliser then wash up the boiler that i used for his porridge and soup, then bb will be there yelling to be carried liao..by then i have to accompany him to sleep in the room latch til he dozed off..on good days that i dont doze off with him i will wake up to do housework and prepare to boil his soup overnite...else if i doze off w him, xiao liao loh..the next day i have to rush like mad to prepare his porridge / soup / veg etc..

talkin abt maid..sigh..drama drama...

the agency came took the maid from me last thurs..just before the long weekend caz they said the maid say she goin to commit suicide...i stil working in office when they took her away loh..

so i wonder what happen went down to the maid agency on sat ask what happen..that agent can tell me the maid threaten this and that lah, then say my mum ask her to do starjump lah etc...bullshit loh..i grab the maid and another transferred maid there to help interpretate..the maid claim she never said she wan to die..never say she is asked to do starjump! wat is this man!

but she mentioned she dont wan to work for me caz she think is too much work..thats even more bullshit! she dont even cook, didnt help to wash laundry, didnt help to take care of baby, didnt wash car, didnt even boil water, didnt prepare baby bath etc, she said too much work??!! btw i not rich hor, i stay in 3 bedroom flat only..dont even have garden etc loh..

i also wan to go for manicure since few mths back but always didnt managed to make time for it..caz back of my mind thinking weekdays i already dont have time for my bb then weekends shld spend more time w him loh..

ya i also agree...2 days of weekend is too short for us as working mum liao..especially now without maid...

cant understand how 2K did it..no wonder she is our supermummy here..

M

now with #2, $186 is like alot of grocery money for me lor...

Im becoming so auntie, even when i eat out, my frens laugh at me...

I would not pay $20++ for sea bass since i know i can only get it for $5..

Haiz.. my salary also not as fast as the inflation lor.. everythin increase as the same amt of my pay increment.. like that it makes no diff even if my salary increase rite!

Babybride

these days, the maids are all spoilt... they hear too much abt other countries and howour foreign talent are treatin their maids... I refused to give in to these maids...

yup, 2K is our supermummy..

then again, i don wish to be a supermummy, if not the govt see that we can all do it, can work, can give birth... govt insist on us doing it.. then i can really see no good days heads for all mummies like me...

smiggleprince, dont give in to these maids then will end up like me loh..maidless state..sigh..so hard to find a hardworkin maid...even when the salary is increase so high now...

the stupid thing is the agency fees also increase so high...not as if the fees increase the qlty of maid or the qlty of service is better leh..rubbish

the one to abolish the english test for maids muz have never a bad experience with maids...now the qlty of maids are really super low...cannot speak english yet stil wan relax work.. wan get so high pay yet dont wan to work hard for the money...they think our money very easy to earn meh? i still working my bums away now in office k..sigh

No.. my husband don't manage Cherie hearts. Cherie hearts got SoMe tied up with ST and his colleague managing them.

So Happy.. finally decided on Janelle cc today. She will be going cherie hearts at chevron in Dec..start her in full day But put half day for Dec to get used time it than Jan onwards full day. If hubby still stays with ST, he got further discount. If not, than after subsidy is 530. I went corporation one last Fri. Super don't like Co's teachers not friendly. Imagine we went at 620 on Fri. Only left 4-5chikdren lying on the hard floor drawing. The director also not keen to entertain us. Chevron different. Teachers principal branch director made us So at ease and they So friendly.

Thinking of using cda. But can last how Long? 1 -2 years if we are lucky?

I doubt national day rally got any good news for us lah. I don't mind longer maternity, more bbs bonus. Haha. Instead of $4k spread over 18months where can't see the money, give more money for the kid lah.

Maid - I rather don't have one n spare all the woes. Part time ones work perfectly fine for me. No commitment.

eh...i rather not be a supermum at times. but well i am not supermun, i am just a poor mum.

i cant afford a maid.

$450 + $170 + food + medical + misc, i rather save myself the HEADACHE.

i think out of 10 maids, prob only 3 pass the ok mark??

anyway i grow up without a maid and i survive and become more independent.

i had a friend ok, she grew up with a maid and she doesnt even know how to make milo! until she got married.

terrible huh?

anyway without a maid means my boys have to do things themselves too..

they have to learn to be independent cos nobody is there to help them.

but of cos sometimes, i hope for a maid la but its just that moment of thinking, to the facts, i am surviving..

its getting better now that kiefer is bigger.

smiggleprincess: i usually take half day leave to do my own stuff like visit salon or do pedicure etc.

but now my toes nails all chip cos of wearing those close toes shoes, so just nice no need pedicure...kekeke

weekends are always so short la. one day go in laws there, one day left to do own things.

i still need to go marketing every weekend cos i cook during weekdays too.

fast hand fast leg lor...what to do.

but nowadays i still can steal nap on weekends super happy.

i think the most power thing i did is i play mahjong at 10.30pm till 3-4am, then next day 8am wake up..LOL.

2Ks,

my same same poor mum like u .. haha.

But i'm very proud when my SIL in KL praise my 2 bb who can place their dirty clothes in the laundry basket, throw Shay's diaper in dustbin, fold clothes (Moiie only) and place their use plate in the basin before washing their hand.

Their teenage kids, can't even fold the clothes. When the food is ready, they sit at the dining table do nothing, waiting for the maid to open the plastic, pour into bowl, place in front of them and hand them the spoon ... Gosh, i dun wan a 'disabled' kids.

Well, i'm satisfy with a part time maid just to clean my house .. Keeping the toy in the basket is the 2 monkeys' job though #1 always complain her didi only know how to mess up ..

U super la .. for me to sleep at 3-4am, mean the next day i'm zombie and no need to do thing liao lo ...

haiz, y only wednesday today ?? Saturday faster come !!!!

sinmey: same lor...my kids can throw their dirty linen in the pail, keep the toys, place the dirty plates in the sink, and throw diaper all that too...

kyler is learning to wipe the table now.

well, no maid the kids need to be independent.

hehe...i am on leave on thur & fri, yippee...

sinmey: thurs kyler school got his parent bonding session leh...go make pizza...OMG...wonder can eat or not.

friday kiefer ifc closed lor...going to USS after nagging by daddy..

die die wanna go

2Ks, so shiok to go on leave starting tmr! Enjoy...

Wanna thank you for recommending the HZS for Javier's cough/phlegm/flu. He has fully recovered as of yesterday. This morning I still gave one last dose before sending him to IFC. My mum bought him another bottle to standby at home, anytime he develops cough/flu sympton again will try give him that first. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Javier also can follow instruction to throw dirty linen in pail, keep toys, pass me his milk bottle after finish drinking, go take his pamper for us to change him, throw his soiled diaper into bin after we changed him. In fact, he's quite smart in understanding us, just that speaking wise still not that fast. Now learning 3 sylbus words like banana, etc. But he can say the word he knows if we point to the food like bread, egg, apple, banana, pampers.. he can differential which is donut, muffin, bread, cookies too.

JAJ: great to know that javier is well already. this one just remember what i said, must follow strictly the amount and dosage on the box.

if box says 1/3, give exact, dont reduce.

different brands differs.

when they are bigger than i tell u boil another type of soup for them to drink. now dont think they can stomach that.

but then hor, ifc/cc doesnt give this kindof medicine, so weekdays still hv to give ang moh medicine la

yes yes... I agree HZS is good! but it is the feeding that is terrible! hahah but it will be the same for ang mo medicine so bo pian, force lor!!!!

airmez - HZS = hou zao shan .. can get from the medical hall. good for cough n phlegm. got pearl powder added de.

yes . . our toddlers are getting more intelligent and able to understand simple instructions. sometimes really fun to play with, but horrible when they become terrorised. my ger can be quite stubborn at times. Janelle starts to talk in 2-3 words phases. like "nooo, iron hot", he shui (drink water), da-di shoes etc, keys open etc. when asked if she wants to go school, her reply will be "(nod head), go skool, bag (hand on shoulder action) ". she associated skool with bag, kor kor jie jie . at least i find that now i am no longer talking to a wall. can get a response from her.

airmez: dont worry la...all kids grow differently.

my kyler was slow too...but now...omg he talk like dunno what..

ask questions until i myself dunno how to answer him lor.

but kiefer is much faster la..but because he got korkor mah

Thanks for your advice, 2Ks.

Sigh.. Maybe didnt communicate with him enough.. Won't ka-jiao him if he's happily playing in one corner. Hubby and I will fast hand fast leg have some personal time. Or maybe talk to him in too many languages, end up he blur and give up.. haha. -_-"

babybride: i used maybank card and got $10 off per ticket. but that is off peak period la. so weekdays lor.

anyway i prefer to go during weekdays, i supposed not so crowded?

but i tell u, bringing both leh...so dont think can play much la

airmez: consider cheap already...other countries even more exp lor [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

one thing decided to go cos children under 4 is foc mah...

before kyler turns 4 yo lor

Ok, will bring my boy out more often now.. Mmm, maybe start small bah... swimming, go park 1st. hahaha...

Btw, where to get swimming attire for boy-boy? those type of 1 pc suit? selling at abt $20, izzit? Float - arms or around the body waist, which is more useful?

airmez: i like to bring my boys to T3, i have breakfast there, then let them run around on carpetted surface at least...

otherwise basement got a playground. but crowded la..

2ks, got kor kor faster huh? Y ver got jie jie still so slow? Wahaha only know how to tok alien language to me n sing her own compose song.... Hai....

Blurjen: got tune or not?? Now they sing got tune la.. Lol

Ver is the special one... Lol, lazy???

Ask her come play with kiefer la, he can "teach" her alot of things lor, like flying off the cot, jumping from sofa to high chair etc..wanna learn bor??

2Ks, got tune la. Nw her fav is old Macdonald, wheel on e bus n twinkle twinkle! I think she is super duper lz lor! Ha ha Kiefer so cute know so many stun Lolx! Smart boy!

USS tickets

i bought it off WTS thread...

sometimes alot of ppl selling..

there is also this place at orchard MRT which sells it for $80 incl the meal voucher..

My #1 went and there was not alot of rides he can do..

so end up more of phototaking..

u go all the way so far to airport??

I found that the new polliwogs near my place quite big..

was thinkin to sign membership up for them..

ya boy.. so quiet today.. it's the start of single parenting from now till 8 sept. hubby went on reservist. shall bring my ger for dinner later instead of straight home.

JAJ - i have a BN and a rather new one. you want ? use your manduca for your ger ?

won mummy - you receive your iron -on labels from brightstars ? wanted to order from them in preparation of Janelle chidcare in dec. but can they add chinese name ?

mummies- i going Bkk next week. any idea where i can get alot of kids stuff ? like school bag, pyjamas, raincoat? intend to get all Janelle' school going stuff from BKK. platinum mall have ?

allets - yes, receive already. e iron on ones r good. another label i still haven start using. i think i saw they allow chinese name too. cant recall. but i din put. as suggested by 2k, buy e least quantity will be sufficient.

thanks all... I don't wanna use manduca before 3 months ba, and manduca is for longer outing where I need to carry for long. Pupsik is okay but MIM BB can lie really flat like in sarong swing and latching is more easier in MIM than pupsik (I abit garang gapok to latch using pupsik, Manduca can)

allets, what colour is yours? How much you selling? Why didn't you use it? Can apps me a pic of it?

Won mummy: brightstarkids now having 15% for every $20 spent...

Remember to iron on the clothes hor, sometimes the auntie bath will mix up.

Water bottle get one with sling cos sometimes they will bring go out.

Taka got very good quality bottles which I like.

Anne: are u good with mim sling? Need practice, I tot your Pupsilk is good enough. Wait end up u spent alot of time adjusting.