(2011/03) Mar 2011

till date, i haven decide on J's birthday cake... wanted a 3D cake but abit ex and already splurged alot for her bday..somemore i have more than 70 guests, and will need a big cake, at least 3.5kg (where 1 kg = $85)! headache also cos i wanted a Mickey & friends theme for her bday than the bangawan design not what i like..

any idea where i can get edible customisable icing for J's birthday cake (than i can get a nice design i like) and put it on a blank rectangular cake (wonder if bangawan solo sell cake with plain white surface top where i can put my edible icing ). any suggestion from resourceful mummies here ?

Poky

I'm interested in trial lesson too.

Allets

Illadin works this way - use 4 days, stop 2 days, then repeat again. This is what my doc told me to maximise its effects. But of course the results may vary from child to child. You can get edible icing and plain cake from the icing room, it's a cheaper DIY option. Else other way is to get a plain white frosted cake from breadtalk and icing from phoon huat.

Dazel

I ordered from pine garden through their website, turnaround was 3days for those cakes in their catalog. Are you ordering 3d customised cake? Im not sure if 3days is ample. You might have to call them on wedn to confirm. Else would it be less risky to order from others? There's one Strictly Pastry in fb that looks really good, Ive never ordered from them though but reviews are good.

XFZ, I also stop all food except milk and water. Yesterday brought him to see GP (greenlife) again and Dr. Wong mentioned his lung is filled with sticky mucus but he din neuberlize him...

Last night he had very bad cough and when I was about to latch him ....he vomited out thick, sticky mucus (2-3 mouthful of thick mucus!!)But after this, he managed to sleep better at night...

ST, hope Baby M will get better!!

Me keen to do a trial class at those gym places. I better start actioning if not I will pass this stage too!!

haha, guess now all the mummies are busying with the 1st bday celebrations! ME too... confirm venue only, the rest, let's see!!!!

mimimo24,

Ya, me too think better dun wait for Pine Garden, they only open tmr and wat if they can't take my order.

Had emailed about 3-4 cake shop but all dun take anymore, so finally ordered from Yochana's Cake Delight. Balloons deco also done. Left with catering which my MIL will handle.

Thanks Tres!! hope he gets better today and no more teary eyes ...

RE: First Birthday

Anyone knows about "zhua zhou" (Birthday Grab)? an ancient method for predicting an infant’s future career ...(Just for fun)

Some of the symbolic items are easy to understand:

a stethoscope for a medical career,

a calculator for a career in finance/banking...or businessman?

a stamp - for a career to authenticate documents, and if a child picks up the stamp, they will most likely become a high-ranking official or a person of great power.

If the child picks a stalk of celery, the child will be hard-working. Similarly, an orange stands for fortune, and green onions represent intelligence......etc

i haven't confimed the venue for my DD's birthday party. not so sure where to hold it yet! hmm. not to mention the cake, the food, the goody bags, the balloons etc etc!! arghhh.. sometimes i just wish i'm a stay home mum!!! :p

Anyway, anyone keen to register ur child in My Little Gym at Forum or Marina Square? My girl is attending the Big Birds class there and this coming week is bring a friend to class for free week.

My girl's class is on sunday from 11.15am to 12.00pm at forum basement 1. my daughter can bring a friend of similar age group (10 to 19 months) to the class this sunday, 5 feb. usually a trial class is $40.

i chose this over Gymboree as i like the focus on developing psychomotor skills so my daughter has been learning how to do forward rolls and walk sideways although she cant walk independently yet. hehe.

just sharing. maybe can pm me if you are keen then we make some arrangement? can only bring one friend though, so guess only if you are really keen? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ST, I heard and saw my BIL & SIL did for my niece!

JAM, I'm interested...but it must be this Sunday is it?? It will be at Forum?? Will confirm with you again BUT but if there is anyone who can confirm faster then me, pls go ahead hor!

ST / Tres - yes! i will be doing that for my daughter too during her lunar birthday...my grandma will prepare stuff like $ note, drumstick, pen, calculator etc for the bb to choose. whatever item she choose they believe will be what her future job is i think..

another part of celebrating her 1st birthday (lunar one) will be the "da gu" ceremony.. where there will be 2 or 4 big "ang ku kueh" for her to step on wearing her shoes.. dunno what it means but just do it loh since it is a passed down tradition in the family.. oh, did i mention i am a modern mum but choose to follow so many old traditions? like we believed that only after turn 1 than can wear shoes, before 1 cannot use chopstick to feed food to her etc. Dont ask me what they mean cos i have no idea either.. heehee..

ST, Mimimo24

trial lesson at Tampines branch any objection?

But so far, only the three of us.... stil short of 2.

Tres,

u want to try the trial lesson also?

the trial lesson is at $35. If sign on a term, the fees for trial lesson will be waive.

Tres, yes, it is at forum and it is only for this sunday, 5th feb. Poky, see if Tres can confirm if she is keen. if she can't make it then i can bring u and ur child! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Poky, I'm fine with my gym trial lesson @ tampines ... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks for the arrangement.

ST, mimimo24, Jojo, straylamb

Yipee, got 5mommies liao. I go n arrange with the school to c how they can accomodate us with the trial lesson. Timing in the late morning of sunday? ard 10am? Any clash with any bb slp n makan session??

if this sun, 5 feb, will it b too rush? else. 19th?

do u all hv watapps? can pm me ur contact? then i start a conversation there to keep u all updated??

won;t be joining my gym at Tampines, a tad too far from my place!

Poky, you wanna try my little gym, then you go with JAM. My husband have a wedding lunch, if w/o him, not sure if I can handle the bb outside alone during her feeding time!

Hello pretty mommies and cutie-pie babies! Hope everyone had a good dragon year so far, good health to all and huat ahhhh! Hope mommies/babies who were sick have recovered already. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

This year supposed to be good year for me, but buay zhun leh - my CNY din start off well at all cos i knocked my leg and swell so badly that i had to go A&E on chu yi! Tsk... Now still swollen and bruised, all my photoshoot plans have to be shelved for the time being. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Anyway it's been a long while since i log in here, nice to hear everyone updating on their babies. How time flies, our babies turning 1 so soon! Lazy mommy here haven't even plan much for the 1st bday oops.. Also haven't send Chloe to any class yet, good to come in here to read and push myself to get my butt moving hehe!

Any mommies still BF besides 2ks? Super hats off to u! I'm almost stopping le, down to 1 miserable pump now and my "good friend" is finally back (though hubbs is more delighted about it than me tsk!) Chloe's schedule is quite similar to Jay (thanks lilprecious for sharing, i was worried i'm giving Chloe too little milk cos i see most still drinking 4x or so!)

Chloe's schedule:

8am: 210ml of milk

9am: fruit cereal

12pm: porridge/pasta

3pm: 210ml of milk

6pm: porridge/pasta

8pm: 210ml milk

830-9pm: sleep til next morning

Btw i know many people have asked this before, but i'm just wondering if i make FM using 210ml of water, after adding the milk powder it becomes about 240ml - why is it considered she's drinking 210ml only?? Cos when i feed 210ml of BM, the milk level is really at 210ml isn't it hmmmm....

Poky/mimimo/ST/straylamb/jojo, please update on the class after your trial. I'm interested to find out more on My Gym at Tampines branch too, thanks!

Audrey - what time of the day is your one pump?

I'm still pumping once a day in the office will stop once she turns 1 but slowly it's getting less and just enough for 1 full feed.

I BF 2 times a day - 6am and then 8pm before she sleeps.

Jordsn's schedule

6am - BF

8.15am - cereal with banana/ 0.5 fruit jar/ apple/ pear/ yogurt

10am - 120 ml FM & sleep

12nn - porridge with fish/minced pork/white bait/ etc and some kinda veggie

2pm- EBM 150 ml & nap

4.30pm - fruits

6pm - pureed veg with some kinda jar sometimes with pasta

8pm - BF & sleep

Hi Audrey,

I am still Bfing...but will try to reduce/stop when Baby M turns 1...

Pumping schedule:

5:30am

1:00pm

5:30pm (skip sometimes...when need to run some errands)

10:30pm (usually after I dream feed him)

Baby M's schedule

6am - BF

7:30am - 120ml BM

9:30am - 120ml BM

11:30am - porridge

2:30pm - 120ml BM

4:30pm - 120ml BM

~~~~fruits~~~~

6:00pm - porridge

8:00pm - BM (latch on) & sleep

10:30pm - BM (latch on & dream feed) then mummy ZzzZzz

audrey

i stil TBF also. but stoppin after my gal turn 1. originally wanted to bf until no more... but stil kena the infection too often.... more than 7x liao... sian!!!

my gal seems to b eatin/drinkin v little.....

8am - 160ml

10am - 160ml

2pm - 160ml

5pm - porridge

8pm - munchin snack (depends wat i can prepare.. avocado, biscuits, fruits, egg yolk, etc...)

10pm - latch for the night

12-1 am - latch again

4-5am - latch again

today juz started to give her another round of porridge in the afternoo... yet to heard from mil if the porridge stil as "creamy" as in the evenin... cos i cook both meals in a pot.... she commented tat with previously with my older gal. when she scoop out half in the afternoo, by evenin time, the balance are alrdy v watery... today i pass the thermos foogo to her to scoop up first for dinner b4 feedin the lunch... c wat her "reaction"... else,,, i stil crackin head to figure how to prepare another meal for my gal leh... to buy another thermos pot??? the bag alrdy so heavy with clothes, nappy, food, milk n shuttle chef... another shuttle chef?? i might as well use a luggage bag to carry the stuffs daily liao!!

Hi mummies: I m back!! It's freaking cold in korea and its snowing... Brrrrr...

Not easy lugging both and pumping on the go..

Happy lunar new year to all here!!

Sian tomorrow back to work after a long break..

tres,

thx for offerin the slot to me. =)

audrey

u want to join us for the trial lesson as well?

2ks

welcome back. wat the temp in korea?? the kids fussin alot due to the cold?? bside the cold, enjoy the trip?

Poky: a few days was minus.. The coldest was -15.. Very cold.

Kiefer was ok but kyler buay tahan.. So a couple of sight seeing we skip it

Ok lor, it's cold but I do enjoy it.. But not easy bringing both la.

I think I m crazy... I bought the Korean skin are products until got free luggage to bring back.. Lol

hello mummies how are you!!!

long time no log in, tell me, who is having her next baby this year??!

welcome back 2ks!!!

poky

my maid brings a tiger food jar to mil house oso, but no watery by dinnertime leh! she say still hot hot de...

if i bring the same porridge out, but using a cheapo thermal cup, yes, 4hrs later it will be watery

maybe your foogo fail KPI?

btw, what we do at home is - we cook 1 pot for the 2 meals, 1 portion eat after cooking, another portion, straightaway after cooking we put inside an avent via cup. when its time for dinner, heat up. never turned watery by end of the day as well

i think must keep very tight i realised.

wah O_O i see got 160ml de...when can mine hit that amount?

im still bfding, pump once every morning to strip off excess, all da way till at night when i latch bb

530am - wakie, eat some bread at 6am

730am - 100ml

1030/11 - lunch porridge

another 1 or 2 x of 80-100ml in the afternoon

5pm - dinner porridge

7pm - 100-120ml bm

thereafter i latch on demand, can be as little as 2 latches or as many as 6 latching in the night

ok mummies, who is keen in my opened tin (hardly used) of dumex all in 1 900g, pls pm me, i can let go cheaply.

my son no more on FM totally

hello mummies...happy new year to everyone.

welcome back 2k. hope u enjoyed urself [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

congrats to airmez for a dragon bb...anyone else? hehe

haven post for a long time but occasionally still come in to read [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Realise most of ur baby wake up very early!! what time does your bb sleeps? mine around 11pm at night, and only wake up 10+, 11+am leh. Can't feed her so many meals per day.

her schedule:

10+am - 210ml FM

1+pm - porridge/mee sua

4+pm - 180ml FM

7+pm - porridge/mee sua

10+pm - 180-210ml FM

only 3 milk and 2 meals per day. no time for snacks or fruits, etc. maybe as n when but very small portion around 3+pm. Do they still need cereal? I realise few of you give them cereal in e morning before porridge. or its up to individual?

worry she is lack of fruits and nutrients from cereal.

won_mummy

u can give fruits at 830 mah, just a thin slice of apple or maybe some smashed up grapes...all ok, abit of it wont affect her appetite at 10+ feed....

or feed her at 9-ish when u all watching TV heheee

pixie - u mean at night? yeah!! i m trying to include fruits in her diet if possible. just dont know which timing to squeeze in. cos my hungry monster eats big bowl of porridge. and i see few mummies gives cereal n fruits. wonder if i m lacking anything.

i dont give cereal leh, coz my bb dun like, really up to what bernice likes, if you feel that your main meals lack fibre then just squeeze in some fruits after her main meals...

wah i like your schedule. very compact and trim....mine is more luan coz no fixed time for bm feeds de leh....

2ks

lol. since there alrdy, must buy more to make it worth mah... =p

pixie,

no la.. yesterday only first time using foogo. previously only shuttle chef. but only 1 meal. Now i want to increase another lunch for her... so ask mil to scoop half out for her lunch. But according to my mil previous experience with my older gal. she claims that after she close it back in the afternoo after takin the lunch portion out, the remaining turn watery by the time she feed my old gal dinner. But i guess most probably is that she did not faster close the shuttle pot back after scoopin out. n most likely, not tightly either..... BUT BUT, i dun dare to "teach" her to close it back quickly instead of settling n washin all liao, then close it back... later black face how??

yesterday, i boil all in 1 pot, then bring along the foogo for her to transfer in the afternoon. she say night time only watery v little. not much..

so today after i finish boilin, i scoop into the foogo first.... then boil the remaining in shuttle pot b4 packin it into the bag... c how her reaction later lor....

won mommy

i only started givin her 2 meals yesterday. previusly only 3 milk n dinner. snack not really.. cos more of playin than eatin... she buay tahan c us eatin without her eatin also... will keep cryin n want to carry... so we give her food to entertain herself..... =p

cereal up to individual. if u give porridge, gd enuf,.. cereal is more easier n faster to prepare.. if my gal willin. i also want to give cereal instead of porridge.. then i no need wake up so early to prepare the stuffs.... since 6mths.. she stil eatin her 2nd tin of cereal.....

poky

then u separate the lunch n dinner into 2 tubs lor. thats what i do sometimes to keep it "fresh".

who wants my tin of frisocrem too? unopened....quick, pls clear my kitchen stuff [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hmm.. let me share Janelle's makan schedule (only applicable on weekdays) when she at my mil place:

7.30am : Fm200ml

9am: cereal 2-3 scoops

10am: 1 small banana

12noon: 3/4 bowl of porridge

2pm: 160ml FM

4pm: apple / papaya

5pm: porridge

7pm: 180ml FM

10pm: 210ml FM

Sleeping / Nap time:

10 to maybe 11am

5-6pm

10.30pm - 7am

my mil has this weird habit, she likes to feed my ger (which is good since she so small size).. so even when she sleeping, will wake her up to eat.. so my ger whenever go her place, she returns home feeling very tired..

weekend i will let her sleep until 10plus..and weekends will be more sleep less food.. her schedule like this:

9plus am: 200ml (depends what time wake up)

1130am: 5 scoops of cereal

1145 - 1pm: nap time

1.30pm: porridge (mummy feed a few mouths she dont want liao)

3plus: 180ml Fm

4-5plus: nap time

6plus: porridge

8plus: 140-160ml FM

10plus (sometimes 11 pls): 200ml FM

won mummy: u can slot in fruits before the meal mah, 5+ 6+ can give fruits. it wont affect her appetite later one.

but i think banana will make her abit fuller only

alyssa: i follow tour...

korea if f&e, its quite difficult, u know duck and chicken talk? and the ordering of food mostly in korean...

u can find some sales ppl who speaks chinese, but quite rare...

why worry so much if follow tour? i bring both also no problem, once i hv time i change their diapers, i follow his routine. i feed him on the bus, change his diaper everywhere (yes! even on the display shelf while the rest listening to the ginseng talk, and i even change him on the floor. i pump everywhere, and feed him immediately, fresh milk..

from what i know, if u go f&e, u will spend more...i went everland, lotte world etc. try to go after 4pm if u planning to go lotte world, the tickets are cheaper and they are open till 10pm anyway.

but if u are planning to go jeju island, it will be vvvv exp if not with tour.

the most if u worried, get those pants type lor, easy to change everywhere. i feed everywhere la...i brought both leh...i took turns to eat with hubby. very hard to find baby chairs there, just like japan. it will be good if u bring along those totseat.

their subway u see also headache, they have 10 lines...

their taxi is not very the cheap also...

and what airline u taking huh? cos from last dec, korean and asiana airline is very very strict on their baggage weight, cannot over limit.

and from what i know, those big stores (duty free) cosmetics like obdo, nature republic etc, are only accessible by tour guide, they do not allow public access.

i dont see obdo range at those shops outside though, laneige have...

and oh...their supermarket have a good range of baby food, so if u dont wanna bring or forget, can get there

most of the restaurants have self svs machine for hot/cold water, so its not an issue

poky: why u have to cook and bring to MIL there? cant she cook since she is at home??? sigh...

cant imagine everyday u got to prepare..

i usually cook in the morning like 6am, then put in the thermal pot or i just leave it on the stove, come back heat up only, then add leafy vege

kiefer schedule (weekends)

6-7am - 160ml BM

10am - porridge

12-1pm - 160ml BM

3pm - snack/fruits

4.30pm - 160ml BM

6-7pm - porridge

8-9pm - 240ml BM

then zzz till next morning

pixie - ya. B dont like cereal also. thats y v early i start her on porridge. ok! shall start her with a fruit a day [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

poky - me too. we make her sit on high chair watch us eat. then as n when will give her some plain rice or food we eating (non oily/salty) to calm her down.

allets - wow. impress w J's eating now. i remember she used to take forever to drink her milk n takes very little! now so many meals per day. keep it up!

2k - u r really a wonder woman!! really salute u leh! change diaper, pump everywhere...hahaha

mine still sleep at 6-7pm at night, headache...even delay to 7-8pm before, still 530 wakie...sianzzzzzzzzzzz

won mummy i opposite u

Pixie

Yours sleep really early! If I rem correctly, you said that #1 was the same, and you guys sacrifice by going home early?

My boy's schedule:

Weekdays

7am - Wakie, 180ml FM

9am - Cereals, fruits

10.30am - Nap 2 hours

12.30pm - Porridge

2.30pm - 180ml FM

3.30pm - Nap 2 hours

6pm - Porridge

8pm - 240ml FM zzzz

He sleeps more on weekends, wakie mostly ard 9am. I'm still expressing twice a day but the output is really v v little, am slowly reducing and intend to stop this month. I look forward to getting back more sleep and my kopi, heh.

I think he started teething this week cos he has about 4-5 times diarrhea daily since mon. Switched him to soy FM on wedn and it stopped. We almost wanted to bring him to pd on tue but decided to take up a friend's advice to try soy first. Hmm that said, still no sign of new sprouts eh.

Mimimo - nap 2 hours n twice in e day? So steady!! How u do that? I thou I saw article bb will take lesser nap but longer hrs? But my gal don't leh. Got 2 naps, but at most 30mins to 1hr only. So shoick!! 2hrs nap we can do lots of stuff!!

My mum been complaining she don't have time to do housework or cook dinner cos my gal is always on e move! Stand, sit, crawl, pull, drag, knock, throw... Blah blah blah... Haha